Essendon Round 15 votes...

• Thread starter Thread starter sapaul

Originally posted by maccas_no1
I have always wanted to know why there are square goalposts at Footy Park?????? Can anyone explain this?????I think someone might have too:rolleyes:

I'm not sure bit I don't think they are square the whole way up them, just in the area that a player could hit. :rolleyes:

The idea of being square is that they fit snugly into a square sleeve in the ground, which is robably stronger than a round one in a round sleeve. However if they make the sleeve deeper and have more post below ground level, the same result is achieved.

Player safety has to be a priority. My money says they will be changing the posts to round, or at a very bare minimun, inceasing the padding around them heavily.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I have listened to 5AA on the way home and apparently Stevo did some ligaments that hold ribs in place. Apparently the ribs keep popping out.

"MarksGirl" it might be time to sleep in seperate beds cos he has been stuffed this year.:p

I give us a very good chance against Freo IF Carey or Stevo come up for this week.:(

LOL - I knew I working him a bit hard! Seriously though, according the Gary the ribs "have settled down" and he should be right to play SANFL footy maybe this week. He needs a good woman to look after him and I am willing to take on the challenge!
what is the saying "like a kitten in the kitchen but a tiger in the bedroom!"

back to reality.

My Votes.

BOG

5 - Mark Ricciuto - Marvelouse once again. Well done Roo.
4 - Scotty "the hottie" Welsh - A fantastic game. Back in form.
3 - Nigel Smart - kept Mrs Lloyd to 1 goal from a free. Excelellent job.
2 - Brett Buton - Just keeps getting better.
1 - Rhett Biglands - So athletic, so strong, so handsome!

Best team man

3 - Nathan Bassett - Well done to the hound on his 100th
2 - Tyson Stenglien - Did well on Hird the ****.
1 - Kris Massie - Boy does he try hard. Fitting in realy well this year.

By the way - the way that point post attacked Wayne Carey was a bit rough :rolleyes: I was one of the 40,000 who booed the post :D a light moment after seeing Wayne go down. I thought it was over for him. My heart broke. Thank goodness he is ok. If anybody can get up for this week - Wayne can - but I would be tempted to give him the week off - particularly with Ian back this week.

k
xx

Im sure Ian would have enjoyed having last night off;) He will be cherryripe next week,keen,hungry and eager to have a great game against the Dockers:D

The momentum is with the AFC four wins on the trot, all good solid performances hitting our straps at the right time of the year;)

If we finish top 2 look out in the finals:D :D :D

Even a top four finish and anything is possible, but we would have to travel either to Brisbane or Perth so in that senario we would want to finish fourth and play the Powder Puffs in the first week of the finals, and we all know about their finals abilities:rolleyes: LOL

I have listened to 5AA on the way home and apparently Stevo did some ligaments that hold ribs in place. Apparently the ribs keep popping out.
Don't think that that's correct as there are no ligaments involved inbetween ribs, only the (intercostal) muscles, nerves and vessels.

If its just a fracture in a few ribs, they would be painful for Stevo, because your ribs mov with breathing/coughing/laughing/sneezing. So, hopefully its not a fracture, as they take up to 6 weeks to heal.

Votes:

BOG:
5 = Scott Welsh
4 = Mark Ricciuto
3 = Brett Burton
2 = Rhett Biglands
1 = Tyson Stenglein

BTM:
3 = Ronnie Burns
2 = Wayne Carey
1 = Mark Bickley

ROOKIE:
0 =

Originally posted by dyertribe
Rookie

This is really beginning to worry me.

Me too - and it will be a bigger worry in a season or 2, if we find ourselves having to keep choosing from 4 or 5 or more each week as we suddenly find our experienced numbers a bit light on - as in rebuilding or injuries [or both] - it is important that we blood the odd new player or two, but atm its hard to see how any are going to be able to fit in to the side the way it is going.

