EPIC Matches

Stkilda vs essendon, i was 40 points down, and came back to be in from last minute to go, 3 points infront, ended up they kicked a goal had it in my forward line 20 seconds to go but they kept tackling so Couldnt goal :( but was a briliiant high posetion game!

Collingwood V Richmond, one of those half games in the NAB Cup, 20min/legendary. Lead by about 20 at half time and extended the lead to about 40 to kick off the 2nd half before we went goal for goal for a while. Before I knew it the Tiges slam on goal after goal to lead by a point with about a minute remaining. I get the centre clearance and go forward to kick a goal to get back up by 5 points with 35 seconds left.

I try my heart out to defend for the next 30 seconds but it doesn't work.. the Tiges get forward and take a mark and line up for goal. The siren sounds, a chance to win by a point, and he kicks it across the face for a behind! Won by four points and took about a week off my life expectancy, but it was worth it, 122 - 126 in the end.

I was the Lions online and this other guy with his created side Sandy Goats. He got a two goal early jump on me and I was thinking oh here we go I am going to get thrashed, however I spoke too soon as I kicked out to a 7 point lead late in the last. This guy was an amazing kick for goal as he was slotting them from tight angles out of the 50 and all that. With a minute to go he is 7 points down, he gets a mark on the 50, he was on a 6 goal streak to my 6.7 and he actually missed, 35 seconds left so I played on and bombed it long, furiously pressing the tackle button aha!

Final scores.
Me Him
7 12
22 24
36 36
43 37

EPIC!

I won the NAB Grand Final co-op last night, extreme injuries, 20 min quarters on Legend.

In the semi vs Melbourne we were down to about 16 fit men with about 5 injuries coming in the 2nd quarter so held on to win by 16 pts.

Had a weakened team in the GF vs Collingwood but when the final siren went we were leading by 1 point! They kicked a goal with 3 secs left to make it that margin.

It was unbelievable that the margin was so close after playing 4x20 minute quarters, it was an amazing game.

Finally got my ethernet cord and my online all sorted out, started my first match as Essendon against Richmond. I dominated the first quarter (3 min qrts) but couldn't kick straight. I was up 17 to 7. Started to pull away in the 2nd but they got a couple of late goals to cut the margin to 5. 3rd quarter was pretty even with my woeful kicking hurting my chances. They get a run on late again to hit the front by 8, 4.7 31 to 6.3 39. 4th quarter started off goal for goal and then I started to amp the the pressure with my tackling, again my accuracy letting me down. 1 minute left and I'm up by 5 with the ball deep in my forward line. A quick kick off the ground by Reimers in the goal square rockets into the goal post and I'm up by 5. They play on and win a contest in the centre, a couple of quick handballs and Deledio gets a bit of space and finds Riewoldt standing by himself in the pocket :eek: Siren goes and BANG he hits the post, I win a thriller by 4 :D

Just versed some guy online and I was leading at every change, there was no daylight between our scores to be honest. With 5 minutes left he took the lead. I fought it back but couldn't get my nose infront. With 4 minutes left I got a mark right infront with Roughead, strong wind and I hit the post.. 3:20 left by the time he kicked out and he kicked it straight to Franklin! I bombed it back in and missed again! I was 2 points down and I knew he would play on, I braced myself and ran in, spoiled his kick and tackled him, the ball spilled free 1:12 left on the clock I jumped on the ball he tackled me and I passed it over my head to a free man who ran into the square and kicked me into the lead with just :24 left on the clock! Congestion occured from the next ball-up.

Just played the best game of AFL Live by a long way.

Versed Mclovedog of PS3, ranked 2 on PSN, me the Dogs, him Collingwood.
Lead changed about 10-12 times I reckon throughout the match, biggest lead was when he jumped out to a early 3 goal lead in the first quarter.

