Expectations for 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter THE_GUN

looking at the fixture, which is a rare leg up for us, think top 10 isn’t unrealistic.
the top 4 teams from all stand rule era seasons are a joke lol

I would take 5 wins again but if we can get 75 - 90 percentage at the end of the year is a good result.

75% plus would be awesome, That'd show a major step forward.

I'm hoping that we take a game or two and put the oppo to the sword. We had one 50+ point win last year. Get 2 * 60+ point wins and that shows some real advancement.

Bottom 3 will do me. Want to see the kids get plenty of games together and lots of midfield rotations. Hopefully we play an exciting, fast brand of footy and are still in it at 3/4 time with no serious injuries. One more draft with decent picks before Tassie would be nice. Hopefully we start targeting FA too.

Where do we finish on the Ladder : 12th
How many wins are you expecting : 7-10
How many wins would be the pass mark : 6
Who will be our most improved player that has been there prior to this draft : Balta, bounces back
Who will be our leading goal kicker : Armstrong or Faull
Which of the new kids drafted in 2025 will be the best performed : Cumming
How many games will smillie play : 1 before coming off with a minor twinge that will set him back until the start of the new preseason before they realize he needs an operation
Will LOTW get a perm ban no, welching isn't a bannable offence
Will Groupie give up his KFC addiction and go on a diet : yes, he'll go into the desert and fast for 40 days

Where do we finish on the Ladder : 18th
How many wins are you expecting : 4 wins
How many wins would be the pass mark : 5 wins
Who will be our most improved player that has been there prior to this draft : Rioli
Who will be our leading goal kicker : Campbell
Which of the new kids drafted in 2025 will be the best performed : Cumming
How many games will Smillie play : 2

Bump

Can I revise this? No way were are getting 4 wins. 😂

Thread is a good read though.

Can’t see how we don’t finish last.
Will be satisfied with just one win.
How the club didn’t see this ruck catastrophe coming and do something about it 2/3 years ago is beyond me.
Lack of competitive ruck also puts our development back. Players are on the back foot the whole time can’t put game plan into action and are hesitant with disposal.

It’s totally dependent on injuries.

If someone like Nank goes down with a long term injury you can see us getting smashed in the middle for the bulk of that period and we’ll be lucky to salvage % let alone snag a win or two.

Same goes with Vlaustin and Broad down back we’ve been very lucky with how durable they’ve been.

I’d be pleasantly surprised if we can get 12+ games where Lynch can shoulder the load for Armstrong and Faull.

Despite a few on this board thinking otherwise, if Taranto and Hopper cop extended stints on the sidelines we are in for a world of hurt like in 24 we had a block from hell with some big smashings.

Pass mark for me conservatively is 5 wins.

If we have a good run of injuries it could go up to 8.

Expecting bottom 4 and would be happily surprised if we finished higher.

I’m sorry I cursed us with Nank & Lynch injury calls.

Can’t see us winning more than 3 games now unfortunately.

Bottom 2 finish is expected.

All i want is no more draft picks. Improve the %. use the #1 pick and trade rest for solid bgraders. Trade hopper & short and maybe balta

4 wins is definitely still achievable.

Still have Norf x 2, Eagles x 2, Saints x 2, Bombers, blues to come.

Hopefully have Nank and Lynch back for nearly all of them.

Absolutely.

But we have to change up the midfield, and get some confidence back.

4 wins is definitely still achievable.

Still have Norf x 2, Eagles x 2, Saints x 2, Bombers, blues to come.

Hopefully have Nank and Lynch back for nearly all of them.
Agree.

Put some context.

Should have beaten Carlton.

Lost to GC who are likely to finish top 6 having lost both Nank and Lynch during the game.

Lost to Freo, also a likely top 6 team, on their home deck with a depleted team.

A little disappointing against Port, but again with a depleted team.

We'll finish bottom 4, but with major upside.

I’m sorry I cursed us with Nank & Lynch injury calls.

Can’t see us winning more than 3 games now unfortunately.

Bottom 2 finish is expected.
Sadly Nank and Lynch played against Carlton. Couldn't win.
Our older players are cooked.. Prestia shocking by foot. Hopper slow
We struggle to beat North

Essadon smashed us in the practice match.

We took that form into the season.

Giants are now 17th . Injury ravaged too.

Sadly the coach has inherited the Inability to drop senior players. How the hell Hugo gets a is game. Yze is taking the worst list to win a flag to a spoon or 2

If Dunne wants flags in 5 years he better start sitting on match committee

If we'd beaten Carlton we'd be well on track. Right now we have lost the 2 most important players to our structure and our most important back is not playing well after breaking his leg.

I reckon we're a better team than last year, for game plan at least. But we are really in the middle of rebuilding the squad. It's going to be another tough year, but hopefully with some high points showing where we are heading.

And fixing our injury list will help a huge amount.