EPIC Matches

Playing season mode against computer, think on 'pro'. Cats vs. Hawks. My mob (the Hawks), were dominating in the third up by 33 points and the Catters had pulled it back to 22 at 3/4 time.

The game went goal for goal early in final term, it was a free flowing high scoring affair. Then the Cats through Podsiadly got a run on the they nailed 3 goals in 5 minutes to bring it back to 1 point. JPod missed a gettable chance from inside 50m to make it 1 point. Corey then roved and snapped a good goal from 40m and I was sweating...3 minutes left (10 minute quarter length). Geelong in front by 5 points.

Geelong cleared it and then Gilham outmarked Mooney. I ran it the length of the ground, linking through handballs and Shiels drove the ball long into the 50 and Franklin took a screamer over his opponent, Roughead and one other Cats defender. I was still deep in the pocket 35m out. Buddy curved it around and it snuck in for a goal and I was ahead by 1 point with 1 min to play. Was able to hold on a snap a late goal through Roughead to seal a trully entralling encounter. Love this game.

Final scores Haw 134 def. Geel 127

Goals: Franklin 5, Roughead 5, Hale 4
Possies: Sewell 26, Hodge 21, Mitchell 19

Goals: Podsiadly 5, Mooney 3, Corey 3
Possies: Corey 25, Ling 22, Enright 18

Played HBK last night.

180ish to 13. He even had time during the match to message me.

Needless to say I need to go back and practice a bit more!
I was apologising for he beating.:D
Had 3 good ones against HBK last night.

First one I was Geelong he was Adelaide, scores level with about 7 minutes to go but I kicked the last 2 and won by 13.

Second game, I was Essendon he was Richmond, he got out to around a 20 point lead in the 2nd or 3rd quarter, but I kept coming, then we went goal for goal with interchanging lead in the last. I got in front with a goal with 2 minutes left, then he got it down the other end and Troy Taylor had a shot after the siren from 50 out on a fairly tough angle, and slotted it :(

Third game, I was Geelong and he was Freo, think I was about a goal up for most of the game but it was very very tight, again I hit the lead with not long left, up by 4 points after kicking a point. He runs it from end to end but I get a good spoil, cleared to the defensive 50. Then he gets possession and kicks it to the square where a player marked just as the siren went. Appeared to take the mark just before the siren, but it wasn't payed. I'm not complaining :D

Great contests though, very nerve-racking.
Damn that 3rd match.:mad:

Boy Adelaide were shithouse in that first match though, so bad to play with, never choosing them again!

This was my write up of the 2nd match (which was the actual ranked one too) that I couldn't get up last night while the site was down.

Had some absolutely EPIC matches against Carn_Tigez last night.

I pretty much had the ascendancy all game, but he was always in touch. Anyway, last quarter. I get 3 goals up with only 7 minutes to go, thinking this is surely it I sort of let my foot off the pedal a bit. Within a minute Carn_Tigez has 2 goals, then from the next hitout he gets it down, has the players all onside and slots another, has the momentum massively. The 3 quick goals puts him in front by 4 points.

Next ball up I manage to win the ball and just want to get it forward, after some scrounging on the upper side of the ground Astbury gets the ball and kicks it, it lands 15 metres out and the ball just keeps going and going and going and dribbles JUST over the line right next to the post. Up by 2 points!

From the next hitout Carn_Tigez wins it out with a big smash forward, links up some handballs, I attack the man too much he gets it out the back and kicks a goal with 2:00 left, he's in front by 4 points. Again from the hitout he wins the tap by the my boys are onto it fast, I snap it out to the wing and just boot it as far as I can into the forward 50. Troy Taylor marks it 45 metres out right near the 50 sign...siren goes! Nerves of steel Taylor lines it up and BANGS IT HOME to win the game by 2 points!

Score at the end was 74-72, very epic game and probably the best match I've played in. Especially so after thinking all was lost after the goal with just 2:00 to go.

Good write up and spot on. Being a ranked match I was a bit switched off early especially because I kicked a goal in the opening match and thought I was up against another spud :D

But yeah all 3 were great contests, never felt it was over for either side at any stage.

