Toast Esava

Id rather see him predominantly save his tank for F50 work. I was impressed by his want to get back and compete in the ruck in D 50, but for his repeat leads and F50 work - keep him there.

I dont mind the chop work inside F50 to save Smith... note SMITH..... from blowing up and helping him out but dont take Sav into the game with an expected 40% ruck load or more.

GO Catters

Where in my post have I insulted anyone personally?

All I did was stated my opnion that it is madness to leave him in the ruck.

Maybe in the future you can not be so sensitive about soneone’s Opnion that wasn’t directed to yourself personally.
You put the P in there by mistake, eh? I'm sensitive to onions too.

I didn't read the rest of the thread, but my thoughts are that Sav needs to be fast-tracked into becoming our #1 ruckman who rests forward. Get him training with Otto for the technique and work on his physical endurance, and in 2019 and beyond he could easily surpass anything that Smith and Stanley can dish up.
He's got an enormous leap. Would love to see him smash it.

Hawkins isn’t going to be around forever

A replacement will be hard to get, so why waste his potential filling in for the Rucks we already have . Hopefully once Smith is math fit or whatever he comes back and performs better.

Can’t believe people want him as a ruck despite whinging for years and years about the lack of support for Hawkins or a replacement in that area.

Utter madness
It's strange you say a replacement for Hawkins is going to be difficult, when we've been 8-ish years finding a replacement for Ottens.

They're equally difficult positions to fill.

I'd be happy if he played either/or or a the resting ruck/forward.

It's strange you say a replacement for Hawkins is going to be difficult, when we've been 8-ish years finding a replacement for Ottens.

They're equally difficult positions to fill.

I'd be happy if he played either/or or a the resting ruck/forward.
Generally speaking Rucks are easier to replace, obviously not the quality of Ottenns of course.

I’d rather we find a forward to support and eventually replace Hawkins, we still have Smith who despite his limitations is still the best Ruckman we have had since Ottens.

I really hope they steer him forward more and ruck less.

I know we have issues there right now, but since JPOD we have struggled up forward for a second banana. Thats 5 years.

Id luv to see him 70/30 split forward.... id really love 80/20 but I reckon im overly hopeful.

Let Smith do the bulk of it and let Sav roam the front 1/2 of the ground. Blitz can take the odd one in D50 if needed but save the Sav's rig for the forward stuff.

Just hate seeing him throw in so hard at ruck contests. Save him for up forward IMO.

GO Catters

I know we have issues there right now, but since JPOD we have struggled up forward for a second banana. Thats 5 years.

Id luv to see him 70/30 split forward.... id really love 80/20 but I reckon im overly hopeful.

Let Smith do the bulk of it and let Sav roam the front 1/2 of the ground. Blitz can take the odd one in D50 if needed but save the Sav's rig for the forward stuff.

Just hate seeing him throw in so hard at ruck contests. Save him for up forward IMO.

GO Catters

Im not sure to be honest.

He is giving more in the ruck as the role seems more talent related ..where as the forward role requires more nous that will take time to acquire... (and thus you want him forward) ... Im think the more he plays around where the ball is for the moment ..it sort of parallels Blitz. Just stay around the ball , get it in your hand learn to read team mates etc.. and then we see where it takes him. The needs of the team will dictate it a bit. He is still so raw ..and at time looks like a big kid up forward..its so enjoyable ..I think we have been starved of youthful excitement a bit. Im enjoying this season more than the last couple with so many more kids in the side. I suspect if we had another person who was a gun playing ruck , and Sav spent more time forward ..he may lose form a touch..the time on the ball helps break the constant shut down..which must be a drain on 100% forwards these days.

The next 20-40 games will sort it out. One can sort of see Blitz transitioning and I suspect thats what will happen with sav.

Overall it seems to me that the coach wants mobility ..and it would seem the lack of mobility is where he lay the blame for our MCG finals issues. Last nights game , with so much youth , it would seem we are willing to swap some experience for the freshness that the young can bring. If the Big three can sort just enhance and settle them at key times.. I suspect we will look a lot better at the G... the form of Stewart and Bews is really putting us back into calculations as the expected backline failure has not occurred. In fact mobile additions everywhere are really enhancing us and Sav in the ruck atm is big part of that. Not good new for Smith I suspect.

