Toast Esava

I would feel much the same about Sav having a shot as described above, as I would with Dangerfield under the same conditions.
Hawkins, Ablett & Duncan are 3 guys I'd be most comfortable taking that shot

Just feel that others can be less reliable and get more nervy when they are lining up for goal

Yes..I'm always amazed when Duncan misses a target...Gax on the run from 50 is shut the gate, and Hawkins pretty reliable these days. Reckon he's done a lot of work on his kicking...

Dangerfield can't kick either. Yet he is important to the structure of the team, just as Esava is. Someone has to go with him. And like Dangerfield he migh just snag a goal or even kick to a team mate, you just never know.
Dangerfield is an infinitely better kick than Esava. I’m sure you can quote stats etc but Esava can barely get them to spin. He also supply’s zero separation, little pressure, is still learning dangerous spots, doesn’t demand respect from opposition defenders most of the time etc.

Danger does. I’m far far from lost to Esava. He will be a very handy player but at this late stage of the season we don’t need to be grooming for the future. We need to win a flag this year and that won’t happen when 4 out of your 6 fwds don’t touch the footy

And Miers, if he is with his distance.
16.2 for the 2020 season.

And Miers, if he is with his distance.
16.2 for the 2020 season.

Agree Miers who is generally a really reliable kick when within his distance, but he also needs to be on the right area of the ground - with his kicking action where he brings the ball back across his body, kicks from the right pocket (or to far too the right of the goal face when facing the goals) are a bit of a close the eye moment

There’s a game I remember that happened about 9 years ago. A 23 year old key forward took seven contested marks and the opposition had no answer. The same key forward couldn’t hit the side of a wheat silo when kicking a footy. It mattered not.

Ratugolea will play this finals series

Just look at that leap. It's such a shame that back injury in 2013 and hotspots in his foot earlier in his career, which robbed him of his leaping ability and diminished his pack marking ability. I really felt we missed the best Tom Hawkins in his peak years.

Yes, he's been such rubbish this year.

Needs to come, simple. We cannot allow an interceptor defender on a short player. Sav rectifies this.
GSW and Melbourne will plan to do what Port did.

Yes, he's been such rubbish this year.
F*** me talk about missing the point. hé is giving hawkins a massive complement Saying Hawkins could of been even better if his back wasn’t stuffed in his late twenties. And he is right.

hawkins could of been the best foward of the decade if he had his leaping game that he lost in 2012

Aliir was a factor in the first quarter when some aspects of our game were alright but the entry inside 50 was horrible. Then after quarter time everything was horrible. Bringing in someone to play the [PLAYERCARD]Shane Kersten[/PLAYERCARD] role is not a priority. Best way to deal with an intercepting defender is to not kick it straight to him. Hawkins, Cameron, Rohan and occasionally Dangerfield and Duncan is plenty in terms of threats.

Esava averages 3 goals a game in semi finals*

Bring him in.

* sample size of one game

I think he will play, Scott moving Rohan to the backline was a sign he is completely fed up with him. And as we saw with Stanley after the Hickey dismantling when he loses faith in a player he is happy to banish them.

I feel like it was more of a needs rather than I'm fed up with Rohan move. Rohan moving back had to cover no 2E and MOC going down hurt. Bews was getting strapped up too.

Rohan provided some great run and dash out of defense too. If he can do that again it'd be great to have.

I feel like it was more of a needs rather than I'm fed up with Rohan move. Rohan moving back had to cover no 2E and MOC going down hurt. Bews was getting strapped up too.

Rohan provided some great run and dash out of defense too. If he can do that again it'd be great to have.

The idea of adding Gary Rohan to a defensive group who doesn't handle Finals pressure makes me sad.

