Deej

Melbourne Victory
Last night I went to Channel 9 studios, my brother had tickets to the taping of "This is your Life" not my type of thing but I though stuff it, might be interesting so a bunch of us went down to Bendigo St and waited in the studio entrance. Tony, my middle bro, goes "I think this is something to do with bloody Essendon, I saw some young guys outside with suits on and a little Bombers logo on the pocket, imagine if this is Kevin Sheedy's This is your Life..."

Hmmm, oh well still it might be interesting even if it is his, bear in mind I legitimately thought it was a live broadcast show, that it was going to air last night. Anyway cut to chase, it WAS Sheedy's show and as the night went on and the guests rolled out (Bartlett, Hafey, family, etc...) I started to become extremely curious as to when this was in fact going to air. A sentence that I'd heard earlier had me extremely confused,

"Well Kevin welcome to the show, you are a great coach...4 flags with the bombers, and a chance for a 5th this Saturday..."

You lot might call me stupid but it didn't totally occur to me immediately what was going on, maybe I just thought it was too over the top smart-ass and arrogant for even them to do, but as the night wore on it became more and more obvious.

The Essendon Football Club and Channel9 pre-recorded this show for Grand Final week this year. FOR THE FUTURE!!! They recorded an entire fuucking TV show assuming the fact that they were ALREADY in the Grand Final this year, and in fact the way they were all talking was as it was in the bag already. ALL the players were there standing around, as one, in apparent agreeance with the whole pretention and arrogance of the situation.

I just about puked.

Now its good to have confidence, but this is a frigging complete fuucking insult to the rest of the comp, and the worst most pathetic display of extreme blatent coccky arrogance that I think I have EVER seen in any walk of life. I'm thinking of ringing 3AW talkback with this one. Unbelievable. Maybe Mike Sheehan deserves a call with this. I want this to come out, I think it is big news and should be made public for all to see.

Bear in mind though, this only happened last night and you won't read about it in any newspaper. We were actually told in the crowd to keep it very very quiet and hush hush, not to tell ANYONE about it at all.

Well I bloody well know why. It is embarassing and completely pathetic.

I am a Carlton supporter, and I don't post in BigFooty often, usually too many idiots slagging off, but because it gets more hits than any other AFL based forum site I thought it necessary to post this in here. I want everyone to find out about this bunch of arrogant clowns. No wonder they're popular with young impressionable lemming dummy idiots. (Sorry that just spilled out, I am seething on this one).

Please only intelligent replies, what do you lot think?

If that's true (and if you're making it up, it still makes for a wonderful rumour :) ) that is one of the most incredible things I have EVER heard.

I'm amazed that Kevin would let his players and the club get that far ahead of themselves - but I guess he wouldn't have known they were going to film it.

Perhaps they are filming one for every coach just in case :D Ben Allen...this is your life!

Oh they all knew alright...

The bit where he was at home, getting a knock on the door, (we were told he was expecting a visit from Don Burke ie Burkes Backyard) was pre recorded some time earlier. They showed it on the monitors before Sheedy walked out, it had taken place a week or two earlier.

Hawk, I swear on 20 Kernahan's that this is not a rumour it is 100% truth and fact.

I didn't realise that was you GoBaggers...well seeing as you had the balls to put it up on the Essendon website as well seems to indicate it is true.

You should ring the rumour file on 3AW.....hopefully ruin the surprise for everyone.

I'm sorry...but i don't believe that for one second.

Yes, Sheedy may have been there, but not for a 'This Is Your Life' to be aired in Grand Final week!! Sheedy isn't that preemptuous. He knows very well that its a hard task getting to a Grand Final, so i am of the opinion that he wouldn't do such a thing. He is an experienced coach, so he knows not to take things for granted.

Sorry mate...20 Kernahans just don't cut it!

Typical Essenscum. All of the Essencrumb players that were their should have the guts to go public and tell us all that they will win the premiership. They are the most arrogant sports club anywhere in the world. Make no mistake about it.

------------------------------
Play on says the umpire
------------------------------

Originally posted by Deej
Last night I went to Channel 9 studios, my brother had tickets to the taping of "This is your Life" not my type of thing but I though stuff it, might be interesting so a bunch of us went down to Bendigo St and waited in the studio entrance. Tony, my middle bro, goes "I think this is something to do with bloody Essendon, I saw some young guys outside with suits on and a little Bombers logo on the pocket, imagine if this is Kevin Sheedy's This is your Life..."

