Essendon v Crows

servo

Apr 29, 2000
adelaide
Well i cant believe it, looks like the comps bets and most unluckiest player has a bad injury again. Shaun Rehn looks like hes got a fractured cheek bone or at least a broken jaw. What an unlucky bugga he is.

Gotta correct the tv commentators on something though. Drew Moerphett and Gerard Healy were continually critisicing the umpires for their poor decisions particularly for their home team decisions. I think the umpires did a magnificent job. Every week they go out there and with a particular goal and today they achieved it perfectly.

They gave Adelaide a few iffy decisions early on as always. Then after half time when it was obvious a Melbourne based team was going to lose, they executed their plan perfectly. Every 50/50 decision went against Adelaide. every 70/30 decision went against Adelaide and every 100/0 decision went against Adelaide. I'm not talking about non decisions but about actual whistle blowing decisions.

Don't mistake me, i am not angry about it, I am resigned to it week after week.

Will the Bombers go through undefeated?? Yes unless another Melbourne based team can take them out because the non Vic clubs are not allowed to.

Bulldust. You reckon poor old Adelaide's done harshly by, go watch the Pies play and count how many frees we get on one hand. Re Essendon, just wait till round 22.

Had a look at the stats for rich vs coll and frees for richmond (10) collingwood (25) if you can count that on one hand it proves everthing people sat about collingwood supporters. Ess vs coll match ess (12) coll (14) still makes your hand with more fingers then it has any right too. As for adelaide free kicks if you blokes got every on you would still . As for adelaide "stiff'

Servo,

More sour grapes from across the border.

I don't suppose Adelaides last quarter capitulation where the Bombers scored 8 goals to nil had anything to do with Essendon talent, did it ?

Have you also considered the possibility that Adelaide "didn't want it" in the last quarter as much as Essendon did. Essendon's desperation was triple that of the Crows, and the results were there for all to see.

Anyone who uses the umpires as an excuse is a fool. It is just a pathetic attempt to shift the blame from the players (who deserve it) onto a third party (umpires) who are an easy target.

Essendon had 12 free for the game. Adelaide had 13. I hope that stat makes you fel stupid.

Adelaide do NOT hve a god given right to be the best. In fact, they are very average and will possibly finish only above Port and St.Kilda. That's not the umpires fault, my friend.

Nice bites guys.

I have achieved what i set out to do.

Get the Crows loss assessment down to umpires and not to the obvious superiority the Bombers have over the whole competetion.

It worked so thanx.

Servo,

The Crows played their best game for the year, The Bombers played possibly their worst, but they still won by 8 goals.

I am from Adelaide and am sick of how every crow/power supporter feels hard done by, het over it, the crows just do want it as much as Essendon do. I think if you can take a positive from that loss to Carlton last year it has made every Essendon player hungry and will stay that way for the next couple of years.

Thus winning more flags for Essendon and overtaking the Blues as the most successful club in terms of premierships.

SEE THE BOMBERS FLY IN 2000

Yeah servo watched a replay and from what i saw the Crows were stiff on many 50/50 etc etc.

Also watched a replay of when the Mighty Hawkers played your lot (after I bought the new telly that replaced the one I kicked in while watching the Hawks/Crows) and I understand completly what you mean about the umpire bias all the more.

What goes around comes around.

MMMM.People have realise that the world does revolve around Victorian based teams. Well thats how people think in Victoria. I barrack for Geelong.Its been disgusting the articles in the Melbourne papers saying this is how it should be, no interstate teams in the final 8. The we want your continued money, but we dont want yyou to the rest of the competition is juvenile.
I have been to matches where the umpiring is so blatantly one sided its makes you wonder.Its interesting to watch matches on the tv and hear the commentators.One match a few years ago, my son kept free kick score. The 2 teams playing were the Bulldogs and the Lions in brisbane, remembers that rainny won. Kids loved it, cause it looked like fun. But surprising the Doggies go 3 free kicks, that the commentators said what was that for, in front of goal, which resulted in goals.It happenns to all teams.
I think that players are accounttable, if they are bad, they get dropped, ditto for coaches.So why are all umpires protected.
They can be the difference betwen winning or losing. I didn't se yesterdays game, so I can't comment.But i have seen numerious games over the last few years where you scratch your heads and say oh well, that team aint got a chance, no frees are going their way.

yup- the umpiring was shocking and in essendons favour. get over it adelaide fans.
Its called "crowd umpiring" and it works the same in Adelaide. The umps only makes calls which the crowd scream for. Easy enough system. Ever notice that an Adelaide Player will never be done for deliberate out of bounds when playing at FP ???? Because no one goes up for it. Interstate teams playing us at Colonial might as well get used to it now, because our fans are great umpires as you saw on Sunday.
BRING ON THE BLOODY EAGLES.

LMAO.

A.
PS- Adelaide cant play better than that anyway. So Be proud of the loss :)

Agreed that it is mainly home town decisions that irk the fans. Now seeings as no Melbourne based club leaves town more than 7 times and some only 3 then where is the fairness???

I will say this though. With Shaun Rehn out for 6 more weeks we aint got no chance seeings we dont play St Kilda in that time i think. We are the quintisential one man team.

but thats ok i'll take 5 bad years for every 2 premierships wouldnt you.

the only crowd venue that has no home town umpiring advantage is in Brisbane. For some of their matches the crowd is 50/50. So maybe th eumpires hsould actually do their jobs unbiasedly, wow know that sounds like something new.

