Roast Fans getting Warnings and Booted for Being too Loud

Saintly Viewed

30k Posts 10k Posts Collingwood - Tyler Brown Player Sponsor 2020 Collingwood Magpies - Brayden Sier 2019 Player Sponsor Collingwood - Jaidyn Stephenson Player Sponsor 2018 Collingwood Board Goal Kicking Tip Comp Collingwood - Matthew Scharenberg Player Sponsor 2017 Shiny Penny
Aug 10, 2015
I’ve gone years and years to the footy.
Maybe I’m just lucky, have never witnessed one fight?

People have, I take it?

Seen a few odd bods get too over the top, but usually they get managed by the crowd around them who indicate time to shut their pie hole.

Saintly Viewed

30k Posts 10k Posts Collingwood - Tyler Brown Player Sponsor 2020 Collingwood Magpies - Brayden Sier 2019 Player Sponsor Collingwood - Jaidyn Stephenson Player Sponsor 2018 Collingwood Board Goal Kicking Tip Comp Collingwood - Matthew Scharenberg Player Sponsor 2017 Shiny Penny
Aug 10, 2015
I would imagine this is a reaction to the brawls that regularly break out at games among the crowd. It's always happened, but now half a dozen people are streaming it live on their phones and you can see frightened children screaming as drunk arseholes flail away at each other, or catch the replay on youtube/FB/Twitter. It's a different world and they don't know how to handle it
?

Regularly?

At AFL games, regularly?

Saintly Viewed

Aug 10, 2015
When, regularly?

My house seems very safe.
I’ve been beaten by Collingwood supporters right out the front of the Social Club Bar in the Ponsford.
On Anzac Day.

Thatsmyname

Plausible deniability
Apr 16, 2019
No 3peat (Ninth)mond Minnows
When, regularly?

My house seems very safe.
Pretty much every time I've gone to the footy over the years some scuffle breaks out and some are really horrible, why would you even question this? go on youtube, go to the footy, but don't stick your head in the sand

Saintly Viewed

Aug 10, 2015
I’ve been beaten by Collingwood supporters right out the front of the Social Club Bar in the Ponsford.
On Anzac Day.
That doesn’t sound good.
Not good at all.

Saintly Viewed

Aug 10, 2015
Pretty much every time I've gone to the footy over the years some scuffle breaks out and some are really horrible, why would you even question this? go on youtube, go to the footy, but don't stick your head in the sand
Hang on a minute.

What kind of rubbish is this?

I’ve been going to the football for years.

I said (in a post above, not that long ago) I’ve never seen a fight. I also said, maybe I’m lucky.

So I don’t need your gratuitous advise about YouTube or sticking my head in the sand.

Now you’re saying it happens regularly; then you’re saying over the years a scuffle breaks out....

That’s so confusing, I don’t know if you’re exaggerating or being spot on, it’s totally confusing.

NB: just to repeat as maybe I need to say this slowly, i haven’t seen a fight at the footy, so I asked about it and yes I doubted the regular aspect.

But that seems clarified now, it does happen, but not regularly but over the years a scuffle breaks out.

Weird as.

Just like Saintly I go to most games and have done so for many many years and I dont reckon I’ve witnessed a fight st the footy for at least 10 years, maybe longer.

Whereas back in the 80s and 90s you’d see them every game.

I personally think the main difference these days is that fights are filmed on camera and posted on the internet.

Saintly Viewed

Aug 10, 2015
Weird as.

Just like Saintly I go to most games and have done so for many many years and I dont reckon I’ve witnessed a fight st the footy for at least 20 years, maybe longer.

Whereas back in the 80s and 90s you’d see them every game.

I personally think the main difference these days is that fights are filmed on camera and posted on the internet.
Fair enough.
Once in a while.

And it should not happen at all.

I just thought I was walking through a haze of fights I was being Pollyanna about.

