Hirdhasbigears

Jun 28, 2000
A survey.
Answer yes or no to the likelihood of the following.
1. Essendon to choke under all the pressure and go down in the grand final by one point.
2. Essendon not to make the grand final at all.
3.Essendon will be the disgrace of the nation if they lose the grand final.
4. James Hird to cry if they lose the Grand Final.
5. Sheeds to attack the coach, players, officials and supporters of the winning Grand Final side and start the biggest brawl in AFL history on the turf of the MCG.

I will get back to you with final percentage results.

Thanks!

Love the emergence of the newly cocky Blues fan after 10 straight wins.

Personally I think it is totally brilliant that:

1) Carlton are having a really good year
2) Carlton are playing great footy in June and we're not (but we're still winning as well)
3) That Carlton fans have started with the "take Hird, Fletcher, Mercuri and Lloyd" out and they're just a team - yeah right... take about another 10 out and you might be on to something.
4) That Carlton are genuinely 100% dependent on Kouta, Campo, Ratten and Whitnall playing as well as they are now all season..

Round 20 looms large - if we win - that's terrific - if we lose - it might do us some good b4 the finals...

Dutch

PS. Wonder if the Carlscum late mailers will dissappear like the Collingwood fans post round 10?

I think this board is just a refelection of all the teams on-field fortunes.

The Kangaroos supporters have all seemed to disappear since Essendon did them a couple of weeks ago.

I think I was the only Collingwood supporter on here at Round 1. After a few wins more joined, then disappeared after some losses.

There weren't any Richmond supporters on here at the start of the season. After a few wins they suddenly appeared.

Then you've got the likes of Hawthorn, Brisbane and West Coast who have been consistently average. So have the posters who follow them. By average I mean always been here.

When a team has a bad run, that's when you find out whether they post here because they're interested in discussing football or just do it to stir. If a club is losing they have no amunition.

P.S.

Just to add to that. The influx of Adelaide supporters seemed to increase after a few wins following their poor start.

To finish off, I think you'd all agree that the best example of this was when PowerMad dropped off the edge of the earth.

Good point Jaffa my beloved team are currently on a 5 game losing streak and are staring at no finals footy for the first time in ten years but im still here posting shit. I wonder how many dons supporters would dissapear if they started losing???

2000 the year of the eagle

I might add that there is no disgrace in losing the Grand Final. Perhaps if you choke and go down by 14 goals, but that doesn't happen to Essendon.

They never choke and play badly. They always perform in finals (recently) either winning well or losing narrowly.

Losing by a point is gut-wrenching, but it is nothing to be ashamed of.

Let's worry about the GF when it arrives. Currently, we cant do anything about it, so lets focus on winning every game. I still think that would be unprecedented.

Peole seem to be talking about Essendons "demise", without realising we could be seeing history in the making. Real history too, not the crap they say every year. An undefeted seaosn, is somehing that will probably never happen for another 100 years. I don't think the signoficance of that has been realised.

Anyway, if anyone other than Essendon wins the Grand Final will anyone be able to keep a straight face. It will be a joke. The winners will be the laughing stock. How could they call themsleves premiers. Everyone would be saying : "yeah the won the GF but Essendon were the best"

People would be laughing at the winners. How much credibility would the winner have ? None. Perhaps Carltnis the only team, that, should they win the GF would have an ounce of credibility. This isbecasue they are close to Essendon. if anyon else wins it, they will be a laughing stock.

Not this one Jod. Wait and see huh? Besides I was targeting fairweather (& arrogant) Carlscum johnnies. Not Jaffa (whom I think is about as objective a Woodsman I've ever come across) or most of you Coasters...

Ha ha ha got it in one Jod "I'm still here posting SHIT"
tongue.gif

Surely Sainter has to get the biggest applaude for sticking around. Typical Saints supporter always sticks by 'em. Onya Sainter.

------------------
BOMBER BLITZ IN 2000!

Who ever wrote this is an idiot. From a Brisbane supporters point of view, they will probably win it, they are a great team.

Why don't you put an option on there that they will win the flag.

Dan24
Would you please get a life. In one answer you stated that Carlton were a disgrace to lose the Grand Final by 35 points (5 goals 5 behinds if you can't do the math which I suppose you can't). Then you have posted here that losing the Grand Final is no disgrace. It is only digrace if you lose by 14 goals. Get your facts straight.
And I hate to break it to you, but if Essendon lose the grand final they will be the ones the entire football world will be laughing at. They will be in disgrace. There is no way out of it. If you win 22 H & A games, win your two finals to get to the gf then lose it, there is something very, very wrong. They certainly won't go down in history then, because everyone will forget about it and they will not be a team worthy of being premiers. Whoever does win is always a worthy premier because they have presented themselves on the day and risen to the challenge. Currently, North are actually the best side in the league, Carlton are second and Essendon third. It will stay that until 5 pm on September 2nd 2000.
Until then Essendon are not a history making superside. They will only be that if they win the grand final. I repeat IF!
By the way before you call me arrogant Carlscum, read some of your posts and take a look at your behaviour at the footy on the weekend. If you're even bothering to go.

Some people make me sick. You're the disgrace.

Big ears,

Ha ha. Sucked in Carlscum.

Oh, I don't think people would "forget" a 22-0 season, buddy. No way. No chance. People would be laughing at Carlton, just like they were laughing at them last year in the Grand Final. They'd be saying stuff like :

"Ha ha. What a bunch of imposters.

Congratualtions for being the WORST Grand Final team ever last year. What pride ! If you do manage to fluke another victory over us this year, be prepared to put up with the same "imposter" comments the football world was throwing at you last year.

