Fall On The Sword...

I don't see CC getting the sack this week.
If we show up to play adelaide with little interest and get done by 15 goals then he will be gone. But if we show up and only lose by a few goals he will keep his job.

For CC to go before the season is out he needs one of the old style classical "coach killing games" were the side gets smashed and plays terrible. If the team continues on it's win, loss, win, loss record he will survive. But you only need one really shocking result like a 12 goal loss and he will be gone. That is actually quiet a high chance of that, some of our players are still pansies even when we have our finals campaign on the line. Imagine how soft some of the players will be when there is nothing to play for.

There is no doubt he will be gone come seasons end. I think most of us have just accepted this, but the team really needs to fall apart in a big way in one game for him to go prior to the season finishing.

At the rate were going that big loss will come. What is gonna motivate the team for now.
Whats the point keeping CC on if he wont be here next year. Time to play all suitable youth and get on with it.

What's Benny Allens phone number ?.

Players need a major rocket too, you must play with pride. The media have got stuck into CC but I reckon the players have got off lightly.

Not true; CC's had pleanty of time and opportunity to put the heat on the players, via the media or not. CC's a soft touch (see Rodney Eade end of 1st quarter vs Essendon) That's a coach.

Hit the dump button

geez hate to be an afl coach players dont hit targets another hits a player in the head unnessaceraly and another misses a shot any afl plyer should get. Are all these mistakes CC fault proberbly not , but lets keep the tradition of mediocre returns from the FFC going while i dont think cuddles has done a great job neither has our club. Who appoints the coaches, the recruiting staff etc we are followers of frematle not the owners while we hunger for sucess remember we are still the youngest club in the afl no background and an offshoot to have a bigger following in west australia . sure the road wont be easy but if it was then we would all be wearing blue and yellow (or is that chardinay).im proud to yes we make mistakes but ill still be there if u want more success buy a scratchie , this is afl and as much as we all think we are fremantles greatest hope, we arent stopp winging and let those in charge do the job.

we're not the youngest club in the afl. port are and they already have a flag and are building themselves up for another

Have always liked and supported the guy, who has been badly let down by his players, but today I felt like posting him my membership card.

I cant see the benefit of CC quiting at this stage. The way we are playing now we could get Zeus in to coach and we would still lose every game. It would be career suicide for German or Harvey to take over (0-7 doesnt look good on the CV).

Not only that but it is a soft easy option for the players, blame the coach, everythings fine. Its time the players stood up for once this year and where held accountable.

I cant see the benefit of CC quiting at this stage. The way we are playing now we could get Zeus in to coach and we would still lose every game. It would be career suicide for German or Harvey to take over (0-7 doesnt look good on the CV).

Not only that but it is a soft easy option for the players, blame the coach, everythings fine. Its time the players stood up for once this year and where held accountable.

I think a few players will be on the way out for sure this year, and not just the retirees....
I don't think it will be career suicide to take a "caretaker" position until the end of the season. It certainly wasnt career suicide for Neil Craig.

Freo need a guy like Dean Laidley. FFC's next appointment needs to be a politically "safe" one - that is someone who has senior coahing experience, and probably preferably a West Australian. Laidley has rung every ounce out of his squad to get them where they are and if he was let loose on a squad with the talent FFCs has, the membership base and financial strength the club could reach its potential. Laidley is a fighter, passionate and seems to have developed flexibility in his match day coaching and game plan now, which was probably his biggest fault pre this season. The president should also stand down. How he could let himself be interviewed by that doyen of footy scribes "Hutchy" on the Footy Show and indicate that basically the coach was gone. The guy has no idea, you keep that kind of stuff within the club, no matter how obvious the coaching situation is. For all his faults CC at least tows the party line in all his press conferences and doesn't bag anyone, presenting a united front under what would be immense pressure for him.

The problem is, Laidley doesn't need us, we need him. A guy like him, or someone who is just strong with the players is who we need. Someone like Cuddles, or a Cuddles clone like Daniher would be another disaster.

And yes, our President doesn't have a ****ing clue.

we're not the youngest club in the afl. port are and they already have a flag and are building themselves up for another
Pinkus port have the advantage of having an already established club in port adelaide and have used those resources and traditions to build thair club we dont

Re: Cuddles is a dead man walking

I can only speak for the city end, but our forward structure was a bloody joke today. Dessie was the closest we got to a small forward, and he spent a lot of time up the ground. Surely Schammer, Bell, Crowley, Hasleby and McManus had to be rotated through the forward pocket.

