Everitt a Hawk, Gardiner a Saint and Blues to be stripped of draft picks

JohnD's right I'm afraid.
Talking about Professionalism, what about Ben Cousins breaking his arm whilst punching teammate Daniel Kerr in the gob for going out with his sister (that is a well known fact)
Gee whiz I don't reckon the Carlton boys (Fevola, Lappin etc) are nearly as bad as the Weagles villians.

Game over.

Eagles have announced they have walked away from the Chick deal. They wont give up Gardiner.

Looks like Chick is going to take his chances in the draft or sit a year out.

Hawthorn lose Chick and a reasonable trade.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Tell me, what's a reasonable trade for a club's leading goalkicker, best and fairest winner and 150 game player?

Embley+ draft pick
Williams + draft pick.

Chicky has already left Hawthorn. he will never play a game for Hawthorn again. He is a reluctant player and wants to go home. It's this situation that makes it hard for the Hawks.

His form has not been as good as it was a season or 2 ago. He is not a player we need as our midfield is good to build on with the players we have. We do not need him that bad. If he does not go to the Eagles he may end up either at the Dockers or retiring. He only has maybe 3-4 seasons left. If we dont get him, we really dont care. Gardy is an essential player for our club who we are building our midfield around and is untradeable with the Eagles.

Chick may play a season in the WAFL and be picked up next year by either the Dockers or the Eagles. Hawthorn will lose out big on this unless they get back to the table and trade for someone reasonable.

I wish you sincere success for next year DCFC.

:)

Can I ask what proof Caro has of any of this? For starters, what makes it so likely that if we are penalised, that we will lose picks 1 and 2?

I know Caro is wishing like crazy that Richmond can get pick 2 so they can get the midfielder they so desparately need, but I reckon the AFL would only strip us of the picks if they had absolute proof of a very very serious breach.

Another thing, what's with the timing of the investigation? The AFL and Caro have known about the irregularities of the Brown LSL form for more than a year, why are they investigating it now that there's board elections and we have picks 1 and 2 in the draft, rather than last year when there were no such troubles and our first two picks were 14 and 30?

I suggest the club take this to the AFL.The draft is not working in this circumstance.

If one of the WA clubs would actually give Chick a game then perhaps something can be salvaged.

I think there would be an offer to continue at hawthorn.

So, in short, take a choice of talentless hacks and a pick in a poor draft for a top 5 player in the club, or get nothing. That's the options you're offering?

Into the draft you go, son.

I would not put Williams and Embley in the "Hacks" catagory, maybe "inconsistent" but not hacks.

Pop him into the draft if so be Hawthorns wish. All the Vic / SA clubs know of his situation and wont bother drafting him.

We may draft him after all or Freo.

If I was Hawthorn, I would keep trying to secure a player. Unfortunately for the Hawks, they are in a no win situation.

We suffer the same when a Vic wants to go home.
IE: Fraser G.

So, in short, take a choice of talentless hacks and a pick in a poor draft for a top 5 player in the club, or get nothing. That's the options you're offering?

Into the draft you go, son.

:D :D

So you'd rather have nothing than something?
I see Hawthorn have improved their trading since last year:rolleyes:

Why fill up the list with a no-hoper like Embley or Williams? We've got plenty of height at Box Hill.

Instead of 'nothing', space is left open for a player who might actually bring something other than utter unco-ordination to the club.

As for losing Gehrig, I'll see you a Robran and raise you a McPharlin. And I'm still holding an Allan and a Jarman.

Why fill up the list with a no-hoper like Embley or Williams? We've got plenty of height at Box Hill.

Instead of 'nothing', space is left open for a player who might actually bring something other than utter unco-ordination to the club.

As for losing Gehrig, I'll see you a Robran and raise you a McPharlin. And I'm still holding an Allan and a Jarman.

Mmmmmm.....

It's a hard situation for the Hawks. I can understand your dilemma. Best both clubs can do is walk away from the deal and allow Chick to go home as a retired player.

Gardiner is worth 2 Chicks, if we did that deal we would have lost big time. Chick is not worth losing a player the calibre of Gardy.

Originally posted by The Spornstar
Another thing, what's with the timing of the investigation? The AFL and Caro have known about the irregularities of the Brown LSL form for more than a year, why are they investigating it now that there's board elections and we have picks 1 and 2 in the draft, rather than last year when there were no such troubles and our first two picks were 14 and 30?
Maybe because they want to get Jack. He has, after all, been quite insulting from time to time in respect of the AFL and the Commissioners. Maybe they don't like arrogant statements like not being afraid of the AFL because he "just beat the NCA". Maybe it has something to do with issues like internet broadcast rights. The list is almost endless.

Perhaps Collo has something to with it. Jack thinks so.

Like it or not, sometimes people hold grudges. If Carlton suffers for Jack's past sins then you know where to point the finger. The problem is that the horse has bolted and you can only close the door on an empty stable. I hardly think you can complain about the trouble caused by a president you have let stay for 2 decades.