POTY

5. Mark Ricciutto - great to see Roo putting it together so consistently - leading from the front as they say
4. Scott Welsh - if the goal ump had given that 1st attempt he might not have had 4 by half time!! - but then again, he was having that sort of night - might have gotten more!
3. Brett Burton - playing so well and not taking big marks!! - how about one soon!!
2. Mark Bickley - looks like he will be going out on a good note!
1. Rhett Biglands - gave us a head start and contributed well

TM

3. Wayne Carey - looking forward to when he does more than just the team thing things! - but that will do for now!!
2. Ben Hart - worked hard all night and did a good job on JH
1. Ronnie Burns - agreed how he had a hand in a few goals

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
LOL - I knew I working him a bit hard! Seriously though, according the Gary the ribs "have settled down" and he should be right to play SANFL footy maybe this week. He needs a good woman to look after him and I am willing to take on the challenge!
what is the saying "like a kitten in the kitchen but a tiger in the bedroom!"

Well, I spoke to Stevo personally last night and the news is not good. As has been reported, the rib has been popping in and out and in his words, "should be another 4 weeks". At best, he'll be back for the start of the finals, but he'll struggle to be at his best before season's end.

Originally posted by ant
Well, I spoke to Stevo personally last night and the news is not good. As has been reported, the rib has been popping in and out and in his words, "should be another 4 weeks". At best, he'll be back for the start of the finals, but he'll struggle to be at his best before season's end.
That is really bad news. :(

So if he misses another 4 weeks that would mean he would play for the Eagles in round 19 or 20 and probably wouldn't come back into the side until Showdown. Even then I don't think he will be close to his best. It appears that his has been a wasted year for Stevo:(

It also looks like Goody will need another 4-6 weeks:(

Just got back from the game... What a crackin win.
Nearly drowned in the first minute of the game but who cares.

POTY

5. Roo
4. Welsh
3. Burton
2. Edwards
1. Smart

BTM

They were all good...
3. Roo
2. Bickley
1. Stinga

ROTY
Pass

That is really bad news. :(

So if he misses another 4 weeks that would mean he would play for the Eagles in round 19 or 20 and probably wouldn't come back into the side until Showdown. Even then I don't think he will be close to his best. It appears that his has been a wasted year for Stevo:(

It also looks like Goody will need another 4-6 weeks:(

Stevo had more luck with the ladies last night than he's had all year on the footy field.....and Welshy scored another 6 last night as well I'd say ;)

4.5 each - Welsh and Ricciuto

Couldn't split these guys as tehy both played their position to perfection. Welshy was robbed of a goal as well, terrible decision by the ump.

3 - Mark Bickley - great game from the champ. He is definitley going out on a high which is just the way he would want it. Another trademark smother I think in the 2nd quarter

2 - Nigel Smart - Made Lloyd look like a goose. His only goal was from that shocking free when lloyd wasn't even looking at teh ball.

1 - Tyson Edwards - completely destroyed Cupido and is proving himself to be so versatile. Would have to be a shot for the I/C bench in teh All Australian side.

Team Man

3 Biglands - sensational perforamce including some good marks in the wet. Amazing

2 Stenglein - tough as nails all night in teh clinches although beaten by Hird when he went onto him, he never stopped trying

1 Burton - some smart play again. Find of the season along with Perrie I think.

Mentions to

Begley - first half was really good.

Burns - did some very clever things yet must be the most one sides player in the AFL. How people fall for the balk to the right foot is beyond me

Carey - class personified. Shame about the bloody post - Rucci's ewrite up on the incident was actually amusing

Ladhams - did very nicely

Clarke - getting back to his old self. How good was the snapped goal in exactly the same spot he gave the goal away the week before.

McGregor - you don't notice him because his opponent hardly ever gets a kick.

Grat team performance by the lads which gives us a huge shot at upsetting Freo this week.

Originally posted by crowsfan
Don't think that that's correct as there are no ligaments involved inbetween ribs, only the (intercostal) muscles, nerves and vessels.

If its just a fracture in a few ribs, they would be painful for Stevo, because your ribs mov with breathing/coughing/laughing/sneezing. So, hopefully its not a fracture, as they take up to 6 weeks to heal.

Interestingly, this is an injury (dislocated rib) that I sustained in March this year and am still having trouble with.

One of my ribs was a real problem and for a while there popped out when sneezing or stretching. Very painful as it runs the pain straight round your body and into your spine.

