Enright

• Thread starter Thread starter Zeroman

Alternatives to Enright, who I feel would do a better job.

D.Johnson - Courageous, won't shirk a contest like Boris has done on numerous occasions, can perform a defensive task, something Enright can't, and whose disposal is probably on a par with Enright. No point being a link man when you can't hit a target to save yourself.

Callan - Similar to DJ except he probably lacks a little more pace. But then again, Enright isn't that quick either. Although he's not that slow. Defensively he's excellent and courage can't be questioned.

J.Hunt - Much discussed on here and is probably similar to Enright regarding physicality, although when Josh decides to go, he goes bloody hard (ask Daniel Motlop). Even though his kicking has deteriorated over the past few seasons, it's still far more deadly than Boris' lazy bombs out of the backline. Defensively, he isn't that great, like Boris, and you don't want him doing a defensive role on the last line, although he does have better awareness of where his opponent is. Enright loses touch with an opponent too easily.

Just my two cents.

When I see that those three are the alternative, I'm very happy with Enright instead. Just my two cents.

Enright loses touch with an opponent too easily.

Is that why he was played on Harvey and Milne? He's quicker than most people think. He's certainly not any slower than any of DJ, Callan & Hunt. Skills wise again only Hunt might be better than him...
You could make great cases for any of those 3 players to come in for Boris but it would seem like we'd be just making a change for the sake of it. He's got the 2nd most kicks for the team on top of the ladder, must be worth something. Unless we start losing a lot, there's no chance Enright will be dropped...

Hands up now lets be honest.
Well all have a player or two we love to nitpick at.
And no matter what they do or achieve we will always find fault.
Maybe he hasn't been dropped for a reason?
Yes he has turned the ball over sometimes but the style of football we are playing that is going to happen quite a bit(play on at all cost down the corridor).
Are we or are we not on top of the ladder?
A settled side is what wins premierships!!
If we have no injuries why change something that is wining and wining well!!!
I am happy so far lets just keep it up.
And before anyone comments i have been with Geelong since 1980(8 years old).
Watched the lows and the highs and i think now is HIGHTIME.

:D:D:D

When I see that those three are the alternative, I'm very happy with Enright instead. Just my two cents.

BINGO.

Callen and DJ are not medium defenders they are small defenders.
I think we all are aware of times when Hunt hasnt been hard or courageous.

Okay so Catman did what I asked and named the alternatives. Now I think we can all agree that Enright is the best option of the three. Two dont even play the same role so count them out and the last has been down on form a bit and is defensively suspect.

Think it's more then twice as well, noticed a few occasions before the infamous one against St.Kilda where he dropped his head in marking contests.
Don't doubt his hardness at the ball when it's on the ground, he'll go after it and crash packs with the best of them, but he's definitely suspect when the pills in the air and he doesn't know what's behind him, which is not a trait you want, especially in a defender.

Boris' best game for the season? Only watched the first half but thought he was one of our best players.

I thought he was our best. As a critic of his I'm more than happy to eat some humble pie after today.

Hope todays Effort will shut up the $2.00 supporters that want to ditch any player that isn't a Brownlow fav.

Boris is in our best 22 easily. Shut this thread!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Project Enright

With Josh Hunt and Kane Tenace both consigned, temporarily at least, to the Reserves who would be the most maligned player on the Geelong Board?
If you answered anyone other than Corey Enright you have some sort of problem and should read no further.
Personally, I have no particular beef with Enright's form or the role he plays within the side. I don't regard him as a superstar but I would have thought he is a more than serviceable link man with a fair dose of courage and even an element of class. He can take a grab and I wouldn't class him as slow of mind or foot.
Like most Cat supporters I think his disposal can sometimes be a bit dodgy.
What I have noticed is the amount of Cat supporters that think he should not be in our best twenty-two.
He also has his supporters and most of these are fairly adamant in their defense of him.
Given that we are all Geelong faithful and I'd expect that we all want the best for the Club, it is a little hard to understand that gulf in popular opinion.
So as I watched the game against the Swans I decided to watch Enright closely and see if I could see why he polarises his own supporters so much.
A couple of replays later and I am quite glad that the Club Selectors did not follow the advice of many posters and sack the bloke.
He played a great game of footy and was a valuable contributor in a brave win.
His stats were as follows:
Kicks...................17 (16 of which effectively found a team mate)
Handballs..............7
Possessions..........24
Marks...................9
Tackles................4
Frees for..............1
Frees against........0

Inside 50s............4
Rebound 50’s........6 (the only player on the ground to appear in each of the ‘Top 5’ lists).

