Essendon's Talls

wouldn't take that personally. If we're looking at fringe midfielders then the only one I'd take in conjunction with a pick 20ish is Will Hoskin-Elliott.

Talls command a huge premium at the trade table, Bellchambers would be no different. I want to keep him, but i'd be looking at a pick between like 7-15, or a very good young mid in this hypothetical situation

Bellchambers is a pretty decent ruck but no way in hell is he worth Hoskin-Elliot and a 2nd rounder. Pick 7-15 is also way too much to expect IMO.

Dawes netted pick 20 (and another pick swap)
Mitch Clark netted pick 12
Jolly netted 14 and 46
Fevola netted Henderson and pick 12 (another pick involved)

thats just going back 4 years. If there's a market for him, which I reckon there is, then i don't think that's an unrealistic expectation at all. Like I said, you pay through the nose for talls.

Jolly netted 14 and 46

thats just going back 4 years. If there's a market for him, which I reckon there is, then i don't think that's an unrealistic expectation at all. Like I said, you pay through the nose for talls.

I'd agree that he is worth a pick between 8 - 20 but it is now more about who is willing to give something up for him.

Who needs a ruck men? then look at the pick(s) they would be willing to give up, if not the potential youngsters that could command Essendon's attention at the trade table.

Is WHE a perma 22 player? If not but has produced some decent numbers then I don't see the big deal. Tom Bellchambers has dominated games at AFL level and is now a proven AFL player with the potential to become a top 5 ruckmen in the comp.

Jolly netted 14 and 46

Sam Jacobs cost Adelaide draft picks 33 and 67 and Ivan Maric was traded to Richmond for 37.

weren't playing regular AFL though, which is why i deliberately didn't include them, same with mumford, wasn't playing and was thrown buckets.

And before you say neither is bellchambers, we'll revisit this at seasons end, but needless to say he's still best 22 and will almost certainly come back in next time we play

weren't playing regular AFL though, which is why i deliberately didn't include them, same with mumford, wasn't playing and was thrown buckets.

And before you say neither is bellchambers, we'll revisit this at seasons end, but needless to say he's still best 22 and will almost certainly come back in next time we play

Granted but with Bellchambers you also potentially face the same problem as the three rucks mentioned as that he may be squeezed out going forward or and hence you may need to except unders for him. He is currently in your best 22 and playing decent footy and is probably worth a first rounder in a ideal situation but that still doesn't mean GWS will cough it up for him.

Only if you can lever it out of Freo. Otherwise, no chance.

Incidentally this has been his best year since his first 'real' few games in 2007. The fact he is on track to play up to a dozen games this season and produce some good numbers (ave. most kicks, ave. 2nd most marks in his career stats).

Gumby would snag us a 1st rounder. When two clubs fight for one player and want him desperate enough, most trades end up paying overs and the result for us trading Gumbleton would be a 1st round pick.

Incidentally this has been his best year since his first 'real' few games in 2007. The fact he is on track to play up to a dozen games this season and produce some good numbers (ave. most kicks, ave. 2nd most marks in his career stats).

Gumby would snag us a 1st rounder. When two clubs fight for one player and want him desperate enough, most trades end up paying overs and the result for us trading Gumbleton would be a 1st round pick.

Na don't agree. Gumby is injury prone and hasn't shown a heap. Knowing Essendon this is probably what will get offered up though.

I wouldn't mind him, but within reason.

Pears seems like a perfect fit at Sydney

He's one I'd like us to have a look at. How much do you think he's worth, Bombers supporters?

Na don't agree. Gumby is injury prone and hasn't shown a heap. Knowing Essendon this is probably what will get offered up though.

I wouldn't mind him, but within reason.

I agree, he is probably worth only a second rounder at best. However, should two teams want him enough then we could potentially grab a late first round pick. (again highly doubtful)

Good luck with that.

IMO the value of Essendon's talls are:

Bellchambers - A pick between 10 and 14, he is a pretty decent ruck, is young and has upside but won't ever be a top 5 ruck imo. GWS trade him for their pick 11 would be the best bet for mine.

Gumbleton - A second rounder, probably more of an earlier second rounder. I think the Bulldogs might be his best bet. He has talent and has shown spurts but not dominated. Injuries also drop his value a lot.

Pears - A late second rounder/early third rounder, a decent KPD, good on the smaller faster lead up players but not great in contested situations imo so that will limit his value.

Cale Hooker - A second rounder probably around 30, he is a good player but can get beaten by the better prospects, also a liability with ball in hand somewhat.

