FTA-TV Falcon and the Winter Soldier

I did like the Bank meeting, does get you thinking about how it would have worked during the earlier Avenger years. From memory, Stark set up that Avengers compound at the end of AOU, with the likes of Falcon and Wanda moving in.

Would imagine all their accomodation and food etc is covered, however do they earn a traditional “income” in addition to this?

These are the kind of questions that if you ask them in relation to the movies, then you’re nitpicking or overthinking things. But the beauty of a TV series is that it can explore things in a much more deeper context than the films can.

I did like the Bank meeting, does get you thinking about how it would have worked during the earlier Avenger years. From memory, Stark set up that Avengers compound at the end of AOU, with the likes of Falcon and Wanda moving in.

Would imagine all their accomodation and food etc is covered, however do they earn a traditional “income” in addition to this?

These are the kind of questions that if you ask them in relation to the movies, then you’re nitpicking or overthinking things. But the beauty of a TV series is that it can explore things in a much more deeper context than the films can.

He's now working as a super hero for the US Air Force. If he's not getting paid a couple of million per year he needs to get a better agent.

The dialogue from the bank employee was along the lines of “you haven’t earned an income for 5 years” or something like that. I recall the response was “because he hasn’t been here” (due to the snap).

Would’ve thought that if he’s now earning that kind of money you suggest, that would’ve been an opportune time to say so.

Anyway hope there’s more to play out with that family/financial situation angle.

The dialogue from the bank employee was along the lines of “you haven’t earned an income for 5 years” or something like that. I recall the response was “because he hasn’t been here” (due to the snap).

Would’ve thought that if he’s now earning that kind of money you suggest, that would’ve been an opportune time to say so.

Anyway hope there’s more to play out with that family/financial situation angle.

The scenario seems a bit stretched. You would think career gaps because an alien villain gained God-like powers and clicked half the people in the universe out of existence for 5 years might be allowed for.

Is it realistic that the guy has an advanced technology flying suit but can't fix a diesel boat engine? Or that he is broke?

The Avengers don't do it for money but guys like Falcon could earn a fair coin on the side from sponsorship deals with Nike or Audi, or a Superbowl appearance, or an interview with Oprah. Or deals with movie companies making superhero movies lol.

The scenario seems a bit stretched. You would think career gaps because an alien villain gained God-like powers and clicked half the people in the universe out of existence for 5 years might be allowed for.

Is it realistic that the guy has an advanced technology flying suit but can't fix a diesel boat engine? Or that he is broke?

The Avengers don't do it for money but guys like Falcon could earn a fair coin on the side from sponsorship deals with Nike or Audi, or a Superbowl appearance, or an interview with Oprah. Or deals with movie companies making superhero movies lol.

I really enjoyed how this side of things was depicted in The Boys, if you’re familiar with it. Their superheroes were billion dollar assets, flogging all sorts of commercial deals and sponsorships etc. That’d definitely be me if I was in that position, milking the * out of every opportunity haha.

I actually think it's realistic in that sense, as literal hand of god event insurances oh so love.

MCU also has form in the Sokovian accords coming about because Sokovia literally got lifted then fell, how many of those people were insured for that sort of issue of levitation failure?

To your question, actually yes, in engineering terms.

What he has he's used and worked on, one can assume, to keep it up to spec, it is specialised tech for him and him only. A boat that's been in the family for however many generations is "old" technology and he may not know how to fix a combustion engine with mechanical parts, but might be a wise with electronic components and less moveable parts and more automated response triggers? This is the world of sentient AI after all.

Id imagine sorting out protocols would be difficult. If you just give everyone credit you’re probably giving a lot of people who are legitimately broke or in debt credit. It would take some time to figure it out.

good point. We saw what happened in the GFC and the causes for it - partially due to borrowers unable to service their loans.

I doubt it's going to play a big part in the show because Marvel always focuses on a small group of exceptional characters but they have dipped their toe into the practical effects of the blip on the general population.

After the snap
Survivors would quickly assume those who disappeared were not coming back.​
Would the remaining Avengers tell the world what happened?​
Life insurance policies would not be paid out - as the companies would all go broke.​
Wills would be executed and assets transferred.​
Half of surviving children would lose one parent, a quarter would lose both.​
Many people who lost their spouse would remarry and possibly have more children.​
Half of government members would disappear causing constitutional crises and elections.​

After the un-snap (is there a word for it?)
Would recent marriages be annulled when an assumed dead spouse returns?​
Would executed wills, that had taken away all assets, be reversed?​
Would people be entitled to their old credit rating back? (as per toe dipped in the show)​
Eldest children could return younger than their siblings who had normally aged 5 years.​

Would people be entitled to their old credit rating back? (as per toe dipped in the show)​
Eldest children could return younger than their siblings who had normally aged 5 years.​

Confusing because Wandavision wasn't consistent with the terminology, but the return of everyone was 'The Blip'.

Which brings me to another question, with AFL players that came back, do they return to their old clubs or would they have been delisted and have to re-enter the draft pool?