At one stage our forward line consisted of Pavlich, Tarrant, Sandilands, Solomon and Murphy. :mad: :mad:
This is the least of our problems. We need a midfield with enough skill and presence to realise that when Pav is getting towelled up by an opponent, as he has in the last two weeks, you might try kicking it to someone else.

Murphy was one-on-one with Jesse Smith for most of the game and never once had the chance to show his wares.

I want to know why CC left Pav in the forward line where he was clearly getting pantsed, and didn't swing him to the backline, and say give Johnson or Mundy a run up forward. Just get him in the game. He was AA CHB in 2002.

I want to know why Pavlich didn't get the runner in his ear when he had Sandi streaming to goal but elected a very low percentage 55 metre shot.

I want to know why Robbie Warnock was dropped when Sandilands could only play 8 minutes before having to leave the ground.

So many questions.

I can only speak for the city end, but our forward structure was a bloody joke today. Dessie was the closest we got to a small forward, and he spent a lot of time up the ground. Surely Schammer, Bell, Crowley, Hasleby and McManus had to be rotated through the forward pocket.

At one stage our forward line consisted of Pavlich, Tarrant, Sandilands, Solomon and Murphy. :mad: :mad:

I was at the same end dom. I agree, there was absolutely no structure at all. A kangaroos supporter next to me asked my why pavlich was left in the goal square out of the play and not at CHF to get into the game. I couldnt give him an answer.

Did you also notice the shithouse delivery to Pav again. I lost count the amount of time Pav got a couple of metres on Firrito on a strong lead only to have to stop dead in his tracks because the ball was sat up on his head bringing Firrito into the contest to spoil. How hard is it to put the ball out in front of Pav. He works his ass off to get in front but we let him down every time.

Murphy should have been at Full forward with Des. Taz and Pav should have been hanging around the 50m. Leave some space for the forwards to run into and give them a chance to mark the bloody thing.

Surely someone in the coaches box has some kind of idea... or maybe not

This is the least of our problems. We need a midfield with enough skill and presence to realise that when Pav is getting towelled up by an opponent, as he has in the last two weeks, you might try kicking it to someone else.

Murphy was one-on-one with Jesse Smith for most of the game and never once had the chance to show his wares.

I want to know why CC left Pav in the forward line where he was clearly getting pantsed, and didn't swing him to the backline, and say give Johnson or Mundy a run up forward. Just get him in the game. He was AA CHB in 2002.

I want to know why Pavlich didn't get the runner in his ear when he had Sandi streaming to goal but elected a very low percentage 55 metre shot.

I want to know why Robbie Warnock was dropped when Sandilands could only play 8 minutes before having to leave the ground.

So many questions.

Warnock is injured.

Are you one of the "Sandilands can't mark" crowd as well? because he can't, you know.

I was at the same end dom. I agree, there was absolutely no structure at all. A kangaroos supporter next to me asked my why pavlich was left in the goal square out of the play and not at CHF to get into the game. I couldnt give him an answer.

Did you also notice the shithouse delivery to Pav again. I lost count the amount of time Pav got a couple of metres on Firrito on a strong lead only to have to stop dead in his tracks because the ball was sat up on his head bringing Firrito into the contest to spoil. How hard is it to put the ball out in front of Pav. He works his ass off to get in front but we let him down every time.

Murphy should have been at Full forward with Des. Taz and Pav should have been hanging around the 50m. Leave some space for the forwards to run into and give them a chance to mark the bloody thing.

Surely someone in the coaches box has some kind of idea... or maybe not

That (in bold) was dead-set shitting me to tears... :(

Pav would have to stop, then try and back into Firrito to keep him away while still trying to keep his hands in front to give enough space between the ball and Firrito's fist, to give himself a chance to mark it. Yes, Pav was getting beaten but i would suggest that it was not necessarily entirely his own fault...

As most here would know I'm a glass half full type of guy and have backed CC heavily over the last 5 years. I do agree with what some people have been saying both on here and over at dockerland and that is you can't place all the blame on the coach for the performances over the last few weeks especially when you take into account the shocking skills shown by players who are normally very good with their hands and feet and a lot of that has come from our top 5-10 players.