Good article on The Sav ... who knows if he will make but just sounds a ripper young lad... reading this article made me think the club should organise a trip to Fiji in the off season.

Geelong ruckman Esava Ratugolea playing for the love of the game, physical contact and to support his family in Fiji

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...i/news-story/89c91e52a1b5bb151481da70d6017bb9

THEY call him Sav.

“I love the contact,” he said. “I love throwing my weight around. I love crashing packs. I love getting into people, hurting people really. I just want to continually improve my game all the time. There’s many areas I can get better in and at the moment ... I know I need so much improvement.”

“My grandparents (Kiti and Peter) came to Australia to give their kids a better opportunity with school and sports, but also to work here and send money back to our village, back to our extended family in Fiji to help them out as well,” he said.

“They still do it now, my grandparents and mum.

“Now, I send money to my grandmother and my mum and my siblings as well to help out with things. If Nana asks me if I can help with stuff going on in Fiji, I just send her the money.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...i/news-story/89c91e52a1b5bb151481da70d6017bb9

GO Catters
I don't mind the idea of playing him in the ruck sometimes because it does get him involved. Staying up forward all day for six touches every week can be tough for a young player.

Went very early on this from pre season game 1. As per any optimism in came running the residential losers and Betty downers.

Very happy how this kid is going along; obviously the coaches think extremely highly of him and are wanting to fast track his development for once Tom hangs up the boots, which could be end of this year the way it’s playing out.

Good article on The Sav ... who knows if he will make but just sounds a ripper young lad... reading this article made me think the club should organise a trip to Fiji in the off season.

Geelong ruckman Esava Ratugolea playing for the love of the game, physical contact and to support his family in Fiji

THEY call him Sav.

“I love the contact,” he said. “I love throwing my weight around. I love crashing packs. I love getting into people, hurting people really. I just want to continually improve my game all the time. There’s many areas I can get better in and at the moment ... I know I need so much improvement.”

“My grandparents (Kiti and Peter) came to Australia to give their kids a better opportunity with school and sports, but also to work here and send money back to our village, back to our extended family in Fiji to help them out as well,” he said.

“They still do it now, my grandparents and mum.

“Now, I send money to my grandmother and my mum and my siblings as well to help out with things. If Nana asks me if I can help with stuff going on in Fiji, I just send her the money.

Wish Hawkins had the same mindset as Esava. But not to be. Shame.

Yeah his tracking on very good. But should we give these first gamers e.g. Sad and Fogs a simple 1 week rest? As we don't want to burn them out. We may have heaps of injuries but Sav can be replaced by Buzza,

Wish Hawkins had the same mindset as Esava. But not to be. Shame.
And that is our problem under Scott. Not all players are the same in skill, capacity or mindset. Just like us really at any of our workplaces. It is team that makes it work.
So if we had a coach, or coaches, that understood that and got them working to their strengths with others covering weaknesses then we would have a team. If we had some on field leadership that would help.
Listening to a discussion on radio yesterday about McCartney, who has apparently been banished or at least was last year from the Melbourne Coaches box because he challenged Goodwin, the question rhetorically with tongue firmly in cheek, was whether any of our assistant coaches would challenge Scott.
I think the answer would be no.

And that is our problem under Scott. Not all players are the same in skill, capacity or mindset. Just like us really at any of our workplaces. It is team that makes it work.
So if we had a coach, or coaches, that understood that and got them working to their strengths with others covering weaknesses then we would have a team. If we had some on field leadership that would help.
Listening to a discussion on radio yesterday about McCartney, who has apparently been banished or at least was last year from the Melbourne Coaches box because he challenged Goodwin, the question rhetorically with tongue firmly in cheek, was whether any of our assistant coaches would challenge Scott.
I think the answer would be no.

I get the feeling Scott wouldn’t tolerate it.

Just amuses me that our 3 big guys - Smith, Stanley and Hawkins - are the 3 who avoid physical contact as much as anyone.

I get the feeling Scott wouldn’t tolerate it.

Just amuses me that our 3 big guys - Smith, Stanley and Hawkins - are the 3 who avoid physical contact as much as anyone.

Whilst I don’t disagree that Hawkins does not seek big contact - it’s hard not to blame him after every time he throws his size around he gives Free kicks away or gets reported and suspended. Classic Pavlov’s dog at this point. He’s been conditioned to be gentle - and imo that’s not his fault

Go Catters