Play Nice Fantasy EPL - 16/17

• Thread starter Thread starter Jatz

Do you pick your own team's players despite how you think they'll perform?

Was trying to look for B Chilwell in FPL and couldn't find him. Any reason why he hasn't been added yet. Would've thought he'd be a good shot at starting in the LB position this season for them considering they rate him so highly.

The big question this year is whether or not to start both KUN and Ibra. So much cash tied up, but if Ibra starts well then he'll be hard to bring in without a wildcard at 11.5

I'm starting Ibra for that reason alone. You don't want to miss the train with him. He'll hit 12.0mil pretty quick if he fires early, and Man Utd do have a friendly bunch of games to start off the season.

Aguero is fit and ready to go for GW1. Sanchez is also being rushed back, I'll stay away but he's good enough to start hot even off a limited PS.

The big question this year is whether or not to start both KUN and Ibra. So much cash tied up, but if Ibra starts well then he'll be hard to bring in without a wildcard at 11.5

Thanks mate. I'm gonna set up s team with Kun and Ibra and see how it looks.

Because my structure is

6.5 5.5 5.5
8 6.5 10.5 10
11.5 6.5 6.5

And IMO they are the best 6.5 options. Solid DEF and MID cover so may only play two upfront.
They aren't the best 6.5 options. A guy who's been out with an acl injury, a guy who has struggled since a back injury, and a guy who has never played in the pl? And you want two of them? You don't need that much being spent on your defence or midfield. You're waiting money there.

Who are better 6.5 options?

It's more than likely only one starting position, not a huge deal. More points to be had in midfield than upfront IMO.

Lukaku scored only ~10pts more than Bellerin last season and is +2.5. I used to go down the cheap defender path, but had a lot more success last year, with a more even spread.

never thought of it that way :snowman:

i guess to me, the difference between say bellerin and wes morgan was 33 and currently 1.5 mil apart, while the difference between lukaku and say rondon was 70 points and currently 3.5 mil apart.

depends where you think you're more likely to bank them i guess.

Lukaku scored only ~10pts more than Bellerin last season and is +2.5. I used to go down the cheap defender path, but had a lot more success last year, with a more even spread.
That's more the exception than the rule though. You're also not taking captaincy into account. How often do you gamble on a defender to be captain? A clean sheet makes up a huge chunk of their score.

Wasn't planning on playing but seeing my DT season just went **** up last week due to injuries and tanking (Leppitsch :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:) I'll need to get my fantasy footy fix elsewhere

I'll join then

Picture 4.png

Bench: Heaton, Darren Fletcher, Zuniga, James Collins

Thinking fixture based this year, I was shithouse last year, just about every week I seemed to score ok but it was never good enough though to make ground, anywhere between 40-60 I regularly pumped out but was stuck between 500k-1m for most of the year until I gave up come footy season started.

Looking at the fixtures from what imo are the top 9 teams (Arsenal, Chelsea, City, Utd, Pool, Spurs, Soton, Everton and West Ham)

I reckon you'd be mad not loading up on Everton, Utd, City and Chelsea types to start with considering their first 6-10 weeks, but I'd also consider Leicester and West Ham players too, there's a few tough games for them but they are mixed in with gimmees/games that are favourable for them.

I think Firminho is great value and is more a second striker than a mid so I'm confident in giving him a go considering how he finished last year once he shook his injury off

I need to see Arsenal, Spurs and Southampton in action, plus their draws are a bit up and down to start with, but I think Arsenals draw will open up a lot after they play Chelsea so I will look at them come October, likely Bellerin, Koscielny, Ozil, Sanchez etc.

I don't have much confidence in my boys at the moment with a lot of sore bodies from last season (Euros etc) so I will bypass them until there's a clear option, but I might jump on a kid like Onomah or Edwards (hasn't been added yet) if they get more minutes.

