EPIC Matches

I just played an absolute epic game. Not so much for being close, but for being total domination. Me (bulldogs) vs some guys created team called Farrell Falcons.

End score:
23.3.141 vs 3.3.21

Not really an epic match but just won a game 33.12 (208) to 1. 0 (6)

Felt bad but it was Essendon so naturally i wanted to flog them lol. Have to say good on him though, for hanging around for the entire game. Massive amounts of respect

Not really an epic match but just won a game 33.12 (208) to 1. 0 (6)

Felt bad but it was Essendon so naturally i wanted to flog them lol. Have to say good on him though, for hanging around for the entire game. Massive amounts of respect
Should have sent a message of respect. That is insane!

Had another one just last night

Me ( North) 3.17.35 def the poor bloke ( Collingwood ) 1.22.28

Seriously??? Both of us just couldn't get a clean kick of the footy

Had another one just last night

Me ( North) 3.17.35 def the poor bloke ( Collingwood ) 1.22.28

Seriously??? Both of us just couldn't get a clean kick of the footy

let me guess it was pissing down with rain and terrible wind?

The first time i played in those conditions it was crazy. use to it now though

Just drew a game 8.6.54 apiece. Was up by 17 with 8 minutes left, and somehow lost it. With 3 minutes to go I was 5 points up with a shot on goal, decided to chew up some time then passed into the pocket. Went on to miss the shot, leveling scores with 2 minutes left. He got it down the other end and kicked a goal with 45 seconds to go. Great contest though :thumbsu:

Just had one with Illnino. Incredible match!

I started off unusually well, while Illnino was missing a few goals early on.

QTR 1 (Illnino - Me)
1.4.10 - 3.0.18

2nd quarter was quite tough, Illnino converted his only shot while I missed 3 (none were sitters).

QTR 2 (Illnino - Me)
2.4.16 - 3.3.21

Got on a run in this quarter, kept Illnino scoreless and got 2.2 myself, probably should've been 3.1, but didn't compensate enough for a Daniel Jackson set shot right near the end of the quarter.

QTR 3 (Illnino - Me)
2.4.16 - 5.5.35

Quarter started off with Illnino showing he wasn't going to lie down. Came out with a vengeance, got a few passes together and nabbed a goal. Another followed not long after. 2 goals early on and Illnino has momentum up. He wins it out of the ruck yet again, kicks it long, I get a spoil in (trying to rush it from about 12 metres out) ball trickles and trickles and is literally 1cm from going over the line when Roughead comes in a kicks it through. All the play with Illnino now, he dominates play, pushes it up and gets ANOTHER off the ground from 1cm out! Another is followed up not much longer, WHAT IS GOING ON! Illnino now up by 11 points after being down by 19 points going into the quarter!

I have to do something, have to make a play somewhere here! I manage to get the clearance this time and smash it forward, nobody is at the fall of the ball. Play goes back and forth a bit, I am desperately trying to rush it forward for anything and manage to get a (free kick? or mark?) to Daniel Jackson 40 metres out. Weary of not compensating enough in the 3rd quarter for his set shot, I push it wider and it goes straight through the middle. Down by 5 points!

I manage to win the hitout out of the ruck this time, but can't get it going to anyone of importance. Illnino brings it out of defence to the wing, I get the ball and get pushed in the back...knowing I have very little time I just bomb it as long as I can. Ball is spoiled by Gibson, at the fall of it though is Jack Riewoldt, Gibson attempts the bump but can't connect with it, Jack is wide open 20 metres out in play...HE MAKES NO MISTAKE! In front by 1 point with 2 minutes to play.

Somehow again I win the hitout (I am not very good at hitouts generally, this game I manage a good 12 from 31 overall). Get it out of the middle and just push it long and wide, I need to get it near the boundary to waste time! Taylor gets it and I handball it out. We just play it out near the boundary for a bit and the siren goes.

WHAT A GAME!

FINAL SCORE (Illnino - Me)
7.4.46 - 7.5.47

Had a great one against damHACKERS.

First quarter was fairly even, I'm down 2.1 to 2.0 at quarter time.

Second quarter he got away a bit, and at half time it was 5.4 3.3 his way.

Third quarter he continued to get away kicking 3 goals to 1 and led by 25 points at the break, 53-28.