Hmmm, oh well still it might be interesting even if it is his, bear in mind I legitimately thought it was a live broadcast show, that it was going to air last night. Anyway cut to chase, it WAS Sheedy's show and as the night went on and the guests rolled out (Bartlett, Hafey, family, etc...) I started to become extremely curious as to when this was in fact going to air. A sentence that I'd heard earlier had me extremely confused,

"Well Kevin welcome to the show, you are a great coach...4 flags with the bombers, and a chance for a 5th this Saturday..."

You lot might call me stupid but it didn't totally occur to me immediately what was going on, maybe I just thought it was too over the top smart-ass and arrogant for even them to do, but as the night wore on it became more and more obvious.

The Essendon Football Club and Channel9 pre-recorded this show for Grand Final week this year. FOR THE FUTURE!!! They recorded an entire fuucking TV show assuming the fact that they were ALREADY in the Grand Final this year, and in fact the way they were all talking was as it was in the bag already. ALL the players were there standing around, as one, in apparent agreeance with the whole pretention and arrogance of the situation.

I just about puked.

Now its good to have confidence, but this is a frigging complete fuucking insult to the rest of the comp, and the worst most pathetic display of extreme blatent coccky arrogance that I think I have EVER seen in any walk of life. I'm thinking of ringing 3AW talkback with this one. Unbelievable. Maybe Mike Sheehan deserves a call with this. I want this to come out, I think it is big news and should be made public for all to see.

Bear in mind though, this only happened last night and you won't read about it in any newspaper. We were actually told in the crowd to keep it very very quiet and hush hush, not to tell ANYONE about it at all.

Well I bloody well know why. It is embarassing and completely pathetic.

I am a Carlton supporter, and I don't post in BigFooty often, usually too many idiots slagging off, but because it gets more hits than any other AFL based forum site I thought it necessary to post this in here. I want everyone to find out about this bunch of arrogant clowns. No wonder they're popular with young impressionable lemming dummy idiots. (Sorry that just spilled out, I am seething on this one).

I would have believed it if you had of heard" Kevin congratulations on your 5th premiership"":D :D :D

Arrogant!!! never:D

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
I didn't realise that was you GoBaggers...well seeing as you had the balls to put it up on the Essendon website as well seems to indicate it is true.

Oh it's YOU GoBangers. Welcome to BigFooty!
Should have read between the lines ;)
Your preoccupation with Essendon is quite amusing...you'll fit in quite well around here. Although Collingwood has been on the menu of late.

Only joking mate. I'd hate to think that that rumour of yours was fact *shudder*. I guess they have tape to waste down at GTV-9. I guess if we don't make the Granny, they'll edit the "Sheedy is going for 5 on the weekend" part. :D

Regardless...i still think its a load of sh!t. :p

Re: Re: Essendon scum sh!t arrogance hits a new high

Originally posted by 1AD

I would have believed it if you had of heard" Kevin congratulations on your 5th premiership"":D :D :D

Arrogant!!! never:D

<s******> :D

Wouldnt ya love it if the pricks missed out!!!!

Essendon are boring boring thats why collingwood are the talk of the comp they have dragged there a.r.s.e.s out of the gutter and done it the hard way and perservered now thats a real football story!!!

Hey i love reading the sports section in all newspaers but it has now come to the point when i see an essendon story i dont even read it thats how S.H.I.T boring thay have become.

kevin sheedy is just an egomaniac he thinks he is football
hes startting to believe mike ****ehead now that is a worry!!!!!

Look...everyone...I am not a liar. I am not preoccupied with Essendon. I have a fun life, I have a girl I've just (I think :) ) fallen for. I do heaps of stuff every day, have lots of friends both male and female. I consider myself a pretty nice person too.

This is not a rumour, this is fact. It happened last night at the Channel9 studios in Richmond, I was there with my two brothers and a friend.

When I say I swear on 20 Kernahans it is the best I can do. I loved Kernahan, I kid you not. My idol. Cried when he retired. But thats not the point. If I said I swore on my Mothers grave, well she aint dead, neither is my Dad.

I tell you what...my grandfather lives in WA, I flew back from living in Europe to be with him because he had contracted a multiple myloma, laymans read bone cancer. It was apparently terminal, so I flew back to give him a hug and kiss on millenium night. I love him so much, he has been undergoing treatment, experimental like a guinea pig, and has continued to fight on to this day. He is going through more pain than all of us who post on this board put together are.

I swear on my love for my grandfather that this is true. There, if that don't convince you I've no idea what would.

Okay...okay...Baggers...i believe you!