I just had the most thrilling game again'st xXMACKA AUXx

First quarter Lag was everywhere, after a slow quarter he took the lead 25-6, I was thinking game over, and the second quarter was much the same 46-22. In the third Quarter I banged 6 in a row to gain a draw with him, he out muscled me and kicked another 5 unfortunatly. I sneaked two in to bring myself closer but he kicked another by the final change putting him up by two majors.

I knew it was game on and a tussle was in hand as I banged the first goal of the quarter with Jimmy Bartel! I banged another to manage a draw and from there the Momentum swinged my way and I won by a hefty margin of 22 points, but it was thrilling none the less, I sent a nice message to him congratz for the great game!

Good write up and spot on. Being a ranked match I was a bit switched off early especially because I kicked a goal in the opening match and thought I was up against another spud :D

But yeah all 3 were great contests, never felt it was over for either side at any stage.
haha. It's one of those things in these matches that you get out to a 3 or so goal lead and you're like "ok I'm fine now" and then bam within a few minutes that lead has been brought back!

I felt very overwhelmed a lot of the times in that 3rd match, Geelong were getting out everywhere, but somehow I was staying in touch and arguably would've kicked the goal to win the game if the game allowed me to take my kick.:(

Very enjoyable and tense games, the lot of them.:thumbsu:

haha. It's one of those things in these matches that you get out to a 3 or so goal lead and you're like "ok I'm fine now" and then bam within a few minutes that lead has been brought back!

I felt very overwhelmed a lot of the times in that 3rd match, Geelong were getting out everywhere, but somehow I was staying in touch and arguably would've kicked the goal to win the game if the game allowed me to take my kick.:(

Very enjoyable and tense games, the lot of them.:thumbsu:

Yeah definitely.

I had the same feeling in the 2nd game, even though it's only Richmond they spread a lot better from stoppages (might have been the tactics used) and early I just couldn't get hands on it.

Just had the biggest match with a single player in season mode.

First game of the season (against Carlton as Richmond), 5 minute quarters and on Legend difficulty.

Nathan Foley's stats: 27 disposals (18 kicks, 9 handballs), 10 tackles, 3 marks, 5 goals, 3 behinds (as well as 8 inside 50's).:eek::D:thumbsu:

Was just everywhere doing everything, never even had over 20 disposals in a match from one player with 5 minute quarters and Foley comes out and does that! He had 16 disposals to half time as well, so his 2nd half was somewhat lessened.

Daniel Jackson also had 18 disposals (6 kicks, 12 hanballs), 6 clear of the next highest disposal count in the match.

Just had a decent match then in the NAB Cup..well the second half anyway. On legend, 20 min quarters, extreme injuries playing as the Saints.
I can't believe how hard this is compared to Professional.

I figured I'd start with NAB Cup on Legend before the season because each game has only 2 terms, rather than 4.
Has anybody managed to win a match with these settings yet??

Score: Bombers......................Saints
1st: 0.15.10.100.....................0.6.8.44
2nd:0.29.17.191.....................2.18.12.138

As you can see I managed to outscore the Bombers in the last Term by 3 points :p but it's gonna take some time for a win I think.
Anyway it always seemed like a tight congested game lots of fun. Milne was the leading goal kicker with 8.

I dominated the hitouts 40 to 24 and had less turnovers and 10 more disposals. The problem is the AI having 20 more inside 50's and 37 more marks :/
They just seem unstoppable once they get clear and always seem to be able to get a lead off my defenders and mark in their 50...

At least I know I can outscore them in a quarter, I am determined to get that Platnium Trophy :cool:

So has anybody else been attempting these settings with better success?

I would, but I don't think I'll go for it until after the patch comes and lowers the rate of injuries all round. Will make it that little bit easier even with extreme injuries.

I do however think I'd be able to beat my opponents on Legend in 20 min quarters as I'm able to do it right now by around 5-10 goals in 5 minute quarters.

