Essendon - finals bound 2017

I think we're likely to make it barring a disastrous injury run.

After 12 rounds, we've already played Adelaide in Adelaide, GWS in Sydney, Geelong, Richmond, West Coast, Port Adelaide, Melbourne, Perth game against Fremantle and Collingwood. We have the short breaks around the ANZAC game out of the way. Bulldogs is the only top 11 side that we haven't played yet. To come out 6-6 with big wins against 3 top 8 teams and a percentage of over a hundred is promising. After the bye, we play Sydney in Sydney which will be tough, and then we only leave Melbourne once against Gold Coast in Metricon.

After Sydney (which is probably 45/55 Sydney's way), we play only Bulldogs and Adelaide at Etihad where we'll go in as the clear underdog. The rest are either 50/50s or winnable games.

They've definitely exceeded my expectations over the last 5 games. But then again, it's not the unexpected games that we struggle in. It's the weight of expectations that we cannot handle

Can see us making finals but can't see Essendon doing any damage.

Essendon's midfield is poor at winning inside footy and regularly doesn't apply effective pressure which means sides with decent midfield's will cut us up.

How the hell have the bombers not won more than just 6 games given how they played tonight?
We have had a difficult run. Only top 8 side we have not played was the Doggies, and we had 3 games with very short turn arounds.
Sydney after the bye, then a tonne of 50/50 or less games.

Last 7 games:

Doekers in WA L
Cats W
Eagles W
Tigers L
Giants at Spotless L
Power W
Swans in Sydney ?

Being 3-4/4-3 from that lot is a win.

If they play like that they will. If they play like how they played v Melbourne, or Collingwood, or Richmond then they don't have a chance.

We beat Collingwood >_>
You mean Carlton?

For the fans who kept going even over the past 5 years with all the dramas I hope they do, but for the few flogs who thought it amusing to boo Paddy Ryder I hope they don't win another game this season.

Clearly the flogs are in the minority so I wish the EFC well, but I did not see the game on tv, did Luke Darcy cry again? :p

With all the IRL bets I have with Essendon supporters, I really, really hope they don't :$ But I'm getting very nervous :$:$:$

How the hell have the bombers not won more than just 6 games given how they played tonight?
Rd.3 - Carlton at the G. Bucketed down. all game. It was a monsoon. Carlton adapted. we did not
Rd.4 - Crows @ AO. they were flying.
Rd.6 - Dees. We did not play the way we played the last few weeks
Rd.7 - Freo. Ran out of legs in the last half.
Rd.10 - Tigers did not give us the space we want to play the game we play
Rd.11 - GWS. Close-ish game. GWS better.

For the fans who kept going even over the past 5 years with all the dramas I hope they do, but for the few flogs who thought it amusing to boo Paddy Ryder I hope they don't win another game this season.

Clearly the flogs are in the minority so I wish the EFC well, but I did not see the game on tv, did Luke Darcy cry again? :p
I'm not at boo-er but honestly, a little stir-up from our crowd is no big deal here. We were disgusted in the way that he came out about seeking a trade in the week leading up to a hard earned final, a rarity for us in recent times. It was disrespectful toward his teammates who had busted a gut to get there. There may not have been entirely truthful with his reasons for leaving either.

You compare this with the respectful treatment Hibberd, Crameri, Monfries etc get then I think you'll see that Essendon fans are letting Ryder know that he could have done it all a bit better.

I really don't know. When we're on, we are amazing, but when we're not it is an absolute stink fest.

I think Essendon really struggle to set the tempo of a game. They adapt their output to the perception of quality that the other team possesses.

We will play a great game against a quality opposition, like Port, because their seems to be a belief that it is needed. Then, we will play against perceived poorer opposition, lower our colours and intensity, and serve up absolute drivel.

I'm not at boo-er but honestly, a little stir-up from our crowd is no big deal here. We were disgusted in the way that he came out about seeking a trade in the week leading up to a hard earned final, a rarity for us in recent times. It was disrespectful toward his teammates who had busted a gut to get there. There may not have been entirely truthful with his reasons for leaving either.