Doubt it will happen though. Essendon are too good usually when they play Carlton. The pressure of back to back Grand Final losses will be too much for the poor old Blue-baggers to bear.

It was a pathetic effort in the finals from them last year. A 6 goal Grand Final loss, a 76 point qualifying final loss, and two questionable wins. One of them was at a venue where it didn't deserve to be at, and the result may have been different. The other win was only by one point, where they had 9 less scoring shots. A pathetic 4 weeks, made possible by luck all the way through. Right from the moment they were able to continue after being flogged by Brisbane, through to their "away" match against the Eagles, through to their "nine less scoring shots effort" against the Bombers.

When was the last time those "choking" Calscum actually won a finals match, where they legitimately outscored the oposition (and outplayed them) at a DESERVED venue ? And NO, a one point win when you have nine less scoring shots does not equate to "outplaying" your opposition.

The last match ws the 1995 Grand Final. It was the last final the Carlscum actually won legitimately, where they outplayed the opposition.

After the preliminary final last year I immediately felt great sorrow for Carlton, because I realised they had no chance the next week.

Get ready for three Grand Final losses in the last 8 years.

Arrogant Carlscum.

Big ears.

Just a correction.

North are NOT the best team in the comp. Carlton are NOT the second best. Essendon are not the third best.

North are the reigning Grand Final winner.
Carlton are the reigning Grand Final losers.

Denis Pagan said last year, that the best team doesn't win the Grand Final necesarily. David parkin even admitted that the Blues were not one of the top 4 teams. Denis said that the Bombers were the leagues best team in 1999.

The best team doesn't win the Grand Final all the time. And I'd be saying that if the mighty Bombers finished 8th and won the Grand Final. That doesn't make us the best team. it just means that we one ONE match.

That's not to say I don't want to win the GF. Who doesn't ? You do and I do. But the winner isn't necessarily the best team. if you think Carlton was a better team than Essendon last year, you need a brain transplant.

Every Blues supporter I know agrees with me. They were ecstatic that they beat Essendon, but not even they could admit they were a better side.

And if I was a Carlton fan, I'd be saying exactly the same thing.

My point is, we are still the best team, whether we win the flag or not.

What people say about the losing Grand Finalist is their business (whoever the team happens to be). Fair enough. But to claim that Essendon is currently the leagues third best side is a joke of unimaginable proportions. How you go in the finals is not necessarily reflective of how good you are. You can have luck, you can avoid a particular opponent etc etc.

Essendon are still the leagues best side.

The fact he (and others) want Essendon to lose is BECAUSE they are the best side. They know Essndon are the best side (as a 22-0 seson would OBVIOUSLY indicate) hence they want the Bombers to lose.

If Carlton lose the preliminary final to hawthorn, and the Hawks lose the GF after finishing, say 7th, this doesn't mean that Carlton are the 3rd best side. Carlton would STILL be the second best side, but unfortunatley, they lost ONE match.

It's like saying Melbourne were the second best team of 1988. What a load of rubbish. Not even a Demons fan would agree with that.

At the risk of being sucked in to the Dan24 hate maelstrom, I can't let these comments go thru without comment.

1. Essendon always perform well in finals, either winning well or losing narrowly. The word always is a little rich. The taped highlights of '89 Preliminary Final are illuminating ...

Let's just say that they give their supporters value.

2. Carlton's '99 team is the worst GF team ever. Again, the word ever seems a touch strong. Based on results, the 1983 Bombers outfit would not rate too well.

Ooops... I've been sucked in

Hawk fan are you Bernie?

Reckon we were a pretty good side thrashed in 83. Inexperience + Colin Robertson openning seconds king hit on Tim Watson + no Neal Daniher + great first qtr by the hawks = landslide.

Personally, 83 and 89 are ancient history - I'm still smarting from 95 v. Richmond - now that hurt!

Dan, give it a rest mate. Its all just words and BS anyway - everyone know Essendon is a champion team (32 out of 34?) that's currently just doing enough to win - whilst Carlton, credit to them, have put in an excellent season when most expected the pensioners to creak into the lower 8...

End of the day, its not about windbagging...

My answer to the 5 questions.

No
No
No
No
No

I'd also like to say that the 1983 team was probably as good as Hawthorns 1983 team. Both had 15-7 records. Both had similar percentages. Both were 1-1 in head to head meetings during the year. In fact, Essendon entered the Grand Final 18-7, while the Hawks entered the Grand Final 17-7.

Essendon had a bad day, in 1983, that's all. Carlton can rightfuly claim to be the worst ever team to ever make a Grand Final in 1999.

As to Essendon's bad finals loss in 1989. Well, I'm talking about Essendons recent finals history. No big "choking" unperforming losses like Carlscum.

I'd also like to add that going 17-5 and losing the Grand Final (like Carlton perhaps will)is NOT as good as going 22-0 and losing the Grand Final.

While both scenarios could be improved by winning the Grand Final, it is more preferable to have the 22-0 season, given that EITHER scenario pesents a losing Grand Final. It means you have won more games. More wins, means a better season.

Dan I hate to break it to you but everything that Hirdhasbigears has said makes complete sense. Your posts, however, do not. And don't be so harsh on Carlton. You are just showing, even though you say you don't care, how much that pf loss last year hurt you. I think I saw you on the train home that night. You were crying.
Besides, however many games you win during the year doesn't count for anything unless you make it count in September.
Who cares about minor premiers. Its the ones that hold the premiership cup that matter.