Hurley - A pick between 5 and 8 imo would be his value, shows talent but is inconsistent as a key forward and better as a defender imo.

Daniher/Carlisle/Ryder untradeable

At the end of the day Gumby is worth whatever teams are willing to pay.

If the demand is there and there is more than one interested bidder essendon may get overs, if not so be it. If essendon get a second rounder then that's what he's worth if they get a late first rounder then the current market (in football terms) is telling you that's what he or any KPP with talent will fetch.

Bellchambers - A pick between 10 and 14, he is a pretty decent ruck, is young and has upside but won't ever be a top 5 ruck imo. GWS trade him for their pick 11 would be the best bet for mine.

Gumbleton - A second rounder, probably more of an earlier second rounder. I think the Bulldogs might be his best bet. He has talent and has shown spurts but not dominated. Injuries also drop his value a lot.

Pears - A late second rounder/early third rounder, a decent KPD, good on the smaller faster lead up players but not great in contested situations imo so that will limit his value.

Cale Hooker - A second rounder probably around 30, he is a good player but can get beaten by the better prospects, also a liability with ball in hand somewhat.

Hurley - A pick between 5 and 8 imo would be his value, shows talent but is inconsistent as a key forward and better as a defender imo.

Pears and Hooker are definitely not that close. That may mean Pears is worth a lot less or Hooker worth more (we were offered 2* 2nd round picks for him last year, he has been excellent this year). Pears is ordinary.

I know Essendon fans out there will debate this, but Hurley is not worth 5-8.

Secondly, why would Ryder be untradable? If Essendon could trade off Ryder for another gun midfielder that could be the missing piece to their side. They then go with Bellchambers (ruck), Gumby/Daniher (FF with minimal rucking duties - 15% game time max), Hurley (CHF) and Crameri as a third marking option. That line-up, with another gun outside midfielder would be awesome

last year west coast offered us 25 and 26 (or whatever picks they had) for hooker -hooker didnt want to leave so we didnt take the deal

talls have alot of currency

Agree in that line up would be sweet as well but Essendon supporters including myself (when I look from an outside prospective) we see Ryder who potentially can be and do anything on the field, watch in two weeks time vs eagles he leaps higher than nicnat . Sometimes he is seen as lazy but majority of the time when Ryder had to solo ruck and all responsibility is placed on him he steps up and pulls a finger out. The Anzac match when hille went down in the opening 5mins of the game comes to mind, Ryder single handed won that game.

I'd take that but I would only give you ceglar

Yet you want to give us a Hawthorn spud (Savage) who is no better than a 5th rounder and a GWS player who will likely be delisted for Bellchambers who would command AT LEAST a LATE FIRST ROUNDER. I have seen silly trades but this one takes the cake! If GWS wants Bellchambers...well they will have the picks, we will deal with them individually. We won't be entering a trade that is ridiculously biased towards Hawthorn.

Yeah, with the mids they have Aylett will likely be cut but I think they'd be more likely to offer their 2nd round pick and one of their fringe mids like Aylett for Bellchambers.

Why on goodness earth would we need Aylett who is nothing but an average spud, yeah sure he tries...well so did Sam Lonergan! If they want Bellchambers, they get a pick in the teens for him. We don't need a dud midfielder that won't get a game in our side. If we are trading Bellchambers for a player I would want at the bare minimum for that player to be a best 22 player RIGHT NOW!

I know Essendon fans out there will debate this, but Hurley is not worth 5-8.

Secondly, why would Ryder be untradable? If Essendon could trade off Ryder for another gun midfielder that could be the missing piece to their side. They then go with Bellchambers (ruck), Gumby/Daniher (FF with minimal rucking duties - 15% game time max), Hurley (CHF) and Crameri as a third marking option. That line-up, with another gun outside midfielder would be awesome

Ryder is untradeable, we would not get what he is worth for starters, and unless you are talking Ablett-type midfielders I would not be trading him. We have enough midfielders, heck we got one of the best ones for free last year. He is one of the few in our side with GREAT disposal by foot, you don't trade them. Hurley is easily worth a pick inside the top 10, how far up who knows, again he is not tradeable though!

He would want to get out of the twos and start playing in the seniors if you want a top 10 pick. He has been disappointing this year.

Think you might want to watch Essendon a bit more mate. Bellchambers was Essendon's #1 ruck all the way through to about Round 10 and is second in our goal kicking. He was rested last week as he's had to do a truck load of rucking, played VFL this week, will definitely come back in vs WCE