Player Watch F/S Cooper Hodge

I wonder if AFL will intervene behind the scenes on the FS/Academy issues. I reckon it's not a great look for the game to have Cooper Hodge in particular go as an academy pick. Hard to argue he wouldn't have had access to an elite pathway without it.

As a Hawks supporter it would make me furious if he went to the Lions through their academy, but even friends who support other teams see it as a rort. The AFL will, as always, be heavily influenced by the optics of the situation.

Wouldn't be surprised if the AFL had a friendly coffee with Luke and Cooper to encourage them to think about their decision carefully.

Or maybe just wishful thinking that AFL meddling will actually help us for once...

AFL do not care about us at all….

under the old FS rules Noah Anderson would be a Hawk and he just put in a blinder against us!

We can only hope the Hodges are Hawks through and through.

under the old FS rules Noah Anderson would be a Hawk and he just put in a blinder against us!

The current rule came into place in 2003 and Noah Anderson never watched his dad play footy let alone for our club. Completely different situation to Cooper Hodge.

The current rule came into place in 2003 and Noah Anderson never watched his dad play footy let alone for our club. Completely different situation to Cooper Hidge

50 games was the cut off mark, it maybe a little different.

Never the less still would have been a father son for us and the AFL just does not care if we miss out on a F/S.

Just like the AFL didn’t care that Blakey was stolen from the Roos!

if he had to choose, why would he move to a different state away from family. Would the Hodges really move their life back to Melbourne just so he could be a Hawthorn f/s?

Feel like he’s certain to be at Brisbane if he’s good enough

Can only hope Brisbane rate their other NGA’S more and it sounds like they may do.

The lions board feel they have 3 NGA’S rated as first round picks in Coopers year, so that will require a lot of draft capital.

Clubs may not like trading draft picks with Tassie impacting drafts soon.

It will be an interesting watch, assuming Cooper wants to play AFL and is good enough.

Nah. I can’t remember his name but he went mid 20’s in the draft and I think debuted a few weeks ago.
Sam Marshall? Had a debut against Collingwood in Round 6.

Originally from QLD (Kawana Park JAFC) and played for Sandringham while he completed his schooling at Melbourne Grammar.

Poor kid would of never had a pathway to AFL if it wasn't for the Lions Academy. It's a heartwarming rags to riches story.

Under the current Father Son rules he may have been a Hawk too. He certainly wouldn't be a son. We were going to trade for pick 2 with Melbourne but when they got pushed back to 3 they pulled out as they waned Jackson and we knew Anderson and Rowell would be gone.

I wonder if AFL will intervene behind the scenes on the FS/Academy issues. I reckon it's not a great look for the game to have Cooper Hodge in particular go as an academy pick. Hard to argue he wouldn't have had access to an elite pathway without it.

As a Hawks supporter it would make me furious if he went to the Lions through their academy, but even friends who support other teams see it as a rort. The AFL will, as always, be heavily influenced by the optics of the situation.

Wouldn't be surprised if the AFL had a friendly coffee with Luke and Cooper to encourage them to think about their decision carefully.

Or maybe just wishful thinking that AFL meddling will actually help us for once...

Lol what??

The AFL dont give a shit about that. If they did they would have stepped in when the son of a 300 gamer went to Sydney

I think it actually hurts more that they get two Ashcrofts bc of f/s and might nab our f/s too.

I like seeing Ashcrofts running around for Brisbane. I like seeing Daicos'run around for Collingwood. As I get older I adore the F/S rule, its a wonderful part of our game.

I HATE how it is linked with the academies, which are only set up to benefit 4 teams and only because of the $$$

But yeah, if they nab Hodge it is going to hurt

Sam Marshall? Had a debut against Collingwood in Round 6.

Originally from QLD (Kawana Park JAFC) and played for Sandringham while he completed his schooling at Melbourne Grammar.

Poor kid would of never had a pathway to AFL if it wasn't for the Lions Academy. It's a heartwarming rags to riches story.

