Roast Enough is Enough

• Thread starter Thread starter DarkSaint

Yes Melbourne are ahead of us

Also it's not a shit year. Nor shit couple of years. It's near on a shit decade.

But you know. Happens to all club's. Funny that it doesn't though
So you’re saying that Melbourne (who started rebuilding in 2007) are less of a disappointment than us (who started rebuilding in 2013) despite them making the finals once & getting poleaxed in a prelim & now find themselves in freefall?

And you reckon Melbourne fans find that palatable???

If anyone is spinning something it’s you and it ain’t PR [emoji90]

Richo is gonski & I’ve wanted that since he let JJ collect 44 touches last season & absolutely destroy us. Tactically he’s no good.

I’m stating the fact that clubs can have an unexpected horrible season. 2018 signed Richo’s fate.

The fact that the club hasn’t bounced back from last season makes his job untenable.

This is despite the FACT that sh1tty years can happen to any club.

Do you reckon any professional soccer club would have kept the same coach for six years if he had a similar record to Richo- don't think so
The supporters would be chanting to get rid of the coach.

It's the catch 22 though isn't it. The club wipes its arse on the fans and holds up membership retention as a reason to run business as usual. I personally will keep blowing money and going to less games but see why others might protest that way. It's a **** thing for you though as you guys get hammered like you operate in a vacuum.
I suspect the next few years if the economy goes down the toilet the choice will be simple. 300 plus dollars watching crap footy or 300 plus dollars in your back pocket. Play well that choice becomes harder.

Yeah Richo has employed the security guards from Marvel to ring up SEN.

So no Saints supporters have non Australian accents?

What's your point re accents?

Apologies to all - completely no point with using the word "accent" (i tried to edit the comment the minute after I published it) as it sounded incorrect. I should have said sounded staged...

There have been many studies on political parties using talkback radio for their own lobbying purposes

Do you reckon any professional soccer club would have kept the same coach for six years if he had a similar record to Richo- don't think so
esnmz7.jpg

I don't agree with this at all. If all of the disappointed members on Bigfooty, wrote an email to Andrew Bassett instead of posting here the club would have to take notice.
There’s only twelve of us.
Couple have multi user accounts.
Plugger66 and Impatient Saint are the same guy: lives in East Queanbeyan.
Can’t see Bassat being too fazed by a dozen angry blowflies.

You aren’t even a member. My god. And you whinge more than anyone on here. No I’ve heard it all. Better off without your sort because when it comes to voting you have no influence. Amazing.

And yes I will had over money no matter what because I support through thick and thin and more importantly to improve they need our money.
I cannot like this enough.

There’s only twelve of us.
Couple have multi user accounts.
Plugger66 and Impatient Saint are the same guy: lives in East Queanbeyan.
Can’t see Bassat being too fazed by a dozen angry blowflies.
!
I'm Bwian and so is my wife!

You couldn't be further from the truth.
i dont know a single person who thinks the club is faultless .... our club makes many mistakes ... our club are downright stupid at times .. but they are still our club ..
now i may be alone in this thought (although i reckon im not) but to me my love of my club runs deeper than the 22 who run out each week , it runs deeper than the win/loss record ... i want success more than anything but its not the driving force on why i support my club ....
look the truth of it is we will most likely sack Richo , but thats not going to fix everything we will still have days when we dont perform , we will still have misses in tradeing and drafting, we will still make mistakes in managment..
at the end of the day its a game of football the thing that makes a club is so much more than that ..
its the Georgie Day who runs our herritage museum
its the Ken Whiffens who was a trainer with the club well into his 80's
its the Angels who feed the boys during the week and help the disadvantaged with membership so they can go to the footy to forget about their troubles for a while.
its the Joe and Bailey from the cheersquad who each week make the banner and bring their cheer to the game
its the supporter groups across the country ...
its about the mates you make talking crap about the footy with, its the passing down of stories to our kids , its about seeing our kids grow to love the club we love just like we did ...
thats what it means to be a st kilda person makeing the most out of what we have in the hope we will get there in the end and if we dont at least we give it a crack ...
im not going to tell anyone how to spend their money but understand being a member is more than the game on the weekend thats an important part but its really about the people