I'd say Scott moving Rohan to defence was more to do with losing O'Connor to a hamstring injury, and unlike the other matches which have seen the complaint of "too many defenders", we didn't really have an obvious in match replacement for O'Connor

No doubt Rohan wasn't haven't much impact up forward, but we've seen in the past that he doesn't need a lot of touches to have an impact - this seemed a move made out of need rather than frustration with the player

And if Scott wasn't happy with what he saw from Rohan across the first quarter, what makes you think he would have been happy with Ratugolea's last match which was against St Kilda & alongside both Cameron & Hawkins - not sure 3 disposals (2 kicks & 1 handball) & 6 hitouts is the sort of match that brings confidence he will do anything up forward

i actually think we might see O'Connor and Dahlhaus out. For Zuthrie and Thouy, and i for 1 actually think that might be our best option as it stands.

i cant see Sav playing again this year unless there is an injury. God i hope not.

Aliir was a factor in the first quarter when some aspects of our game were alright but the entry inside 50 was horrible. Then after quarter time everything was horrible. Bringing in someone to play the Shane Kersten role is not a priority. Best way to deal with an intercepting defender is to not kick it straight to him. Hawkins, Cameron, Rohan and occasionally Dangerfield and Duncan is plenty in terms of threats.
Spot on. Aliir played very well, but gee, if the opposition kicks it to you every time, then you'd expect to look like an all-Australian. The real dominance was their half backs and midfielders who put the right amount of pressure on our clearance players and made them kick poorly. It's also on those clearance players for feeling pressure and not having that composure to take that extra moment to steady and find a good option.

I was watching Sydney march the ball up the field and they were looking for players and making great kicks after pausing for that extra moment. I really don't know what happened on Friday night and why our 'professional-level' players felt so rushed. They literally kicked the ball out from congestion as quickly as they could and watched it kicked back over their heads equally fast.

Geelong is a team known for control. Yet we chose not to even bother doing that (Duncan did). We are also known as a team that wins the contested ball. Yet we didnt even contest effectively in our forward line - which would have given time in forward half and opportunities to score. Just very uncharacteristic play. Which is good I guess, since it doesnt happen often and I wouldnt expect it to this week. Once again, I make an assumption that as a professional team that finished in the top four, they know what they are doing and can switch it on when given the opportunity to reflect.

Spot on. Aliir played very well, but gee, if the opposition kicks it to you every time, then you'd expect to look like an all-Australian. The real dominance was their half backs and midfielders who put the right amount of pressure on our clearance players and made them kick poorly. It's also on those clearance players for feeling pressure and not having that composure to take that extra moment to steady and find a good option.

I was watching Sydney march the ball up the field and they were looking for players and making great kicks after pausing for that extra moment. I really don't know what happened on Friday night and why our 'professional-level' players felt so rushed. They literally kicked the ball out from congestion as quickly as they could and watched it kicked back over their heads equally fast.

Geelong is a team known for control. Yet we chose not to even bother doing that (Duncan did). We are also known as a team that wins the contested ball. Yet we didnt even contest effectively in our forward line - which would have given time in forward half and opportunities to score. Just very uncharacteristic play. Which is good I guess, since it doesnt happen often and I wouldnt expect it to this week. Once again, I make an assumption that as a professional team that finished in the top four, they know what they are doing and can switch it on when given the opportunity to reflect.
We choose not to control? 3 or ports first 5 goals came from hésitaation And then sideways kicks That we failed to implement. There was no punching the ball on. Very little play on from marks. We played nothing but control.

We TRIED to control. But our errors in critical locations killed any chance to impose this onto Port effectively.

That's not right. We weren't running from behind but mostly we got in trouble from fast aggressive switches rather than hesitation and then sideways kicks.

Kolo hesitated and should've gone quicker but he didn't go sideways it was long to the wing (actually should've gone wider once he didn't take the initial aggressive option). Duncan, Blicavs and Danger had long aggressive switches that got us in to trouble. Even Guthrie and Henderson got in trouble trying to move it on quick and Hendo having a brain fade rather than going back to Guthrie.

It wasn't run and carry but most of our bad mistakes on Friday came from trying to aggressively open up the fat side of the ground via a switch rather than through defensive ball use. It wasn't the slow chipping stuff that got us in trouble.