Player Watch F/S Cooper Hodge

I have just watched the first qtr, I have been watching for number 13 as it was listed as Cooper.

Looks like Cooper, but the camera doesn’t zoom in….

13 was active early taking a couple of nice marks. Seems to be playing HFF pushing towards midfield at times.

When he wasn’t pushing forward, he was sitting at the feet of the tall forwards waiting for a crumb.

Seems to have some pace moving from contest to contest with ease…. reading the play well and has good kicking skills.

Definitely worth tracking Coopers progress. I plan on watching the next 3qtrs soon.

Round 4, 5 and 6 Cooper laid 6 tackles a game, surely that is elite.

Keep in mind Cooper is 17 playing in under 18’s comp.

His dad was playing seniors at that age in country footy without the support of a professional program.

Has to be a similar athletic/strength profile you'd reckon.

He has a choice doesnt he if he chooses f/s

Tough one bcos he got the extra academy development put into him vs normal club development
Correct. In the same position as Kalani White this year. He can either go F/S to Melbourne due to his father Jeff's career at the Dees or academy selection to the Suns due to spending 5+ years in the academy program. Likewise, Cooper can choose to go to the Hawks or Lions next year. Both teams being placed in the top 4 probably makes the decision even harder for Cooper.

Blood is thicker than water!
That could work 2 fold.
Either Cooper stays in Brisbane to be close to his family or he wants to emulate what is father has achieved at Hawthorn in the Brown and Gold?

I wonder if AFL will intervene behind the scenes on the FS/Academy issues. I reckon it's not a great look for the game to have Cooper Hodge in particular go as an academy pick. Hard to argue he wouldn't have had access to an elite pathway without it.

As a Hawks supporter it would make me furious if he went to the Lions through their academy, but even friends who support other teams see it as a rort. The AFL will, as always, be heavily influenced by the optics of the situation.

Wouldn't be surprised if the AFL had a friendly coffee with Luke and Cooper to encourage them to think about their decision carefully.

Or maybe just wishful thinking that AFL meddling will actually help us for once...

I wonder if AFL will intervene behind the scenes on the FS/Academy issues. I reckon it's not a great look for the game to have Cooper Hodge in particular go as an academy pick. Hard to argue he wouldn't have had access to an elite pathway without it.

As a Hawks supporter it would make me furious if he went to the Lions through their academy, but even friends who support other teams see it as a rort. The AFL will, as always, be heavily influenced by the optics of the situation.

Wouldn't be surprised if the AFL had a friendly coffee with Luke and Cooper to encourage them to think about their decision carefully.

Or maybe just wishful thinking that AFL meddling will actually help us for once...
Unfortunately, its probably similar to Nick Blakey at the Swans. I might be pessimistic, but I would be surprised if he picks us. Who knows could be the catalyst for the change of the rules.

And then you have the ridiculous situation of Kobe Williams being in the Bulldogs NGA squad

stay with your family and friends at a great club in Brisbane, or head off down to Melbourne as an 18yo on your own.
gee, I wonder which one I would pick
the problem is not the F/S rule, it is the absurd exploitation of the Academy by the lions and the incompetent AFL turning a blind eye to it. Do they honestly think he would have been lost to AFL if not for the academy?
The AFL is a mess.

finally the journos have turned on that perennial half-wit Goyder, as they should have two minutes after he was appointed.
mind you, it took Qantas an equal amount of time to work out just how dumb he is.

stay with your family and friends at a great club in Brisbane, or head off down to Melbourne as an 18yo on your own.
gee, I wonder which one I would pick
the problem is not the F/S rule, it is the absurd exploitation of the Academy by the lions and the incompetent AFL turning a blind eye to it. Do they honestly think he would have been lost to AFL if not for the academy?
The AFL is a mess.

finally the journos have turned on that perennial half-wit Goyder, as they should have two minutes after he was appointed.
mind you, it took Qantas an equal amount of time to work out just how dumb he is.
1 of their bloody academy picks last year went to Melbourne Grammar and played for Sandringham Dragons FFS.

We should demand NOW that the rules are fixed so Academy doesn't apply to F/S prospects.

Unfortunately, its probably similar to Nick Blakey at the Swans. I might be pessimistic, but I would be surprised if he picks us. Who knows could be the catalyst for the change of the rules.

And then you have the ridiculous situation of Kobe Williams being in the Bulldogs NGA squad
I like to think the difference is Luke Hodge is far more well known and visible than all of those previous examples and might be the one that draws attention to this rort for the average AFL fan. AFL far more driven by optics than fairness so will only change if they are getting bad publicity.

Or maybe it will only change when an ex Geelong players kid is in this situation...

1 of their bloody academy picks last year went to Melbourne Grammar and played for Sandringham Dragons FFS.

We should demand NOW that the rules are fixed so Academy doesn't apply to F/S prospects.
I did wonder how that was possible when I heard about it last year

Are you talking about Ashcroft ?
If so, he was a FS not Academy

Player Watch F/S Cooper Hodge