On the other hand, perhaps the AFL are just trying to do the right thing and take action where appropriate. Is that possible?

Originally posted by Goldenblue

Mmmmmm.....

It's a hard situation for the Hawks. I can understand your dilemma. Best both clubs can do is walk away from the deal and allow Chick to go home as a retired player.

Gardiner is worth 2 Chicks, if we did that deal we would have lost big time. Chick is not worth losing a player the calibre of Gardy.

Lets just say Gardiner is a good ruckman - I can understand the reluctance to trade because who would ruck then ?

Seems to me there is an ocean of difference between the Eagles and Hawks on this. You even suspect Chick might not get a game with the eagles, their opinion is suddenly so low.

Originally posted by Pessimistic

Lets just say Gardiner is a good ruckman - I can understand the reluctance to trade because who would ruck then ?

Seems to me there is an ocean of difference between the Eagles and Hawks on this. You even suspect Chick might not get a game with the eagles, their opinion is suddenly so low.

Trust me.
The Eagles KNOW Chick is a quality player, but is not essential for us. But we have an abundance of quality players that are younger than Chick that can do the job nicely.

We would love to have him, but at the right deal. If not, regardless of what happens, Chick will be back in WA, either with the Eagles, the Violets or back at East Fremantle. Or he may retire.

Trust me.
The Eagles KNOW Chick is a quality player, but is not essential for us. But we have an abundance of quality players that are younger than Chick that can do the job nicely.

We would love to have him, but at the right deal. If not, regardless of what happens, Chick will be back in WA, either with the Eagles, the Violets or back at East Fremantle. Or he may retire.

Somehow I don't think retiring is in his plans. But he was under the impression that the was wanted at the eagles - the players you mentioned were all at the eagles back in 2000 and they wanted him then. Perhaps the change of coach....

Not sure how this will pan out but I don't see chick in the WAFL or retiring. He is very much wanted at hawthorn.

Somehow I don't think retiring is in his plans. But he was under the impression that the was wanted at the eagles - the players you mentioned were all at the eagles back in 2000 and they wanted him then. Perhaps the change of coach....

Not sure how this will pan out but I don't see chick in the WAFL or retiring. He is very much wanted at hawthorn.

When we first wanted him was when we had Judge as coach. Our players did not respond to KJ and his tactics were questionable. Since he has been sacked, the players have upped a notch under Woosha.

Players as Kerr and Cousins, plus Judd this year have made an impact for us under Woosha. I have to agree the change of coach has made a huge difference.

I hate to see him retire, but I doubt he'll ever play for the Hawks again. He is determined to go home this time, either as an Eagle, a Docker or a retired (AFL) player.

This is why I disagree. He has a lot of personal stuff to deal with but He is not the sort to drop out from AFL level. I think his wife (who is important in his decision making) will encourage him to do this.

Strikes me that he has no axe to grind with hawthorn, so were the WA move to be impossible, and he thought the Hawks had been reasonable in their trading attempts (which is still happening despite what they say)

That IS only my opinion, is yours an opinion or do you know something.

PS agree with you on KJ - you guys did a huge favour by 'poaching' him. Did he turn up to his last meeting with his solicitor like he did with Hawthorn ?

Originally posted by Jabber
Sheesh - I vote we close all threads about Chick trades until something actually happens.

just as many rumours about Gardiner out there - they tend to be linked to chick as his desire to be traded to WA is out in the open.

This is why I disagree. He has a lot of personal stuff to deal with but He is not the sort to drop out from AFL level. I think his wife (who is important in his decision making) will encourage him to do this.

Strikes me that he has no axe to grind with hawthorn, so were the WA move to be impossible, and he thought the Hawks had been reasonable in their trading attempts (which is still happening despite what they say)

That IS only my opinion, is yours an opinion or do you know something.

PS agree with you on KJ - you guys did a huge favour by 'poaching' him. Did he turn up to his last meeting with his solicitor like he did with Hawthorn ?

KJ I think tried to sue the Eagles, but fell flat on his arse.

It's only my opinion, but word is strong in footy circles here that Chick will come home regardless. He still has many friends here in the West that know his thoughts.

KJ I think tried to sue the Eagles, but fell flat on his arse.

It's only my opinion, but word is strong in footy circles here that Chick will come home regardless. He still has many friends here in the West that know his thoughts.

Exactly! Chick will come home and the Hawks will have to take what they can get! There will be no bargaining. Look at it this way: Chick wants to come home to WA. Freo cant afford him so he has to play for us. We dont need him, he'd be nice but we dont need him. IE: we can have him for whatever we want!

Originally posted by carlyp

Exactly! Chick will come home and the Hawks will have to take what they can get! There will be no bargaining. Look at it this way: Chick wants to come home to WA. Freo cant afford him so he has to play for us. We dont need him, he'd be nice but we dont need him. IE: we can have him for whatever we want!

If chick agrees. will the weagles be offering a pay 'cut' ?

Everitt a Hawk, Gardiner a Saint and Blues to be stripped of draft picks