Essendon's Problem Doesn't Exist - Dank

• Thread starter Thread starter erbenz

This is my first or second post (not sure) but I just wanted to say that I am so upset by this whole drugs scandal. The whole thing is so very wrong - it doesn't really matter, to me, what team it is... the idea that you are injecting these young blokes with stuff that could mess them up... they are footballers, for goodness sake, not junkies. The whole thing shouldn't have happened - not because something was or wasn't legal under WADA rules, but because the whole thing is just such a perversion of what we want from footy. I don't want to see these blokes drugged up, just running hard and training hard. This is so awful, and so upsetting for me. And this guy Dank will go down in Australia's halls of infamy - but that doesn't help any of the poor blokes who've been injected with stuff not approved for human consumption. Imagine if you're one of these fellas and in 12 years time, your kid turns out horribly disabled... because of this garbage? It really, really upsets me... I could cry.

Are you serious?

He just compared sport to war?

So, I suppose you condone soccer riots and beating the shit out of people just because they wear different colours to you?

YOU need to take a step back, you moron! This isn't even close to war! Don't even attempt to hide the fact that you, along with many other people, are getting off on this purely due to the fact that you want to see someone you've always believed to be untouchable, be brought down.

How am I attempting to pummel anyone into silence? I'm a fraction of the posts that happen on this pathetic sub board. There is no way I can keep up. All I'm doing is taking the piss out of these maniacal lunatics when I can, and attempting to shine a bright light on some ignorant fools when they post things that even the craziest conspiracy theorist would be embarrassed about.
I stated that the psychology of opposition fans attacking Essendon based on the current predicament is similar to that of war, in that they are showing no compassion to their opponent - now by you calling me a moron that is an attack on me as a person and not the content of my post. Just thought I would make that distinction for you while you continue to "take the piss" out of all these "maniacal lunatics".

Don't take it personally, Byron's been going around finding any reasoned post that asks difficult questions and slamming them as biased waffle.

Of course he offers no argument, evidence or reasoning - I'm starting to think he's an alias troll designed to make Essendon fans look insane

He's dropping bait. Fish are biting. The more confusing the better for him. Remember his entire career hangs on this, he has more to lose than anyone. Best to let the adults handle this.

So are we believing him or not now? Is he back in or still untrustworthy? Did he touch his nose? I bet he touched his nose.

Try to take a step back and look at everything drip fed to you so far. Then decide if you have enough to formulate an opinion that fits. This goes for bomber supporters too. Nearly every post I'm seeing is from someone who's made up their minds already on scant evidence one way or the other. Try to approach this like the professionals would and you'll find the whole process a lot more interesting and rewarding.

I just can't see how Essendon get out of this situation without severe penalties after this latest offering from Dank. So many things just don't add up at the moment. I'd love to believe essendon have been "duped" but the more I look at the many sides to this story the more improbable the "duped" story seems to be getting. Forgive me if I'm rehashing old ground...

1. No background checks and poor governance - either Essendon are so incompetent that they forgot or just couldn't be bothered doing background checks on Dank or the reason they chose not to perform checks was simply because they knew what Dank was all about and approved his methods.

2. Why did Dr Reid letter to CEO raising concerns with Danks methods not get to the Board? either CEO is so incompetent he forgot to table the letter or he did not know about Dank's methods, panicked and decided to hide the letter from board and bury his head in the sand or he actively hid the letter because he already knew that they hired Dank specifically to do what he was doing (i.e. allegedly supplying players with illegal substances).

3. Why did Reid feel marginalised after raising his concerns? either because the Club simply couldn't believe dank had introduced a dodgy science program or certain people in the club knew about Dank's regime and approved his methods and therefore began to ostracise Reid because he was aware of something that certain members of the Club wanted to be kept from him?

5. Because of Reid, Essendon were aware of Dank's "irregular practices" and decided to sack Dank , or at least not renew his contract, in sept 2012. Surely if the club had concerns about Danks methods, and more importantly the health and welfare of its playing group, you ring ASADA as soon as you first find out (in 2012 not wait till feb 2013) to minimise the potential damage.

6. in late 2012 Adrian Anderson finds out Gillion McGlachlan is gonna be CEO in a few years. He'd naturally be annoyed that he would be passed over for the top job after giving years of service. As an integrity officer, did Anderson know the scandal was gonna break and decide "I'm not gonna wait for it to hit the fan and cop all this if Im not gonna end up CEO...See ya boys I'm outta here. Best of luck to you"?