In saying that, you can blame the coach for selection issues. I pray to god I hear from someone at the club today that Warnock was left out because of an injury, if he wasn't I honestly believe it is one of the biggest selection blunders I have seen from the club in the last 5 years. How can you play Sandi who everyone could see is carrying an injury and leave Warnock out where he would excel on the wide open spaces at Subi. Yes he wasn't at his best last week but thats the SCG, the size of a postage stamp and the game was always going to be more physical than any game at subi due to the wide open spaces.

Once again Walker proved that he will light it up in the WAFL but as soon as he needs to take that next step he goes back to his old habits. Last time I checked Walker if you have been given a job to run with a player you should actually try and stay within 10 metres of that person.

I know I was attacked at dockerland for suggesting giving Ibbotson and Foster a run but in all honesty what more do they have to do at WAFL level before giving a prolonged chance? You speak to any of the players and Ibbo is on of the best trainers at the club and his skills would be in the top 5 and his pace is exactly what we are looking for. Foster just keeps on putting up the numbers in the WAFL and is almost demanding selection yet it's just not coming. I know you can say there is no point in putting all your hope in young kids who haven't had the chance to step up to the top level yet but surely it can't be worse than the pathetic displays we have seen from some in the midfield this year can it?

Is this the same Laidley that was generally regarded as one of the worst coaches in the AFL last year?

Laidley and the Roos are going well this year because they did so shite last year. They knew they weren't going to make the finals so they rested (or sent to surgery) all of their players with niggling injuries and played the dregs for the last few weeks of the season. They were also able to start their pre-season training months before some other teams.

It's no surprise that they are looking more spritely than some of the other sides who had extended finals campaigns last season. Geelong, Hawks and Port are in a similar boat.

Is this the same Laidley that was generally regarded as one of the worst coaches in the AFL last year?

Laidley and the Roos are going well this year because they did so shite last year. They knew they weren't going to make the finals so they rested (or sent to surgery) all of their players with niggling injuries and played the dregs for the last few weeks of the season. They were also able to start their pre-season training months before some other teams.

It's no surprise that they are looking more spritely than some of the other sides who had extended finals campaigns last season. Geelong, Hawks and Port are in a similar boat.

Interesting point there, you might be onto something.

On the delivery to Pav question, early on in the game Pav was his own worst enemy, trying to take chest marks rather than out in front in the hands. Pretty basic footy really.

Laidley won't come to Freo. We'll have to choose someone else, but the problem is that Schwab is on the sub-committee with Budgie, The Fridge Dealer and someone else.
I say get rid of Schwab first, won't happen though as he was re-instated this year for a further 3 years. We're rooted until he leaves.

Laidley won't come to Freo. We'll have to choose someone else, but the problem is that Schwab is on the sub-committee with Budgie, The Fridge Dealer and someone else.
I say get rid of Schwab first, won't happen though as he was re-instated this year for a further 3 years. We're rooted until he leaves.

Schwab is a great CEO, He just needs to keep his big nose out of the football department, especially the recruiting and trading part of it.

Sorry I can't agree. He is an egotistical throttler. I do agree about staying out of the stuff, but its not in his nature.

Interesting point there, you might be onto something.

On the delivery to Pav question, early on in the game Pav was his own worst enemy, trying to take chest marks rather than out in front in the hands. Pretty basic footy really.

Bit harsh on Pav Masai, he takes chest marks every week no probs. Delivery to him was bull shite. Pav does a hell of a lot of work to get in front on a lead, id love for him to get some quality ball like headland gave him (the one centre clearance which looked like a training drill).

Sorry I can't agree. He is an egotistical throttler. I do agree about staying out of the stuff, but its not in his nature.

He has done great things to ensure the long-term stability and success of the club. The fact that you don't agree, in the face of the overwhelming evidence that supports his worth, shows that you are the egotistical throttler.

Tell the truth, are you upset that no South Freo market gardening goon was considered for the CEO job Sumavich?

Pinkus port have the advantage of having an already established club in port adelaide and have used those resources and traditions to build thair club we dont

So I take it that Fremantle Dockers learned nothing from the +100 years of South & East Fremantle footballing tradition ? If not, a foolish mistake which has manifested itself to your current predicament.