You compare this with the respectful treatment Hibberd, Crameri, Monfries etc get then I think you'll see that Essendon fans are letting Ryder know that he could have done it all a bit better.

When even people like Nathan Lovett Murray are coming out now and criticising the club, after being such a long time supporter on Twitter, you know that the way things were managed any player had every right to leave. So the minority booing are total dickheads who clearly lack empathy.

As I said though it was a clear minority, ironically enough the same people who are broken hearted when people boo Brendon Goddard and criticize him :p So I wish your club well for the rest of the season :)

When even people like Nathan Lovett Murray are coming out now and criticising the club, after being such a long time supporter on Twitter, you know that the way things were managed any player had every right to leave. So the minority booing are total dickheads who clearly lack empathy.

As I said though it was a clear minority, ironically enough the same people who are broken hearted when people boo Brendon Goddard and criticize him :p So I wish your club well for the rest of the season :)
If he had grievances with the club then it's his right to leave. But as I said, he couldn't have announced his desire to leave at a more inappropriate time considering that the whole club was stoked to be back in a final after we'd had one taken away from us the previous year and it left a foul taste in supporter's mouths.

I think they can make finals, I think they could even win 1 or 2 finals.

I don't think they can finish top 4, and I don't think they could win 4 finals in a row.

If he had grievances with the club then it's his right to leave. But as I said, he couldn't have announced his desire to leave at a more inappropriate time considering that the whole club was stoked to be back in a final after we'd had one taken away from us the previous year and it left a foul taste in supporter's mouths.

Correction, a foul taste in the mouths of supporters who go off at every little thing. I note that the vast majority did not boo Paddy, so is only a few who I am guessing get mad at anything.

I do find it odd though that a club can shaft a player and people don't have grievances but when a player possibly shafts his side he gets booed out of town by the rambunctious and moronic.

I would say 99% of Bomber fans wish Paddy and his family well as they do with Lovett Murray regardless of what he may say. Every club has people like that, I am sure we have people who still boo Goddard.

But if Melksham had left the club acrimoniously would anyone be booing him now? :p

Except the reason Ryder left is he got caught doing the dirty on his missus and she demanded they move away from the problem.

So why doesn't every Bomber fan boo him? For that matter why do you boo Monfries? And heck probably Carlisle too given you supposedly got the "next big thing" Aaron Francis out of that trade?

Pretty sure it is related to the skill level of the player as well, don't reckon anyone would boo Melksham or any of the hacks who went to Fremantle regardless of what they would have done :p

So why doesn't every Bomber fan boo him? For that matter why do you boo Monfries? And heck probably Carlisle too given you supposedly got the "next big thing" Aaron Francis out of that trade?

Pretty sure it is related to the skill level of the player as well, don't reckon anyone would boo Melksham or any of the hacks who went to Fremantle regardless of what they would have done :p

I boo'd him once, for a shit hands in the back free kick on the wing, but that's probably more at the umpire than anything else. You're right though, reality is most decent players who openly seek a trade cop a boo from former supporters for the first few games against them.

Melksham might be a donut, but surely someone as punchable as him deserves the boos. Shit he frustrated us so much we've earned the right for a few boos in his direction, but we do thank him for the generous Ridley pick.

I boo'd him once, for a shit hands in the back free kick on the wing, but that's probably more at the umpire than anything else. You're right though, reality is most decent players who openly seek a trade cop a boo from former supporters for the first few games against them.

Melksham might be a donut, but surely someone as punchable as him deserves the boos. Shit he frustrated us so much we've earned the right for a few boos in his direction, but we do thank him for the generous Ridley pick.

Frankly I would be cheering Melksham for pissing off ;)

For the most part though I am sad when players leave, Luke Ball had every right to but was still disappointing, Goddard had every right to look after himself too but I think leaving for money rather then opportunity can make a big difference too. Luke Ball was on the bench half the game in 2009 grand final, I would be pissed too if that were me, Goddard just wanted an extra year. But both are fair enough, the player has to look after himself but there are reasons Kurt Tippett is booed and Josh Kennedy is not :p

Essendon - finals bound 2017