Opinion "Far-West Footy" - GremioPower's blog

May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
Grêmio, DC United, Pistons
Can you please send that to our CEO and coach and Chris Davies.
I wish!
Your handle on the game is sensational GP, interestingly the current most successful `director of football ' is a bloke named Neil Balme.

Balme played in Richmond's last successful era before the current one, came to Adelaide in the early 1980's and coached Norwood successfully, went back to Melbourne and ended up as coach of the Dees, but was unsuccessful there.
Went to Geelong as the director of football at that club for 2 flags, was then poached by Collingwood, but after an administrative c*ck up at that club, is now in a similar role at Richmond, where they achieved their first flag in over 30 years, and have to be a very strong chance to back it up this season.
Yes. We may be missing someone like him!

2018.08.19 (Loss by KO)
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
2018.08.19 (Sorry anyone?)
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
2018.09.02 (On Members' Council)
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
2018.09.09 (Sphinkley 2)
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
New Post: The Sphinkley Revisted
http://farwestfooty.blogspot.com/2018/09/the-riddle-of-sphinkley-ii-possible.html

The great winners of this year's first round of finals were Richmond and Melbourne. Richmond and Melbourne are playing the style of footy that Port played last season. Why have we changed it?! I suspect we outsmarted ourselves, here. There is a chance we haven't understood what we were trying to do, and that is a concern. The Riddle of the Sphinkley was never solved. Will it ever be? Today, I try answering it.

#PAFC #Port #PortAdelaide #Power #AFL #Footy

2018.09.15 (Trying to Grasp)
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
New Post: "Third Week — Still Mad"
http://farwestfooty.blogspot.com/2018/09/we-sank-as-one-2018-in-review.html

IMG_1536978794884.jpg

It is the second round of Finals, but it is hard to enjoy footy after Port's end of season. I'm new not only to the club, but to the game. I have been spending the entire season trying to connect the dots and understand what we were doing. Like a good philosopher, I am wrong...

#PAFC #Port #PortAdelaide #Power #AFL#Footy

---

P.S.: It is a BigFooty post that I just published on the blog with some minor editing.

Mar 1, 2014
Port Adelaide
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
Good evening GP, I have received an email from my son's uncle in St louis, he came to this country to play basketball for the Bankstown Bruins in the very early days of the NBL, he and his family have enjoyed reading about `an aussie in uruguayana.' :thumbsu:
We are trying to schedule a "Part 2," but it is being as tricky as it was in the first time. I am hopeful the sequel may happen still.

September 20th is Gaucho's Day. Shame 1992 couldn't be here.

2018.09.21 (B.O.G.O.)
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
New Post: "Everything is about Port - Wingard and Richmond"

http://farwestfooty.blogspot.com/2018/09/everything-is-about-port-wingards-trade.html

OFF-SEASON SALE! Two Far-West Footy posts in one: first, on the rumours of Wingard's possible trade; second, a commentary on Collingwood's surprising victory over Richmond. In common, the question on what those events can teach us about Port. Everything is about Port, after all. Come on! You know that...

#AFL #Footy #PortAdelaide #Port #PAFC

2018.09.28 (Identity)
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
New Post: "The Port Brand - asserting our identity"

The Port Brand - asserting our identity [Off-Season Debate]

Port%2BAdelaide%2BFC%2B%2528Club%2529.jpg
We all know the story: Port decided to join the VFL; SANFL forbid it; but Port ended up joining it later anyway. However, the costs were high. The club was forced to be split in two. Moreover, since there was already a black-and-white Magpies in the AFL, Port needed to change its nickname and colors. The parts were reunited, but Port continues carrying two brands: Power (AFL); Magpies (SANFL). Here is my opinion on how Port should deal with this.

#AFL #Footy #PortAdelaide #Port #PAFC

Attachments

• Port Adelaide FC (Club).jpg
    Port Adelaide FC (Club).jpg
    423.5 KB · Views: 148
2018.11.30 (Best XXII)
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
The under 24 team is quite strong
It is full of promise, indeed. Defense seems to be the best line, but team is balanced overall.

We seem to have a talented squad, but unable to gel as a team. That's what worries me the most.

