Premier Lg EPL Matchday 36 - On Optus Sport

Premier League Football

Disagree entirely.
How you leave and what you achieve matters.

Reckon I booed Leigh Colbert back in the day. Bailing as captain. But never Ablett. He was integral in winning flags.
Think TAA should be in that category IMO. Key part in winning the 4 major trophies on offer for Liverpool and should be treated as such.
How you leave is a lot more important here than what you achieve.
Homegrown Sol Campbell captained Spurs to only their second trophy in the last 30+ years. By that he should a revered figure by your fans.
But no, he left for nothing to your biggest rival. Of course Real aren't a domestic rival but we've met in the CL over the last few years so of course there's some animosity.

I wouldn't boo him if I was there but it's all part of the theatre. Spurs fans went after Kane when he tried to go to Man City and I don't blame them honestly.
Yesterday will be a picnic compared to the Bernabeu.

That's the average Pool fan for you, they burned Gerrard shirts and sent threats when he wanted to be a Chelsea player. Trent fulfilled his contract obligations, they should be booing the clueless Yanks who run the club and let him go for free.

Offended by everything. Ashamed of nothing.

I don’t understand why Slot even subbed him on. He caused us to concede a goal immediately, and he doesn’t even want to be here. Leave him out of the team and play players that actually want to be here. We should have won that game and a completely unneeded distraction ended up costing us 2 points.

Disagree entirely.

Reckon I booed Leigh Colbert back in the day. Bailing as captain. But never Ablett. He was integral in winning flags.
Think TAA should be in that category IMO. Key part in winning the 4 major trophies on offer for Liverpool and should be treated as such.

Why never Ablett? He deserted Geelong to play for an insignificant club, in their first year of existence, for money.

He did. And he'd won two flags including a drought breaking premiership.

And on his first return he kicked a brilliant goal in the pocket, reminiscent of a goal kicked seasons prior. And was cheered and had fans on their feet clapping.

IF you see your Blues win one soon I guarantee you, you won't boo them if they end up playing for Tassie. Or you shouldn't do.

Got nothing for him? He was an integral part of two league titles and a champions league trophy. He also earned the club millions through promotions and merch.

Don't you think he deserves to explore a new challenge after nine years of service and delivering consistent success?
I think it's what TAA represents that is hurtful. The local lad growing up idolising Steven Gerrard and wanting so desperately to play for Liverpool, captain Liverpool, score goals for Liverpool, lift trophies for Liverpool.

He's living all our fans dream.

Then he's just like, right im off to Real Madrid, the same blokes who beat us in two CL finals.

He's a scouser, he's supposed to be at his dream club, he's supposed to play 700 games for Liverpool and retire a legend.

I know it's not right, but to us it's like, you are lucky enough to be living our dream and you're shitting on it kind of thing.

Of course he is his own person, he can do what he likes, its his career.

Im not angry at him or anything, I'm just disappointed because I was like, he's one of us!! He's doing it for us, he's living our dream and then he just up's and leaves.

Was he not in a Liverpool shirt when they were booing him?
Technically but he's already told us all he's off to Real Madrid.

Doesnt sit well with me. I want players wearing the Liverpool shirt who are 100% commited to the club. He's not.

I was annoyed he even came on on the weekend and I hope he doesnt play another minute in our remaining two games.

He's a scouser, he's supposed to be at his dream club, he's supposed to play 700 games for Liverpool and retire a legend.
Says ****ing who exactly? Is this in the FA rulebook?
I think it's what TAA represents that is hurtful. The local lad growing up idolising Steven Gerrard and wanting so desperately to play for Liverpool, captain Liverpool, score goals for Liverpool, lift trophies for Liverpool.

He's living all our fans dream.

Then he's just like, right im off to Real Madrid, the same blokes who beat us in two CL finals.

I know it's not right, but to us it's like, you are lucky enough to be living our dream and you're shitting on it kind of thing.

Im not angry at him or anything, I'm just disappointed because I was like, he's one of us!! He's doing it for us, he's living our dream and then he just up's and leaves.
You have one line that makes the rest of it all redundant. It's his life, he gave good service.
He owes nothing.

Says ****ing who exactly? Is this in the FA rulebook?

You have one line that makes the rest of it all redundant. It's his life, he gave good service.
He owes nothing.
There is no rule but there is emotion and love etc.

I love LFC, I'd never play for anyone else for as long as they wanted me.

Sure he owes us nothing, what do we owe him then? Nothing also. Boooo. Enjoy Madrid, hope you win nothing etc.

🤷‍♂️

There is no rule but there is emotion and love etc.

I love LFC, I'd never play for anyone else for as long as they wanted me.

Sure he owes us nothing, what do we owe him then? Nothing also. Boooo. Enjoy Madrid, hope you win nothing etc.

🤷‍♂️
So you'd rather he play 700 games for the club but you won nothing. Easier to cheer him that way...

If fandom is about glory, albeit on this site that's more so glory hunting than local pride and he's been important in delivering that glory then surely that's what matters.

Obviously I've booed none from my club, booing from your sofa by yourself at 1am is weirdo behaviour. But I've booed 2 GFC players. Both deservedly so, and neither won us anything. Leigh Colbert and Justin Murphy.

I can't agree with a player that's contributed to at a guess 5-8 major trophies being deserving of that treatment. Kroos, Lewandowski, Alaba all left Bayern for spanish giants. Can't recall them being poorly received. I could list many more examples.

