windows

So what are we actually going to DO? By 'we' I mean the supporters. Usually we come on here and vent. We talk about dropping players, trading players, promoting youth, going after certain individuals from other clubs. We talk about sacking coaches, recruiting staff, player development.

Yet as individuals we can effect none of those things.

So my question is: what are we as individuals, and perhaps then collectively, going to do?

I'd like this thread to be a serious thread that canvasses options then we move to some sort of consensus about action. Ambitious I know.

Some thought starters:
1. 'March' on the club in protest.
2. Do the same in a sign of support
3. Collectively tear up memberships
4. Organise a rival ticket (Ahmed for instance who once really wanted the presidency)
5. Give up completely
6. Keep whinging on here weekly
7. Vote for an emergency AGM

Other options?

Mods can you please try and help keep to a serious thread?

Best

Windows

I don't want to give up. I don't want US to give up. Isn't that exactly what we are critical of the players for doing?

We have more heart than that. Or don't we? Are the players a reflection of us? Are WE the culture?

Is this the end of effort? The end of trying? Are we all giving up?

4. Ahmed…bwahahaaa. He is doing a great job at Australia Post.

Realistically, as fans you have 2 options.
1. Have faith and support the club and endure another 4-5 years of pain.
2. Don't renew your membership (if you are a member)

Organising a march and venting on here won't change a thing.

All of us as one voice should get the club to decide NOW not later if they are going ahead with Mick or not! I personally hope they do but why wait another 17 games when we can start the re-build now. If Mick knew he had another 3 years the 22 would look different and the game style would change as he would know he has more time to do what's needed. Every time the board make a decision they never think what do the supporters want, they couldn't give a stuff, well you know what us supporters own this club and it's about time we let them know we matter. Can't we start a petition and get as many members to sign or do we need to head down to ikon in a show of numbers against this board. This isn't a sack mick rant I want him to takes us through the re-build but all I'm saying is why waste another 17 games. The club needs to move on this re-build now and we as individuals can't do a thing but as a large group we can. This is OUR club!!!

How can one club, who mistreated a whole playing list appear more committed and focused while having a drug investigation overhead, be in a better state than ours?
I'm not condoning or accusing Essendon, but am asking how they can remain focused and build and grow as a club with all the legal distractions, while we wilt and go backwards at an enormous rate.
We have no excuse except a woeful decision making process. The club needs some direction to establish long term strength. I would've hoped they learnt from 2002-2012. 10 years we had to implement structure but we used more band aids than a Jackass film.
I love u Carlton, but your making it hard to love you. Bloody hard!!!

8. Forget about the club and save myself $800 a year. They really don't need our money when billionaires are running the club. Atleast I don't have to see Figjam face aka Gibbs every week.

So it's tough and your going to give up?

You are no better than Gibbs.

Very long time lurker. So sorry my first post couldn't be under better circumstances. Last night was meant to be a celebration of MM. One can only derive one conclusion from such an insipid performance. Whatever the message is its not getting through. If ever a team would show the love of their coach it was last night. Look what happened. Can't see it being tenable now.

Hey Chooka,

I agree in part. I don't blame MM for this. We will end up like Port pre-Hinkley. No one will want to coach us. We are slowly becoming the graveyard all past it coaches go to before they stick a fork in their asses 'cos they're done.
Look what Pagan copped. Wake up people, groundhog day, enter Mick.
If I was Mick, I wouldn't want a contract extension. One or two meaningful wins this season and I'd be on the first train outta Carltonville, based on this drivel they are playing this year.

So it's tough and your going to give up?

You are no better than Gibbs.

Gibbs and a few other Carlton players are thieves. They're continually stealing my hard earned money and not just mine but every Carlton members money, by not putting in non negotioables like effort and playing for the jumper. Gibbs had a career year last year. Why? Because he cared about getting paid and that's what he got!

I've been a member since 04. I had hope that once the draft sanctions would be lifted and we get some talent into the list we will be competitive again. I had hope like everyone here.

Now fast forward 11years and numerous no1 picks and talent and supposingly the best coach of all time and we are still in the same position, but without the hope...

The club wants to change the culture so they bring in Edelson into the coaching box. Right now I'm feeling numb. Don't know what direction it's going or what the club stands for.

At Carlton members don't have a say in anything only sly dogs power brokers.

so Malthouse gets sacked ... and then what?

who does that rebuild? how many years do we give them? what's the strategy?

what responsibility do we put on the players? any? or just keep sacking the coach?
i don't want him sacked if you read my other post

Nothing personal mate but I would start by spelling Malthouse's surname correctly.....a rebuild during the year isn't possible, yes we can play the kids but that doesn't necessarily bode well for the kids to be just thrown to the wolves.
Lol yeh did notice that can't change unfortunately.

Nothing personal mate but I would start by spelling Malthouse's surname correctly.....a rebuild during the year isn't possible, yes we can play the kids but that doesn't necessarily bode well for the kids to be just thrown to the wolves.
No but it will let the group know what's going on for the next few years.

what responsibility do we put on the players? any? or just keep sacking the coach?

The players aren't playing for the coach. If ever a team was going to demonstrate love and respect for ones coach it was last night. The exact opposite was the result. It's hard to come to any other conclusion.

Need to start from ground zero. There's a new president now, a new list manager. Replace the footy department from the coach down and turnover most of the list with a new fresh young coach who has CARLTON'S best interests at heart. Not his own.

The board. The board. The board.

There is now a "independant" panel that determines who can nominate for the board.

This is headed I believe by our own Prez, Mark Lo Soprano. Who is President because B Matheison says so. Sticks was Pres because the Pratts said so.

The only thing that will work is a real crisis. A tin rattling type crisis or "we need to merge or relocate" crisis, while their is still some passion for the club. What we are doing now is an orderly and dignified walk into the irrelevance zone.

This will only happen if you good folk stop going to games and stop buying memberships.

The club needs a prune, not more fertilizer.

Just can't do it passmark. It's a birthright. Can't stop loving your football team.

Didn't say stop loving the team, just realise you are contributing to the problem.

I bought 3 memberships, they packs arrived the Thursday arvo before the Richmond game. They are still in the wrappers. Bought them on the back of the pre-season fibs, again. Silly me.

But even though there's no fool like an old fool, it appears you can teach an old dog new tricks.

Buying a membership is a reward for mediocrity and maintains the status quo.Will not provide one more cent, go to one more game, sell one more ticket to support a club that is run like this.

The board. The board. The board.

There is now a "independant" panel that determines who can nominate for the board.

This is headed I believe by our own Prez, Mark Lo Soprano. Who is President because B Matheison says so. Sticks was Pres because the Pratts said so.

The only thing that will work is a real crisis. A tin rattling type crisis or "we need to merge or relocate" crisis, while their is still some passion for the club. What we are doing now is an orderly and dignified walk into the irrelevance zone.

This will only happen if you good folk stop going to games and stop buying memberships.

The club needs a prune, not more fertilizer.
This.

No doubt it was the board who teed up Edleston in the box last night too.

We need a Melbourne style overhaul. We need to take 20 steps backwards, and ask the AFL for help.

We can't keep having these rich, shady guys funding us. We just ****ing can't. The board and admin is where the culture is set in a club. Its the same as local level, and its the same in a business, and its the same as an AFL club.

I am not liking what I'm seeing thus far from Loguidance or however you spell it.