Essendon 29k?

• Thread starter Thread starter kaysee

"When everything is going wrong, when the Bombers are struggling!!" Turn it up, you played finals last year, you had just come off flogging Hawthorn and were going in favourites in a very important home game against a side you haven't beaten in 6 years.

Okay "everything gone wrong" might be the wrong choice of words, but Essendon was 2-4, and looking likely to miss the finals. What happened last year is irrelevant. Fans respond to what is happening THIS year.

Under those circumstances Essendon and Collingwood always pull about 30,000 when the team is struggling on-field a little.

a 2-4 Essendon versus port or Freo will always pull 30,000 as an absolute minimum. Same with Collingowod if they were 2-4.

It's a crowd that Essendon never seem to drop below, even when they are struggling on the field as the 2-4 record going into the game would attest.

I know your argument is "Oh, but it was an important game"... true, but what game isn't?

At the end of the day a 2-4 Essendon versus Port will always draw about 30,000.

How can you have a source for a simple opinion. The source is obviously me as it is an opinion that I have stated. Did it hit a raw nerve?

you stated it as fact, so I assumed you may have had something substantial to add. But no, it's just your opinion, which is fine; but then I'm sure you'd be just as accepting of my opinion that generalised un-provable hypothetical statements with no basis in fact are best useless & meaningless

Realistically, what's that got to do with it? You'd think more than 26-27000 Essendon fans (allowing for Port's sizeable travellers) - Kevin Sheedy's self-styled 'Australian club' - could be bothered to go see their club live, regardless of the opposition.

Though I believe the Essendon fans have given satisfactory answers to this question. The quote form the Port fan has a point. It is a little irritating and somewhat disrespectful of the WA and SA clubs that they should be blamed for a less than average attendance. One example why crowd averages can't be taken a true indication of the strength of a club. The Crows and Eagles consistently pull over 35000 regardless of who there playing in crowds made up of 95%+ home fans. If either Perth or Adelaide had 60 000+ stadiums and Local teams got to play a local rival most weeks, not doubt their averages would be 45 000+. The reality is opposition fans and neutrals inflate crowd figures, when the Vic teams host "Interstaters" the size of their teams support is truly revealed.

The Essendon = to Collingwood furphy is surely a thing of the past isn't it?

Essendon have never drawn more in a season than Collingwood apart from seasons that Essendon have have played finals and Collingwood haven't. Even then the only three years in history where the average essendon crowd was significantly higher than Collingwood's (3,000 plus) was in the 98-00 era where they barely lost a game and we won a spoon and came second last and third last.

Essendon and Carlton are about equals in draw power.

High 20's is good for a 2nd / 3rd drawing Melbourne team against a port freo in off years (bombers only got 27 odd thousand against freo last year). People forget in making non-vic comparisons that there are 90 odd vic games a year and the bigger clubs have 18 opportunities to watch their teams (compared to 12) and freo and port games are more likely the ones you'd sit out

People forget in making non-vic comparisons that there are 90 odd vic games a year and the bigger clubs have 18 opportunities to watch their teams (compared to 12) and freo and port games are more likely the ones you'd sit out

Actually thats a great point.

The reality is opposition fans and neutrals inflate crowd figures, when the Vic teams host "Interstaters" the size of their teams support is truly revealed.

We know it but you'll never convince them that this is the case.

Hawthorn got 33k vs port last yr on a saturday arvo, surely the dons who are so much bigger could get that?

You were 2-1 coming into a round 4 match coming off a flag.

You also got 11,682 versu Port when you missed the finals in 2004.

Essendon and Collingwood both have a minimum of 30,000-ish that they never drop below when the Pies and Dons are struggling.

Certainly can't forget that game... I was there with a Hawk mate on a perfect Sunday afternoon bathed in sunshine and it was my first experience at the MCG where I could, word for word, hear what the players were saying to each other on the ground... not just from a boundary throw in right in front of us but from most areas of the ground... pathetic and embarrassing day for Hawthorn who were admittedly struggling at the time but playing the team that would eventually go on and win the premiership and that still couldn't pull a crowd.

Do they really have that many glory hunter supporters and members? Probably.

West Coast at 1-5 playing Hawthorn at 1-5 at 1pm on a Saturday (wtf?) pulled in just under 36,000.

West Coast > Essendon.:thumbsu:

Seriously are you another one of those mentally challenged West Coast fans who doesn't consider common sense before deciding to press the 'Submit Reply' button on here?

As of today Essendon have 40,041 members in a 10 team town & West Coast 53,958 in a 2 team town ... despite having over 13,000 more members you are bragging about having a little over 6,000 more to your game? Yeah, great theory...

I guess you're going to tell me next that the Eagles are a better side than the Dockers despite winning 4 less games and losing by 7 goals last week? :rolleyes:

Not from 9 other AFL clubs and a population 4 times the size of Adelaides.
The crows supporters flat out refuse to attend our games because the hatred runs so deep, so count them out.

