Fan threatened with eviction from MCG for barracking too loud

Remember this.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/eddie-mcguire-2015-to-be-year-of-the-fan-20140730-zyocs.html

Collingwood president Eddie McGuire has called for 2015 to be the ‘‘year of the fan’’ following the issues the AFL has had with crowds in Victoria.

‘‘Dedicate next year to the supporters,’’ McGuire said, adding that it should be labelled, ‘‘2015, year of the fan’’.

Fans have been mistreated for a long time now. There were talks on this board about boycotting games to hurt them where they care. Their $$. Doubt anything will change until we see clubs playing infront of crowd numbers 20k lower than expected attendances.

Who can’t go to a football game and stop themselves from swearing like some feral peanut for three hours.

It’s civility that ensures that the other 165 hours of the week most people act with decorum

The fact that people cry, cheer etc when their team wins/loses and are completely invested - that’s tribalism and a deeper primal part of our psychological make up

People want for 3 hours a week to just let the inner animal out

It’s why they cheered at the gladiators

It’s why we can’t look away when there’s a big hit

Denying that primal drive is ridiculous - and sanitising it will simply mean the masses will look for another outlet

This is irrelevant to what I posted about the media's treatment of the Magpie fan and their high-handed contempt for rank and file football fans.

You have a habit of completely missing the point.
I thought the point you were factually wrong about him being kicked out was pretty relevant. As for your point, it was hard to work out what it was, just an inchoate rant about the AFL (not just the media) and something about the game dying.

It's not actually the AFL's fault. There was an increase in fan violence a month or so ago, so the AFL told the stadiums to beef up security with anti social behavior, and it's these independent nodes that have started over stepping the line. There hasn't been an official request from the AFL to kick out people abusing umpires. But at the same time, the AFL can't respond to it with "it's actually okay to insult umpires guys," so they are kinda stuck between a rock and a hard place.

It’s civility that ensures that the other 165 hours of the week most people act with decorum

The fact that people cry, cheer etc when their team wins/loses and are completely invested - that’s tribalism and a deeper primal part of our psychological make up

People want for 3 hours a week to just let the inner animal out

It’s why they cheered at the gladiators

It’s why we can’t look away when there’s a big hit

Denying that primal drive is ridiculous - and sanitising it will simply mean the masses will look for another outlet
Look, I get that to a point. But people’s primal urges used to include racial abuse and minorities didn’t feel welcome. It included homophobic slurs and gays didn’t feel welcome. It used to be a place you couldn’t take your kids without them being exposed to horrendous language. It’s possible to be primal without being a horrible human being to people around you. I swear plenty but I’ve never had a problem holding my tongue when there are kids around.

Where do you draw the line though? "Bald Headed Flog" is hardly grounds for ejection.

I guess it's no longer a place for bald headed flogs either. I hope all the bald headed flogs of the world rise up.

The line is being dragged waaaay too far

Calling someone a bald headed flog (as other mentioned) is not means for dismissal nor is green maggot

The fact the afl had a press release that had lots of words that said nothing means they have no definitive clue

They know the bloke did nothing wrong - that’s why no further penalty was handed out. But their too righteous to admit it

Between the rule changes and the moral police in the crowd - the game is being stolen from the fans

Has anyone confirmed that yelling "bald headed flog" was the reason this guy was kicked out? Same as the Magpies fan who was warned (not evicted) to "quiet down", has that been confirmed? Not suggesting either, just interested.

[edit] It seems like the Pies fan was basically telling it how it was, as has been confirmed by many on the Pies' board who were at the game.

Not wanting people to be verbally abusive is one thing, not allowing loud cheering though is completely ridiculous.
And this is only one of the issues surrounding the game, ticket prices thursday/Monday night games are things we as fans just cop. Boycotts are needed.