Anyways, hopefully I can do better this season

I hate the new layout, it's too gimmicky, suppose they needed to change it up once the Barclays sponsorship was done though

That's more the exception than the rule though. You're also not taking captaincy into account. How often do you gamble on a defender to be captain? A clean sheet makes up a huge chunk of their score.
I only ever consider defenders from good teams/good defensive teams unless there's a cheapie around who will play every week

Everton under Moyes, West Ham under Fat Sam and Stoke under Pulis had many great cheap defender options, so you'd ride those guys out until you could load up on Chelsea types (imo they've always been the benchmark defensively) once team value was high enough

I only ever consider defenders from good teams/good defensive teams unless there's a cheapie around who will play every week

Everton under Moyes, West Ham under Fat Sam and Stoke under Pulis had many great cheap defender options, so you'd ride those guys out until you could load up on Chelsea types (imo they've always been the benchmark defensively) once team value was high enough

Disagree entirely. I started last season with a Watford defender and benefitted hugely. A cheap option who will play every week is easy to park on your bench and free up cash elsewhere.

Now that I'm on a laptop I'll deconstruct exactly why I disagree with Gerald's logic.

A) First and foremost, looking at someone's points per value basis point compared to someone else, as you've done with Bellerin to Lukaku makes no sense as you're making the flawed assumption you would hypothetically hold either player for the entire season. How many players did you keep over the course of last season? With two Wildcards, and a free trade per week (not even going into taking penalties as a tactic), you could turn over your team roughly 4.5 times over the course of the season. Looking at players 5-6 game runs is all that's necessary for the start of the season.
B) The captiancy. How often did you captain a defender last season? Not much I expect. While defenders may in the long run accrue just as many, if not more points than forwards or mids, their prospects week to week are more shaky, as it just takes one opposition goal to take away a chunk of their score. It therefore limits your captaincy options, when a cheap defender can just as easily pick up said clean sheet. If you had Bellerin playing Burnley, or Lukaku playing Hull, who would you be more inclined to captain? (Disregarding the respective teams prospects at this stage, just trying to pick two equally poor teams)
C) Hedging. Making your team too different from others can actually work against you. When Aguero scored 5 against Newcastle, those that had him had their rank sky rocket. Those that captained him even more so. I essentially had that as the platform for the good season I had. Making your team too different can actually hurt, and if you're going in with only one premium forward you're only taking one of Aguero, Kane, Ibra, Lukaku, or Vardy. Especially over the start of the season that could make or break your season.
D) Value. If one of your 6.5 strikers does start the season like a house on fire, they are likely to take longer to change in price as they will have a low ownership base to start with. I can't remember exactly how it's worked out but I think it's about net change in ownership and their actual score as well. You would have plenty of time to jump on before you're priced out of getting them on board. I did likewise with guys like Wilson and Ighalo last year, and part of the skill is knowing when to jump on and when to jump off.

As for the better 6.5 options?

1. Rondon - If you discount Everton who are an enigma at the moment, Rondon doesn't have a difficult fixture until MD 8. Plenty of scoring potential.
2. Hernandez - While Hull have a difficult start to the season this guy is literally their only scoring option so everything will go through him. Has played in the league before, and scored almost as many goals as Gray last season, then scored for Uruguay at the Copa, and has hit the ground running in Pre-Season. Is also only 6.0.
3. Sakho - Granted this is assuming he does get a move to a club that will start him, Sakho has a good goal scoring record and, again, is a more reliable option than the three you're tossing up.
4. Long - A reasonably favourable start to the campaign for Southampton means Long is a pretty reasonable pick.

Here is my team at the moment.

Foster (Heaton)
Stones - Morgan - Van Aanholt - Shaw (McCauley)
Sugurdsson - De Bruyne - Ozil (Hojbjerg, Ibe)
Rondon - Aguero - Lukaku
Like that a lot.

Disagree entirely. I started last season with a Watford defender and benefitted hugely. A cheap option who will play every week is easy to park on your bench and free up cash elsewhere.

