EPL Matchday 1

What’s funny about laughing at poor people? Must say I don’t get that one.
It's his personality. He's an older generation Australian and apparently that's what you do. If you noticed in the Nations League thread he called the Italians Eye-Ties and I'm just waiting for the Asian Cup thread so he can call the asian teams "Gooks" or "Charlie"

It's banter. Like I said, even fans that are from poor areas sing it when they play Liverpool.

You can't just excuse problematic behaviour by labelling it 'banter'. Regardless of that, comedy is about punching up not punching down so it's not even 'good banter' anyway.

Problematic behaviour? It's one group of working class fans taking the piss out of another. To use your own terms it is punching sideways. The Liverpool fans respond in kind by singing about 'dirty cockney bastards' whenever they play a London team, or the Chelsea rent boys song.

When Liverpool fans sang about the Munich air disaster for many years was that punching up or punching down? I reckon that was pretty offensive for the families of those who died. They only stopped singing it after Hillsborough.

Problematic behaviour? It's one group of working class fans taking the piss out of another. To use your own terms it is punching sideways. The Liverpool fans respond in kind by singing about 'dirty cockney bastards' whenever they play a London team, or the Chelsea rent boys song.

When Liverpool fans sang about the Munich air disaster for many years was that punching up or punching down? I reckon that was pretty offensive for the families of those who died. They only stopped singing it after Hillsborough.

These are also bad, and offensive. I don't support chants of that nature.

On the terraces, tribalism rules mate....PC culture is as relevant & welcome there as stilettos in mud.
No, no one sings those chants anymore unless you're stuck in the past. We know you are, you've proven it.

Nah, I'm an eternally present kind of bloke & a realist to boot.....These boards are prefaced upon tribalism, precious petal.
You're in your own distorted world, even united fans think you're an idiot, so who's your tribe?

If you're referring to the half dozen or so Dr Minion acolytes on these boards, then you don't really expect me to take your comment seriously I hope.

Yep. Just because its "banter" or in a song doesn't make it acceptable. Have heard that term used here over the years but never understood what it actually meant until recently. And once I found out, cringe.

If you're referring to the half dozen or so Dr Minion acolytes on these boards, then you don't really expect me to take your comment seriously I hope.
No I'm referring to pretty much every United fan who when you pop up disassociates from you.

LOL....You don't speak for all Man Utd posters, (I certainly didn't get the memo) which makes your comment both absurd & pretty desperate.

The concept of social ostracism seems to loom large in your psyche.

LOL....You don't speak for all Man Utd posters, (I certainly didn't get the memo) which makes your comment both absurd & pretty desperate.

The concept of social ostracism seems to loom large in your psyche.

"Pretty much" not a term you're familiar with?

It's to be expected I suppose, given you're the singular rep for your club here & thereby feel somewhat isolated & out of place here because of it.

The projection is a bit of a give-away.

What on earth are you on about?

Can we just drop all talk of Munich and Hillsborough. It's clear it's in the past and everyone here has enough respect to know both incidents shouldn't be mocked or used in one upmanship on a footy forum.
It’s always showed the stupidity of humans that a rivalry made some people think it was ok to use those tragedies as ‘banter’.

EPL Matchday 1