I doubt it's going to play a big part in the show because Marvel always focuses on a small group of exceptional characters but they have dipped their toe into the practical effects of the blip on the general population.

After the snap
Survivors would quickly assume those who disappeared were not coming back.​
Would the remaining Avengers tell the world what happened?​
Life insurance policies would not be paid out - as the companies would all go broke.​
Wills would be executed and assets transferred.​
Half of surviving children would lose one parent, a quarter would lose both.​
Many people who lost their spouse would remarry and possibly have more children.​
Half of government members would disappear causing constitutional crises and elections.​

And you talk about pandemic insurance. how about blip or snap insurance?

They'd be a lot of paperwork to do thats for sure

Which brings me to another question, with AFL players that came back, do they return to their old clubs or would they have been delisted and have to re-enter the draft pool?

Great question. Depends which club is suffering the most. If GWS/Sydney/GC are, then let players return outside the cap

And you talk about pandemic insurance. how about blip or snap insurance?

They'd be a lot of paperwork to do thats for sure

I reckon if you went to AAMI and said you want life cover for an alien gathering some magic stones so that he could snap his fingers and make you disappear - they would be happy to take your cash off you.

Do people return to the place they were when they disappeared? If you were in bed with the missus and she had remarried that could be awkward! What if you were on a plane, do you arrive back at 30,000 feet in the sky?

One question I’m really hoping the show explains correctly.

With the blip, those who vanished are returned to the same place that they vanished from to begin with.

So if the initial event happened to be during a game of footy, and then the return also happened during another game 5 years later.....would the umpire pay a free kick if all of a sudden a team had more than 18 players on the field at once?

I reckon if you went to AAMI and said you want life cover for an alien gathering some magic stones so that he could snap his fingers and make you disappear - they would be happy to take your cash off you.

Do people return to the place they were when they disappeared? If you were in bed with the missus and she had remarried that could be awkward! What if you were on a plane, do you arrive back at 30,000 feet in the sky?

i think they return from where they disappeared from. didnt monica rambo return to the hospital room?

the plane example is interesting and scary. imagine you come back and whoops the plane isnt there?

and the awkward example of being in bed with partner, returning and say the partners not there, but the partners NEW partner's there!

i think they return from where they disappeared from. didnt monica rambo return to the hospital room?

the plane example is interesting and scary. imagine you come back and whoops the plane isnt there?

and the awkward example of being in bed with partner, returning and say the partners not there, but the partners NEW partner's there!

Lol.

These are legit questions though!

I'd say on top of that, with the earth rotating, you could end up somewhere else in the world too even if you were on the ground.

This is all I could find from Marvel;

Kevin Feige, the president of Marvel Studios, had previously answered this question as well during a AMA on reddit. He again states the people would be brought back safely.

dwallace3099: People have expressed views that, in Endgame, those brought back by the snap could have died in accidents (like someone being brought back 100 ft in the air where a plane used to be). Is it possible that Hulk, when doing the snap, not only brought everyone back, but also brought them back in a safe place?
KevFeige: We refer to the version of Hulk in Endgame as Smart Hulk. So, yes.

In another words, Hulk did a half arsed job lol.

Lol.

I'd say on top of that, with the earth rotating, you could end up somewhere else in the world too even if you were on the ground.

This is all I could find from Marvel;

In another words, Hulk did a half arsed job lol.

oh smart hulk, how convenient!

Jeez I hated the money stuff with Sam. How can an Avenger be broke?! How does the government or SHIELD let that happen? Almost ruined the first episode for me. I don't care what explanation they gave, maybe if Sam was an addict I would understand but no, so unrealistic.

Luckily the Bucky stuff was great.

Confusing because Wandavision wasn't consistent with the terminology, but the return of everyone was 'The Blip'.

In some minds, we would have come back to Tassie

I'd have assumed that say in the case of a plane, submarine, boat or etc where it is dangerous; it'd be less 30k feet up and more "now there are two people in that seat on that plane" as there would be an anchor point, and who is to say it's spatial as far as the universe is concerned and not then tied to "I was in bed" or "I was on a chair". So we can assume with Rambeau that say if another patient was in that room, and someone was on that chair, she'd have appeared on her lap.

This then also explains who in Wandavision it was so hectic, as you then had everyone who was in that hospital at the time of the snap, reappearing in that hospital where they were seated, walking, standing "tied" to a surface who then reappeared with the blip.

The only issue with that is, say your house got demoed and replaced by a park, you snapped in bed and you sleep naked then suddenly you might be in a park starkers on a slide. Or you know, a retaining wall in a subdivision. But that's also the reality & soul stone at work, souls need bodies to inhabit and people inhabit reality, so to be brought back, sentient people who need to exist in one space and one space only, would be blipped back into that space so that even if for a fraction of a moment, the blip would return them safe.

Lol.

The rotation of the earth is huge in human terms but small fry compared to other factors.

The earth's orbit round the sun is 93 million miles radius.
Our solar system orbits around the center of our galaxy at about 4 billion miles per year.
The Milky Way is moving at a velocity of approximately 12 trillion miles per annum with respect to the rest of the universe.