Duff TV

Suspended
All Football teams
The Devils are pumped, stand alone again and looking fit. 10 minute clip from Intra club match here http://dufftv.com.au/?p=111

17 mins of highlights of VFL Round 5 Casey v Tassie Devils here.

http://dufftv.com.au/?p=133

Playback Tip: Clip will load and automatically play. If it staggers hit pause, wait 30 secs (make sure you do this and let the gray worm get ahead), scroll back to the start and play.

Devils pump Werribee

View the Devils pump Werribee for the first time since playing in the VFL.

Practice match at Bellerive Oval 20.3.2008.

7 min highlights clip. http://dufftv.com.au/?p=118

Duff TV

Good work Duff TV

My cousin is playing for the Devils so it's great to see some highlights I wouldn't normally see.

Keep up the good work, maybe get some commentary going too!

Hey Duff, any highlights from the Devils last two wins. Would love to see some footage, as couldn't make it on the weekend.

Well mate I was unable to get the support from AFL Tasmania.

I put in over 100 hours getting things to the stage where we were ready to get serious about it and they gave me a list of reasons that were too much for me to swallow.

Regretably and after filming the Devils since 2001 I have now withdrawn my services and now concentrate on local football in Hobart.

This situation may change but for now its all over Rover. Thanks for your comments mate.

Well mate I was unable to get the support from AFL Tasmania.

I put in over 100 hours getting things to the stage where we were ready to get serious about it and they gave me a list of reasons that were too much for me to swallow.

Regretably and after filming the Devils since 2001 I have now withdrawn my services and now concentrate on local football in Hobart.

This situation may change but for now its all over Rover. Thanks for your comments mate.

Yet another example of how AFL Tasmania are completely incompetent. I thought your pilot epsisode had some merit, and if given the right support could do a lot to increase the local interest in the Devils and Tassie footy in general. It seems local productions get the arse over Yanky shit on TV and we wonder why people leave Tassie for further opportunities.
Will you continue to put up highlights of local footy on your website. I would love to see some highlights of St Virgils in the Old Scholars.:thumbsu:

Yet another example of how AFL Tasmania are completely incompetent. I thought your pilot epsisode had some merit, and if given the right support could do a lot to increase the local interest in the Devils and Tassie footy in general. It seems local productions get the arse over Yanky shit on TV and we wonder why people leave Tassie for further opportunities.
Will you continue to put up highlights of local footy on your website. I would love to see some highlights of St Virgils in the Old Scholars.:thumbsu:

Most likely will not be filming much Old Scholars although we may do a few games for OHA.

DuffTV, out of interest, care to elaborate on the reasons AFL Tas gave you for not supporting it?

They are saying to me that they want to start planning for this now with next year in mind. I guess I can understand this as they have heaps on and are under-staffed.

Whilst I am like a caged bird and just want to do it at least the ground work has been done, a lot of boxes ticked and I reckon it will still get up down the track.

Just frustrating for me as I know what is possible and have had so many people sharing the vision.

I have also resolved things so that I am filming again for them. All is not lost and hopefully it will all pan out as planned (eventually)

Duff

Great stuff DuffTV.

I'm impressed with the Devils speed and tackling pressure this year. I think this year should see a return to the finals. Losing Cornelius while the underage champs are on will hurt a bit, but hopefully Timmy Hazell can step up in form and fill the void.

I'm from Victoria and admit I don't know much about the Tassie Devils, however I was in Tassie over the weekend to watch the Hawks play. While I was there I saw Tassie lose to Sandringham by over 150 points!!

Also, while I was there, there were people outside the ground trying to rally support for Tassie to enter the AFL. Im just wondering... if Tassie are getting pumped in the VFL, then surely they would have no hope in the AFL?

And even if Tassie recruited some interstate players, what would the crowd be like? I doubt there would be enough to fill Aurora on a weekly / fortnightly basis.

I'm from Victoria and admit I don't know much about the Tassie Devils, however I was in Tassie over the weekend to watch the Hawks play. While I was there I saw Tassie lose to Sandringham by over 150 points!!

Also, while I was there, there were people outside the ground trying to rally support for Tassie to enter the AFL. Im just wondering... if Tassie are getting pumped in the VFL, then surely they would have no hope in the AFL?