Last quarter I got a goal at the 16 minute mark and another at the 12 minute mark to get the score to 54-40. He then held on for a while and with 7 minutes left I was getting worried. But managed to slot a goal and a point, and with 5 minutes to go I'm 7 points down with a centre square ball up. He won the tap but I got it forward after some scrapping and kicked a goal from the square with my boy Jack. 1 point down, 3 minutes left. He smashed it forward but I got a quick kick, straight to 4 Bulldogs in the centre circle. Thought it was over, he runs to CHF and attempts the handball but I sat back just enough to intercept. Booted it forward to Jack who marked 55 out from goal. Kick was on target but touched on the line, scores level 50 seconds to go. He got it clear and the siren went. Great game :thumbsu:

Final score:

Rich - 2.0 - 3.3 - 4.4 - 8.6.54
Dogs - 2.1 - 5.4 - 8.5 - 8.6.54

^^^

I had a pretty good one against DAMhackers the other night. He was playing with his friend or something as collingwood, I was saint kilda ( i think )

They were up all game until I smashed them in the last 2 minutes or so and I ended up winning. Can't really remember the details but it was such a struggle and I was pretty stoked when I finally got in front.

not sure about being epic..but last night i had a game against a team which stopped playing at 3 quarter time... (not quitting..just stopped playing)

so last quarter was just a training run... i tried to maximize the goal count for Dawes... final score

Collingwood 27.8 170
Hawks 0.0 0

Dawes scored 17 goals

fwiw..my online percentage is 1977%

^^^

I had a pretty good one against DAMhackers the other night. He was playing with his friend or something as collingwood, I was saint kilda ( i think )

They were up all game until I smashed them in the last 2 minutes or so and I ended up winning. Can't really remember the details but it was such a struggle and I was pretty stoked when I finally got in front.

Yeah I have a feeling he was playing with a friend from little bumps and things at times, but he played pretty much like it was 1 on 1 so it was hard to tell. On the headset there was more than one person so I reckon it was 2 on 1, with one of 2 being fairly shit.

not sure about being epic..but last night i had a game against a team which stopped playing at 3 quarter time... (not quitting..just stopped playing)

so last quarter was just a training run... i tried to maximize the goal count for Dawes... final score

Collingwood 27.8 170
Hawks 0.0 0

Dawes scored 17 goals

fwiw..my online percentage is 1977%

I've had this happen to me as well. Honestly, I'd much rather someone did this than just quit on me.

Just had a match of epic proportions online. Mr Natural 23 - hats off mate.
I was the Hawks and he was, you guessed it, Collingwood.

First half it was pretty scrappy but he was beating me on the scoreboard, down by 8 at half time.

Third quarter I started to work my way back into it and got up by 4 points.

The final quarter was epic. Leading by 5 points after spraying a set shot, he took back the lead by 1 point with about 10 minutes on the clock. I just couldn't find space though. The ball found its way into my forward 50 with 4:30 on the clock. Throw ins, stoppages, everything happened. Anytime I grabbed the ball near goal I got tackled.

I got a set shot with Roughy finally, but on the tightest of angles. Imagine like in real life when you can only see one post. I tried the banana but it was all hit and miss - went straight across the face and out on the full. This was a noob move by me because I tried to soak up some clock beforehand so he couldn't come back with anything, obviously not considering I may not even score!

1:30 left and I forced another throw-in in my forward pocket. He wins the tap and goes straight down to a teammate. I think that it's all over, he boots it out towards the wing. Ball goes to ground level and somehow I found an inch of space and Burgoyne went long to Mitchell who marked 55 out with just 18 seconds left. I let time run out and gave it everything I had - positioned nearly out on the full and loaded up the power bar.

I was probably too far out to score - but somehow the ball bounced in the goal square, and with no-one touching it, rolled through... to hit the post :(

35-35 and a great game, lucky to escape with a draw but there were definitely opportunities missed.

Got the "Dancing with your sister" trophy :eek:

Only just looked through this thread and seen my name.
I remember that game, couldn't believe i didn't spoil you after the siren shot!

Just had an epic comeback against Scootyb/Buckets_18.

We had a match before this and he won it very comprehensively, my poor kicking definitely let him get the edge and he pulled away with momentum from there (I even missed from 15 metres out on a tiny angle...stupid wind!).

Anyway, had to have another match again to try and settle the score.

This one started very similar to the first, only this time Buckets got away from me with 3 goals to nothing within about 5 minutes. I managed to get one goal by the end of the first, but that was all.

Getting into the match more and Buckets keeps pulling away from me, think it got out to about 5 goals the difference early in the 3rd.

Something clicks though and I start winning more of the ball. I even win myself some ruck contests (I literally had 1 hitout in the first match...) which starts to see things slowly tick my way. I get a goal, followed by another. Suddenly I'm spoiling everything in defence, running off my men. I'm actually playing well.

A lot of the rest is a blur, but all I remember is kicking my way to level scores and then managing to break the tide of play to kick one to put me in front for the first time all game, with just 3 minutes left!

Buckets as usual wins the tap and sends it forward, another spoil though. I push it out wide looking to take the least congested area of the ground. But the ball keeps coming back, 2, 3 and 4 times. Every time I manage to get a fist to it to stop the mark to attempt a shot at goal to draw it. But to no avail for Buckets. I somehow have pulled off the miraculous win, 50-56 while keeping him scoreless in the last.

