everyone needs introductions

G'day to all the true believers out there.

I'm Darren, an active participant in the brain drain from SA (OK, I might be overstating my contribution). I have been in Melbourne for almost three years. My visits to SA are timed to coincide with each game against that other SA team. (I throw in a couple more visits each year but those are the important ones.)

I have supported the PAFC passionately for as long as I can remember. I was introduced to the club by my Great Grandmother, who, until age wearied her too much to attend, would go to Alberton Oval with her family and friends each week and (during the period that I remember anyway) would stake a claim to the same seats on the Eastern wing each week.

Now I find myself as the sole supporter of the club at my firm. Even the Dockers have multiple supporters there!

Time for a bit of reflected glory now. My (very small) claim to fame is that I played junior footy at Port Districts Football Club with Wilbur and can actually remember when he received that nickname (it was in primary school - under 9s to be exact).

Thanks Port1978.

Just so noone gets the idea that by saying I played in the same team as Wilbur that I mean "I coulda been a contender". Wilbur played in the middle at Port Districts. I played (by which I mean stood there freezing my bum off) in the back pocket. Our team used to beat others by around 25 - 30 goals. It was a good team, not necessarily a good backline.

Haha, good stuff! I'd boast about it anyway :p

Out of curiousity, where DID the name Wilbur come from? Or is it just because his last name is Wilson?

OK then. It was us rocks in defence that kept the other teams scoreless. Really! It was!

You guessed it Nicski. Wilbur Wilson was still running around for Centrals when we were in u9's. I'm pretty sure that it was our coach at the time that gave him that monkier but then there have been many many sleeps since then and I could be mistaken.

Originally posted by Nicski
Haha, good stuff! I'd boast about it anyway :p

Out of curiousity, where DID the name Wilbur come from? Or is it just because his last name is Wilson?

Yes its best to boast about it, I do much the same.

I share the same last name as Danny Morton and we both played together in junior footy.

At home we would forever receive phone calls for Danny from the likes of North Adelaide and Fitzroy. I think they had the right phone number but wanted the wrong bloke, it should have been me they were after.

Just to think I could have eventually played 50 games for the Power.

In all seriousness I really sucked at footy when it counted in my junior years and Danny was an absolute star at whatever sport he played.

Originally posted by MrMeaner
Thanks Port1978.

Just so noone gets the idea that by saying I played in the same team as Wilbur that I mean "I coulda been a contender". Wilbur played in the middle at Port Districts. I played (by which I mean stood there freezing my bum off) in the back pocket. Our team used to beat others by around 25 - 30 goals. It was a good team, not necessarily a good backline.

Port Districts *shudders* gave my team (Ethelton) a few hidings, as did Nth Haven Primary to my primary school team(Largs Bay).

Actually Darren, i think i remember you sitting in the back pocket freezing your butt off whilst i was freezing mine off at Full Forward - Although a couple of our games resulted in us having no forward line at all (T Winslett should be credited with inventing the flood).

Its good to hear from you old friend. I will PM you to reveal my identity when i get a spare minute, thats if you have not worked it out already.

Howdy, I'm probably older than most here except Mic59.

I've worked at a lot of things, but never driven Taxi's for some reason. Currently I'm telling the ATO I am a Management Consultant/Project Manager-"taking care of business" LOL.

Most importantly I love the footy, love being part of the Port tribe and love learning more about it all.

Have viewed this site for awhile - thought it time to get my feet wet.

Have also watched the powerfromport site for awhile & was member of a forum back when Port went AFL which I actually paid for! Enjoyed Mic59s game summaries back then 'cos being in Melb there was little coverage - loved your work Mic59!

I got onto this site via powerfromport & notice a lot of contributors do both.

My Port roots are strong - born not far from Alberton, Great Uncle was apparently a time keeper for years at Alberton, Father played reserves in 58 (lost GF) couldn't crack firsts tho, Pa simply supported Port with a vengence & made sure the umpires never forgot they were really "white maggots"
Stuck in Melb form an early age, followed that fatally flawed B&W team but never lost my love for Port - felt reborn when Port finally made the AFL & have been a Power member since day one.....and I'll never stop, stop, stop ...even when we're top.....

Name: Deb

Location: Lesmurdie, Perth WA......South Of the River, up in the hills

AFL Team: Port Adelaide

SANFL Team: Port Adelaide Magpies

Membership/Season Tickets: Season Ticket Holder PAFC, Full Club Member, WA Supporter Group Member, SA Cheersquad Member, Port Adelaide Magpies Full Member

Other Teams: There is none!!

Footy/Club History in the family: Just a 4th Generation Fanatic!!

Favourite Premiership and why: 1994. Drove down from Darwin to watch this, Brilliant
.......My t-shirt from this finally wore out last year:(

Association with either your AFL or SANFL team: President of the Port Adelaide Supporters Of WA. :cool:

Name: Peter

Occupation: Carer for the disabled and part time tenpin bowling coach.

AFL Team: Port Adelaide

SANFL Team: Port Adelaide Magpies

Membership: Brisbane Broncos

Other Teams: Brisbane Broncos

Footy/Club History in the family: None

Favourite Premiership and why: Too long ago to remember

Association with either your AFL or SANFL team: None

Hiya you lot. I'm a Port fan from Perth. 31 yr old male. Nice to meet you fine people.

Well, I must say the Power is doing very well indeed at the moment. Bit a of a danger game v Melbourne this weekend, but if we keep going as we have been, we should win.

I'm very sad about losing Primus. Tough break for him. :(

Originally posted by gytre
Hiya you lot. I'm a Port fan from Perth. 31 yr old male. Nice to meet you fine people.

Well, I must say the Power is doing very well indeed at the moment. Bit a of a danger game v Melbourne this weekend, but if we keep going as we have been, we should win.

I'm very sad about losing Primus. Tough break for him. :(

Nice to meet you gytre....I'm also in Perth. Did you go to the match the other weekend against WC? Are you a member of the WA Port Supporter Group?

Originally posted by port1978
Nice to meet you gytre....I'm also in Perth. Did you go to the match the other weekend against WC? Are you a member of the WA Port Supporter Group?
Hiya port1978. No and no. I didn't know there was a WA Port Supporter Group. Do give more info please. :)

Wow, you're in the suburb next to me. :)

Originally posted by gytre
Hiya port1978. No and no. I didn't know there was a WA Port Supporter Group. Do give more info please. :)

Wow, you're in the suburb next to me. :)

Go to the following address: http://www.geocities.com/PortAdelaideWA
There's a membership section where you can download a form if you'd like to be a member....it's $15 to be a member, but if you're already a member of the Port Football club you'll get free membership to the WA Port supporter group....There's also contact details there if you'd like to contact Deb who's in charge...

PS. Which suburb's yours?

Originally posted by Carmelo Anthony
Hey guys, im a soon to be 19 year old crows supporter that hates your club.

good on ya mate! so glad you had to tell us that! welcome to our board where we dont care what you hate or dont hate.

Re: Re: everyone needs introductions

Originally posted by dyertribe
23 today!
party015.gif
ma princesse du chocôlat!
kotc.gif

goes to show you i've been on this board for a long long time :p

everyone needs introductions