Essendon 29k?

• Thread starter Thread starter kaysee

And that's the irony - this whole thread started about a 29,000 Essendon crowd versus the Port. Yet Collingwood, when they missed the finals, averaged almost exactly the same as Essendon versus Port/Freo/WCE/Adel. You cannot dispute that. apples vs apples.
Essendon made the finals in 2009.....yet you are comparing a dons flag a year after making the finals with crowds when the pies were bottom 4??

But all you idiots do is pump out selective and "apples v oranges" crowd stats to selectively suit your argument.
Again, you keep on about Apples v Apples......yet you chose selective best ever Friday night crowds as an example of why the dons crowds should be bigger!!

Get over it and get a life. You're all a bunch of losers. Just accept the fact that they're both even (HEAVEN FORBID) and get on with your life and worry about your team winning. Why is that so hard to accept???? What the hell is wrong with you to be so unnecessarily stubborn, in the face of all the evidence showing that the two clubs supporter base is equal?
Your evidence is a dribbly Roy Morgan survey that says the dons have lost 250,000 supporters in less than 10 years........what a load of crap.

Chaz calculated attendance figures, whilst allowing for form and the pies average a bigger crowd. Stop living back in 2002 mate.......

Pies have resumed number 1, where they have been for 15 of the last 23 years

They simply can't believe the clearly proven fact that in recent years Essendon enjoy equal support. That also upsets the myth.

Everybody acknowledges that in the late 90s that Essendon got the jump on other Melbourne based teams in terms of professionalism. They set up brilliantly off-field and combine that with a dominant team they were the league powerhouse for a 5 year period.

The pies were a rabble in the late 90s, it was the worst period in the clubs history....98,99,00 the pies were bottom 4 for 3 years in a row....the club was not professionally managed and still played games at our suburban home, Vic Park.

Yet despite this the pies were still the number 2 team in town.

Once the pies sorted themselves out off-field, they have since not only caught up again with Essendon but stormed back ahead.

Dan tries to leverage the 5 year period where Essendon were the big ticket as some sort of evidence that they still are big and the equal of Collingwood.

They are not even the number 2 team in Melbourne anymore.....they couldn't even out draw Carlton in 2008 or 2009, in years when the dons and blues both missed and then made the finals!!

Everybody acknowledges that in the late 90s that Essendon got the jump on other Melbourne based teams in terms of professionalism. They set up brilliantly off-field and combine that with a dominant team they were the league powerhouse for a 5 year period.

The pies were a rabble in the late 90s, it was the worst period in the clubs history....98,99,00 the pies were bottom 4 for 3 years in a row....the club was not professionally managed and still played games at our suburban home, Vic Park.

Yet despite this the pies were still the number 2 team in town.

Once the pies sorted themselves out off-field, they have since not only caught up again with Essendon but stormed back ahead.

Dan tries to leverage the 5 year period where Essendon were the big ticket as some sort of evidence that they still are big and the equal of Collingwood.

They are not even the number 2 team in Melbourne anymore.....they couldn't even out draw Carlton in 2008 or 2009, in years when the dons and blues both missed and then made the finals!!

I think you are conveniently ignoring the relationship between on field success and crowd figures.

The next time we are both top 4 clubs, then we can compair figures evenly.

I wonder how often 2 teams in the bottom 5 as late as round 9 one of them spooning and winless have drawn more than that? There won't be many examples involving ANY club.

Its interesting that since the dreamtime game started in 2005 either 1 club or both clubs have gone into the game in the bottom 4. Essendon in 05, 06 and 08 and Richmond in 07, 09 and 10.

I think we'll see guaranteed 80k+ if both sides ever go in with abit of form.

LOL.

You won't get any replies.

Hope Port enjoyed their 16,000 to their home game against Richmond yesterday, who despite the weather conditions had their 140th birthday celebrations. Was a great day for their club.

The Carlton excuses today - ""Oh it was a bit overcast and breezy outside" , "It's a Sunday 2:10pm timeslot - very inconvenient for supporters" , "It was under the roof, we hate games under the roof" , "We were playing West Coast, the team along with Adelaide has the most interstate support in Melbourne" ... blah, blah, blah!

Carlton 29k?

Carlton 5.5 8.8 12.13 15.15 (105)
West Coast 3.1 5.2 8.5 11.10 (76)

Official crowd: 29,175 at Etihad Stadium

Yep, was a piss poor turnout. over 39,000 last year to this game. Our lowest Home game crowd since 2008 vs port, which was also 29k.