Now this alleged WADA letter that essendon say existed Dank has flatly denied. The existence of this letter even had Mark Robinson tweeting a week or so ago "its all about THE LETTER". It would seem now that as Dank has confirmed there is no letter that Essendon have simply run out of legitimate defences/excuses as to why players were (allegedly) given banned substances and therefore the club (excluding players who cooperate with ASADA) does not deserve any leniency when it comes down to potential penalties ordered by ASADA and AFL.

I don't envy being a bombers member at the moment. What a mess the Club's administration and football department have caused.

Remember his entire career hangs on this, he has more to lose than anyone..

Hmm... Pretty sure he'll never work in this country again. At least as a "Sports Scientist"...

And I'd think the person with the most to lose in all this is Jobe Watson. Son of a Gun; not blessed with pace or silky skills; difficult start to his career and always in the great shadow left by his champion father...

Through all this, Jobe worked his way into a multi B&F winner, genuine star and leader, and, ultimately a Brownlow Medallist. And all of this might be irrevocably stained because James Hird and Bomber Thompson wanted immediate results and so took short cuts regardless of the risks.

He seems to think that just because pharmacists and other authorised prescribers can obtain permission from the Therapeutic Goods Administration to use AOD, that it somehow becomes a 'substance approved for human use' and avoids S0.

Which it does not.

Check out what he says:

He thinks 'product available on the market' means 'approved for human therapeutic use' by the TGA. He doesnt seem to understand that a product can be available on the market, and still not have TGA therapeutic use approval.

What a massive fail.

Poison is also available commercially, is it ok to inject that too?

So it really comes down to essendon taking his word it didn't fall under S2 and failing to check for themselves about any other category. Of course there are also other substances to be considered yet. Also was there a letter? Essendon said they saw one but had no copy, he said he had one and would show it in court, WADA said they didn't write one, and now he says he never had one. WTF?

And he had this conversation ( or something similar ) with the medical staff at the Bombers before Essendon signed off on it?
The invoices I accept as proof the the Bombers were aware of what the players were being given.

And he had this conversation ( or something similar ) with the medical staff at the Bombers before Essendon signed off on it?
The invoices I accept as proof the the Bombers were aware of what the players were being given.
Now you've gone from wild speculation to simply making stuff up.

Poison is also available commercially, is it ok to inject that too?

So it really comes down to essendon taking his word it didn't fall under S2 and failing to check for themselves about any other category. Of course there are also other substances to be considered yet. Also was there a letter? Essendon said they saw one but had no copy, he said he had one and would show it in court, WADA said they didn't write one, and now he says he never had one. WTF?

Actually it appears as if Dank (wrongly) assumed just because a certain product is available commercially or 'on the market', then it becomes 'approved for human therapeudic use'.

A substance does not become 'approved for human therapeudic use' until it gains such a status from the regulators (TGA).

Approval TGA has not yet granted to AOD.

While it may be available in the market, it's still in pre-clinical trials.

Anyone he used it on, is ****ed.

They tried to find loopholes to cheat the system with performance enhancing drugs. It is well documented and also stated by Essendon people themselves it was irregular and on the edge. As I said, they are either playing stupid or are stupid... I see no other explanation.

So are we believing him or not now? Is he back in or still untrustworthy? Did he touch his nose? I bet he touched his nose.

Try to take a step back and look at everything drip fed to you so far. Then decide if you have enough to formulate an opinion that fits. This goes for bomber supporters too. Nearly every post I'm seeing is from someone who's made up their minds already on scant evidence one way or the other. Try to approach this like the professionals would and you'll find the whole process a lot more interesting and rewarding.

Here's what we know Re Dank Email:

*Dank: I have permission FROM WADA to use AOD in a letter.

*Essendon: yeap he does we saw it, we don't have a copy but we saw it.

*WADA: yeah we don't dont give permission it's not something we do.

*Experts commentators: WADA doesn't give permission ever that's why national agency's exist.

*Essendon: we demand a copy of this email

*Dank: I'll produce it in court

*WADA: look this is annoying here's a copy of our emails with dank....... Don't tell anyone it was us.

*Essendon: **** this we're going to the AFP to get this letter that's suddenly an Email.

*Dank: *clears throat* well umm I meant that it wasn't banned under S2 they made that clear, and I now I just remembered I have permission from ASDA saying it wasn't banned under S0 :) .....but don't have a copy :(

*ASDA: yeah we're RUNNING the investigation it would be pretty ****ed if WE started commenting I mean imagine if our CEO started providing commentary on an investigation it was running that would look mighty unprofessional.