Every time I thought I would jump out to a lead he'd kick a kick one to reel me in, he smashed me in the ruck and was bombing goals with Cloke (kicked 5) from 60 with ease.
I was a goal up and missed a piss easy one with Higgins hitting the post with 4 mins on the clock to go in 4th to maybe ice it, then he squares it up and then hits the front by 5 points with 1.45 remaining.

I win the centre bounce clearance kick it inside 50, mad scramble with bodies everywhere, he manages to push it over the boundary line, 80m from my goal with :27 seconds left. I flick it over the top with Roughead, get a quick kick out towards the 50 arc which is marked by Higgins right on the siren 50m out almost directly infront. He drills it, I win by a point, best AFL Live match ever.

Kudos to Mclovedog, played one hell of a match and it could've gone either way.

Nice game, Rapid.

Had a game earlier today with my Hawks supporting mate after we had been for a kick of the footy. Thought it would be a relatively easy victory, as it was his second game ever, both times over at my place. Quarter time, a Scully goal after the siren levelled the scores at 3.0.18 each. I kept playing a bit slack for some reason, expecting marks and goals that weren't happening. He led at half time, 6.3.39 to 5.4.34.

He came right out of the blocks after the long break, kicking the first four goals to lead by 29 points, the biggest margin of the match. I though to myself, right, this is what's going to happen, I'm going to kick his ass in the clearances one way or another and jam it in my forward 50 until I goal. Rinse and repeat. The score at that point was 10.3.63 to 5.4.34. At three quarter time, it was 11.3.69 to 10.4.64.

The last quarter? Well, it was set up to be a beauty, wasn't it? It was a tense first five minutes (in game time, not real life - they were five minute quarters) until Aaron Davey - who up to that point had been quiet - got a loose ball on the wing. Flash burst down the wing and delivered a 40 metre pass to Mark Jamar. He was being tagged by Renouf, but not tagged enough. Jamar marked on 50, near the boundary. With the nearest Hawk 15 metres away, closer to centre half forward, Jamar ran towards the boundary. On the run, he went for goal and delivered a massive drop punt that sailed straight through the middle to put Melbourne in front for the first time since early in the first quarter.

Back in the centre, ten minutes to go. Brent Moloney and Tom Scully, who had been the spark to out comeback, got it out again. Jack Watts led to 55 out and marked, straight in front. He delivered a huge ball to the top of the goalsquare, and who else but Liam Jurrah, taking a huge pack mark amongst six players and kicking goal number five to put us in front by ten points.

It went goal for goal from then on, with my mate getting a goal to reduce the margin to four points, and then I'd kick one to lead by ten again, until Brad Green took a mark 55 out, slight angle. He lines up, runs in and absolutely thumps it straight through the middle to give the Demons an epic 16 point win.

WOW, played my first online game last night, What a game
Ess vs Collingwood

Started off pretty well got the 1st 2 goals, Collingwood came back and was 1 point up in the first quarter.

By half time scores were level, Collingwood kicked the next 5 goals, i got 1

Last quarter, got within 8 points, had the ball in my forward line with about 6 min left, gave away a 50m penalty and lost the match.

My heart has only just got back to beating normally, Awsome stuff.

Was just playing Quivorir (North, i was bulldogs) from on here, but it wasn't organised, just a random match. He is ranked 12th, I am ranked 17th.
I killed him in the first quarter, kicking 5 or so goals to 1. Then in the 2nd he got another 2, and I got a few as well.
After half time I got 4 goals for the half, to his 12 or something. The last 2 mins he gets a free kick 20m out from goal. Daniel Wells eats up all the time he can, and kicks the easy goal. He ends up winning by 2 points.

I was so angry :mad:

Was a brilliant game though Igloo, best person Ive played so far. Felt like such a dog for eating the clock though - sorry about that. If I had my time again I would have slotted right away.

Haha, thats alright. I dont mind losing games that are that intense. It was definately a great game, best one I have played. You dominated me in the ruck, which is where I think you got me mostly.