And even if Tassie recruited some interstate players, what would the crowd be like? I doubt there would be enough to fill Aurora on a weekly / fortnightly basis.

To judge a product on one game of football is pretty shallow mate.

I can only judge on what I have seen. And as it was my first visit to Tasmania, it was the first time I have ever seen them play. And from what I saw, they were terrible.

But teams can improve so I guess that's not the real issue. The bigger issue is weather Tasmanian crowds can fill the stadium. Because while I was watching, the stadium was pretty empty. It only started to fill later in the afternoon for the Hawks game.

19,000 people saw Tassie beat VIC B in 1990. I don't think you would find a Tassie AFL side struggling to fill a 20,000 stadium.

Devils attract 2>5 thousand people per match in Hobart, less in Launceston these days.

Have a look at this link to see how well they can play http://dufftv.com.au/?p=133

I can understand you not being impressed as they certainly were terrible. They are very very young. Expect them to bounce back.

19,000 people saw Tassie beat VIC B in 1990. I don't think you would find a Tassie AFL side struggling to fill a 20,000 stadium.

Devils attract 2>5 thousand people per match in Hobart, less in Launceston these days.

Have a look at this link to see how well they can play http://dufftv.com.au/?p=133

I can understand you not being impressed as they certainly were terrible. They are very very young. Expect them to bounce back.
Do you know why the starting time was changed for the VFL match without notice Duff, maybe that had a bit to do with the slow crowd build up. Not sure where the very, very young side is coming from, the average age of the side that played on Saturday was 23.

I can only judge on what I have seen. And as it was my first visit to Tasmania, it was the first time I have ever seen them play. And from what I saw, they were terrible.
Terrible yes, but also too it has to be argued somewhat that that team does not have the 'very best' players from the state playing in it.
Issues with many of the Northern and Coastal players being unwilling for employment or family reasons to relocate to Hobart (at AFL Tasmania's request) has seen them opt out of putting their hand up to represent the Devils, therefore the side isn't as strong as it might have been.
Also, I'm certainly no fan of the Devils in any way, shape or form - in fact I absolutely detest them - but that result was completely out of the blue, especially given that up to that point they had been quite competitive in this current season.

mdippa said:
The bigger issue is weather Tasmanian crowds can fill the stadium.
A Tasmanian side in the AFL competition would pack out any venue in this state where ever it was playing. Be it York Park or in Hobart.

mdippa said:
Because while I was watching, the stadium was pretty empty. It only started to fill later in the afternoon for the Hawks game.
There would be a number of reasons for that in my opinion.
The Devils are a 'club' - and I use that term loosely - that are somewhat polarised by a great many Tasmanian football supporters, especially moreso in recent years since the ill-fated and somewhat glory-chasing North Melbourne alliance.
This has more to do with politics rather than the playing list or how the team is performing.
It has a fair bit to do with the fact that the team is owned/administered by AFL Tasmania (a body in which a majority of Tasmanian football supporters hate with a passion), most Northern and Coastal fans view the Devils as a 'Hobart team' and will not support them because of AFL Tasmania's decision to freeze out the Northern half of the state by playing the majority of Devils fixtures at Bellerive and by forcing interested Northern-based players to relocate to Hobart if they wished to be included in the squad.
There's also the old chestnut of many supporters in local football who won't support the Devils because of their (and AFL Tasmania's) greedy, take, take, take approach to the Devils without putting anything back into local football and its clubs.
The Devils could almost be called The War Effort, such has been the sheer amount of funding going towards them and the pitiful lack of funding towards the rest of the sport in the past 8 years.
I personally know quite a few people who view them as the 'bastard child' of Tasmanian football, with the Devils being formed to replace the TFL which was wound up by the AFL in 2000 after 122-years of operation.

Being that it was an AFL curtain raiser, you will generally find that the crowds will more often that not roll in late regardless (the people are more interested in the AFL match), but maybe the lack of people that were present whilst the Devils were playing could've been a somewhat pointed message from the people of Launceston to AFL Tasmania?!?

PS: Duff - I still maintain to this day that AFL Tasmania fudge the Devils crowd figures to make it appear to all concerned that the concept is still well supported.
Some of the attendances quoted last year were patently laughable in the extreme.
This was a known tactic used in the Statewide League days to bolster support.