Deej

Melbourne Victory
This round18 clash is shaping to be just as intense and anticipated as the round20 last year. Why don't they just cancel the remainder of the season now and get straight to the inevitable Grand Final?

Might as well, they're easily the best two sides in the league. I can't wait to play the Bombers at full strength. Salivating. Which other club is actually looking forward to having a go at them?

haha, bring it on. Go Blues.

Mark my words Bombers you're going down again.

Originally posted by Deej
Why don't they just cancel the remainder of the season now and get straight to the inevitable Grand Final?

Because the same thing that happened last year might happen again.
Carlton are probably the most capable of beating Essendon, but also capable of losing to any of the other sides that are around the mark. This year they have been beaten by Hawthorn, Richmond and Collingwood. They will have to beat at least two of these to get to the GF. They may well give the Bombers the best match in the GF, but are no certs to get there.

A quiet Saturday night for me...

Anyway TopDon what do you think? Who do you fear most of the other sides? Do you think you're home for the flag or is there any team that you think you'd have trouble with?

And this has nothing to do with footy but how do you get that little rotating thing under your name? Some people have pictures, I'm computer dumb but I'd like to suss how to do it.

A quiet Saturday night for me...

Anyway TopDon what do you think? Who do you fear most of the other sides? Do you think you're home for the flag or is there any team that you think you'd have trouble with?

I didn't say a word. I'm not talking...i'm just going to let my team do the talking. There are no guarantees in footy and i'm not going to get too far ahead of myself. A game against Carlton in the finals is no certainty. You make it sound like its a foregone conclusion. We wouldn't have played each other in last year's preliminary if you didn't lose to the Dees.

Back to your question...yes...if i had to pick a side that worries me it would be Carlton. But it seems that your supporters took our loss in Round 3 out of context. Yes we lost when 3 of your stars were late withdrawls..but then when you got those three players back...you lost to Adelaide (who hadn't won a game) at Optus.

And this has nothing to do with footy but how do you get that little rotating thing under your name? Some people have pictures, I'm computer dumb but I'd like to suss how to do it.

Called an avatar. Mines an animated gif the maximum size of the image is 50 by 50 pixels or 20000 bytes (whichever is smaller). I don't have any sites on hand...but i'm sure some kind souls will post some. You add the URL of the image in the user details.

Hope this helps!

Ultimately it would be fantastic if it was a Carlton vs Essendon Grand Final - I mean that's probably what most Blues and Bombers supporters would like, but there are other teams in the comp that are doing very well - just going along quietly but confidently.... Hawthorn, Collingwood, Port, and even Richmond.

I hate it when people just assume that the two best teams in the middle of the season will be in the Grand Final. Especially from a Carlton supporter - that's what was thought to happen last year, but look what happened - injuries can ruin everything! I hope you haven't jinxed anything!!!! :(

Forget Essendon versus Carlton. It will be Port Adelaide versus Adelaide and it will have the best atmosphere of any Grand Final in history.

Deej,

Bring it on!!

;)

Let's hope it's a Carlton-Essendon Grand Final. They are the two best teams in the comp, and it's the Grand Final we should have had last year.

Plus when we got to 17 premierships I want to get there by beating the Blues. It will be the historical decider. 16-16. Let's hope that the two best teams actually make the Grand Final for once. We havn't had a 1v2 match-up since 1996

Originally posted by X_box_X
Brisbane

they're the teams who'll make the preliminary finals...
Ill put money on it right NOW!

ok mate... i'll be in that.. for your money... brissey will need a top 2 finish (not likely) or finish 5th or 6th, (maybe??) BUT if they finished 3-4-7-8. they will lose the first week, cos they cant play in melbourne!!!!!!

prelims will be
Port adelaide (the dark horse)

MY TIP!

Collingwood V port.. pies in
Ess V carlton...draw, come back next week, carlton in by a point

and the pies in a thrilling 75 point drumming over carlton..

lovely..

Why don't they just cancel the remainder of the season now and get straight to the inevitable Grand Final?

Like last year? The year before? I thought of all people a carlton supporter wouldn't be getting too far ahead of themselves!

Originally posted by PiesPremiers

ok mate... i'll be in that.. for your money... brissey will need a top 2 finish (not likely) or finish 5th or 6th, (maybe??) BUT if they finished 3-4-7-8. they will lose the first week, cos they cant play in melbourne!!!!!!

I wouldn't be writing Brisbane off. They will finish 2nd. They still have:

Round 15 15/7 Collingwood vs Brisbane MCG
Round 16 21/7 Brisbane vs Port Adelaide Gabba
Round 17 28/7 Kangaroos vs Brisbane Colonial Stadium
Round 18 5/8 Brisbane vs Western Bulldogs Gabba
Round 19 12/8 Brisbane vs Richmond Gabba
Round 20 19/8 Fremantle vs Brisbane Subiaco
Round 21 26/8 Geelong vs Brisbane Shell Stadium
Round 22 2/9 Brisbane vs Sydney Gabba

Brisbane have 9 wins at the moment...they can realistically finish with 15 wins. They could even win all their remaining games. They will be looking for respect in Melbourne against Collingwood next week, so i wouldn't be righting them off "cos they can't play in Melbourne". Your underestimation of them, might be your downfall!!