I don't like the sound of this at all. Please God...say it isn't so!!

:confused:

I swear this is going to get out, I swear it is. I'm going to make sure all of Melbourne find out about it.

In fact I'm preparing the email to Wayne Brittain right now. So much for salt in the wounds from 99, this beats them all.

I think the whole comp will turn against them once they find out about this. Hey, remember where you heard it first ok!

Originally posted by september_joffa
Wouldnt ya love it if the pricks missed out!!!!

Essendon are boring boring thats why collingwood are the talk of the comp they have dragged there a.r.s.e.s out of the gutter and done it the hard way and perservered now thats a real football story!!!

Hey i love reading the sports section in all newspaers but it has now come to the point when i see an essendon story i dont even read it thats how S.H.I.T boring thay have become.

kevin sheedy is just an egomaniac he thinks he is football
hes startting to believe mike ****ehead now that is a worry!!!!!

If you guys did it the hard way (by the way, you havnt made it ANYWHERE yet!), how did Essendon do it? Thats right, Collingwood couldnt recruit for $hit so they had to steal Essendon's main man! haha you guys are pathetic!

Of course you think we are boring because we are the benchmark of the AFL! We have raised the bar! In order to stop teams like us the competition has employed a tactic commonly known as 'Flooding' - haha, and we're boring??

I cant believe Collingwood supporters like that bloke! They are having an OK season at best, they are in the midst of a big bunch and if things go their way they may finish in the 8 - and they think they are having somesort of great season! haha. Then again, for being the laughing stock for so long, an ordinary season like the one they are having feels like all their christmas' have come at once!

You see Jof, first you gotta make the 8, then you gotta win a final, then you gotta make it to a GF, then you gotta win the big one - then you have obtained braging rights! So far, Collingwood has achieved SWEET FU CK ALL!!!!

Carlton fan accusing Essendon of arrogance ??? What a compliment that is.
Im looking forward to Grandfinal week even more now so I can see this show about the greatest coach in football.

Originally posted by Smokin

If you guys did it the hard way (by the way, you havnt made it ANYWHERE yet!), how did Essendon do it? Thats right, Collingwood couldnt recruit for $hit so they had to steal Essendon's main man! haha you guys are pathetic!

Of course you think we are boring because we are the benchmark of the AFL! We have raised the bar! In order to stop teams like us the competition has employed a tactic commonly known as 'Flooding' - haha, and we're boring??

I cant believe Collingwood supporters like that bloke! They are having an OK season at best, they are in the midst of a big bunch and if things go their way they may finish in the 8 - and they think they are having somesort of great season! haha. Then again, for being the laughing stock for so long, an ordinary season like the one they are having feels like all their christmas' have come at once!

You see Jof, first you gotta make the 8, then you gotta win a final, then you gotta make it to a GF, then you gotta win the big one - then you have obtained braging rights! So far, Collingwood has achieved SWEET FU CK ALL!!!!

NO YOUR WRONG YOU ARROGANT ESSENDON P.RI.CK
YOUS ARE ALL THE SAME FULL OF SELF IMPORTANT CRAP!!!!

my bloody oath we are achieving this club should be wooden spooners if the so called experts had there way but here we are and some are a saying that at present we are the second best team in the comp...not bad hey ?

Mate we have watched this club climb out of the gutter we have seen this club lose nine games straight we were there when the club was broke and we have turned it all around so if thats not achievement you arrogant essendon S/H/I/T/H/E/A/D well the i dont know what is !!!!

I suggest you piece of crap you pure essendon piece of self loving crap study the original topic and that is the arrogance
and w***ers involved with your pathetic SH.I.T club

yous are all the same no better than dog spew!!!

essendon if this is true yous are thucked!!!

typical essenscum moron trying to turn this topic into essenscum versus collingwood get your hand of it dude.

I think that after 1999 no-one at the Essendon Football Club would assume anything even if the media are.

The Essendon Football Club and Channel9 pre-recorded this show for Grand Final week this year. FOR THE FUTURE!!! They recorded an entire fuucking TV show assuming the fact that they were ALREADY in the Grand Final this year

The EFC did this did they? Funny, I thought Channel 9 taped TIYL. Damn, we've got fingers in every pie! Eddie will be pissed off.

Nice troll ;)

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
I'm amazed that Kevin would let his players and the club get that far ahead of themselves - but I guess he wouldn't have known they were going to film it.

