Preview Faceoff: Round 4 vs Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter Sentinel

Re: Demons v Dogs

**** we're a lively bunch.

Would any of you rather support Fitzroy?

You call the team an embarrassment? I call you an embarrassment. The period we are going through now is nothing compared to the beginning of the 90's. If we had supporters as pissweak as some of you back then, we'd have gone the way of the Roys as well. Tough love but some of you need to man the hell up. Woe is me never got anybody anywhere. Ride it out like true Footscray fans. We're tougher than most, so lets act like it.

Yes, we're not a top 8 bound team. We're in a development stage at the moment. Those 22 boys are still wearing the red white and blue that we all love, so support them whether we're 1st or 18th.

I'm not asking you to have blind faith in the club. All I ask is that you stop with the sooking. That isn't the Footscray way.

I would say the opposite, Sam's not the type to my knowledge. I think they're pretty satisfied with the way Jim left us, couldn't be thought of higher.
Let me clarify, a lot more attention.. Perhaps the family has asked politely for only a modest build up to the clash?

You call the team an embarrassment? I call you an embarrassment. The period we are going through now is nothing compared to the beginning of the 90's. If we had supporters as pissweak as some of you back then, we'd have gone the way of the Roys as well. Tough love but some of you need to man the hell up. Woe is me never got anybody anywhere. Ride it out like true Footscray fans. We're tougher than most, so lets act like it.

Yes, we're not a top 8 bound team. We're in a development stage at the moment. Those 22 boys are still wearing the red white and blue that we all love, so support them whether we're 1st or 18th.

I'm not asking you to have blind faith in the club. All I ask is that you stop with the sooking. That isn't the Footscray way.
Mate, I wish I had written this myself. The most sensible thing I have read on the Bulldogs board this year.:thumbsu:

So you accept performances like saturday night do you Pal???
Performances like saturday night aren't the Footscray way.

So you accept performances like saturday night do you Pal???
Performances like saturday night aren't the Footscray way.

As I said, pal, don't need to have blind faith. But completely jumping off the team (as some have done) isn't needed.

This moaning has gone on all year.

Fantastic post, very well said. Stop the whinging and start enjoying the footy, no matter how bad we're going. Things will turn around, who on here seriously expected the team to be challenging this year?

The way things have been around here recently, if we were winning games I'm sure there would still be complaints from the same people that we won't be getting best value out of our upcoming draft picks.

Goodluck, I am going for the Stynes' celebration with the game as an afterthought... should be ****ing terrible!

Here's to hoping both sides come out firing :)

As I said, pal, don't need to have blind faith. But completely jumping off the team (as some have done) isn't needed.

This moaning has gone on all year.
I guess people just get sick of a club that's been rebuilding since 54:(

Are you kidding me????? Jesus we have some whingers on this board when things get tough.

We were inches away from playing in a couple of Grand Finals in the last few seasons. Should've/could've in the 90's as well.

Hardly rebuilding since 54. At least we've been competitive the last couple of decades, give or take a couple of rebuilding years here and there.

Richmond/Melbourne supporters have reason to whinge, THEY have been rebuilding for years. When was the last time they even made the finals?

We knew after the Clayton era that we were going to have a tough period once this playing group approached 30. Hardly a shock to see us down again. Making consistent top 4 finishes was always going to leave us short in the talent pool for young players.

I dont normally chime in and have a crack at other dogs fans on here, but some attitudes on here stink.

Sure we were very disappointing on the wkend, but we're going to have those games. A lot of kids in the lineup now and the older players are trying to learn a new gamestyle. It's naturally going to take a while for the bugs to be ironed out.

People need to be reasonable with their criticisms during a rebuilding period like this.

Anyway, rant over.

Our collective attitude isn't great. We need to be more arrogant and only accept the best, I think as a club we accept mediocrity a little too often, you can see it in the way we play.

Look at all the great teams/players across all sports; Man United, Real Madrid, Carlton, Collingwood, Yankees, Lakers, Nadal, Tiger etc. They have such fantastic attitude, they cross the line and get nasty sometimes when they don't win. We want some of that, and not feed sorry for ourselves. I can't imagine Nadal ever feeling sorry for himself, he just gets fired up.

But it's a catch-22, we can't be arrogant and demand the best when we don't exactly have a rich history of being the best.

Are you kidding me????? Jesus we have some whingers on this board when things get tough.

We were inches away from playing in a couple of Grand Finals in the last few seasons. Should've/could've in the 90's as well.

Hardly rebuilding since 54. At least we've been competitive the last couple of decades, give or take a couple of rebuilding years here and there.

Richmond/Melbourne supporters have reason to whinge, THEY have been rebuilding for years.
Mate when you invest a lot of time and money into a club for as long as i can remember year in year out, i will whinge all i want. Don't you get it it's like a treadmill that the club can not get off, ground hog day every day

I like that concept. There was thread on the main board the other day about the most 'tragic' club, and one Carlton supporter said he couldn't include Footscray as a truly tragic club because we are renowned for at least being competitive and having dedicated (if somewhat grim) fans. If that's the Footscray way then I'm in.