Nothing like a good South Australian whine...

Fair dinkum, only a Crows supporter could blame a 48 point loss on bad umpiring in a match where they had one more free than the opposition...

Q: How can you tell when a plane full of returning crow supporters arrives at Adelaide airport?

A. The whining doesn't stop when the pilot turns the engine off.

Back in the real world, sorry to hear about Rehn's jaw - jeez that guy's unlucky

Re: Home ground vs Home State Umpiring influence...

The Crows get 10 definite cracks at a massive home ground and home state advantage every year yeah. So they should as they have to cop the opposite when they got Interstate 10 times. In the other 2 games, the Crows do not enjoy home State advantage but do not have to deal with being the outsiders either - of course I'm talking about the local derbys against the Power.

Melbourne based teams get this 4-6 times a year - depends on whether they play all the Interstate teams in a given year.

Rest of the time, if they're based at Colonial or the MCG they have to compete with FELLOW Melbourne-based teams so there is no obvious influence on the Umps other than sheer supporter base noise. That's why, more often than not this year, despite being the superior footy team Essendon have rarely had as many frees as the opposition.

Summary: Servo, at Port/Crows local derbys does the umpiring always seem anti-Crow to you? Well this is what Victorian clubs get when they play each other too...

Point: Stop whinging.

This is the first time I have read this board, and couldn't resist agreeing with Servo. When watching the Ess/Crows game on TV, even the Vic. commentators said that FOUR decisions by the umpires were absolutely CRAP, and each resulted in an Essendon goal. Also Long admitted that one of his goals was actually a point. The Crows did lose, but maybe the momentum may have been different if a couple of those decisions had been different??? The Vic teams have so much advantage by playing 75% of their games in their home state, it's not funny. Maybe if West Coast/Adel or Brisbane could play 18 of their games at home they might be at the top of the ladder instead of Essendon???

Quite Simply Adelaide would have won but Micheal Long won the bombers the game !

FACT !

Essendon may go top but they are due for a loss

FACT !

Adelaide would have won and won well
Answer Micheal long won the game

Essendon will most prob go top unless there is a couple of injuries that will take the bombers back to earth with a thud

essendon will not go undefeated though
they are due for a loss if not a thumping

FACT !

Take Longs effort ou you are still 2 goals behind

FACT

And Cry babies is about Brisbane (should be CROWS)

Why does everyone say that a team is due for a loss, in particular Essendon who have won every game they have played this year. This way of thinking is not correct. No one is due for a loss and no one is due for a win. For example, as Essendon 10 out of 10 the players and their supporters will not be going into the next match against Geelong saying to themselves, "Were due for a lost since we've won ten on the trot". When players front up for next weeks match they basically forget what happended last week's match and concentrate on this week's match.

Good call, Ball. I've never believed in the due-for-a-loss line of thinking either. I will be delighted to see fellow tipsters picking against the Bombers in the vain hope that they are "due for a loss"!

Even I agree with this one.

If Essendon are "due for a loss" and St Kilda are "due for a win" would you pick the Saints to beat the Bombers?

No way. So lets forget this DUE business and just appreciate this quite taleneted team. I am not pro Essendon in any way but if my team cant make the finals as appears likely from here then I would love to see the Bombers go undefeated. Its something we are not likely to see happen again and would be talked about for many many decades.

And if Michael Long was the difference between Adelaide and Essendon just remember wher he was recruited from.

Servo

Nice to see some generosity and respect from a Crows supporter (almost fell off my chair).

But back in reality there is no way that Essendon will go 22 rounds without a loss. Would love to see it but its just too hard.

Reason? Everybody is peaking against us - trying to play their best footy to see where they stand in the league - always happens when a team is dominant. One or two of these guys are going to knock us off eventually - could even be the Cats this week... could have been Adelaide last week but they just didn't quite have enough players (and you need plenty) to cut out the drive from the midfield/ HB line.

Don't understand the Long comment - he comes from the NT doesn't he? Why is a SA person claiming him?

The more pertinent call is how did we get him? Answer: As was pointed out by JohnG on Bombertalk, Carlton wanted the services of one Glen Hawker (great player at the end of his career) and in the process parted with a high draft pick and who do you think we got from that pick??? I wonder if SOS was asking the same question as he dived in vain trying stop one of the great GF goals of all time from the Magician in 93....

Can you image the little genius playing for that scum??? Imagine how he would have coped with Big John's racist comments to the ICAA last year...Makes me shudder!

Dutchman

Yes I know Longy comes from NT but as with Buckley, Derek Kicket even Wayne Carey, they use the SANFL, the 2nd best comp, as a stepping stone and ae drafted from there. Any one over 18 really has to come to SANFL to still be noticed it seems.

P.S. we crows supporters do sometimes show our impartial side.
wink.gif

I picked Melbourne against Essendon 2 weeks ago because I thought they were "due for a loss".

I ended up with 7 winners instead of 8 & it cost me $50.

I no longer subscribe to "due for a loss theory".

I picked Melbourne against Essendon 2 weeks ago because the Dees were playing good footy & the Bombers were"due for a loss".

I got 7 winners instead of 8 & it cost me $50.

I no longer subscribe to the "due for a loss" theory.

Essendon v Crows