I would, but I don't think I'll go for it until after the patch comes and lowers the rate of injuries all round. Will make it that little bit easier even with extreme injuries.

I do however think I'd be able to beat my opponents on Legend in 20 min quarters as I'm able to do it right now by around 5-10 goals in 5 minute quarters.

Yeah I was thinking that myself, that's why I was only playing around with the NAB Cup at the moment.

Ok nice man 5-10 goals in 5 min quarters is impressive. I'm sure you wouldn't have many problems in 20min quarters, I'll just keep playing on Legend and I'm sure my play style will adapt.

just played preview of the ANZAC Day clash...

playing as Essendon, Collingwood lead the entire game, usually by around 3 or 4 goals, i thought i was going to lose big coz i lost watson and hurley to injuries... but somehow i dug deep and managed to kick 3 straight to get within a kick.

last moments of the game where...

centre bounce after essendon goal, hille punches it forward into space, swan picks up for collingwood, tackled by stanton, ball falls loose, dyson soccers off ground into forward pocket, jetta picks the ball up and kicks to the hot spot of the goal square, marked by ryder. goes back to line up the shot, siren rings, ryder kicks after the siren to win by 2 points

final score essendon 112 collingwood 110

... hopefully we see a similar game on monday!!!

Just played saintkildaman.

Pretty close game, had a bit of lag though. So whenever I was chasing him I was furiously tapping Y but it still wouldn't tackle. Likewise for spoiling. Anyway I was leading by a 7 points with about 6 minutes left (5 min quarters) then out of nowhere he kicked 3 in a row. Lost by 10 points. Pretty intense game. Most of my points where just quick snaps thrown on the boot, barely any of them went in :(.

Fremantle (Me) 6.11 47
St Kilda (saintkildaman) 9.3 57

Just played saintkildaman.

Pretty close game, had a bit of lag though. So whenever I was chasing him I was furiously tapping Y but it still wouldn't tackle. Likewise for spoiling. Anyway I was leading by a 7 points with about 6 minutes left (5 min quarters) then out of nowhere he kicked 3 in a row. Lost by 10 points. Pretty intense game. Most of my points where just quick snaps thrown on the boot, barely any of them went in :(.

Fremantle (Me) 6.11 47
St Kilda (saintkildaman) 9.3 57

Thankgod it was lagging for you too. I thought my Y button was broken. I went from 67 tackles the game before you, too 20 against you. Really frustrating.

Just had a ripper with SaintKildaMan (loki siko)

The whole game it was even, we both scored a few through lag but with about 5 minutes on the clock in the last I turned it over while I was up by 6, he bombed it through for a point. 3:28 left on the clock I believe.

I managed to kick it out and scored a nice mark, watching the clock I held it up, with about 45 seconds left I kicked it to the centre of the field where he managed to grab a mark and the siren went. Down by 5 he had to kick it to win, my heart was in my throat and he MISSED! I won by 4!

Took on SaintKildaMan (loki siko) just like ImAwakeImAlive did.

A great challenge, goal for goal the whole way. I was up by 13 points with about 10:00 left on the clock, he got a couple of goals. Margin back down 1, deep into time on. I think from memory Dal Santo for him had a shot on the run, just missed. So scores where all tied up 64-64 I kicked it from the kick out and McPhee took a Spekky in the centre of the ground. Moved the footy quickly and Crowley gathered it and drilled it from 50. Got the clearance and Anthony managed to seal it.

Fremantle (Me) 12.4 76
St Kilda (saintkildaman) 9.10 64

Played against a mate and it was pretty much goal for goal the whole match. 2 minutes on the clock(playing 5 min quarters so dont know how long actually left). 2 points up. Ball was in my defensive 50 near the goal line i get tackled handballed it over the line and get pinged for delibrate rushed behind. I was pissed as we had played many games before and i have done Joel Bowdens from kick ins and not get called as well as being in the clear and handballing it over. Jetta the snaps the goal and i lose. Not normally would i be upset about losing but we were playing for money.

Playing 10 minute quarters on Veteran, I just had an awesome game playing as Adelaide against Port at AAMI in the wet.

