Essendon's list, post-draft

I'll be happy with getting some games into our young side with a view of making the 8 in 2010. Hope we get a pick 5 or there abouts in 2009, and grab a midfielder please!

Not only did we not get Rich..WCE got my man Swift..to say it was a depressing day was an understatement!

ideally I would have rather Rich..but that is in the past (unfortunate as it is)
Merv, time to bring out the "broken record" once more?
As for my course of action; one more addition to the "ignore list" beckons.

It must be so exciting for you guys knowing that you have such a great coach and are building for something special. At about this time in Clarksons tenure I personally was so pumped in what he was doing to my club that I was thinking Hawthorn nearly every second of the day. In terms of making the 8 we took till year three, but it was because of the rigid long-term strategy in place. Realistically you would expect that it won't be until next year that you guys will start to make your finals assault, but as I felt with my club at the same time, the when wasn't as important as the journey and the inevitably of it all.

Enjoy the ride, because on Grand Final day when I was screaming for the Hawks, being on them and believing from the beginning made it all the more incredible.
Wow, this post really hits the spot. This is what footy is all about really. There is nothing more satisfying than watching a team of youngsters turn into premiership players.

Our next draft mission should be to draft a genuine star ruckman. Hillie will only be around so long and i have my doubts about laycock and bellchambers. 1st pick next draft - ruckman (trade McPhee and Laycock to the gold coast for a decent pick)

Midfield... collectively ordinary now....... but........

when all have been fit and available we have held our own and won a lot of battles. McVeigh, Watson are very good at what they do. Welsh has shown very good qualites.. ditto Stanton and Winderlich. Lovett can change games.

It's the inexperience and lack of continuity of the past few years that makes our midfield look worse than it is. The addition of quality rotations and a lot of guys hitting the 50-100 game mark will see our midfield take shape next year and be recognised in the wider circles.

We still lack the classy game breaker that will make the difference between top 4 challenger and mid table plodders. All it takes is one or two of Myers, Houli, Reimers, Jetta, Demspey to really step up and we are in business.

Your points well taken other than the bolded section.

I reckon It will take Myers, Houli and Dempsey to all stand up to A grade quality and hopefully at least one of Jetta and Reimers become top line half forwards for us to genuinely become a good midfield.

Prismall, Watson, Stanton, Lovett are all likely to compete well if fit without being world beaters. The star quality that will take us to the next level needs to come from Myers, Houli, Zaharakis and Dempsey, and continue to come from McVeigh.

One classy game breaker isn't enough.

We need 2 more preferably elite mids in there.

FFS, Houli has only played 10 games. No one is any position to say he will not become elite. Anyone who forms an absolute opinion on any player after only 10 games in one season, is an absolute goose. Fact of the matter is Houli has shown as much if not more in those 10 or so games, than most of the drafted players. There is nothing to suggest the improvement won't keep coming.

Same even goes for Prismall. with more oppurtunities, the sky is still the limit for how good he could become.

It must be so exciting for you guys knowing that you have such a great coach and are building for something special. At about this time in Clarksons tenure I personally was so pumped in what he was doing to my club that I was thinking Hawthorn nearly every second of the day. In terms of making the 8 we took till year three, but it was because of the rigid long-term strategy in place. Realistically you would expect that it won't be until next year that you guys will start to make your finals assault, but as I felt with my club at the same time, the when wasn't as important as the journey and the inevitably of it all.

Enjoy the ride, because on Grand Final day when I was screaming for the Hawks, being on them and believing from the beginning made it all the more incredible.

That sounds ****ing awesome.

Too much hatred for Nash on this board IMO. He will be vital rebounding off half back. People are willing to cut slack for other developing players, but seemingly not Nash. I don't get it. :confused:

It's not the mistakes that annoy me - I can cut him slack for that - it's the absolute lack of defensive effort
IMHO one of the positions which must be improved upon to make finals. Whether that be Jay himself or being replaced I don't know

Get on us next year mate, on the proviso that injuries don't cripple us once again.

BTW, i am so jealous of you getting Schoenmakers, i think he's going to be pretty special.

Merv you are one of a couple of guys I've met in BigFooty who really knows footy like no one else.

Even though I am still spewing, I had to go search a few threads and find these posts ...

You were spot on. Even about Shoey !!!

Essendon's list, post-draft

Write your reply...