The top 5 in the Champion Data Rankings were:
C.Enright..............159 points
A Goodes..............150 points
B.Kirk...................141 points
D.Milburn..............134 points
J. Bolton...............124 points

Now I know that stats don't always tell the story but surely even his doubters would agree that he had a very positive influence on this game.
I guess that his ability to be consistent on a week to week basis is the next thing to look out for, but the selectors have been justified to this point of the season.
I had no intention of sharing the results of "Project Enright" but I have just read the votes thread and wonder how many of the voters actually watched the game.
Do some of them just vote for their favorite players each week, regardless of performance?
Are some so pigheaded that they refuse to cast a single vote for a player that they have bagged on a previous occasion?

In my opinion, some of the vote getters had no more than reasonable games.

I know that it is all subjective and that we all see the game differently, but fair dinkum, as much as I love him it would be hard to justify giving the mighty Jimmy Bartel your second highest vote for amassing five possessions in the half of football that he played.
My humble suggestion to my fellow Cat lovers would be to treat all of the selected 22 on their respective merits and try to be objective rather than a slave to your own early perceptions.

All at the club make the odd mistake from time to time, as do we as followers and observers of the team we love.
Be prepared to be both forgiving and open minded.
Good luck to you all, I hope your team wins the flag and you celebrate for a month.

Re: Project Enright

There are a lot of posters on this board who believe every player should be an absolute Champion. They also like to throw around negative points without offering up anything positive or more importantly any suggestions.

Well done Hoody, a very comprehensive synopsis of the conflicting views held on Enright, I for one gave him 5 votes as he was our best 4 Qtr player easily.

I loved when, as it was raining heaviest, Hudo made some comment like 'and the players are struggling to get clean possession', Enright swoops in, one handed pick-up ala Djekurra in the NAB, and kicks it long.

Think it's more then twice as well, noticed a few occasions before the infamous one against St.Kilda where he dropped his head in marking contests.
Don't doubt his hardness at the ball when it's on the ground, he'll go after it and crash packs with the best of them, but he's definitely suspect when the pills in the air and he doesn't know what's behind him, which is not a trait you want, especially in a defender.
I didn't mind him pulling out of the contest during the Brisbane prelim.
Bradshaw smashed Hart's face like a watermelon.

Back to Enright, great game. He has very good hands in the wet.
Great post too, hoody. No fingering of scars. :D

I didn't mind him pulling out of the contest during the Brisbane prelim.
Bradshaw smashed Hart's face like a watermelon.

Back to Enright, great game. He has very good hands in the wet.
Great post too, hoody. No fingering of scars. :D

Wasn't really thinking of that occasion, to be truthful I'd forgotten about it actually, it was a couple of incidents going back a few years where he dropped the head, remember commenting at the time that if he didn't eliminate that aspect from his game he wasn't going to have a very lengthy career.

Have to agree also, great post Hoody. I guess we've all been guilty of playing favourites at times, or knocking certain players, but it amazes me the number of people calling for Enrights head and some of the comments made about him, e.g. that he's not hard enough at the ball, and even that he's a squib.
He's no champion, and his disposal can be a bit hit and miss at times, but he's still a very good player, gets plenty of the ball and is an excellent link man/rebounder.
Very close to best afield Saturday, put his body on the line on numerous occasions, and one mark running with the flight of the ball back toward an oncoming pack showed there's no problem with his courage.

We don't expect every player to be a champion. As I started this thread I was wondering who were the least contributing in our team. My suggestion was that to drop Varcoe or Selwood (for clearances), would be a pity in stifling their development.
It was great to see Enright playing at his best. The settling influence contribution he makes as part of a settled backline, would be significant I would think. Well done for a great game.

I have learnt a fair bit in this thread, thanks.