Autopsy Essendon v St Kilda (Round 23)

Well, it wasn't pretty but it's a win. You wouldn't know it from the commentators only talking about one team, but we were pretty bloody young tonight too! I don't mind getting game time into some of these kids even if they might not be ready, at full fitness or in great form - to still grind out a win is a positive.

Not everyone will agree with it, but this club under Ross clearly values trying to win rather than tanking for draft picks. Hopefully that decision holds us in good stead and instills a winning culture into these kids going forward.

It was great to finally see Dodson - was unlucky not to have a few shots at goal in the end but he competed well, and loved to see him flying the flag for the team.

Well, it wasn't pretty but it's a win. You wouldn't know it from the commentators only talking about one team, but we were pretty bloody young tonight too! I don't mind getting game time into some of these kids even if they might not be ready, at full fitness or in great form - to still grind out a win is a positive.

Not everyone will agree with it, but this club under Ross clearly values trying to win rather than tanking for draft picks. Hopefully that decision holds us in good stead and instills a winning culture into these kids going forward.

It was great to finally see Dodson - was unlucky not to have a few shots at goal in the end but he competed well, and loved to see him flying the flag for the team.
In football there is one surefire way to kill your club and that is tanking for picks.

That being said it is ****ing stunning the ignorance of our list by non Saints fans on this site (especially for the ones who love the no mans land thread on the main board)

Being young and shit is good, but being young and winning and grinding out close wins that would have been losses is somehow bad.

Four wins in a row and all we get is moaning. I swear the group on here were happier when we lost 6 on the trot.
A weird bunch who can enjoy a win even if it was a poor one
The times I have heard about the glory days of 09, and 10, that period was littered with games like these.
Didn't we have a very young team and didn't we have another debutante tonight.

Just enjoy the win, you don't need to watch the replay.

Pou has had 2 weeks of just running to the wrong spots. Couldn't get near it. Looked lost.
Boxshall , Garcia and Hall in the guts were all good. Some special efforts from Boxy to keep the ball alive with that assist.
Tauru had a mare....probably 4 goals came from his various brain fades. Will learn from that I'm sure.
Dodson very nice signs, Collard, promising.
McLobster looks cooked....I smell bisque!

I love Hugo

Stocker is one tough bastard. I tip my hat to him.

Hall is a gem.

I heard there's an ancient document buried somewhere in the siberian desert that actually proves Zac Jones is related to royalty and is owed a fortune in gold coins. He should go look for it.

Collard showed a bit.

Steele is too slow

Pou is being played out of position. It's really stupid.

For the first time, I reckon Nas is gone.

There is something a bit smelly at our club right now.

What a f*cking year... seriously.

Hard watch, to their credit Essendon had a crack. Our ball movement and skills in the first half were shocking, been a trend the past month which is concerning.

Windy continued his run, Roma big in the second half and NVM was NVM. Hall, Garcia and Boxshall all showed plenty, our young mids have a bit to work with.

Collard was energetic when he came on, hopefully see him put together a consistent 4 quarters next week.

Pou been a complete passenger the past two weeks. Looks very underdone but the Chito role is not doing him any favours. He’s a mid, if not at AFL level then give him a full game in the guts for Sandy.

I think Nas is gone, during the post game interview, he made sure not to say pre season or next season....just said build a winning culture, we've got a game next week.
But he would not care about that if he was going…

Nobody knows. Just relax and don’t read the list management thread. It’s full of nuffies.

Pou has had 2 weeks of just running to the wrong spots. Couldn't get near it. Looked lost.
Boxshall , Garcia and Hall in the guts were all good. Some special efforts from Boxy to keep the ball alive with that assist.
Tauru had a mare....probably 4 goals came from his various brain fades. Will learn from that I'm sure.
Dodson very nice signs, Collard, promising.
McLobster looks cooked....I smell bisque!
Yeah, I thought Tauru had a disappointing night too. Looked like he was moving in slow motion at times. He got outpostioned too often, he misjudged the flight of the ball too often and he had a few goals kicked on him. He will get better as you say but tonight wasn't pretty to watch.

Reckon we would have won by a hundred if Jade Gresham wasn't there, tearing the game apart.

Just watched Ross with Fox Footy commentators.

I love that Gerard actually mentioned Higgins. He never gets the kudos he deserves. And Bucks talking about how physical he is, with defenders bigger than him.

Ross was pretty effusive - called him a “tough bugger” I think it was, and mentioned wanting to possibly get him in the midfield.
Really interesting.
Constantly overlooked by other commentators, and a lot on here too.

Bucks head and shoulders over other commentators/ special comment people imo. Smart guy. Dees could do a lot worse than get him as coach.

back from the game, can't say it was a classic but my 10yo had a ball and that's all I really care about.

It feels like we've regressed a bit in the last four games compared to the Freo, Sydney, Geelong stretch.

Good to see Travaglia on his bike tonight, his running was pretty good to see
Collard seems far more suited to AFL level than VFL.
Tarau is making alot of mistakes, but I love that he's not taking a backwards step

Gresham, what a flog

I think Nas is gone, during the post game interview, he made sure not to say pre season or next season....just said build a winning culture, we've got a game next week.
He's always very measured in interviews, but not looking too good. There's no good reason to hold the news that he is staying under wraps is there?
I just don't see how we get anything like what he's worth back.

Just watched Ross with Fox Footy commentators.

I love that Gerard actually mentioned Higgins. He never gets the kudos he deserves. And Bucks talking about how physical he is, with defenders bigger than him.

Ross was pretty effusive - called him a “tough bugger” I think it was, and mentioned wanting to possibly get him on the midfield.
Really interesting.
Constantly overlooked by other commentators, and a lot on here too.

Bucks head and shoulders over other commentators/ special comment people imo. Smart guy. Dees could do a lot worse than get him as coach.
Isnt he the worst kept secret for the Tassie gig?

Autopsy Essendon v St Kilda (Round 23)