The line is being dragged waaaay too far

Calling someone a bald headed flog (as other mentioned) is not means for dismissal nor is green maggot

The fact the afl had a press release that had lots of words that said nothing means they have no definitive clue

They know the bloke did nothing wrong - that’s why no further penalty was handed out. But their too righteous to admit it

Between the rule changes and the moral police in the crowd - the game is being stolen from the fans
This is conflating two issues: general crowd behaviour and umpire treatment. The AFL has been trying to get people to tone down the umpire abuse for a while and if people could take a step back for a second, they would see it’s for a good reason.

As pointed out, this wasn’t just yelling from the crowd, it’s getting in the umpire’s face. Can we at least acknowledge what a ridiculous man-child this person was?

As a kid going to Windy Hill or Kardinia Park or Victoria Park was as much a cultural experience as it was a footy game.
People took in eskies full of full strength beer, thermos of soup and tea, sandwiches etc.

The crowd used to self regulate poor behaviour. If someone was being a total tosser they were soon put back in there place and the crowd would support whoever was doing the putting back in place. Actual violence was rare but threats of violence were certainly used to sort out the nobheads.

Some things that have changed that have affected crowd behaviour since the good old days are allocated seats and no U19's or Reserves game.

Before allocated seating people were free to move around, even with a big crowd in. It certainly was a bit uncouth at the back of the standing room but dont go there if you didn't like it. It was more civilised down towards the boundary. Dad was often with mates up the back and if we got in early enough we would get seats down the front. If you didn't like where you were, you moved!

During the Reserves games you would get to know those around you, including opposition supporters, without their being the anxiety and heat of the Senior game. People would talk, share cups of soup and tea and sandwiches with those around them. It made for a much more respectful crowd than what we get now, being jammed in like sardines with blaring music and ads making conversation difficult.

The AFL are reaping what they have sowed. The game has been over commercialised . Gil can piss off to his polo and take a few mates with him. Someone please start an online petition to have him removed ASAP for the betterment of our game.

Just heard on 3aw.

Fan goes to Matthew Nicholls “you can’t handball with one hand you bald headed flog”. Nicholls then pointed at the fan and security escorted him out of the stadium.

That is ******* ridiculous. AFL is fast losing the plot with this sort of stuff. Love how they quickly escort this Blues fan out. Yet anytime there’s a fight it takes ages for action.
Was it you? If so - you better not wear a toupe

I like a nice tame spectacle. Usually when I go there's some loud drunk bogan constantly standing up and shouting. I think to myself the experience would be a lot more enoyable if these people went down to the horse track in Moe instead of the MCG

Quoting Orwell, but without any actual quotes, just the vibe. Am I meant to be impressed?

Orwell was a product of his times. You are too (a product of his times).

People who say and do racist things don't like being called racist. I get it.

I'm not perfect. I've said and done racist things before, and I'm prepared to acknowledge it.

It takes a basic level of decency (nothing too special) to admit you did or said something wrong. There's nothing Orwellian about it.

Seems this country loves celebrating the good stuff, but can't look in the mirror to face the other stuff. That's just immature.
LOL you are beyond the level of a nutcase my friend.

Again, deranged zealots like yourself are in no position to give lectures on what constitutes racism. Thankfully not many people listen to nuts like you anymore.

Orwell's more relevant than ever today. You're living evidence of that.

This is conflating two issues: general crowd behaviour and umpire treatment. The AFL has been trying to get people to tone down the umpire abuse for a while and if people could take a step back for a second, they would see it’s for a good reason.

As pointed out, this wasn’t just yelling from the crowd, it’s getting in the umpire’s face. Can we at least acknowledge what a ridiculous man-child this person was?

He was hardly in his face - at least 10 metres away

Police, security, ambos, nurses cop much worse every day - from people literally in their face

Let people boo, yell, rant and rave

It’s 3 hours a week to park your sensibilities and let irrationality take over

The pious group who virtue signal about this either have very boring/mundane lives or are hypocrites of the highest order

Fan threatened with eviction from MCG for barracking too loud