One of, if not the best match I've played.

Couldn't have said it better myself HBK. :thumbsu:
Sometimes i feel a bit bad that Sandilands is so dominant because there is very little a poorly rated ruckman (like Graham / Vickery / Browne) can do to influence the ruck contest, no matter how well timed the tap. I can see why people get frustrated, but i tell myself that i'm not going to change teams to a team i don't support just because we have the best ruckman :p.

Your linking handball is some of the best i've seen. I mean any **** can learn that the computer runs at you for the easy handball over the top, but knowing this i still can't stop you, whereas you cut off a few of my balls when i tried to do the same.

Couldn't have said it better myself HBK. :thumbsu:
Sometimes i feel a bit bad that Sandilands is so dominant because there is very little a poorly rated ruckman (like Graham / Vickery / Browne) can do to influence the ruck contest, no matter how well timed the tap. I can see why people get frustrated, but i tell myself that i'm not going to change teams to a team i don't support just because we have the best ruckman :p.

Your linking handball is some of the best i've seen. I mean any **** can learn that the computer runs at you for the easy handball over the top, but knowing this i still can't stop you, whereas you cut off a few of my balls when i tried to do the same.
HAHA Cheers, I've definitely improved or at least added that link handballing to my game a lot more over the past few weeks.

It's something that I tend to employ when gamestyles are clashing so much, which isn't exactly where it was tonight. I actually think our natural gamestyles are almost the exact same, but it was definitely my handballing that kept me in it in the end.

You are obviously much stronger than me in the ruck which can be a huge advantage when played right. I struggle at the best of times in the ruck, maybe only winning 9-10 per game AT BEST (seriously, I'm shithouse!). It's the one facet I've never been able to improve, whether it's due to using Vickery and Graham or what, but I just can't get better!

It's forced me to really work on the clearance aspect, which when I do win a hitout can see me get forward really fast...it's the most disappointing thing because I am able to read the ruckwork generally well that if I were to be able to win it with enough precision or just pure amount from the hitout like yourself I'd be killing everyone!

I don't blame you for using Freo, you're one of the only one's I've played that uses Freo that has genuine reason.:thumbsu:

Played a ripper today.

Got off to a good start and expected another easy win as I led 20-6 in the first quarter. After that though, I think I tried being a bit too fancy and the other guy obviously played into some form as he piled on the goals. Halfway through the quarter I found myself down 59-22. This was also due in part to the fact I was playing as Hawthorn for the first time ever, who play in a different way to the Tigers.

Anyway, I start to get some form back and he starts being cocky and overusing the footy, so I got a couple back. Still down 59-34 early in the last and feeling a bit hopeless considering the fact he was a player of at least equal ability to me. But I now had some form and momentum up and kicked the next 3, cutting it to 7 points with 3 minutes left. Unfortunately I lost a key ruck tap and he got a quick kick and mark which ended in a goal, and I ended up losing by 13 points. Was a great game though. Shame I didn't check the PSN.

Just played a ripper of a match online, Wolves V Gold Coast (Wolves are my created team). It was a facinating match with each team getting out to a 20 odd point lead, but only to be dragged back level, and then the other team would kick away again. In the last quater with 10 mins to go (5 min quaters), i was up by 8, Gold Coast then kicked 3 quick goals and they were back up by 10. With 2 mins left i got the clearance out of the middle and chipped it to the leading Josh Kennedy, he then nailed it from 55 and it was back to the centre with a minute left. I did the exact same thing thought this time JK marked it 60 out, loaded up the barrell after the siren to win it. EPIC!

Final Score

Wolves 10.8.68
Gold Coast 10.6.66

Major ball winners:

L.Ball 14
M.Rosa 13
J.Kennedy 11

Major Goal kickers:

J.Kennedy 5
C.Dawes 2

Had a decent game against blueboy3 and his brother last night. Me and my brother were struggling to keep a lead for most of the game (the lead changed many times, but we were on top for the most part) before they got in front the last quarter and kicked out to a three goal lead. Pearce kicks his third from a set shot to bring it back to two.

Gray kicks one that almost brushes the post to bring it back to 1 point.

then with 30 seconds on the clock the ball falls from a contest about 35 metres out and lands in Motlop's hands who steps around one player and slots it home with 6 seconds on the clock (probably about .2 IRL). We went nuts haha.

Pearce showed how imbalanced he can be with the most disposals and 3 goals (2nd highest on the ground) two of which (one a snap from 50, one which he ran 40 metres before kicking from 40) came within 20 seconds of eachother to get the lead about halfway through the third.

EPIC Matches