Exams

• Thread starter Thread starter MC_Bomba

Its funny that, I know heaps of people that were just over school by year 12 and tried harder in year 11.....me included

I'm the other way around. I had terrible marks last year and was putting in no hours of homework. But this year I have improved heaps. If I keep my grades during the exams I am predicted to get 268 out of 400 which translates to around 89-90 TER.

I'm in Year 11 but I've got a Year 12 P.E Exam on Monday. Haven't really studied that much for it yet. I'll try to do a couple of hours tonight, bit restricted tomorrow cause I have cricket, I'll spend most of Sunday revising and I have four periods off on Monday so I'll revise before the exam; exam starts at 3pm. I've done pretty good the last 4 SAC's so hopefully I finish off with a good result in the exam which should give me a good score.

I had my year 12 psychology exam yesterday, it was my only one as I've got my year 11 ones starting on the 17th. It was a lot harder than the unit 3 one, which I got an A+ on, I know I've lost at least 5 marks out of 90, plus the mistakes you don't really realise you're making, but it's over now and I can't complain.

OK, so now I don't recommend this obviously. Really struggled with 2 of my exams (I think I still passed them though).

Cramming may have worked for semester 1 but not semester 2. :o

Still one more to go. :(

simpsons_nelson_haha2.jpg

Working beautifully for me at the moment (I hope it is, anyway - exams start Monday).

Well, I've got my first one tomorrow morning and I don't really have high expectations, which is a good thing because I'm not stressed at all.

Usually if I expect to do well, that's when I start stressing myself out.

Well, I've got my first one tomorrow morning and I don't really have high expectations, which is a good thing because I'm not stressed at all.

Usually if I expect to do well, that's when I start stressing myself out.

Exam on a Saturday morning? That's horrible. EDIT: Although, when I think about it, I once had a year 12 exam on a Sunday afternoon about an hour away from where I live in unfamiliar surrounds.

My only exam is on Wednesday, haven't started studying for it yet, but will tomorrow when I finish my last assignment tonight. Not too stressed, I pretty much know I've already passed, and it's only worth 30%, so for an exam, it could be a lot worse.

Jeez exams are cuck... I have 4 in 4 days starting this Tuesday.

1 exam Tuesday
2 exams Wednesday
1 exam Friday

Easy come, easy go

Yeah I know, but I'm so prepared this time around that chances are I'll actually have time to do some questions once I'm done with the theory. That's gotta count for something, right?

I'd do the exam first before talking. :p

Can never be too prepared. You get some bullshit questions sometimes. In quantitative methods, we learn how to use the formula all semester ... so he asks us to prove how to derive the (ugly and complicated) formula on the exam.

As if anyone prepares for that. :rolleyes:

Well it's not liek they go out of their way to explain how it works. I didn't understand a thing about an ENTER score until halfway through year 11.

You should have posted a new thread here. I would have been more than happy to espouse my knowledge to all who may have been able to benefit from it.

:thumbsu:

Methods results here:

http://www.itute.com/board/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=500

I reckon I could get between 19-23 depending on the marker. Will I get full marks for the first question? I completely forgot to fully factorise it, and left it as 30x-25(whatever)^4

And apart from the stupid mistake on the Tree diagram question, bah. Did all the hard multiplication, then screwed up adding the bloody decimals!

Methods results here:

http://www.itute.com/board/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=500

I reckon I could get between 19-23 depending on the marker. Will I get full marks for the first question? I completely forgot to fully factorise it, and left it as 30x-25(whatever)^4

And apart from the stupid mistake on the Tree diagram question, bah. Did all the hard multiplication, then screwed up adding the bloody decimals!

Pardon my ignorance here, cos i may ask some very stupid questions.

This is Maths Methods pretertiary at college yes?

I wouldnt have a clue how other states work with their examinations, being cut off the mainland down here in Tassie. Plus the fact I am in year 11, so i'm still a college exam virgin.

Ok so now to my stupid question. Surely, if we are both doing Maths Methods pretertiary, your exam paper is not the same as mine? The exams must differ from state to state yes?

Yeah, every state has a different education thingo. We all learn different shit as well, which is kinda pointless. That's why theres been a push recently for a national curriculum. So yeah obviously every exam paper is different in each state.

It's year 12 methods, if thats what you mean by pre-tertiary.

Yeah, every state has a different education thingo. We all learn different shit as well, which is kinda pointless. That's why theres been a push recently for a national curriculum. So yeah obviously every exam paper is different in each state.

It's year 12 methods, if thats what you mean by pre-tertiary.

Oh ok, thanks for the clearing that up dude, up the sainters.

Exam on a Saturday morning? That's horrible.

I had 2 on a Saturday morning last semester, and I've got 2 on a Saturday morning this semester.

It's gay.

Anyway, I don't really know how I went to be honest, I think I did enough to pass, but not much more.

I'd do the exam first before talking. :p

Can never be too prepared. You get some bullshit questions sometimes. In quantitative methods, we learn how to use the formula all semester ... so he asks us to prove how to derive the (ugly and complicated) formula on the exam.

As if anyone prepares for that. :rolleyes:

Like the questions we had today for economics. It was a multiple choice question:

A theory does not consist of which of the following.

I can't remember the answers, but the definition of a theory wasn't even covered, and I don't see the relevance to economics.

I had a bit of a guess using common sense, but yeah, not so sure.

Exam block in 9 days and goes for 2 weeks.

First Week:
Wednesday Physics
Thursday Geography and Accounting Theory
Friday English

week after Maths B, Accounting Prac and HPE

I think the whole class is pretty much not going to do well in Physics apart from the genuises. We have a terrible who really never goes out of your way to help you with problems, compared to the maths teachers at my school who pretty much give up their lunch times to help you.

For my maths exam the topics are 1. probability, 2. exponentials and logarithms, and 3. continuity, limits and rates of change. I'm going for an A- as I reckon I can get near full marks on questions for the first two topics but I'm still learning the 3rd topic.