Fan threatened with eviction from MCG for barracking too loud

It was no different 30 years ago. People just want to pretend everything is worse now.

They paid twice as many free kicks and the game was better for it.

Even the OPSM sponsorship on the umpires' shirts is a self-pisstake - an acknowledgement of football lore.

To be fair he was tracked down after another supporter witnessed the incident and tweeted about it

Fair enough.

He was best off not talking to the papers though unless he is getting paid good dollars. Cops spend all day telling people to pull their heads in at the footy. Some people are just loud and annoying.

Not directed at you Presti. If people want to go back to the days when you could say and do anything at the footy then they need to also accept that they will get their marching orders rather than a subtle chat from the coppers.

AFL won't give a **** if some loud mouth Bogan doesn't go to the footy, they want to replace those types with mum, dad and their 2.5 kids. 4 > 1

Some of the best booers ,biggest umpire hecklers at Perth Stadium are familys.The seven year old girls are ****en hilarious.I really hope they don't get booted.

AFL won't give a **** if some loud mouth Bogan doesn't go to the footy, they want to replace those types with mum, dad and their 2.5 kids. 4 > 1

if the bulk of footy fans boycott, crowds will get smaller, most of the random families will lose interest, the AFL will grow smaller. the league AFL will be seen as a shadow of its former self, it'll be a smaller sports competition nation wide. maybe then a new league can be formed and clubs can do their best to get away from the AFL trying to own the sport and every club, from elite to development.

Strange. I go to the footy all the time and cheer loudly for my team. Never got into a fight, never been kicked out by police, never had players or umpires point at me. Somehow I don't think it's luck.

I've said far worse things than what some of these people are alleged to have said, so I'm definitely putting it down to luck I've never been kicked out! Also lucky this year is the one I moved out of Melbourne so not going to games and therefore not getting a chance to be kicked out!!!!

If the AFL and the goons that are running the game spent more time fixing the real issues, it would be in a much better place. They’d rather get involved in every political issue and try to tell the masses who provide their existence what to feel and how to act. The media boys club are just as bad, they’re all to scared to call it as they see it in fear of being called out by some outraged minority tossbags.

Wonder how a protest weekend could be organised and how successful it would be.

Have fans walk-out at a specific point. Would be more successful at garnering attention than a straight boycott.

Would probably be best started by getting two cheersquads on board

Have fans walk-out at a specific point. Would be more successful at garnering attention than a straight boycott.

German soccer fans have come up with numerous ways of protesting. One good one is to give them what they want. The AFL want quiet, so it can be done.
Complete silence by the crowd has been done in Germany. The crowds can be as big as 80,000 at a Dortmund game and no one makes a sound in protest. It can last around 20 minutes, but is quite powerful.

The challenging part is the logistics of getting the word out and getting everyone behind it. If and when the majority of fans are on board then the actual execution is piss easy.

Wonder how a protest weekend could be organised and how successful it would be.

Surely wouldn't be too hard to organise on club boards. Start a thread gauging the level of support for e.g. booing at the start of each quarter, liaise with the opposition's board and get a similar thread started there. Contact a newspaper and let them know what's brewing without sounding like a nuffie, newspaper helps spread the word, snowball effect. Just give yourself enough lead time. And nobody's under any obligation to take part.

Would never happen, not because it couldn't be organised or wouldn't make an impact, but because Aussies don't stand up for anything for fear of being labelled or the odd one out, all you'd get is 40k fans looking sideways at each other waiting for someone else to make the first move.
I've already made my stand against the pricks, first season i haven't bothered going to games that i could have if i wanted too, instead i stay home and watch it on TV with a 6 pack, sure it doesn't have the same atmosphere, but what good is atmosphere if its just 40k people sitting in relative silence, at home i scream at the TV and call the umpire and oppo players whatever i like without fear of upsetting some PC flog, i'm loving the footy again.

Fan threatened with eviction from MCG for barracking too loud