Expectations/predictions for 2009!

Captain Judd

Apr 7, 2008
Dandenong
I expect the baggers to make finals in 2009. We should grab spot 6or7 on the ladder! (I hope so anyways)

Things to watch out for:
Jamo- Will be our our no1 backman in 09. Needs more bulk which im sure he will do during pre-season
Bower- This bloke keeps impressing me, and will only get better. Also needs more bulk and im sure he will work on that in the preseason.
Waite- Who i like to call "The Panther" will think he will cement his CHB spot! Will be more improved player this year. Predict will make AA in 09
Judd-Will win a brownlow in 2009 after a full preseason!
Smurf-Will become a very consistent player throughout the season. Hopefully put some size on his body!
Gibbs-Will join judd in 2009 brownlow medal!
Kreuzer- Will show the footy world why he was taken at no1
(Neck)Stevens- Will and should have a better season in 09.
Fev- This bloke 1on1 will destroy any defender! If we can get a proper forward structure right this year, and keep opposion defenders double/triple man him he will have a better year than he did in 08.

Now we all know those players listed above are going to have another ripper year! But to be a genuine finals team every player has to contribute to the team! I am now going to list our....

Smokies for 09!
(Cheif)Wiggins-
All i hope from the cheif is to play a role that adrian Hickmott played for us. Just go in hard at the ball, Create a contest and put some defensive pressure in the forward line! I think he will do well in 09!
Walker! Missed out on nearly the whole year, but i reckon his about to explode in 09. Like him playing on the wings! Will do great in 09!
Kade Simpson- Probably down from what he was in 07. Plays his best footy on the wings expect him to have a good contribution in 09.
Fisher- Where to begin with this bloke. Really needed him to step up this year! NEEDS to be harder at the ball and needs to build a shitloads of more muscle. He must improve his kicking in 09 and i think he will! Needs a new pair of boots, as he keeps falling over! This is a do or die season for fisher!
Russel-Really needs to step up in 09. Did some nice things in a few games but that is all. He has the athletism to make him a good footballer! Wouldnt mind seeing Russel as a tagger, tagging blokes such as Mitchell,Bartel,Ablett as he is very good at tackling! We dont have a tagger in our team and i think he could do the job! This is the year for Russel, no more excuses for him!

Conclusion- Baggers to win 14 games and 7 losses. My hope is that Ratten and his assistants coaches can formulate more effective game plan to beat sides that play flood/zone tactics, because we seem to always struggle against teams such as Hawthorn/North/Sydney and Adelaide. I also expect to beat StKilda and Sydney in 09. Im Over loosing to those teams! Ohh yeah i Expect to beat Essendon twice this year. Still cant get over how they beat us in both games!

Bring on 09! 168 Days Left!

I expect us to make the 8 we should finish between 5th and 8th I would guess. Lots of improvement to come from our young playing group. And you are right hope our coaches need to find a game plan to combat the extreme floods team will surely use against us like they did this season.

IMHO there are only 2 teams that are clearly better than us @ the moment. Geelong and Hawthorn. On our day we are capable of beating every other team.
I also think that we have more room for growth and improvement over the off season that nearly all other clubs as well.

I would expect to finish somewhere between 3rd and 6th next year, to not make the finals would be an absolute failure.

Ninth next year.

Our lack of a forwardline, mature rucks and tough inside mids will hold us back against the best.
Without Buddy, is Hawthorn really that much better than our side?
100 points better last year.

Hawthorn have other tall forward options in Thorp and Dowler who were early draft picks and can play.

We have Fevola.

Ninth next year.

Our lack of a forwardline, mature rucks and tough inside mids will hold us back against the best.

Hawthorn have other tall forward options in Thorp and Dowler who were early draft picks and can play.

We have Fevola.

Yeah thats what worries me! I don't think Fisher will do any better than what he done this year! I have a feeling those things we need to improve on wont get improved! I miss the 90s when i was a cocky prick going into footy games, expecting to win against any team we play! I want to be that cocky prick again! Ratts has a big job to do in 09 thats for sure!

I would really expect and hope for a vastly different forward line structure, and as a result, a more powerful attack.

Would ideally hope for Bower and Jamison to hold down CHB and FB, depending, and therefore letting Waite roam on the wing or up as CHF.

Forward line consisting of Betts, Houlihan, Walker, Fev, Clokey, Waite.

Seeing as the club got 10 wins this year, i doubt they would be happy with anything less next year.

Blues for 13 wins, and 4 point victory over essendon :)

I predict that this off-season will go very very slowly, like a kid counting down til Christmas. ;)

I'll be very happy to make the 8, with 6th being the realistic preference over 7th or 8th so we wouldn't have to be doing what the Pies have to do this weekend.

Whist i think that could happen, we should also remember that we only finished 11th this season, and that was with the aid of some fair-dinkum miracle comebacks, so i actually wouldn't be too surprised if we ended up 9th or 10th next season.

The key is going to be getting a contest out of Hammer and the Kreuze, and finding someone other than Dildoman to kick 40+ goals.

Without Buddy, is Hawthorn really that much better than our side?

Yes, they have 3 guys who can win hardball clearances in Mitchell,Hodge & Lewis, they have guys that can run the lines & dispose effectively in Bateman & Young. Guerra,Burchall & Ladson in the backline that can kick long to a target, 2 big bodied ruckman & X-factor up forward in Williams ,Rioli & Brown.

A long way ahead unfortunately.

I'll be very happy to make the 8, with 6th being the realistic preference over 7th or 8th so we wouldn't have to be doing what the Pies have to do this weekend.

Whist i think that could happen, we should also remember that we only finished 11th this season, and that was with the aid of some fair-dinkum miracle comebacks, so i actually wouldn't be too surprised if we ended up 9th or 10th next season.

The key is going to be getting a contest out of Hammer and the Kreuze, and finding someone other than Dildoman to kick 40+ goals.

Dildoman I like it. Yes 6th is a very realistic target. I would be extremely disappointed if we were not in the hunt for a top 4 spot going into round 19-22.

My prediction is we will finish in 6th or 7th, anything lower than 8th will be a massive failure!

Ninth next year.

We have Fevola.
General that is the best avitor yet

I think the jumping from 4->10wins is a heap easier than moving from 10->14wins.

I would not be surprised if we only win 12 games next year, we still have some massive problems in the ruck. Kreuzer is the hope, but the boy needs time to develop.

The forward line needs to have another one or two avenues to goal.
If we could pinch Boyle off the Hawks for something cheap that would be good.

Expectations/predictions for 2009!