Essendon $1.03 for the win!

May 23, 2001
That's right....apparently it's a new AFL record, beating the $1.05 West Coast started at against Fitzroy a few years ago.

$1.03 for the win - you can earn double that by putting your money in the bank!

For those of you who are interested in backing Freo (no doubt there are millions of you) they are currently paying $9. I'm not sure what they are at over 39.5 points.

I think if Essendon lose it will be the last we see of Dan25, Mantis etc on these boards...forever! :p

well, Essendon won't lose you idiot. i think you should be quiet considering you're 3 losses into a possible 5 loss streak.

i still can't believe you lost to North last year after we beat them by 21 goals.

Hawthorn will not make the grand final this year and we all know it.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

I think if Essendon lose it will be the last we see of Dan25, Mantis etc on these boards...forever! :p

We can always hope :) ;) :eek: LOL (only joking Bomber fans!)

Seriously, I'd consider putting a couple of bucks on Freo. Be a good dividend putting on a few bucks if they win! Stranger things have happened, not this millennium though!

You might want to back the Dockers at $9.

Ben Allen gave me a call during the week, asking for some advice on how to turn the team around. I told him the secret to my success is in the pre-game preparation. Some players like to listen to heavy metal music to fire themselves into a frenzy. This method is incorrect. I like to lull myself into a deep, relaxed mood by sitting in a nice comfy chair and listening to some Enya, with a cup of camomile tea, until i am nearly asleep. Then i run out onto the ground for the game, and the results speak for themselves.

My prediction: Fremantle by 26 points.

gaolden hawk

You wish :rolleyes:

Actually, I might put some money on the shockers, that way if the unthinkable happens, at least my wallet will be happy.:D

Mantis, I don't really want you guys to not come back....the crap you would cop for the next 6 months would be hilarious!

In all seriousness, if Hawthorn lost to Freo, not even winning $100 could quell the pain.

Since when did this thread have anything to do with Hawthorn been in the Grand Final? Let's just see what happens this week before you start saying we are in the middle of a 5 game losing streak.

PS. 200 posts up, *raises his bat to the non-existent crowd* Only 3900 behind Dan 25! :)

Mantis, I don't really want you guys to not come back....the crap you would cop for the next 6 months would be hilarious!

In all seriousness, if Hawthorn lost to Freo, not even winning $100 could quell the pain.

Since when did this thread have anything to do with Hawthorn been in the Grand Final? Let's just see what happens this week before you start saying we are in the middle of a 5 game losing streak.

PS. 200 posts up, *raises his bat to the non-existent crowd* Only 3900 behind Dan 25! :)

Why am I getting blamed for what other people post at the moment.:confused:

I never even mentioned bloody hawthorn.:mad:

yeah fair enough. although your performance v us was heartless i must admit. but i went to the hawks v dogs game and that was brilliant.

menschy, that was hilarious. good work mate

Originally posted by mantis

Why am I getting blamed for what other people post at the moment.:confused:

I never even mentioned bloody hawthorn.:mad:

Sorry Mantis...was talking to Red + Black regarding Hawthorn. My mistake.

Fair call Red + Black - were very disappointing against Essendon and Port, fairly unlucky against Geelong. I think we are a good chance this week - probably not a $1.03 but a good chance all the same :)

Well. I reckon if Essendon were smart enough they will back fremantle to win by over 39.5 points. Because they have pretty much won the minor premiership. So I reckon it wont be a bad idea for Essendon to put $4000 on Freo to win and they will have $36,000. LOL

GOALden Hawk,

Ironically, you have more posts thanme on the EFC forum, I think (I post as Mighty Dons) and you don't even barrack for our mighty club.

Trust me, if we lose, I'll be around, but it ain't gonna happen next week. I don't think it will be an annihilation. I'd expect us to win by about 60 points.

Originally posted by Dan25
GOALden Hawk,

Ironically, you have more posts thanme on the EFC forum, I think (I post as Mighty Dons) and you don't even barrack for our mighty club.

Trust me, if we lose, I'll be around, but it ain't gonna happen next week. I don't think it will be an annihilation. I'd expect us to win by about 60 points.

Nearly all of those posts are from a thread I started there about the match been moved from Colonial to the MCG...apparently it was a record for the longest thread ever on the Essendon website or something!

I think in all seriosness Essendon will win by 127 points...a weeks break, heaps of good players back, Ben Allen not having a clue....all adds up to another Shockers schellacking I'm afraid.

Originally posted by Stegelator
Congrats on ya 200 Goalden hawk!

ps do you have to pay to get in the dons forum??

Nope :D

Only if you want to become a member of 'The Engine Room'...which is a load of bollocks if you ask me. Although Bombertalk is as close to bollocks as you can get. Infestated with young girls who think they know the game more than us 'seasoned' veterans.

There are some young chaps in there bagging Wanganeen, in responce to some (including myself) congratulating Gav on his 200th!

Hmmm....rant over! :D

Essendon into $1.01!

Well it just gets worse for the Shockers, with Norm Short having Essendon at $1.01, or 100/1 on for the win, with Freo at $26, in a 2 horse race!!!!

Even more ridiculous, you can bet on Freo v Matthew Lloyd. Freo are currently $1.33 and Lloyd $3!!!

Re: Essendon into $1.01!

Well it just gets worse for the Shockers, with Norm Short having Essendon at $1.01, or 100/1 on for the win, with Freo at $26, in a 2 horse race!!!!

Even more ridiculous, you can bet on Freo v Matthew Lloyd. Freo are currently $1.33 and Lloyd $3!!!

You're kidding???

A punt on Freo is looking more attractive by the second!! Wonder what their odds are over 39.5 pts?

Nah...think i'll just put 20 on Matty Lloyd ;)

LMFAO!!! :D:D

Essendon $1.03 for the win!