everyone needs introductions

Powerstufff said:
Should you be typing? Knowing your luck you'll do a rotator cuff stretching for the 'P'. In fact 'P' is appropriate here, as I think that's what you're taking with us. :rolleyes:

No P take here. Just like to see whats going on and what the fans think

Been a member here for awhile but just started visiting and posting regularly ...

Name: Kevin

AFL Team: Port Adelaide

SANFL Team: Port Adelaide Magpies

Membership/Season Tickets: Power Member and season ticket holder.

Other Teams: Nil.

Footy/Club History in the family: Grandfather played footy in 1920s for Port Augusta West :thumbsu: Parents were Sturt/South supporters. Grandmother lived in the Port and steered me in the right direction and I have followed Port since I was 5. My son James is 4 and loves Port and Gavin Wanganeen is his fave ... he has a guernsey signed by Gav.

Favourite Premiership and why: 2004 'coz it was our first and I was there :thumbsu: 1977 - 'coz it was the first Port one I saw live after witnessing the horrors of the late 60s.

nivek482005 said:
Been a member here for awhile but just started visiting and posting regularly .......
Welcome. Saw a post from you, good on you. Where, roughly, are your season tickets? We are in Sect 130.

Powerstufff said:
Welcome. Saw a post from you, good on you. Where, roughly, are your season tickets? We are in Sect 130.

Thanks ... I'm in Bay 132

bring it on said:
Welcome to Big Footy. Glad to see another loyal Power and Port Magpies supporter sign up.

Thanks ... must admit haven't been to a Magpies game for a few years - did live within walking distance at Alberton and went to most home games for 10 years. I plan to rectify it this year by renewing membership and getting to some games.

Hi all.

I'm new here. I registered only today.

Brief background:

Name: Billy

Live: Melbourne (since January 2000, originally from near Henley Beach in SA. Moved here for work reasons.)

SANFL Team: Magpies (obviously)

AFL Team: Port Adelaide Power (obviously)

Top 3 FLags IMO:

1) 2004 v Brisbane (without doubt - best day of my life, that, and getting married, just in case my wife reads this)

2) 1994 v W.WT. Eagles (6 goals down against the then premier side and won, all thanks to Timmy Ginever)

3) 1999 v Norwood (thriller, and erased the pain of losing in 1984 and 1997 against them)

I'll also throw in the Liverpool 2004/05 Champions League win against AC Milan. To win from three nil down was unbelievable. But Liverpool lost today so life goes on.

Anyway, thats me in a nutshell. Look forward to posting and reading comments from time to time.

And, what I wouldnt give to repeat 2004 all over again.

Cheers folks.

Larry the Liquidator said:
Hi all.
I'm new here. I registered only today.......
Welcome. Are you a Mafia hitman? We could use someone with those skills on here at times.
.....Occupation: Insolvency (hence my nic).....
Oh. Damn!:mad:
.....2004 v Brisbane (without doubt - best day of my life, that, and getting married, just in case my wife reads this)....And, what I wouldnt give to repeat 2004 all over again.......
You'll fit in well here.

Thanks for the welcome Mr Meaner. And you're right. It was Hodges who ran amok in that last quarter, kicking 6 goals or thereabouts. But from memory, it was Ginever who kept Port within touch when the Eagles were playing all over us. If it wasn't for Ginever, I reckon we would have been nearly ten goals down at quarter time.

Cheers.

Thanks for the welcome too Powerstuff.

Although I only registered yesterday, I have been a regular reader of the boards since about a month before Port won the 2004 flag. Just never bothered to register.

Cheers.

First Port Adelaide memory: Being 6 years old at a packed Unley Oval sometime in the late seventies. Port coming home with a wet sail, 5 minutes to go, being so small not being able to see anything, but just having a sense of what was happening, and then just the joy on my fathers face when we snatched victory from the jaws of defeat (as we often did in years gone by).... sorry if this sounds a bit wonder years.

Best GF: Would have to say 2004. We really needed that GF victory. I guess I grew up at a lucky time when I just missed out on drought of the late 60's - 70's and magpie premierships were just expected.

Worst loss: Some of the Power's 2002/03 were pretty dissmal, but I still can not go past the 1984 Grand Final.

Have looked at BF for over a year now but have never signed up for fear of wasting too much of the working day on it. Finally have bitten the bullett because there are a few topics I do wish to discuss. Will only bob in and out every so often.

Name: Dale
Age 14
Im a a victorian member going to all game's in vic and maybe the tassie game
been a supporter since they were introduced in the afl dam crows took our spot we shoulda been first from sa
um and yea:rolleyes:

Welcome to Big Footy Dale. Since you are a Power Supporter living in Vic, why not contact the Power Supporters Club over there

President: Nigel Miller

Emailafcvicsg@internode.on.net

Phone: 0406 111 757

They will let you know what activities they are doing during the season.

Name: Liam

Supports: Power and magpies of course

Claim to Fame: Captained Shaun Burgoyne and Graham Johncock in u13 soccer in Port Lincoln, and umpired (boundary) Peter Burgoyne (who got BOG), Shaun, Graham and Byron Pickett in the u17 Grand Final for Mallee Park against Waybacks (i think) in 1994. Also styled my hair from year 2 to year 5 on Scott Hodges mullet. Said to mum who cut it, "short top and sides, but dont touch the back. DONT TOUCH THE BACK!!!!"

Likes: Nihilistic black metal and romantic walks along the beach

Other Teams: used to barrack for Collingwood, but hate them so much now

thepowerwithin_30 said:
sportal is severely lacking in Port supporters, the passion for sport has only 1 but the power from port is the best site on the net! I thought i'd join here too considering its the holidays and i have more time on my hands

qho were you on sportal mate?

Name: Chris

From Victoria, follow Port Magpies aswell as the mighty Power! My favorite players are: Steven Salopek, Troy Chaplin, Fabian DeLuca and Matt Thomas. Don't play footy outside of school only Hockey, Cricket and Rugby. Thats me in a nutshell! I'am also a MAD Chelsea, Melbourne Storm supporter!

GO MAGPIES/POWER!

Given some of the weird stuff on bigfooty I thought a "reintroduction" appropriate.

After a long story of lost password, lost printout of email with new passport & some evil trojan or something in our PCs I haven't posted for ages, combined with my "I've got better thing to do than stuff around with computers" attitude towards technology (Tell me when they can talk & I may be impressed. Who'd buy a car if they said you had to stop & fix it yourself all the time! etc).

My absence was not because I was banned, sulking over being delisted by the swamprats, I was a perennial bridesmaid in the tipping OR that I am a bandwaggoner. I'm just a PC imbecile who prefers books I guess.

I have read the boards consistently meanwhile & even 'tho I was never a major poster I am much relieved to finally be able to post again.

Thx to all the posters, especially those at the coal face, who help me keep a " real" view of things rather than the media dribble. Being stuck in Melb you guys are a lifeline in the circus the media makes of AFL. Without you guys I would know nothing about our younger players, how the Club is really tracking etc.

& BTW my user name was not chosen for any connotation of being "feral".

I'm harmless (well almost harmless, I have been known to throw the odd book at a PC):)

everyone needs introductions