This round18 clash is shaping to be just as intense and anticipated as the round20 last year.

I think it will be better if both teams are at full strength....

Here's hoping for an awesome match.....

and a 15 goal win to the dons!!!!!!:D

i couldn't think of anything better at the moment than an essendon v carlton grand final but like you said, we've lost to the teams likely to make the top 8 , hawthorn, richmond, collingwood, we still have to play two of those teams again... hopefully this time we will win. i think if we have the confidence to get to grand final and we want to enough we could win it... but after odays performance i think we'll have to pick up our game, we were beaten by a better side (on the day) and a few bad decisions by the ump (but i'm not on eot blame a loss on that)

Go you Swannies
Carlton is prone to losing to lesser teams every few weeks. They'll struggle to win enough in a row in the finals to make the big one.
Losing Whitnall could be a huge blow. I don't know what the prognosis is.

My new tip - Brisbane to finish 2nd. They still have 4 games at the Gabba, and one soft one away (Fremantle) and some other winnable ones away (Coll, North, Geelong). They will finish at least 14 , possibly 15-16 wins. Carlton have a much harder draw (the blockbuster policy is backfiring on them - playing Essendon twice is a bummer at the moment from a non financial perspective)

Carlton will finish 3rd, and play Brisbane at the Gabba in the 1st week, which they will lose. They will then have to play Essendon 2 weeks later in the prelim, which they will lose. Won't that be sad. :)

Grrrrr seeeeeeee i told you there was now going to be put a jinx on the whole thing!!! Pfft... Essendon v Carlton grand final - it would help if we could beat SYDNEY in the meantime!!! :mad: :(

Your supporters won't learn!

They think that an Essendon Vs Carlton Premlim or Grand Final is a given!! Firstly they have to worry about "getting" there first by not dropping games that they should win!!

Yes...you can carry on as much as you like about beating Essendon without all your stars, but you have to back it up the following week. You lost to Adelaide at home when they hadn't won a game.

A lot of your supporters live in fairlyland and are taking a lot for granted. We've learnt our lesson...time for some of your supporters to learn there's. Ok well...going onto 17 might to the trick ;)

Originally posted by topdon
Your supporters won't learn!

They think that an Essendon Vs Carlton Premlim or Grand Final is a given!! Firstly they have to worry about "getting" there first by not dropping games that they should win!!

Yes...you can carry on as much as you like about beating Essendon without all your stars, but you have to back it up the following week. You lost to Adelaide at home when they hadn't won a game.

A lot of your supporters live in fairlyland and are taking a lot for granted. We've learnt our lesson...time for some of your supporters to learn there's. Ok well...going onto 17 might to the trick ;)

Trust me... DONT I KNOW IT! :mad:

Deej aka go baggers

Where are you, don't tell me you've gone into hiding.:rolleyes:
Essendon Carlscum GF Huh, you can't even beat the Swans. HA HA HA:D

This round18 clash is shaping to be just as intense and anticipated as the round20 last year. Why don't they just cancel the remainder of the season now and get straight to the inevitable Grand Final?

You sound scarily like John Elliot there (last year). Lets not get too far ahead of ourselves - the rest of the comp is good enough to more than trouble us, let alone Essendon.

However, the good thing we have on our side is that while sides around us such as Hawthorn, C'wood and Richmond will no doubt trouble us, I reckon we are more likely to trouble Essendon than them, and that's what you have to do to be any chance of winning the flag. But apart from that, this post is a bit dumb.

A Carlton-Essendon Grand Final would simply be more proof that cheats prosper.

I could not think of a worse possible outcome. While the players of those clubs deserve it, the clubs themselves DO NOT.

At least Essendon copped a slap on the wrist (they should have been seriously punished though - they are obviously still benefiting from their dishonesty during the mid-nineties), Carlton did not lose so much as a second round draft pick.

Will someone please explain to me why Essendon and Melbourne lost draft picks (minor ones really, considering the players they picked up while over the salary cap) but Carlton was not punished similarly? Will someone please explain that???

And anyway, Hawthorn, Port, Richmond and Brisbane are not dead yet.

Originally posted by TigerTank
A Carlton-Essendon Grand Final would simply be more proof that cheats prosper.

I could not think of a worse possible outcome. While the players of those clubs deserve it, the clubs themselves DO NOT.

At least Essendon copped a slap on the wrist (they should have been seriously punished though - they are obviously still benefiting from their dishonesty during the mid-nineties), Carlton did not lose so much as a second round draft pick.

Will someone please explain to me why Essendon and Melbourne lost draft picks (minor ones really) but Carlton were not punished similarly? Will someone please explain that???

This was written by Servo in a thread a while back:
"Why was the penalty less than Essendon or Melbournes? From the little information yet to be released here in Adelaide, it seems the breach was not a straight forward salary payment but somethiong like the under the table deals that used to go opn everywhere. Carlton (or Elliott) still claim that what they have done does not breach the salary cap rules. Perhaps the AFL are using this case as a warning that this type of thing, while not an obvious breach, will now be deemed to be one."

I guess the breach was a minor one so it wasn't punished as badly as Essendon's or Melbourne's.