News & Events Epic Wins!

• Thread starter Thread starter aaronm46

When I'd just arrived in the UK and was doing it tough money wise with the exchange rate, I lobbed up to an ATM with about 300 quid sitting in the machine.

I looked around to see if anyone owned it but there was no one about. So like any good Liverpudlian I put it straight in my skyrocket and scarpered. Nice little earner.:thumbsu:

Edited for accuracy.

I once went to my local servo and bought $30 phone credit with a $50 note. The lady at the counter gave me $30 change :confused:. I informed her of her mistake and she thanked me for my honesty. Felt pretty good after that, so I guess that's a win :).

The other day I tested a grape at the supermarket. It was really nice but then I remembered I had grapes at home anyway.

The result:

1 free grape.

Epic win :D

Thief.

Got a meal from Hungry jacks drive through and paid with $20 and the kid at the window gave me $50 change and had no idea what he'd done. I obviously noticed, knocked on the window and gave it back. He would have gotten in shit at the end of the night when the till didn't balance.

When I first moved out of home I lived with five mates in this big double story house.

At the local shopping strips there was this takeaway slash cafe joint that also sold milk, papers, smokes, chocolates, that kind of stuff.

Being 18 year old party types, we basically subsisted on a diet of beer, smokes, bongs, speed, Big Ms, chips and pies.

Apart from booze, we bought pretty much everything else from this shop (well, obviously not the green and the goey either).

Anyway, the family that ran it, especially the woman who was always in there, were surly tight arsed bastard. Seriously, between the five of us and our assorted dozens of mates who were always at the house, I honestly reckon we would have spent minimum $30 a day in that shop, often far more (this was early 90s). Someone was always going up the shop to get smokes, or a can of drink, or the papers etc or some chips.

And even if you were ten cents short, they'd never let you off. Ever.

You'd be like "Come on, I'm ten cents shoprt on this 12 buck purchase and I've already been in twice today, I'll just give it to you later when I'm back in, or tomorrow"

But no.

Then one Saturday morning, I remember it like it was yesterday, I was pissed off because my pay wheich was meant to go in on the Friday hadn't and I wouldn't have any cash til Monday. I borrowed 20 bucks off one of my housemates but was annoyed that a big weekend I'd planned wasn't going to happen.

Went up the shop, got a paper and a BigM, gave the sour old witch the $20 note and for some reason, God knows why, she thought it was $100 and gave me back like 98 dollars change.

The best bit was I could see her doing it. The till was sort of down the counter and I clocked her bringing over too much money and got a bit excited but presumed she'd realise, then when she didn't just without a moments hesitation put it in my pocket and walked out.

God I was thrilled. It ws an epic win. Then, for cover, I went back about two hours later and bought something else and the stupid bitch didn't say anything and was gruff and rude to me again.

God that felt good. And I got caned that night and every beer tasted sweeter knowing it would have genuinely hurt her.

For the record, on numerous times since then your average retail slave type has stuffed up my change and I've always been honest and let them know - because they'd get in shit because of it.

But this miserable cow owned the place and she's made loads of us anyway.

That was a truly epic win. The personal element. The sense of vengeance. Of the good guy's finally getting one back.

Far better than some ghey story about driving through Maccas to scam free water and getting a five buck burger free.

^^^^ Love it

My most epic of wins would have to have been for work at one of the pizza joints I used to work at. It was a flatrate plus an amount per delivery, working out to a fairly pissy amount per hour... Anyway, the computer calculated which orders you took and at the end of each shift gave you x amount of orders, y hours, this much pay each day paid by the week... However, when being paid the numbers somewhere along the lines must have been done manually, because I was well paid one week...

Anyway, usually averaging 15 deliviers per 4 hour shift, for some reason when putting in the number of orders I had delivered (I think 17 that day) they put in 170 orders delivered in one day. Not even a simple volume query or anything in the system, and yeah, overpaid about $250 which was a LOT of money for me back then... bought a nice phone that did...

I had a good one a few weeks ago.

Me and my housemate went to go buy a slab of beer and a few bottles of grog for a small party. My housemate was recently fired from the same supermarket (No way should he of been fired... someone was stealing stuff and they thought he was 'in on it' because they do the same course at uni together) , and his boss was the one at the check-out.