Spot on. One player was asked a question after we'd played St Kilda about how the players were handling the media saying the club were home and hosed. He replied that people made that mistake in '99 and no one was going to let that happen again. I'd say it was extremely unlikely that anyone connected with the EFC knew about that in advance.

Originally posted by Dave

Spot on. One player was asked a question after we'd played St Kilda about how the players were handling the media saying the club were home and hosed. He replied that people made that mistake in '99 and no one was going to let that happen again. I'd say it was extremely unlikely that anyone connected with the EFC knew about that in advance.

But Deej claims they filmed the inital segment where Kevin was 'surprised' earlier at his house. And the fact all the players were there means they must have had some idea what was going on.

Maybe Munro put that in as a throwaway line - and if Essendon don't make the GF they will just show TIYL without that line.

I think Channel 9 will be more p!ssed off that one of their episodes has been leaked - they hate it when that happens!

Dave,

This is true, poke fun at my wording if you want but its true. I'm not trolling with this, I'd just like everyone to know what they've done, their attitude etc towards the rest of the competition. In all truth, I hope Carlton get wind of this and it spurs them on to greater things this year.

TIYL is, as you pointed out, taped and produced by Ch9. However it requires an enormous amount of help and input from the people around the individual for it to take place and be a success. EFC do not run Ch9, thats a stupid thing to suggest. However in this situation they had a huge input and definately would've known what was going on. All the players were standing around FOR GOD'S SAKE PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by september_joffa

NO YOUR WRONG YOU ARROGANT ESSENDON P.RI.CK
YOUS ARE ALL THE SAME FULL OF SELF IMPORTANT CRAP!!!!

my bloody oath we are achieving this club should be wooden spooners if the so called experts had there way but here we are and some are a saying that at present we are the second best team in the comp...not bad hey ?

Mate we have watched this club climb out of the gutter we have seen this club lose nine games straight we were there when the club was broke and we have turned it all around so if thats not achievement you arrogant essendon S/H/I/T/H/E/A/D well the i dont know what is !!!!

I suggest you piece of crap you pure essendon piece of self loving crap study the original topic and that is the arrogance
and w***ers involved with your pathetic SH.I.T club

yous are all the same no better than dog spew!!!

essendon if this is true yous are thucked!!!

typical essenscum moron trying to turn this topic into essenscum versus collingwood get your hand of it dude.

Well, if you think that is achievement, fine! Your not the second best team in the comp, but you can think what you like. You turned it ALL around did you? Hmm, last time I checked the opposite to 'BOTTOM' was 'TOP' you rocket scientist! :rolleyes:

You're very articulate - you know, its a shame you left school in yr 7 becaue I reckon you woulda had half a chance to make something out of your miserable life.

Why dont you go back and read what you wrote, numbscull. You turned this into an Essendon-Collingwood thing, not me.

Joffa, why do you post? Just by looking at you, everybody thinks your an idiot - by posting, you prove it!

The FACT remains Collingwood have achieved NOTHING - thats FACT, no matter what you try to dribble on about!:D

This is such a non-issue!!

Not a week has gone by in the past year and a half in which the media have made statements about Essendon making the Grand Final etc.

As an example, last year, a mid-season review by the Age had a picture of the Premiership Cup with Essendon already engraved on it.

How is this situation any different??

Arrogance, want to see arrogance

I have just booked my Grand Final package, if Sheeds thinks we will definitely in the GF, that's good enough for me.:D

Dave,

This is true, poke fun at my wording if you want but its true. I'm not trolling with this,

I'm not poking fun at your wording, but at your assumption that Essendon knew about it, planned it and okayed it. And your labelling of us as arrogant. Pots & Kettles ;)

I'd just like everyone to know what they've done, their attitude etc towards the rest of the competition. In all truth, I hope Carlton get wind of this and it spurs them on to greater things this year.

Why should the rest of the competition give a toss about what Channel 9 thinks? Why should it make any difference to Carlton given most media outlets have already say Essendon are red hot favorites?

TIYL is, as you pointed out, taped and produced by Ch9. However it requires an enormous amount of help and input from the people around the individual for it to take place and be a success. EFC do not run Ch9, thats a stupid thing to suggest.

Never heard of sarcasm?

However in this situation they had a huge input and definately would've known what was going on.

You've got proof of that have you? The EFC KNEW CH9 were going to use that line? After all it's not like they've never deviated from script or kept people in the dark in a footy production before is it? :rolleyes:

All the players were standing around FOR GOD'S SAKE PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!

And that proves they knew the presenter was going to say what he said does it? I hope to Christ you're never on a jury then.