That last ruck contest I was trying as hard as I could to get the damn ball, but couldn't quite make it :(

Yeah, wasnt until I started winning the ruck contests that the game turned, took a while but I finally got it lol. - Hopefully play again xD

Yeah, im on heaps, so im sure we will play again. I might add you when I go back on later.

Haha, thats alright. I dont mind losing games that are that intense. It was definately a great game, best one I have played. You dominated me in the ruck, which is where I think you got me mostly.

That last ruck contest I was trying as hard as I could to get the damn ball, but couldn't quite make it :(
Isn't it great when you find a contest where you both genuinely have fun?

It's a rarity, but I love the games where winning or losing doesn't matter in the end. It's just competitive fun.

Isn't it great when you find a contest where you both genuinely have fun?

It's a rarity, but I love the games where winning or losing doesn't matter in the end. It's just competitive fun.

Exactly, its great fun when it happens. The downside is it doesn't happen too much.
The match with Quivorir was ridiculously intense in the last quarter. It was just fun to play.

Exactly, its great fun when it happens. The downside is it doesn't happen too much.
The match with Quivorir was ridiculously intense in the last quarter. It was just fun to play.
And it's good to actually hear this kind of stuff amidst the "this douche went Freo and quit when he wasn't winning" crap. It's refreshing.

my mate and I played a bunch of games consecutively and one of them was a win as Brisbane over Geelong which we turned out to get a badge saying we beat an admin for. remembered reading about them here and completely forgot until it popped up after saying we beat him! was a good hard fought low scoring game and we wonder how many other people we play are two or more humans, something that should be displayed

I got one of those badges too. It was exciting. Haha. I beat Potato Salad for mine :p

I always go Fremantle because i actually support them, not because of Sandilands...
Had a ripper game last night, didn't catch their name, but it was close throughout and at the end of the third he was 2 goals up after some excellent clock management prevented me from getting a goal, i was impressed because i haven't seen it done so well before.

Anyway in the last i booted the first 3 or so and then he got one to be a point in front. I scored another goal before he gradually made his way up the ground with some good ruckwork. Ball was bobbling around his forward 40 for the last minute with me desperately handballing towards the boundary line to stop him for having an easy shot, ended up winning by 5 points, was very intense :thumbsu:

One of my first games ever online was against Carlton (cant remember gamertag). He jumped out to an early lead, kicked the first 3 goals before i clawed my way back to within a point at quarter time. From then on in it was an arm wrestle. We went goal for goal all the way to the end where a stupid kick by me gave him a set shot with about 2 mins to go. Slotted that and ended up beating me by that goal. Was a great game.

I rematched him (i think) a couple of hours later and we had a similar game, this time i managed to snag a few early in the final term and hold him off to win by 10 points. Love the close games.

It's not AFL 2011 but I was playing AFL 2005 for nostalga's sake the other week and was a little rusty. I turned all directional and wind assist off and played a regular season game against the Dockers. I thought I had the game covered after getting 31 points up at quarter time but then Buckley and Swan both went down in the second, leaving my already depleted midfield down its two most prolific ball winners. The Dockers claw their way out to 14 up at the last change and I've resigned myself to a struggle at the very least. I keep scores close and the Dockers remain scoreless for the term as I get out to a 4 point lead with 0.54(in game clock, so roughly 13 seconds) left to play when Pavlich marks and goals, putting me down 12.2.74 to 10.12.72. Fraser wins the tapout down to Johnson who slams it on the boot, the ball falls in front of the leading Tarrant about 40 out as I tried my best to jam the ball around the corner while turning Tarrant from facing in completely the wrong direction with 3 seconds to go. The ball lands 5m out near the left goal post and takes a bounce left, leaving me crushed as the ball trickled through for a behind, the Dockers home by 1 point. :(

Just beat the no.6th ranked guy on PSN. Gave him his 2nd official loss (out of 70+ matches!).