That doesn’t sound good.
Not good at all.
2009 Anzac Day. A bunch of former cheer squad goons cane up to level 2 and were signing the song with ten minutes to go.
Enter David Zaharakis.
As I left the ground I said to one of the Collingwood goons, “you aren’t singing the song now!”
I was in the full Magpie gear. They threw me to the ground and started laying the boots in. Fortunately other Magpie fans intervened.

Saintly Viewed

Aug 10, 2015
2009 Anzac Day. A bunch of former cheer squad goons cane up to level 2 and were signing the song with ten minutes to go.
Enter David Zaharakis.
As I left the ground I said to one of the Collingwood goons, “you aren’t singing the song now!”
I was in the full Magpie gear. They threw me to the ground and started laying the boots in. Fortunately other Magpie fans intervened.
That’s beyond disgusting.

Have never understood why some humans think such violence is an answer to anything.

For what it’s worth I’ve never condoned utter rudeness to opposition supporters either.

Enjoy the game, barrack, enjoy, laugh (inside) at those dead souls barracking for Carlton, barrack some more.
Go home happy, or cranky either or. But let everyone just get on with it.

Thatsmyname

Plausible deniability
Apr 16, 2019
No 3peat (Ninth)mond Minnows
Hang on a minute.

What kind of rubbish is this?

I’ve been going to the football for years.
Well you should probably visit your optometrist Sainter, that's not a one eyed cat coming in, it's walking out

Saintly Viewed

Aug 10, 2015
Well you should probably visit your optometrist Sainter, that's not a one eyed cat coming in, it's walking out
I don’t begin to know what that means but something about testing eyes.

The football reporter Daniel Cherny’s dad is an eye specialist. Are you suggesting I visit him?

Jan 12, 2011
'Loud' Collingwood fan had been reported for abusive language before

The Collingwood fan who claimed he was threatened with being kicked out of the MCG on Monday for barracking too loudly says the police reaction was heavy-handed and that he "is totally against" abusive language.

But it wasn't the first time Simon Grech has been reported at a match, and his recent social media history is littered with profanities, threats of violence and aggressive phrases.

Mr Grech said he was unfairly reported by Melbourne supporters who alerted authorities over him "cheering too loud".
When he was asked to re-create an example of his barracking on 3AW radio on Wednesday Mr Grech enthusiastically yelled, "'Let's go Woody'... and that's it".

But in September 2018, he uploaded a video of himself and a friend at the footy screaming "F--- you, you f---ing c---s, let's go" with the caption "F--- these c---s".

Mr Grech confirmed to The Age that this footage was taken at the MCG during last year's grand final.

In tweets since April, he describes the performance of Geelong player Joel Selwood as "dropping to his knees ... like a $2 hooker" and calls Essendon fans "junkie cheating dogs".

A fan has also revealed she reported Mr Grech for anti-social behaviour in July 2018 for "shouting" and "rude language".
After the game, the fan, who requested anonymity, was so concerned she sent an email to AFL membership to ensure her complaint was received.
"Someone called Simon who sat behind my friend and I ... He also used the c-word and f-word. He made fun of people who turned around to show displeasure in his behaviour. He often curbed behaviour when security walked by then continued once they left," the fan said in an email to AFL membership.

The fan contacted The Age after recognising Simon Grech from a news story published on Tuesday.
Others on social media have been supportive of Mr Grech and backed up his original claims that he was not being offensive at Monday's game.
"Mate believe me (Mr Grech) is a good bloke ... I've been going to the footy since the 80s and have seen d**kheads galore," one wrote.
Another who saw the incident said he was "not swearing, not offensive in any way, just loud".

I was just about to post this BJ, there's always a bit more to it, isn't there?

My instinct is that this bloke is generally harmless but goes feral at the footy. Would he annoy me greatly if I was sitting next to him and he was an opposition supporter? Yes.

If he got booted out for just been loud, that remains wrong.

'Loud' Collingwood fan had been reported for abusive language before

The Collingwood fan who claimed he was threatened with being kicked out of the MCG on Monday for barracking too loudly says the police reaction was heavy-handed and that he "is totally against" abusive language.

