Society & Culture Facebook

Most (all?) of the Muslim majority countries where homosexuality is illegal are Islamic Republics or countries where the teachings of the Quran are present in the constitutions and laws.

Tasmania was technically one of those places until very recently. Not many mosque's down south.

I believe you'll find that gay sex was illegal in Tassie until 1997, not homosexuality itself. That in itself is vile, but they weren't hanging gays for half time entertainment at York Park. The last person executed in Tassie for being gay was in 1867 interestingly enough, which is about where countries like Iran are stuck.

11 Muslim countries execute homosexual. It's not a generalisation, it's not bigotry, it's a fact.

Go on any large international news site's Facebook page and look at the comments on a story about homosexuality, the two groups speaking out against it almost 100% of the time are Muslims and African Christians.

Stop listening to the uni system mate, they drive a far bigger agenda than any media organisation.

Your Islamophobia is disgusting, dude.

Can you **** off?

I believe you'll find that gay sex was illegal in Tassie until 1997, not homosexuality itself. That in itself is vile, but they weren't hanging gays for half time entertainment at York Park. The last person executed in Tassie for being gay was in 1867 interestingly enough, which is about where countries like Iran are stuck.

Then condemn that act for what it is. Is it the fault of Muslims as a whole, or the oppressive regimes which preside over these countries who have interpreted passages from the Quran in the worst way possible?

I do blame the Quran, that's the source of it all.

Do you have the same fervour for the Bible? Or is it just the books that scare you?
I don't like most of thethe old testament, but the new testament saves it to some extent. Christianity is far from perfect, but the reformation was vital.

No religion is perfect... As a loose example, there's extremist Buddhists killing people in Myanmar. How come no one is on this website pushing the agenda of how violent Buddhism is? The problem isn't a definitive religion or a piece of text, it's violent people who want to do violent things. The end.

Most (all?) of the Muslim majority countries where homosexuality is illegal are Islamic Republics or countries where the teachings of the Quran are present in the constitutions and laws.
Should we reject homosexual refugees because they come from countries where homosexuality is punishable by death?

Oh sod off would you. I saw something I liked on fb and posted it here

'mate' (i used ' ' to indicate that i do not consider you a mate, i actually consider you to be a flog after reading this shit) you're using every thread you can derail to push an agenda you hold, which is Islamophobia and it's disgusting.

beyond a joke

As I posted on the SRP forum, from one of my muslim friends on Facebook.

FB Friend said:
The terrorist attacks in Paris has given me a few days to think and reflect about the world, role of religion and the many opinions on the subject. While I was angry when I saw the bloodied bodies of the living and dead, it was a time for me to reflect on matters that often trouble me.
First of all, this was a terrorist attack on the innocent who did not deserve this! Terrorism is not unique to Muslims! Zionist commit terrorist attacks every day upon Palestinians, America kills innocent civilians in Pakistan, Saudis bomb Yemenis going about their daily lives, etc. it happens every day, not just in France.
Secondly, I have grown very concerned with how extremists who support ISIS are damaging the image of Islam. Every time an extremist attacks someone in the name of Islam, posts a pro ISIS statement or spews out extremist views: you are hurting not only Islam but you are maliciously bringing unwanted pain upon your community! A sister that is attacked because of her Hijab is not only attached by bigots and racists but also by her very own who are spreading the hate! This must be condemned at the strongest terms!

I recently broke off communication with someone I knew because he was offended saying "How dare you smear our brothers who fight for ISIS". I was so angry with this young man as thus extremist ideology is spreading hate and killing Muslims everywhere! If you support such an ideology, I condemn you!

Whether French, German, American, Chinese, Arab, Christian, Muslim, Shia, Sunni, Jew or Palestinian: We are all equal and we must stand together. Never allow differences, insults or anything divide us! Let's come together in love and understanding! Open your minds to different ideas, and beliefs. Never allow your own prejudices of other people cloud your judgment.

'mate' (i used ' ' to indicate that i do not consider you a mate, i actually consider you to be a flog after reading this shit) you're using every thread you can derail to push an agenda you hold, which is Islamophobia and it's disgusting.

beyond a joke
ON POINT.

beyond a joke

You should post on reddit afl then if I'm triggering you, I think that's a safe space.

I wonder how many of those that have been spouting the cynical "this happened in Palestine or Lebanon" line, follow Palestine and Lebanon news daily?

I don't follow any news daily, even the local stuff. It's all sensationalist bull, with a majority of it sad/depressing crap.

What the **** does any of this have to do with facebook? More videos of kittens please!

Nope this is about Facebook, a deadly serious place where you stand on a soapbox and pretend you are making a modern day "I have a dream" speech.

If you made that a bit more subtle, like take the number and divide by this, add that etc and the result is your lucky number you'd probably actually get a fair few of them.

I may have mentioned it in this thread before but there was a couple of IT security guys a few years ago did a thing where they posted on Facebook a thing like "1.Mother's maiden name; 2.Street I grew up on; 3.First dog's name" etc etc. They didn't even put anything with it asking people to answer it, they just posted the list with no explanation. Within minutes they had people from all over the place (including plenty who should have known better) giving the answers to all the questions.

(For anyone playing at home who is still confused, it is a list of the standard password reset "secret" questions.)