I got matched up with him in a match and lost it by 11 points with a huge comeback in the last quarter, unfortunately I was well out of it thanks to a 5 goal 2nd quarter I gave him.

Then in searching for a game again I got matched up with him again. This one was in the rain, so skills are even worse. He kicked 5.10.40 and I had 7.3.45. Bit of luck involved in the end to get the win, but I've had my fair share of shocking kicking games before too so I am not giving him any favours!

He got a goal to be 5 points behind with a few minutes left so it was very frantic in the few minutes after that goal, I shat myself a couple of times as he got free, but managed to tackle him down each time. Then a nice big kick into my 50 ended it.

Is probably my best overall win online so far, considering how good this guy was.

Just beat the no.6th ranked guy on PSN. Gave him his 2nd official loss (out of 70+ matches!).

I got matched up with him in a match and lost it by 11 points with a huge comeback in the last quarter, unfortunately I was well out of it thanks to a 5 goal 2nd quarter I gave him.

Then in searching for a game again I got matched up with him again. This one was in the rain, so skills are even worse. He kicked 5.10.40 and I had 7.3.45. Bit of luck involved in the end to get the win, but I've had my fair share of shocking kicking games before too so I am not giving him any favours!

He got a goal to be 5 points behind with a few minutes left so it was very frantic in the few minutes after that goal, I shat myself a couple of times as he got free, but managed to tackle him down each time. Then a nice big kick into my 50 ended it.

Is probably my best overall win online so far, considering how good this guy was.

Hi. :(

Yeah was a bloody good match, a few bits are sticking in my mind as absolute facepalm moments:

-Bradshaw's last goal; the guy can't even get onto the ground in real life cause of a crook knee, but in the game he can snap a goal over his head with Brian Lake a step behind? Stunning flexibility.
-Your strange deliberate behind from a kick in that gave me a free kick, which I handpassed back to you so as to not take advantage of it. Usually I can afford to do things like that, but this time it may have cost me the game. :eek:
-2 or so minutes to go. Clearing handball out to my half forward flank, Boyd and Higgins chasing against one of your blokes. I do a lovely bump with Boyd to give Higgins all the time in the world to pick it up... And he just stands next to the ball without picking it up?!

Enjoyed it nonetheless. A close game against somehow who doesn't take advantage of the game's current exploits at every opportunity is a rarity. Will have to do it again.

Hi. :(

Yeah was a bloody good match, a few bits are sticking in my mind as absolute facepalm moments:

-Bradshaw's last goal; the guy can't even get onto the ground in real life cause of a crook knee, but in the game he can snap a goal over his head with Brian Lake a step behind? Stunning flexibility.
-Your strange deliberate behind from a kick in that gave me a free kick, which I handpassed back to you so as to not take advantage of it. Usually I can afford to do things like that, but this time it may have cost me the game. :eek:
-2 or so minutes to go. Clearing handball out to my half forward flank, Boyd and Higgins chasing against one of your blokes. I do a lovely bump with Boyd to give Higgins all the time in the world to pick it up... And he just stands next to the ball without picking it up?!

Enjoyed it nonetheless. A close game against somehow who doesn't take advantage of the game's current exploits at every opportunity is a rarity. Will have to do it again.
HAHA Awesome.:D

Definitely have to have a game again.

No idea what happened with that deliberate behind. I went to kick it long, powered up (and definitely didn't get into the yellow or red sliver) and bam it went behind me! I noticed you hand it back, which I do thank you for as it was out of my control to do that kick...but yeah, it was costly in the scheme of things.:D

I definitely remember that handball with Higgins going to run onto it, that was the one I shat myself on and thought it was all over...then I stream past and pick it up! Couldn't believe my luck.

It's a good thing I didn't bad mouth you at all seeing as you're on here and I was unawares, although there wasn't anything to bad mouth you about as we both seemed to play the game as fairly as possible.:thumbsu:

EPIC Matches