The "60,000 last home game" arguement is ridiculous seeing as that was two Victorian clubs and isn't even comparable to and interstate team vs home team.

The Crows pulled more than you at home this week against Richmond at a shit stadium. Both clubs winless, and on mothers day. :o

I think you are missing the point Blissid - there would not have been any more than 1,000 Port supporters there yesterday. Essendon are going badly and they are staying away lets not kid ourselves.. But unlike your club, Essendon supporters staying away means 29,200 where as your club supporters staying away means 18,000. To prove that this is not really that unexpected, only 31,000 went to AAMI Stadium on sunday to watch arguably the biggest club in the AFL in terms of support play at home - shows what happens when team struggle on field.

BTW - make no mistake, irrespective of how Port are travelling, most people dont rate or respect the Power and they have a fairly boring perception in this town. This match was not overly marketable.

Not sure if this has been covered in an existing thread...

The Essendon v Port game only drew 29k to a 50k seat stadium on a sunny Saturday afternoon.

Essendon are apparently one of the "BIG 4" Victorian clubs... not a NMFC, MFC or Western Bulldogs (with full respect guys).

Yet this game only draw just over 29,000 people. This is in no way an attack or a troll on Essendon at all... but perhaps people are too quick to bag Port crowd figures when we pull 20k-25k to a crap stadium against low drawing teams.

That is all.

OK let me say this again... :rolleyes:

My point being... Port have continually had to defend our home crowd drawing ability. Of which most games are against INTERSTATE teams, at a crap stadium and draw on average around 25k.

Many of the 'excuses' used by Essendon supporters in this thread echo those of Port supporters over the years...

perhaps Victorians should be more understanding of Port's own crowd figures in the future. That is all.

Again... NOT TROLLING or critical of Essendon's figure of 29k!! :thumbsu:

Essendon membership would be a whole lot less that Richmonds if they had tp put up with the same history as the Tiges over the last 30 yrs. I do have a sneaky feeling that with a few years of rubbish from the EFC coming up, their position in the "Big4" may be under threat from a number of clubs. Car, Coll, Haw + either Dees, Cats or Tiges.

I dont agree. Richmonds membership (like North, Melb, WB) is often propped up year in year out by an ongoing plea for their fans to keep signing up to avoid them going bankrupt. Every 2nd year their presidents come out pleading for their clubs fans to sign up. Essendon being the strongest club in the AFL financially have never been in this position and sign up members year in year out without any great 'pressure' to do so. As a result, Richmonds member to supporter ratio is higher than Essendons. If Essendon was $4 million in debt and a crumbling ruin, its supporters would rally in much the same way the Tigers have done for so many years. Maybe Essendon may have many more members?

For Port, in Melbourne that is a very decent crowd, compare it with when they play the likes of Melbourne or NM and it suddenly isn't as bad, in fact against a non-drawing team it is a perfectly reasonable crowd imo.

North's supporter base: 219,000
Essendon's supporter base: 638,000

So when we draw 22,144 in 2008 at Etihad it is equivalent to the Bombers drawing 64,500 when you are comparing turnout ratio per supporter.

North's supporter base: 219,000
Essendon's supporter base: 638,000

So when we draw 22,144 in 2008 at Etihad it is equivalent to the Bombers drawing 64,500 when you are comparing turnout ratio per supporter.

yeah you're right, it's a disgrace we didn't get 64,500 to our game at Etihad. How could this have happened?

Hawthorn got 33k vs port last yr on a saturday arvo, surely the dons who are so much bigger could get that?

You are right. The Hawks V Power game last year was early in the season and at the MCG. No MCC members tack along to the Dome so to get 29,000 for a team that is in all honesty struggling is pretty good.

How many do you think would go to see the Hawks play the Power this week if at the MCG?? Nudge 25,000?

You were 2-1 coming into a round 4 match coming off a flag.

Essendon and Collingwood both have a minimum of 30,000-ish that they never drop below when the Pies and Dons are struggling.

we were 1-2, not 2 - 1

yes, and in 2004, the weather had nothing to do with that did it? the fact it is still the coldest day recorded in the past 20 yrs, the fact it was raining cats and dogs and a few cows!

and also, what does a flag have to do with it? i am merely comparing the last time hawks played them in melbourne to the last time the dons did/

Think we have proved this yr that a poor season has little effect on our crowds.

yeah you're right, it's a disgrace we didn't get 64,500 to our game at Etihad. How could this have happened?

I was just highlighting that to compare our crowds when one side has three times the supporters is pretty stupid.

I'd like to know why it's a designated "ticketed game" every year. Not sure if that's the AFL's call or Etihad's call, but it's ridiculous. As a Victorian Port member, I receive "free" admission to all Port's away games in Victoria - but have to go through the hassle and cost to get a ticket for these ticketed games that supposedly are going to be so full that you need an allocated seat.

Bloody ridiculous.

I believe that's due to Essendon's stadium deal. All their games at Etihad are ticketed.