I don't know why TAA would come out and tell everyone he is off to Madrid this early to be honest. Everyone either suspected or knew he was going, but he hadn't said anything, why not play the last two league games of the season, enjoy the games knowing your are leaving your club in a strong position, then release that announcement video a week after the season is done.

So you'd rather he play 700 games for the club but you won nothing. Easier to cheer him that way...

If fandom is about glory, albeit on this site that's more so glory hunting than local pride and he's been important in delivering that glory then surely that's what matters.

Obviously I've booed none from my club, booing from your sofa by yourself at 1am is weirdo behaviour. But I've booed 2 GFC players. Both deservedly so, and neither won us anything. Leigh Colbert and Justin Murphy.

I can't agree with a player that's contributed to at a guess 5-8 major trophies being deserving of that treatment. Kroos, Lewandowski, Alaba all left Bayern for spanish giants. Can't recall them being poorly received. I could list many more examples.
Winning is irrelevant, I dont care how many trophies Steven Gerrard won or how many TAA won. They are local lads, they are the scousers in our team. They are supposed to play 700 games win lose or draw. And fandom certainly isnt about glory because then why would any smaller clubs that dont win much have any fans.

Unsure what Alaba, Lewandowski and Kroos have to do with it. Alaba is from Austria and grew up in the youth system of FK Austria Wien and played for their reserves side before moving to Bayern, he's not a local lad.

Lewandoski is Polish and played for 3 different Polish sides before joined Dortmund and then eventually Bayern. Im sure fans were fine with him leaving as he's so old and gave all of his prime to Bayern, plus again, not a local lad.

Kroos is actually German, no idea if he was a Bayern fan growing up but at least when he left for Real Madrid, Bayern actually got a fee in return. Plus the fans boo'd him when he came back when Real played Bayern in a CL semi.

Football is tribal mate.

I saw a comment on Youtube that I thought summed up the situation pretty well.

"One of the best ways to leave a club is to find it better than you left it. Case in point - Klopp. With Trent, that's debatable. On one hand, he gave us iconic moments and no matter what, those should always be acknowledged. On the other hand, he's leaving for free, leaving a massive hole in the squad and directly strengthening a direct European rival. If I was in the stadium, I wouldn't have booed. But I wouldn't have clapped either.

Most likely Slot didn't anticipate such a negative reaction and genuinely felt TAA could help us win the game. As such, I can't blame Slot but the supporters did make their voices heard and I'm pretty sure next time round, Slot would think twice about playing him.

Truth is. The manner Trent has cynically engineered a free transfer to a direct rival means he's now too much of a divisive figure within Liverpool. The marriage is done and the longer he hangs around, the more toxic it will get. It's better if he just leaves."

Winning is irrelevant, I dont care how many trophies Steven Gerrard won or how many TAA won. They are local lads, they are the scousers in our team. They are supposed to play 700 games win lose or draw. And fandom certainly isnt about glory because then why would any smaller clubs that dont win much have any fans.

Unsure what Alaba, Lewandowski and Kroos have to do with it. Alaba is from Austria and grew up in the youth system of FK Austria Wien and played for their reserves side before moving to Bayern, he's not a local lad.

Lewandoski is Polish and played for 3 different Polish sides before joined Dortmund and then eventually Bayern. Im sure fans were fine with him leaving as he's so old and gave all of his prime to Bayern, plus again, not a local lad.

Kroos is actually German, no idea if he was a Bayern fan growing up but at least when he left for Real Madrid, Bayern actually got a fee in return. Plus the fans boo'd him when he came back when Real played Bayern in a CL semi.

Football is tribal mate.

"One of the best ways to leave a club is to find it better than you left it. Case in point - Klopp. With Trent, that's debatable. On one hand, he gave us iconic moments and no matter what, those should always be acknowledged. On the other hand, he's leaving for free, leaving a massive hole in the squad and directly strengthening a direct European rival. If I was in the stadium, I wouldn't have booed. But I wouldn't have clapped either.

Most likely Slot didn't anticipate such a negative reaction and genuinely felt TAA could help us win the game. As such, I can't blame Slot but the supporters did make their voices heard and I'm pretty sure next time round, Slot would think twice about playing him.

Truth is. The manner Trent has cynically engineered a free transfer to a direct rival means he's now too much of a divisive figure within Liverpool. The marriage is done and the longer he hangs around, the more toxic it will get. It's better if he just leaves."
You're entitled to your view, I agree with very little of it.
Especially the local lad part meaning they're meant to stay.

Liverpool played a grand total of 4 ties against Real Madrid in 6 seasons, lost all of them, and we’ve got fans trying to manufacture a rivalry out of it so they can justify booing a club legend. Incredible.
We smashed Real Madrid just this season. And we have played in 3 CL finals in recent seasons, Madrid being the oppo in 2 of them. No different to Man City being our main title rivals in recent years in the prem.

The expression is - “leave it better than you found it.”, but I see that YouTuber cheated.

Football is tribal mate.

If Trent lost his form and the team would be better off without him would you still want him to play each week because he’s a local lad and meant to play 700 games for them? Or is ‘loyalty’ only meant to be shown by the player.

Real Madrid offered a transfer fee and Liverpool turned it down. Doesn’t leave him with a lot of options after that.

Disagree entirely.

I wouldn’t boo but understand those who do. We all see it differently. It’s not a big deal for me.

Premier Lg EPL Matchday 36 - On Optus Sport