But it wasn't the first time Simon Grech has been reported at a match, and his recent social media history is littered with profanities, threats of violence and aggressive phrases.

Mr Grech said he was unfairly reported by Melbourne supporters who alerted authorities over him "cheering too loud".
When he was asked to re-create an example of his barracking on 3AW radio on Wednesday Mr Grech enthusiastically yelled, "'Let's go Woody'... and that's it".

But in September 2018, he uploaded a video of himself and a friend at the footy screaming "F--- you, you f---ing c---s, let's go" with the caption "F--- these c---s".

Mr Grech confirmed to The Age that this footage was taken at the MCG during last year's grand final.

In tweets since April, he describes the performance of Geelong player Joel Selwood as "dropping to his knees ... like a $2 hooker" and calls Essendon fans "junkie cheating dogs".

A fan has also revealed she reported Mr Grech for anti-social behaviour in July 2018 for "shouting" and "rude language".
After the game, the fan, who requested anonymity, was so concerned she sent an email to AFL membership to ensure her complaint was received.
"Someone called Simon who sat behind my friend and I ... He also used the c-word and f-word. He made fun of people who turned around to show displeasure in his behaviour. He often curbed behaviour when security walked by then continued once they left," the fan said in an email to AFL membership.

The fan contacted The Age after recognising Simon Grech from a news story published on Tuesday.
Others on social media have been supportive of Mr Grech and backed up his original claims that he was not being offensive at Monday's game.
"Mate believe me (Mr Grech) is a good bloke ... I've been going to the footy since the 80s and have seen d**kheads galore," one wrote.
Another who saw the incident said he was "not swearing, not offensive in any way, just loud".

Kappa

Oct 7, 2014
What is ‘anti-social’ behaviour? I’m the first to criticise racial slurs and violent or threatening language at the footy.

But loud, raucous, one-sided barracking - come on AFL, it’s part of the game. It’s often funny. And footy crowds are great at self-regulating this stuff. The ‘sit down and shut up you idiot’ approach works more often than not.

Is a 39 year old man with facial piercings screaming "F--- you, you f---ing c---s" at the top of his voice anti-social behaviour?

I'm happy this guy got removed, the less people like him the better. As always the media only give half the story and people believe it like it's gospel.

Is a 39 year old man with facial piercings screaming "F--- you, you f---ing c---s" at the top of his voice anti-social behaviour?

I'm happy this guy got removed, the less people like him the better. As always the media only give half the story and people believe it like it's gospel.

I’d put that in the category of threatening language, so not good. The fan behaviour I’m ok with can be loud and passionate and completely one-sided, but not violent or intimidating. There is a line and your quote above crosses it.

Doc1763

Mar 29, 2019
The F word is no longer acceptable at the football, and the C word definitely not.

I wonder where this bloke sits.

Kappa

Oct 7, 2014
I’d put that in the category of threatening language, so not good. The fan behaviour I’m ok with can be loud and passionate and completely one-sided, but not violent or intimidating. There is a line and your quote above crosses it.

Seems like he screams that stuff all the time, but then after he got removed he went crying to the media and made up a story about how he never swears and only "barracks loudly". Guy is scum who should have his membership torn up. Look at his social media, complete rat of society. The facial piercings are a dead giveaway.

Wonder if the club will act?

Seems like he screams that stuff all the time, but then after he got removed he went crying to the media and made up a story about how he never swears and only "barracks loudly". Guy is scum who should have his membership torn up. Look at his social media, complete rat of society. The facial piercings are a dead giveaway.

Is this the guy quoted in The Age today?

Saintly Viewed

Aug 10, 2015
Over the top profanity not on.

Nb: people’s social media is checked these days and it’s there for the media to give a big whack to you.

So sensible at all times and decorum goes a long way.

As an example twitter and how people talk to each other at times.
Mega rudeness.

Eg Rohan Connelly and Francis Leach saw some of their stuff to people, what horrible people.
I’m sure people were rude to them.

No I’d not go on Twitter too
Much of a cesspool for me.

Appreciate those that post on here withfooty information.