*Andy D: everybody look at me

I have never believed anything coming out danks mouth, still don't. What's clear is the man is back pedalling.

*artistic licence may have been taken with some quotes.

Here's what we know Re Dank Email:

I have never believed anything coming out danks mouth, still don't. What's clear is the man is back pedalling.

*artistic licence may have been taken with some quotes.

pretty fair assessment of how it went down. Dank, probably due to ego, wasn't thorough enough to check whether it contravened S0 and assumed passing s2 was enough. He's been too clever by half.

You can see why coaches etc might fall for it though...dank has a reputation and believes in himsel and comes across as very convincing. But then a certain German political leader once was like that and that ended well :rolleyes:

He's dropping bait. Fish are biting. The more confusing the better for him. Remember his entire career hangs on this, he has more to lose than anyone. Best to let the adults handle this.
Do you think that anyone in Australian sport is going to hire this bloke ever again?

wow. looks like its curtains. i was worried this case wouldnt be sorted before finals, but gee it looks like it'll be sorted before then.

I don't see that at all. Logically we can reach our own conclusions that make sense from what's been leaked, but that is a long way from conclusions being reached in a thorough investigation, let alone a case that will stand up through appeal and/or court cases. Especially as Dank is unlikely to be interviewed.

Essendon aren't going to do anything until their hand is forced. And Demetriou has made it clear the AFL won't act until ASADA has finished its work. I would be very surprised if there are any outcomes this season. Essendon have a window of opportunity to achieve as much as they can before findings come down - they'll hope to make the most of it and everyone else will hope they won't.

Exclusive footage of the letter Dank showed Essnedon.

all-work-and-no-play.jpg

You can see why coaches etc might fall for it though...dank has a reputation and believes in himsel and comes across as very convincing. But then a certain German political leader once was like that and that ended well :rolleyes:

But do none of them know and understand the WADA code though? I just cannot believe how this was able to happen in the first place. Surely when the consequences are so great, more than one person is charged with getting this right?

And how did they possibly think it was ok to inject their players with this hotch potch cocktail of substances? Regardless of their WADA status, did nobody say 'why are we giving our players a drug normally prescribed for dementia'? Or, 'Why are we giving them medications for off label use?'. Did no body ask that? It just blows me away thinking that ANYONE thought that was ok!

Heres the thing, it might turn out that Dank really did dupe your club but the real destroyers of your club are Hird, Reid and Evans because they failed at the most basic due diligence by not taking a copy of alleged letter.
What I don't understand is this.

Given that Dank was possibly pushing the boundaries with his programme, why did Essendon just take his word for the legitimacy of it all?

Why on earth wouldn't they have undertaken their own separate confirmation that everything was completely and absolutely 100 percent above board?

Then they would even be in this position and certainly wouldn't have to rely on "a letter".

The hypocrisy by these jealous flogs is hilarious.
If Essendon fans think the standard of debate needs to be lifted here, maybe they should be part of the solution.

But do none of them know and understand the WADA code though? I just cannot believe how this was able to happen in the first place. Surely when the consequences are so great, more than one person is charged with getting this right?

And how did they possibly think it was ok to inject their players with this hotch potch cocktail of substances? Regardless of their WADA status, did nobody say 'why are we giving our players a drug normally prescribed for dementia'? Or, 'Why are we giving them medications for off label use?'. Did no body ask that? It just blows me away thinking that ANYONE thought that was ok!

There's some studies that have been done that indicate something like 90% of all people would break the law if they knew they weren't going to get caught...here's a bloke who tells them what they want to hear, at a club that has a strong central personality culture going on.

I once worked for a destructive narcissist and I'm not claiming that was the personality here, but this person encouraged those around to get on board his ideas or you were an enemy and treated as such. Governance totally went out the window and you couldn't question anything including the clearly shonky procurements being done. If you did the whole group of sycophants turned on you and attempted to bully those not on board.

I outlasted them being razor ganged when the organisation had had enough by being the sole voice of reason throughout and spent the last four years fixing it all including the culture.

So I can see how strong, persuasive personalities combined with those willing to follow can override common sense.

If is were as simple as you need it to be why isn't it all over by now?

Because it was an elaborate program and details of long lasting effects and other chemicals used detailed in ACC report will need to be investigated. This will take at least another three months.