Essendon. Half as good as last year? Well done Brisbane.

• Thread starter Thread starter Grendel

Grendel

Well, they have lost 50% more games! ;)

Just finished watching the replay, well played the Lions.

Did what the Hawks couldnt and managed to contain the midfield and restrict the Dons rebound out of defence. Must be a frustrating team to follow (lions) with some of the recent (non) performances, but nights like tonight are the ones to savour.

Well played, but please, some more of your inconsistency for when the Hawks play you, okay!

Cheers.

the lions beat us where we were at out most vunerable...our midfield. it's a tough ask to have you experienced players carry the side when the chips are down. i never for one second doubted the boy's commitment and i'm sure they will bounce back.

well done lions, you were too good. the loss may do our players a world of good. losing doesn't leave a good taste in your mouth.

topdon- losing puts an even worse taste in your mouth if you sip from a beer that you just put a cigarette out in, while watching the game.

ugh.

good work brisbane (you bastards;))

Yep, well played Brisbane, just didn't happen for us, although when we pulled it back to 15 points,i did think we could pinch it.
Which is exactly what it would've been...a steal. Brisbane were the better side all night and deserved their win. But we'll be back...watch out Saints...Bombers on the rebound!:mad:
Carn the Dons!

where's wally?

Well done Lions!
eyes.gif

In the tipping comp I'm in at work, I was the only one to tip Brisbane! :cool: As well as the only person to tip Port.

So far I've got 4 out of 5. F*cking useless Bulldogs
pissed.gif

Heyyyyyyy! Stop being so nice to us! :p We took the game to new levels of boredom last night! Ya gotta do what ya gotta do, I suppose.

As I said earlier in the year, Essendon supporters should brace themselves for a season of pretty unattractive football as oppostion sides try to uglify matches to bring the Dons down to their own level.

Your so very right Mr Ripper, occurances like this where teams play keep-away and flood the backline incessantly, will occur on a more regular basis considering the success us and the Bulldogs had in intiating such mind numbingly dull and defensive tactics.

It was an ordinary game of football, Essendon had a few missing and the Alastair Lynch goal was pulled out of his backside, but you can't knock back four points, and the good thing to come out of this was some good form by Simon Black and Chris Johnson and with Justin Leppitsch coming back soon, we will be primed to inflict the doyen of all arse kickings against the Eagles

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
... Essendon supporters should brace themselves for a season of pretty unattractive football as oppostion sides try to uglify matches to bring the Dons down to their own level.

What are ya talkin' about? On ANZAC Day Essendon dragged Collingwood down to their level.

But, as you say ... you gotta do what you gotta do. It worked for Essendon on ANZAC Day and it sounds like it must've worked for the Lions last night.

I didn't see the game, but congratulations to everyone in the Deep North. And make sure you've lost form again by Round 15.

Brisbane was actually my pre-season tip for the Premiership, by the way.

Hmmmm.

Great game to watch - nice and physical free flowing. The real winner IMO was football in Brisbane. A record, sell-out crowd and a fantastic game of footy to watch. Hope the Lions enjoy the 7 hour roadtrip this week :D

From the competition's point of view, the results on the weekend went pretty much to plan, with the top 3 sides being separated only by percentage, and the 13th team (Kangaroos) only one game and percentage out of the 8.

Next week's games don't look to be the best contests, but the split round in Round 12 is shaping up to be a belter.

Originally posted by AlfAndrews
What are ya talkin' about? On ANZAC Day Essendon dragged Collingwood down to their level.

Keep pedlling that crap Alf, maybe some one will eventually believe you.

Ripper, just too good on the night, well done.

Yes, well done Brisbane, good win. I'm getting worried actually, got told tickets to the game up there would be easy to get but now I'm not so sure.

Good to see the Essendon supporters here acknowledge they were beaten by a better side on the night. As opposed to the idiots of the Essendon website, who blamed it solely on the poor umpiring decisions. Yeah, 16-14, what a lopsided free kick count!!

And obviously they missed those 2 blatent throws in the 3rd quarter, especially Robran's rugby pass. Not to mention Matty Lloyd's obligatory soft free kick. But the umpriring was ordinary both ways.

Essendon were obviously suffering from post-blockbuster hangover, which affected them in Round 21 last year and Hawthorn as well on Saturday!

Anyway, good luck St. Kilda this week, I think they might need it!!!

Nah Goalden you won't have any trouble getting tickets for the game up here. My mate only decided to come up on Thursday for this game & we got 5 seats together easy. Hopefully the club will get a block anyway for us local Hawks.
BTW - more Essendon supporters than Lions before the game - very few afterwards.