Doctors are useless for this sort of thing. They continually told me it would be better in a week (for three months)! The reality is that the area needs to repair itself, once it does apparantly it can be up to 40% stronger than originally. If it won't do it by itself, it can be treated by non-steroidal injection into the area, not nice apparantly.

The problem I have is that it stuffs up your chest muscles and spine as they try and compensate for the gammy ribcage, but I'm sure the club Osteopath will fix that up for him.

Frankly, with the better doctors and care that the club have at their disposal, he should be right, but, assuming he has done the same thing as me, I'd be very surprised if he is back in our line up in the foreseeable future or has any great impact this year. Incredibly easy thing to re-injure and footy would be the worst thing imaginable for it.

BOG

5. Riccuito - Is this bloke in career best form?
4. Welsh - Fantastic game. Ball handling and finishing outstanding in the conditions.
3. Burton - Another great performance from the birdman.
2. Smart - Matthew who?
1. Carey - Towelled them up completely. The goalpost did what Essendon couldn't. Had a big influence in 2.5 quarters and deserves a vote IMO.

BTM

3. Smart.
2. Burns.
1. Carey.

Rookie.

:( Is a worry to me too.

Originally posted by crowsfan
You are right mate. My bad. Its actually cartliage (sp????) damage. According to Trevor Jaques he damaged some cartliage that hold the ribs in place and its pretty much a week by week proposition. The amount of blood that gets to the cartliage is considerably less than to muscle and thats why it will take a long time for it to heal. Thats what Trevor Jaques said yestreday.:(

BOG

5. Welsh (Can't go past those 6 goals, should've been 7, very lively up forward)
4. Burton (I love watching the Birdman charge down the wing with the ball in hand)
3. Ricciuto (was everywhere in the first quarter)
2. Burns (his best game since his return from injury, looked dangerous up forward)
1. Ladhams (another solid game from Ladhams)

BTM

3. Smart (kept Lloyd to one [SOFT!] goal)
2. Bickley (another great game in and under)
1. Edwards (top job on Cupido and rebounding out of defence)

Count of Votes

Normally I count up the votes Tuesday night, but I will be away Tuesday to Thursday. Someone else is quite welcome to tally up the votes tomorrow night, otherwise I'll do it later in the week.

Progressive Votes

21 voters so far. Keep them coming:cool:

Could someone please check the votes to see of I've suffed up anywhere (It wouldn't surprise me) ;)

Best on Ground
Ricciuto 95.5
Welsh 92.5
Burton 43
Bickley 24
Smart 19
Biglands 17
Stenglein 8
Edwards 6
McLeod 3
Ladhams 3
Burns 2
Carey 1
Hart 1

Best Team Man

Smart 27
Carey 19
Stenglein 19
Burns 13
Biglands 12
Bickley 9
Bassett 8
Edwards 5
Ricciuto 5
Welsh 5
Hart 2
Burton 1
Massie 1

Rookie

Abstrained 21:(

OK Stiffy, I tallied them up and this is what I got ;)

21 Voters

POTY

Ricciuto:...5; 5; 5; 5; 5; 5; 5; 5; 5; 5; 5; 5; 4.5; 4; 4; 4; 4; 4; 4; 4; 3; = 95.5
Welsh:......5; 5; 5; 5; 5; 5; 5; 5; 4.5; 4; 4; 4; 4; 4; 4; 4; 4; 4; 4; 4; 4; = 92.5
Burton:.....4; 3; 3; 3; 3; 3; 3; 3; 3; 3; 3; 3; 2; 2; 1; 1;............. = 43
Bickley:....3; 3; 3; 2; 2; 2; 2; 2; 2; 1; 1; 1;......................... = 24
Smart:......3; 2; 2; 2; 2; 2; 2; 2; 1; 1;............................... = 19
Biglands:...3; 3; 3; 2; 2; 1; 1; 1; 1;.................................. = 17
Stenglein:..3; 3; 1; 1;................................................. = 8
Edwards:....2; 2; 1; 1;................................................. = 6
Ladhams:....2; 1;....................................................... = 3
McLeod:.....1; 1; 1;.................................................... = 3
Burns:......2; ......................................................... = 2
Hart:.......1;.......................................................... = 1
Carey:......1;.......................................................... = 1

BTM