Goal Kickers:
ADEL: T. Walker 3, C. Knights 2, J. Porplyzia 2
PORT: D. Motlop 3, B. Jacobs 2, S. Salopek 1

Major Ball Winners:
ADEL: B. Vince 19, T. Walker 18, N. van Berlo 15
PORT: S. Salopek 28, T. Chaplin 23, D. Cassisi 19

ADEL vs PORT

1st - 3.3.21 vs. 1.2.8

2nd - 4.7.31 vs. 5.6.36

3rd - 8.11.59 vs. 6.7.43

4th - 12.13.85 vs. 9.10.64

Just had an absolute ripper with NOTORIOUS29. He was leading me at every change, and by 4 goals at 3/4 time. But I managed to get on a bit of a roll kicking 5 to his 1 for the term. Ballantyne took a mark with 1:00 on the clock and snuck the kick home for me to hit the front with 0:22 left. He was leading for the ENTIRE match except for the final seconds.... :/ Such a relief. :p

Feel a bit guilty for winning it though seeing as though he outplayed me for most of it.

1/4 Time

Fremantle(Me) 1.1 7
Hawthorn(Notorious29 2.0 12

2/4 Time

Fremantle(Me) 3.1 19
Hawthorn(Notorious29) 5.0 30

3/4 Time

Fremantle(Me) 4.3 27
Hawthorn(Notorious29) 8.2 50

Full Time

Fremantle(Me) 9.5 59
Hawthorn(Notorious29) 9.2 56

Just had a disappointing game against sydney.

After leading at the end of the first quarter by 10 points, sydney grabbed the lead at the end of half time by 11 points, they carried there momentum into 3 quarter time with a 3 point lead, after i wrestled back the lead and was up by 10 points with 5 minutes left before they got back, i kicked the first 4 goals in the 4th quarter thinking i pretty much had the game in the back before they kicked 9 goals straight and i could only respond with 5 pointers in a row.

Sydney vs Essendon

1st - 6.3.39 vs 8.1.49

2nd - 15.6. vs 14.1.85

3rd - 20.9.129 vs 20.6.126

4th - 29.9.183 vs 24.11.155

So far 0-2 after getting thumped by the doggies in the first game by well over 100 points.

Playing on veteran with injuries set at extreme.

Playing a season as the Bulldogs on Veteran with 10 minute quarters. Had a high-scoring affair against the Bombers first up.

Goal Kickers:
ESS: M. Williams 4, H. Hocking 2, M. Hurley 2, P. Ryder 2, A. Monfries 1, A. Welsh 1, B. Stanton 1, K. Reimers 1, R. Dyson 1, S. Lonergan 1
WB: J. Hill 6, B. Hall 4, J. Grant 4, B. Hudson 3, P. Veszpremi 3, D. Cross 2, M. Boyd 2, S. Higgins 2, A. Cooney 1, D. Giansiracusa 1, L. Picken 1, R. Griffen 1

Major Ball Winners:
ESS: M. Hurley 16, J. Watson 16, A. Welsh 16
WB: D. Cross 28, L. Gilbee 26, R. Griffen 20

ESS vs. WB

1st - 4.3.27 vs. 6.4.40

2nd - 11.10.76 vs. 12.6.78

3rd - 12.15.87 vs. 20.6.126

4th - 16.18.114 vs. 30.10.190

Sooo angry, just lost a NAB Cup match by 4 points and marked just after the siren :( On Legend dificulty, 20 minute quarters and extreme injuries, playing as the Saints.

STK vs. BRIS

1st - 1.6.10.55 vs. 0.10.9.69

2nd - 4.17.13.151 vs. 1.22.14.155

I was winning by roughly 10 points most of the game, but the AI likes to go on a fury every once in a while and just dominate. I found myself 5 goals down twice, before making my way back and losing on the siren. Koschitzke with 7 and Fevola and Brown with 9 each. And Brett Peake managed to kick a super goal on the run from the centre square haha. The most annoying thing is that I don't have time for a rematch tonight.

EPIC Matches