Famous neighbours

• Thread starter Thread starter Goldhawk

Langers, you remember Philip Adams' mansion was next to school? All those Egyptian statues in the garden?

If that's the house in Hawthorn, was lucky enough to go inside one day. my gf at the time was bf with (either his or a) daughter. Wife seemed to be of South American appearance...maybe wrong. He had this big Greek headless statue inside the house, supposed to be about 2,000 years old.

That's the one, Rusty. Rathmines Road I think.

If that's the house in Hawthorn, was lucky enough to go inside one day. my gf at the time was bf with (either his or a) daughter. Wife seemed to be of South American appearance...maybe wrong. He had this big Greek headless statue inside the house, supposed to be about 2,000 years old.

That's the one, Rusty. Rathmines Road I think.

Sure do. Remember his red Ferrari too.

It was Kildare Street
http://maps.google.com/maps?q=-37.81773,145.052426&num=1&t=h&ie=UTF8&ll=-37.817815,145.05241&spn=0.003208,0.005751&z=18&layer=c&cbll=-37.817906,145.052387&panoid=NDn2kGYy8i7PJ7AxfLGbtw&cbp=12,109.42,,0,7.73

Langers, did you see the Muirs were stood-over by Mick Gatto on behalf of some developer who forcibly took the lane?

It was Kildare Street

That would be right. The street was a North South Street looking up towards Barkers Road. I remember thinking, great location. I think my gf at the time was in Harcourt Street. Seems to bring back memories :D

Langers, did you see the Muirs were stood-over by Mick Gatto on behalf of some developer who forcibly took the lane?

Yes I did. Heard David Whiting on the ABC given some advice on the case last year. They were away and came back to find a shipping container had been craned into the lane way and a fence erected. The advice was that the Muir's fitted the criteria for vacant possession, so just needed pull down the fence and lodge the appropriate paperwork. The best thing they did though was go public. The guy was Gary Dumbrell (owner of Autobarn. Son Paul drives V8 supercars). He owned the place next door.. think it must have been Yallambee... and was looking to sell. The land grab was to increase the value... only problem was the spectre of a dispute did nothing to enhance the sale prospects. Should have picked someone less notorious to do his dirty work.
http://www.theage.com.au/national/gattos-help-used-in-land-dispute-20091202-k6b3.html

Yes I did. Heard David Whiting on the ABC given some advice on the case last year. They were away and came back to find a shipping container had been craned into the lane way and a fence erected. The advice was that the Muir's fitted the criteria for vacant possession, so just needed pull down the fence and lodge the appropriate paperwork. The best thing they did though was go public. The guy was Gary Dumbrell (owner of Autobarn. Son Paul drives V8 supercars). He owned the place next door.. think it must have been Yallambee... and was looking to sell. The land grab was to increase the value... only problem was the spectre of a dispute did nothing to enhance the sale prospects. Should have picked someone less notorious to do his dirty work.

All the money in the world does not buy you class or morality, or for that matter, brains.

The thought of getting Mick Gatto to stand over the Muirs is almost comical if it wasn't so despicable.

Award winning film director Scott Hicks lived across the road, and musician John Schumann (Redgum) just around the corner. Test cricketer Tim May (same street) and Olympic basketballer Brett Maher (two streets away) also lived in the same suburb.

Apparently singer/songwriter Mark Holden and I used to play in the sand pit together, our mothers were good friends, but I don't have any memory of it. One of my sister's friends sang in a band named the Shantoozies and appeared on soap operas on TV, but I can't remember her name.

One of my sister's friends sang in a band named the Shantoozies and appeared on soap operas on TV, but I can't remember her name.

Be either Ally Fowler, Tottie Goldsmith or David Reyne I reckon.

Was David in 'The Young Doctors' - a skirt would have suited him.

That dude who was on the Sullivans and now is on Play School - Andrew McCutcheon? - used to live behind us. Or at least I think it was him.

Yep I am right smack bang in the middle of a few Hawks. Lewis is close :), Vanders is about 6 houses away, Sewell about 10 houses away and Campbell Brown was a couple of streets away.

Only moved in about 2 years ago....could never in my wildest dreams have imagined that would happen. All great blokes by the way.

My wife spent some time working at St Vincent's scanned some of the Pentridge prisoners. She used to see Garry Webb a days or so after he'd swallowed a razor blade and was bleeding from his clack.

i think it was him that went to J ward at Ararat and there is an interesting story or two of his stay there on what he cut off 3 times and what may have happened on the 3rd time to that part of the body and it was a pen that finally ended his life at the next jail he was at
that i do know

Bottom of the Harbour. we lived next door to a prominent legal type in Canterbury. My dad tells the story of the story breaking and boxes of documents leaving this lawyer's house in the middle of the night...

On a brighter note, I've 'met' Kylie before.

I worked for a radiologist who was in the thick of the scheme. He was very close friends with a former Lib cabinet minister. They link back to the MRI rorts imbroglio of 10-15 years ago.

Growing up in Hawthorn my neighbour was Denis Hart, now Archbishop of Melbourne, also a Hawk follower. Oh, was a year behind Ian Mort at school too.

Denis' niece was a good friend of mine in uni days and now works a teacher in the Catholic system in Sale. We had a very brief dalliance.....

Great family the Harts', very good people. A good mate of mine who worked as a sonographer at a prominent private hospital (and is now a lawyer) stumbled across an official visit from the newly appointed archbishop in his finery being escorted through the facility by the great and good of the establishment.

My mate yells "G'day Denis!". A couple of administrators lost blood flow to the face and the nuns were in the early stages of apoplexy when the reply came from His Grace: "Oh, G'day *****!"

i think it was him that went to J ward at Ararat and there is an interesting story or two of his stay there on what he cut off 3 times and what may have happened on the 3rd time to that part of the body and it was a pen that finally ended his life at the next jail he was at
that i do know

He was like a walking Mongolian BBQ. One little slice at a time.

I did attend a 1st birthday party 3 years ago in which the child's father worked in industrial construction. Mr Ferguson (of Ferguson Plarre) provided a cake and Mr Gatto provided the drinks.

I worked for a radiologist who was in the thick of the scheme. He was very close friends with a former Lib cabinet minister. They link back to the MRI rorts imbroglio of 10-15 years ago.

Yes, well, a certain very prominent liberal was a client of this guy. And he was around a bit during this time. I wonder if it was the same guy...

He was like a walking Mongolian BBQ. One little slice at a time.

Hahahaha

That dude who was on the Sullivans and now is on Play School - Andrew McCutcheon? - used to live behind us. Or at least I think it was him.

McFarlane?

Yeah, him. On Playschool now.