Clubs go through rough patches. It's not rational to expect that there will be no more hard times, and I'm pretty sure the players hurt too when the club struggles.

Gus, I think that I love you in a completely straight way now.

Every club has a rough patch! You think collingwood last week loosing to Carlton by the same margin that we lost to St Kilda are going to hang there heads!? They got belted but its no reason to start giving up becuase its only 1 week.

You stick by your club through the good times and the bad! Instead of feeling sorry for ourselves why dont we get behind the team and support them! You may have done it for 50 years so why stop now!? I can tell you I have 50 years infront of me and I will support them every single time they step out on the pitch! I have been since I was 7 and that was 17 year ago! We may have got flogged last weekend and that is not the footscray way, but nobody would put up with it every single week and nor should we, but guess what? it was only 1 week! lets give them a chance to prove themselves and get behind them. W gave west coast a run for 3 quarters with a very inexperienced team and same to Adelaide in Adelaide (that we just beat by a few points when we were a top 4 team anyway 2 years ago) so put the saints game behind us and look forward to playing some football the rest of the year.

Fire up DOGS!

Mate when you invest a lot of time and money into a club for as long as i can remember year in year out, i will whinge all i want. Don't you get it it's like a treadmill that the club can not get off, ground hog day every day

And don't you make sure we all know about it? :rolleyes:

Melbourne Demons:

B: James Frawley, Jared Rivers, Clint Bartram
HB: Rohan Bail, Colin Garland, Luke Tapscott
C: Matthew Bate, Brent Moloney, Nathan Jones
HF: Jordie McKenzie, Jack Watts, Jeremy Howe
F: Tom McDonald, Mitchell Clark, Aaron Davey

Foll: Mark Jamar, James Magner, Jack Trengove

I/C: Lynden Dunn, Ricky Petterd, Cale Morton, Jack Fitzpatrick, Joel Macdonald, James Sellar, Thomas Couch

In: Brent Moloney, Ricky Petterd, Jack Fitzpatrick, Joel Macdonald, Thomas Couch
Out: Jack Grimes (Suspension), Stefan Martin
New: Thomas Couch (Grovedale)

Western Bulldogs:

B: Robert Murphy, Lukas Markovic, Dylan Addison
HB: Patrick Veszpremi, Ryan Hargrave, Easton Wood
C: Daniel Cross, Matthew Boyd, Luke Dahlhaus
HF: Daniel Giansiracusa, Liam Jones, Adam Cooney
F: Nathan Djerrkura, Ayce Cordy, Justin Sherman

Foll: William Minson, Ryan Griffen, Liam Picken

I/C: Shaun Higgins, Jarrad Grant, Jordan Roughead, Mitchell Wallis, Thomas Liberatore, Tory Dickson, Mark Austin

In: Patrick Veszpremi, Justin Sherman, Mitchell Wallis, Tory Dickson, Mark Austin
Out: Brian Lake (Suspension), Clay Smith (Soreness)
New: Mark Austin (Carlton)

Sherman should help up forward as we haven't had a crumber in first few weeks with Dahlhaus playing more midfield and Ves will definately help down back, big oversight and should have been playing from round 1 given what he showed in preseason, 27 possessions and a goal for Willy last week. First time this year we have a a second half back to help murph run and break through lines with speed and long kicking as Wood, Addison and Hargrave are currently not up to task.

Ves will definately help down back, big oversight and should have been playing from round 1 given what he showed in preseason, 27 possessions and a goal for Willy last week. First time this year we have a a second half back to help murph run and break through lines with speed and long kicking as Wood, Addison and Hargrave are currently not up to task.

This. From the looks of things they have tried to rely on Wood to play this role. Even though he has line breaking pace, he is not a line breaker so to speak. I see him more of a Dale Morris type. When his main role is as a stopper, he plays some freakish football.
When he becomes the go to guy to move the ball out of defense you can see he still has a fair way to go in developing that part of his game and it effects his performance.

He is by no means rubbish, but just needs an extra set of hands to help.

Hope the final bench is Libba, Roughy, Austin (Don't think he should be playing... but he got elevated so good on him) and Higgins. Would prefer Gia out over Grant but as long as Wallis has another couple of weeks in the VFL to really find form I'll be happy.

This game will probably turn out just like our Brisbane & Richmond ones,competitive till half time,witches hats in the third quarter then fight it out in junk time!
So that means the Bulldogs by about 45 points.:thumbsd:

YouShallNotPass2.jpg

We shall not lose!

This game will probably turn out just like our Brisbane & Richmond ones,competitive till half time,witches hats in the third quarter then fight it out in junk time!
So that means the Bulldogs by about 45 points.:thumbsd:
Wouldn't be surprised if this game resulted in a soccer scoreline :o