I've got a friend here in the North East. His fried has a son who is a star. He is from Wagunyah, a town in Vic on the Murray.

He has grown up playing footy and is a gun. He is already locked into the GWS academy. No connection to the club and lives in Victoria, all his family are Victorian. Yet the development he gets from AFL $$ make it a no brainer for he and his family to join the Giants.

Get used to 2 or 3 of the northern teams making up the top for for a long time. Its rigged

I've got a friend here in the North East. His fried has a son who is a star. He is from Wagunyah, a town in Vic on the Murray.

He has grown up playing footy and is a gun. He is already locked into the GWS academy. No connection to the club and lives in Victoria, all his family are Victorian. Yet the development he gets from AFL $$ make it a no brainer for he and his family to join the Giants.

Get used to 2 or 3 of the northern teams making up the top for for a long time. Its rigged

Of course it’s rigged. AFL is as business and it is determined to see the the new franchise clubs succeed due their market potential in generating higher revenue

Still love watching the hawks but that’s about it - just not the same game I watched growing up and only getting worse ..

Lol what??

The AFL dont give a shit about that. If they did they would have stepped in when the son of a 300 gamer went to Sydney
Funnily enough, Blakey could have joined Brisbane as a F/S pick due to his old man playing over 100 AFL games for both North and Fitzroy. Imagine having top 10 picks Ashcroftx2, Fletcher AND Blakey all on your list at the same time due to the F/S rule. Unreal. Up there with having Daicosx2, Moore and McGuane at the Pies.

FWIW I think Blakey is the only F/S eligible player in history that chose to go down the academy route. I know Bailey Scott was in the same situation in his draft year and he chose to join North as an F/S pick over the Suns (and Geelong) and it looks like Kalani White is going to take up his F/S option with Melbourne over the Suns later this year as well.

Lol what??

Blakey did not win multiple norm Smith's and captain multiple premierships - he was a relatively anonymous two club player (despite 300 games and premierships at Roos). Hodge would be familiar to even the most casual AFL fan and linked to the Hawks by everyone who watched our GF wins.

Not sure if AFL will step in but if not for Cooper Hodge they never will.

Maybe I just really can't stomach the thought of Hodgey's son not playing for us.

Blakey did not win multiple norm Smith's and captain multiple premierships - he was a relatively anonymous two club player (despite 300 games and premierships at Roos). Hodge would be familiar to even the most casual AFL fan and linked to the Hawks by everyone who watched our GF wins.

Not sure if AFL will step in but if not for Cooper Hodge they never will.

Maybe I just really can't stomach the thought of Hodgey's son not playing for us.
I watch his thread with trepidation as the glass half full side of me does not want my heart broken when Cooper chooses the lions. We live in hope.
:(

Lol what??

Why would they when it's Sydney. AFLs number 1 objective is for GC, Brisbane, GWS and Sydney to be successful.

They don't care about North Melbourne and knew that Brisbane missing on Blakey was worth him getting to Sydney.

Yeah Anderson isnt the hill to die on.

His father didn't play 100 games and didnt have a huge connection to Hawthorn post career. And we got Day who is more dynamic anyway,
Anderson is the Hill to die on, but it has nothing to do with Father/Son and everything to do with them just getting handed a free top 2 pick in the draft.

You cannot reward being crap with extra picks, you finish bottom you get pick 1, that's fair. Don't keep screwing over everyone else because they don't know what they are doing.

Anderson is the Hill to die on, but it has nothing to do with Father/Son and everything to do with them just getting handed a free top 2 pick in the draft.

You cannot reward being crap with extra picks, you finish bottom you get pick 1, that's fair. Don't keep screwing over everyone else because they don't know what they are doing.
The AFL will get what they want before the end of 2027 - a Gold Coast premiership.

Hopefully then the northern hand-outs will stop for a little while...but by then Tassie will be in so it will probably just be more of the same.

Player Watch F/S Cooper Hodge