No excuses. we're in the 8, playing a side we should beat, under a roof:(

How did I know such a comment was gong to cause a cry-fest from you and a few others who seem unable to cope with the figures showing this to be the case. Is it THAT important to you to be number one???? Why sook and cry about it?

The funny thing is I don't even care, I'm just a stickler for the truth and accuracy. But you, and your mates... my God, heaven forbid anyone prove another club has equal support to your mob. It's like hearing that Santa is fake. Its like your whole world has come crumbling down.

You both need to get lives and get over it, and just accept that the support is equal.

Oh, but I forgot, Gopies and Paddys selective stats from the refurbished MCG with Collingwood at their peak, obviously prove beyong doubt who has more fans. :rolleyes:

Get over it and get a life. You're all a bunch of losers. Just accept the fact that they're both even (HEAVEN FORBID) and get on with your life and worry about your team winning. Why is that so hard to accept???? What the hell is wrong with you to be so unnecessarily stubborn, in the face of all the evidence showing that the two clubs supporter base is equal?

Is it because of ME personally who you dislike, guys? Or is it because you really do care THAT much for you to all sook about this again and again and again?

Number one... you've had 25 posts in this thread to mine two, one of those acknowledging kudos.

Number two... you're the onw who obviously clearly cares.

Number three... I actually said to my brother what a boring topic this was, as Collingwood are clearly in front.

Number four... if you're going to act like you don't care, don't go on such a long emotional waffle. I had to cut alot of this post out. And it still remains alot of waffle.

LOL as if this thread is still going. Yeah we had a shit turn out against a team nobody gives a **** about but 46 000 against the doggies shows we are still a powerhouse off the field. Just need the lads to pick it up on the field and the last month has been excellent.

Where have the hawks fans gone this year??

Round 10 2010
Hawthorn 3.6 4.12 7.13 10.19 (79)
Sydney Swans 2.3 4.7 6.9 11.11 (77)
Official crowd: 36,003 at MCG

Round 11 2009
Hawthorn 4.5 7.5 9.11 12.14 (86)
Sydney Swans 2.5 4.7 8.7 11.9 (75)
Official crowd: 44,464 at MCG

Hawthorn have 53,000 members yet could only draw 36,000 to a home game at their home ground on a Sunday afternoon (the same timeslot as their game against the Swans last year in similar conditions)...

Would be easy to assume that there were at least 10,000 Swans supporters at the game today as well... so where have the other 27,000 Hawforn members gone?

Not from 9 other AFL clubs and a population 4 times the size of Adelaides.
The crows supporters flat out refuse to attend our games because the hatred runs so deep, so count them out.

The "60,000 last home game" arguement is ridiculous seeing as that was two Victorian clubs and isn't even comparable to and interstate team vs home team.

The Crows pulled more than you at home this week against Richmond at a shit stadium. Both clubs winless, and on mothers day. :o

Ok, so the population is 1:4 and the teams are 2:9... think about it.

Its interesting that since the dreamtime game started in 2005 either 1 club or both clubs have gone into the game in the bottom 4. Essendon in 05, 06 and 08 and Richmond in 07, 09 and 10.

I think we'll see guaranteed 80k+ if both sides ever go in with abit of form.

I think you must be right there Dave. If one or other were up and about the game would be 70 plus at least. With both up and running I think 80,000 would easily be par for the course. the fact is we have this fixture now and it is up to both clubs to build it and develop it into what it can be. Neither you nore us - admittedly we are most to blame - have been in any real sense competitive but if we get over that and become competitive it will be a mid season highlight lifting both boats.

Hawthorn have 53,000 members yet could only draw 36,000 to a home game at their home ground on a Sunday afternoon (the same timeslot as their game against the Swans last year in similar conditions)...

Would be easy to assume that there were at least 10,000 Swans supporters at the game today as well... so where have the other 27,000 Hawforn members gone?
p233B.gif

Hawthorn got 33k vs port last yr on a saturday arvo, surely the dons who are so much bigger could get that?

4 game winning streak with over 53k members........

Hawthorn 2.4 7.7 8.9 10.14 (74)
Port Adelaide 0.5 2.10 5.13 8.15 (63)

Official crowd: 21,287 at MCG

Do you know how cold it is out there?

It's freezing, wet and windy against the worst drawing team in the land.

Not only that, it's on TV.

The crowd is more indicative of those factors than lack of support for the Hawks.

Do you know how cold it is out there?

It's freezing, wet and windy against the worst drawing team in the land.

Not only that, it's on TV.

The crowd is more indicative of those factors than lack of support for the Hawks.

You do realise it is a winter sport.

As someone once said - HTFU!