Anyway, he bought the slab and I bought a bottle of vodka and a bottle of Scotch. I paid on my card, and asked for $20 bucks out. Anyway, the boss was being so stuck up to my housemate and kept asking him if he has found another job with a smirk on his face.

Anyway, he gives me $40 cash out and I thought to myself 'oh, must have asked for $40 instead' and reciept for the two bottles. I half looked at the balance of my account as I walked away, and my housemate was muttering under his breath how much of a w@anker his old boss was. I stopped and thought to myself 'hang on, that balance isnt right.

In the end we figured out, that while the ex boss was trying to be a smartass to my housemate, he HADNT charged me for the two bottles of grog, and had charged $20 on my card for cash out BUT given me $40 out of the till.

A win of two bottles and an extra $20 bucks :D and the sweet feeling for my housemate getting one over his boss.

Me and my housemate went to go buy a slab of beer and a few bottles of grog for a small party. My housemate was recently fired from the same supermarket (No way should he of been fired... someone was stealing stuff and they thought he was 'in on it' because they do the same course at uni together) , and his boss was the one at the check-out.

Anyway, he bought the slab and I bought a bottle of vodka and a bottle of Scotch. I paid on my card, and asked for $20 bucks out. Anyway, the boss was being so stuck up to my housemate and kept asking him if he has found another job with a smirk on his face.

Anyway, he gives me $40 cash out and I thought to myself 'oh, must have asked for $40 instead' and reciept for the two bottles. I half looked at the balance of my account as I walked away, and my housemate was muttering under his breath how much of a w@anker his old boss was. I stopped and thought to myself 'hang on, that balance isnt right.

In the end we figured out, that while the ex boss was trying to be a smartass to my housemate, he HADNT charged me for the two bottles of grog, and had charged $20 on my card for cash out BUT given me $40 out of the till.

A win of two bottles and an extra $20 bucks :D and the sweet feeling for my housemate getting one over his boss.

^^^^ Love it

My most epic of wins would have to have been for work at one of the pizza joints I used to work at. It was a flatrate plus an amount per delivery, working out to a fairly pissy amount per hour... Anyway, the computer calculated which orders you took and at the end of each shift gave you x amount of orders, y hours, this much pay each day paid by the week... However, when being paid the numbers somewhere along the lines must have been done manually, because I was well paid one week...

Anyway, usually averaging 15 deliviers per 4 hour shift, for some reason when putting in the number of orders I had delivered (I think 17 that day) they put in 170 orders delivered in one day. Not even a simple volume query or anything in the system, and yeah, overpaid about $250 which was a LOT of money for me back then... bought a nice phone that did...

Excellent. **** you computer

Good win but change your outdated user name

My brother and I once got given our order plus the one for the car behind us in the drive-thru at Macca's. Didn't realise until after we'd driven off, though we both were thinking there seemed to be more bags than strictly necessary...

Naturally we ate it all, and felt pretty sick afterwards.

I used to work in the drive through window at Maccas and once got an order wrong and these flogs drove off with too much food. I got a warning off my supervisor about it.

The same flogs came back two weeks later and I had a pull into their thickshakes.

Epic win.

Got a meal from Hungry jacks drive through and paid with $20 and the kid at the window gave me $50 change and had no idea what he'd done. I obviously noticed, knocked on the window and gave it back. He would have gotten in shit at the end of the night when the till didn't balance.

Same thing happened to me but at an On The Run service station. Paid a $20 for whatever i was buying and recieved a $50 note as change. Also gave it back which i regret as the staff at the time were quite rude.

I used to work in the drive through window at Maccas and once got an order wrong and these flogs drove off with too much food. I got a warning off my supervisor about it.

The same flogs came back two weeks later and I had a pull into their thickshakes.

Epic win.
NotSureIfSerious.jpg

Once at Kmart i was buying AFL live 2003 for PC it cost $30 but the guy gave me the disc AFL Live 2004 my mistake which cost $89.

So ended up getting the Box for AFL Live 2003 with the disc for AFL Live 2004 for $30 :thumbsu:

Heh even in that game when I'd play against Collingwood with my Adelaide team, Adelaide would still lose.

This whole ****ing thread is an enormous argument against compulsory voting and a massive piece of evidence for eugenics. Myself included for even bothering.

I got it straight away, but yeah, I thought it was blatantly obvious what SLF was alluding to.