i dont know a single person who thinks the club is faultless .... our club makes many mistakes ... our club are downright stupid at times .. but they are still our club ..
now i may be alone in this thought (although i reckon im not) but to me my love of my club runs deeper than the 22 who run out each week , it runs deeper than the win/loss record ... i want success more than anything but its not the driving force on why i support my club ....
look the truth of it is we will most likely sack Richo , but thats not going to fix everything we will still have days when we dont perform , we will still have misses in tradeing and drafting, we will still make mistakes in managment..
at the end of the day its a game of football the thing that makes a club is so much more than that ..
its the Angels who feed the boys during the week and help the disadvantaged with membership so they can go to the footy to forget about their troubles for a while.
its the Joe and Bailey from the cheersquad who each week make the banner and bring their cheer to the game
its about the mates you make talking crap about the footy with, its the passing down of stories to our kids , its about seeing our kids grow to love the club we love just like we did ...
thats what it means to be a st kilda person makeing the most out of what we have in the hope we will get there in the end and if we dont at least we give it a crack ...
im not going to tell anyone how to spend their money but understand being a member is more than the game on the weekend thats an important part but its really about the people
Couldn't agree more my friend...very well said!

Great post there st_trav……..you've IMO summed up what the club is all about.

Yes......the club isn't perfect and we have our moments(heaps of them usually....and not good ones)......it's the people that are the heart of the club.......admins come and go.....the people(members and supporters/admirers) are always the constant.

At times it's hard to explain the passion.....but it's always there...abeit.....deflated at times.

I'd walk over hot coals for the club.....have always been a Saints tragic....always will be.

BTW....my birth cerficate is stamped on the flip side with..."you will be tortured for the rest of your life"

So far the "stamper" has been right.

this isn't a shot at your trav and btw i agree with your post somewhat, but if our club isn't seen as faultless, why is there this tendency on here to defend literally everything the club has done?

the way i see it is results would tell you we are one of the worst run clubs in the land. atleast bottom 6. the financial results coupled with the onfield results would dictate that to be the case. this isn't a one off either, we have a long history of it being the case.

i would have thought the more outlandish view would be to consider the club as "well run" but somehow the results just haven't reflected that, which would be very unusual!

this isn't a shot at your trav and btw i agree with your post somewhat, but if our club isn't seen as faultless, why is there this tendency on here to defend literally everything the club has done?

the way i see it is results would tell you we are one of the worst run clubs in the land. atleast bottom 6. the financial results coupled with the onfield results would dictate that to be the case. this isn't a one off either, we have a long history of it being the case.

i would have thought the more outlandish view would be to consider the club as "well run" but somehow the results just haven't reflected that, which would be very unusual!
im not saying we are well run ... never have i said that .. we are a club that does the best it can do with the resources it has available to it
having been around this club in only the relativly short period of the last 13 years i have seen this club evolve over that time and the evolution has been in the right direction , there have been stumbles along the way - most organisations do have stumbles- but where we are at today 13 years ago was just unthinkable ... the main problem with our club is for all the good work they do put in place our competition are evolving at a fast rate as well .. we are bridging the gap but unfortunatly 140 years of being a small fish isnt turned around overnight...
dont mistake my love of my club and my support of my club as accepting poor performance or that i see no wrong in what they do, i certainly have issue with decisions , i certainly have frustrations but at the end of the day they are still my club ...
what i dont understand is the thought process that somehow turning your back on the club is going to fix the problems of the club , like its a decision to be a small fish club and losing fans will get us to wake up and become a big fish to bring back the people turning their back on us ... i look at it like having a bloke with a broken leg and taking away his crutches so he can get back walking quicker..
again i dont have the right to tell anyone how to spend their money thats their choice but weakening our club to try and make it stronger is a ill thought out plan..
look at the Tigers the turning point in them becoming a huge club was on the back of the members jumping back on even when they were rubish onfield their members increased ... the more members the bigger the crowds, the bigger the crowds the better the AFL looks after you fixture wise, the better the fixture the better the sponsors, the better the sponsors the mor money for the club, the more money for the club the higher quality staff they employ, the better the staff the more success off field, the mor suucess off field the more likely of players wanting to come to the club, the better quality of player wanting to come to the club the more wins......

This post just shows you bias against the club. A few defend the club. Most don't. Look at the richo thread to see that. Anyway withdrawing support wont make the club run better. It will run worse just as your plan last year to boycott a game or games wasn't going to help. Join the board to help out in WA if you want change. Quitting on the club wont bring change.