Now that I'm on a laptop I'll deconstruct exactly why I disagree with Gerald's logic.

A) First and foremost, looking at someone's points per value basis point compared to someone else, as you've done with Bellerin to Lukaku makes no sense as you're making the flawed assumption you would hypothetically hold either player for the entire season. How many players did you keep over the course of last season? With two Wildcards, and a free trade per week (not even going into taking penalties as a tactic), you could turn over your team roughly 4.5 times over the course of the season. Looking at players 5-6 game runs is all that's necessary for the start of the season.
B) The captiancy. How often did you captain a defender last season? Not much I expect. While defenders may in the long run accrue just as many, if not more points than forwards or mids, their prospects week to week are more shaky, as it just takes one opposition goal to take away a chunk of their score. It therefore limits your captaincy options, when a cheap defender can just as easily pick up said clean sheet. If you had Bellerin playing Burnley, or Lukaku playing Hull, who would you be more inclined to captain? (Disregarding the respective teams prospects at this stage, just trying to pick two equally poor teams)
C) Hedging. Making your team too different from others can actually work against you. When Aguero scored 5 against Newcastle, those that had him had their rank sky rocket. Those that captained him even more so. I essentially had that as the platform for the good season I had. Making your team too different can actually hurt, and if you're going in with only one premium forward you're only taking one of Aguero, Kane, Ibra, Lukaku, or Vardy. Especially over the start of the season that could make or break your season.
D) Value. If one of your 6.5 strikers does start the season like a house on fire, they are likely to take longer to change in price as they will have a low ownership base to start with. I can't remember exactly how it's worked out but I think it's about net change in ownership and their actual score as well. You would have plenty of time to jump on before you're priced out of getting them on board. I did likewise with guys like Wilson and Ighalo last year, and part of the skill is knowing when to jump on and when to jump off.

As for the better 6.5 options?

1. Rondon - If you discount Everton who are an enigma at the moment, Rondon doesn't have a difficult fixture until MD 8. Plenty of scoring potential.
2. Hernandez - While Hull have a difficult start to the season this guy is literally their only scoring option so everything will go through him. Has played in the league before, and scored almost as many goals as Gray last season, then scored for Uruguay at the Copa, and has hit the ground running in Pre-Season. Is also only 6.0.
3. Sakho - Granted this is assuming he does get a move to a club that will start him, Sakho has a good goal scoring record and, again, is a more reliable option than the three you're tossing up.
4. Long - A reasonably favourable start to the campaign for Southampton means Long is a pretty reasonable pick.
:rolleyes:o_O Geezers..... Like talking to a Port Adelaide fan about their list problems, they single out something without reading the whole picture then go on some emotional rant about it.

What's the difference between these guys you mentioned (you were referring to Nyom I presume) to Shawcross, Jagielka, Coleman, O'Brien etc of the years gone past which is whom I was indirectly referring too? All of them were around 4.5-5m to start and would have benefited our teams at some stage of those seasons, whether you started with them or traded them in.

There was great value there, so why are you completely disagreeing with my suggestion of targeting defensive teams or teams with solid spines that may have cheap options?

:rolleyes:o_O Geezers..... Like talking to a Port Adelaide fan about their list problems, they single out something without reading the whole picture then go on some emotional rant about it.

What's the difference between these guys you mentioned (you were referring to Nyom I presume) to Shawcross, Jagielka, Coleman, O'Brien etc of the years gone past which is whom I was indirectly referring too? All of them were around 4.5-5m to start and would have benefited our teams at some stage of those seasons, whether you started with them or traded them in.

There was great value there, so why are you completely disagreeing with my suggestion of targeting defensive teams or teams with solid spines that may have cheap options?

You do realise 90% of that post wasn't directed at you..? Ironic to accuse me of not reading your post properly and yet you missed that I was responding to Gerald...