Don't rock the boat- steady as she goes- full steam ahead

How does telling us here that you aren't going to be a member help get the club doing better. Matter of fact tell me what we as supporters should do to make the club better. I cant think of anything so im going to support unless you can come up with some wonderful idea.

Well said

im not saying we are well run ... never have i said that .. we are a club that does the best it can do with the resources it has available to it
having been around this club in only the relativly short period of the last 13 years i have seen this club evolve over that time and the evolution has been in the right direction , there have been stumbles along the way - most organisations do have stumbles- but where we are at today 13 years ago was just unthinkable ... the main problem with our club is for all the good work they do put in place our competition are evolving at a fast rate as well .. we are bridging the gap but unfortunatly 140 years of being a small fish isnt turned around overnight...
dont mistake my love of my club and my support of my club as accepting poor performance or that i see no wrong in what they do, i certainly have issue with decisions , i certainly have frustrations but at the end of the day they are still my club ...
what i dont understand is the thought process that somehow turning your back on the club is going to fix the problems of the club , like its a decision to be a small fish club and losing fans will get us to wake up and become a big fish to bring back the people turning their back on us ... i look at it like having a bloke with a broken leg and taking away his crutches so he can get back walking quicker..
again i dont have the right to tell anyone how to spend their money thats their choice but weakening our club to try and make it stronger is a ill thought out plan..
look at the Tigers the turning point in them becoming a huge club was on the back of the members jumping back on even when they were rubish onfield their members increased ... the more members the bigger the crowds, the bigger the crowds the better the AFL looks after you fixture wise, the better the fixture the better the sponsors, the better the sponsors the mor money for the club, the more money for the club the higher quality staff they employ, the better the staff the more success off field, the mor suucess off field the more likely of players wanting to come to the club, the better quality of player wanting to come to the club the more wins......

very fair response. especially on the growth side of things.

however how i feel about this club, which i understand is just my opinion, is that using this analogy:
"look at it like having a bloke with a broken leg and taking away his crutches so he can get back walking quicker.."

i'd tweak that and say its like "being asked for money by a bloke with a broken leg to buy crutches because he broke his leg doing something incredibly stupid at the instructions of his dickhead mates. only for the person who broke his leg to turn around and give some of that money to his dickhead mates who put him in that position to begin with."

chop and change the dickhead mates. rinse and repeat the broken brokens and the hand out for cash.

i'm not giving one cent to this club until it can demonstrate it can spend it wisely. the alan richardson contract and the subsequent jobs for mates mentality, has my money staying firmly in my pocket this time around.

i drank the cool aid last year when the club asked me to stay on board. i'm not doing it again until the mentality changes and people are held accountable. if they care so much about money then maybe there should be consequence for those who implemented alan richardsons contract that provided the club with very little protection to protect that very valuable asset that it's short of, money.

very fair response. especially on the growth side of things.

however how i feel about this club, which i understand is just my opinion, is that using this analogy:
"look at it like having a bloke with a broken leg and taking away his crutches so he can get back walking quicker.."

i'd tweak that and say its like "being asked for money by a bloke with a broken leg to buy crutches because he broke his leg doing something incredibly stupid at the instructions of his dickhead mates. only for the person who broke his leg to turn around and give some of that money to his dickhead mates who put him in that position to begin with."

chop and change the dickhead mates. rinse and repeat the broken brokens and the hand out for cash.

i'm not giving one cent to this club until it can demonstrate it can spend it wisely. the alan richardson contract and the subsequent jobs for mates mentality, has my money staying firmly in my pocket this time around.

i drank the cool aid last year when the club asked me to stay on board. i'm not doing it again until the mentality changes and people are held accountable. if they care so much about money then maybe there should be consequence for those who implemented alan richardsons contract that provided the club with very little protection to protect that very valuable asset that it's short of, money.

Im so proud of you. Takes a lot of courage to come on a saints board and proudly tell us you wont give a cent to the club until they show you they will spend it wisely.

ROFL how is there any courage in choosing what i do with my money? let alone sharing that.

you take people opinions far too seriously plugs.

ROFL how is there any courage in choosing what i do with my money? let alone sharing that.

you take people opinions far too seriously plugs.

Not yours I can assure you. Remember 90% of my posts are sarcastic. Only 8 more weeks and then you aren't a supporter, you are a knocker.

if you don't take it serious why bother with the attempt to insult? ;)

Ripper of a post there Trav...something we all should think back to before making knee jerk decisions.