Mar 1, 2014
Port Adelaide
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
I'm interested in your opinion re the PAFC `potentially ' reverting to the black and white PB guernsey GP, as I believe you were initially attracted to the club due to the Power's colours being the same as your local football team. ;)
To put it in the simplest way I can possibly do, if we change to Internacional's red and white, [it would be stupid, but] I would remain a Portman through and through. I have been hooked. The bait has already done its job.

Mar 1, 2014
Port Adelaide
1992 should be back in Buenos Aires by now GP, he is going to spend a couple of days there before catching a flight to Auckland New Zealand, followed by a connecting flight to Adelberg :rolleyes:, which is expected to arrive here about 10.45 Monday morning.

Cheers :thumbsu:

Thank you for your kind comment and lengthy reply. Great reading!

Utopic endeavours are condemned to failure before they even start. (evidence #456,739,254)
The local Sunday paper had a big long article about New Australia settlement in Paraguay as its just over 125 years since the first ship left and they also talk about the second ship that left from Port Adelaide on 31st December 1893.

GremioPower you find find a footy or two in Asuncion based on one the co-authors meeting a couple of Paruguyians of Australian decent who still maintain their links with Australia.

The South Australians who went in search of 'New Australia'
For over a hundred years, Australia had been a beacon of hope and opportunity for millions of people but 125 years ago a group of disaffected Aussies— including some from SA — signed up for a daring mission to set up a socialist utopia on the other side of the world. This is the story of the 19th century pioneers who went in search of a “New” Australia.

RODDIE Wood wears an Akubra, listens to Slim Dusty and greets new friends with a big handshake and a “g’day mate”. There’s nothing unusual about that, except that Wood doesn’t live in Alice Springs or Ararat, he lives in Asuncion, the capital of Paraguay. That wouldn’t be all that strange, either, if Wood was a transplant from Australia. He’s not, not exactly — but neither is he fully Paraguayan. So how then to explain this penchant for Australian country music and bush clobber To answer that, you’ve got to go all the back to the shearing sheds of Queensland and NSW, the wharves of Melbourne and the small farms and businesses of Adelaide in the late 19th century.

Those to join the effort from Adelaide, on the first shipment of Australians to travel to Paraguay, included Rundle St tobacconist Max Lewin, 20-year old Harry S. Taylor and 42-year-old accountant John Sibbald. There was also John Gilmore, upholsterer G W.W Pope, Thomas Westwood, whose wife ran a drapery in Rundle St, and against Mrs Westwood’s wishes, their 9-year-old blind son, Foley.
Meanwhile, a second batch of 199 Australians left for Paraguay from Port Adelaide on the last day of 1893.
There might have been even fewer if a cable bringing news from South America that was read to all those on board The Royal Tar, hadn’t incorrectly reported that only eight souls had left the colony. In truth, by the end of December, 81 of the original 220 New Australians, many of them fed up with the suffocating restrictions on drinking and mixing with the Paraguayan women, had already turned their backs on their utopian dream and left the colony for good. Relations between the warring parties never recovered, and by April 1894 Lane and his supporters announced plans to defect and start a new colony elsewhere.
The breakaway group moved to a temporary camp about 50km from New Australia before negotiating with the Paraguayan Government for 23,000 acres about 70km away. They would name their new settlement “Cosme” after the name of the site where the settlers had camped while scouting for a new permanent location and where work finally began in June.
Meanwhile, things at Cosme were going from bad to worse in Lane’s absence. A toddler died after falling down a well and a 34-year-old pioneer was crushed to death in the sugar mill. But according to Mary Gilmore, the prominent writer and journalist whose face would eventually be immortalised on Australia’s $10 note and who spent seven years at Cosme, the colony took “a fatal step” with the arrival of the new members.
https://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news...a/news-story/6b00d1bebd6ef9a24fed9bd66ba384e8

The author meets Ronnie Wood mentioned at the start of the article and second paragraph of quote above

RODDIE WOOD
Folks like Roddie Wood may be a rare exception.

A descendant of William and Lillian Wood, who settled in Cosme in the 1890s, Roddie Wood still proudly waves the flag for his Australian heritage — as Adelaide journalist and UniSA lecturer Dr Ben Stubbs discovered when he went looking for New Australia for himself in 2010 and was fixed up with the larger-than-life Wood in Asuncion. He recalled their strange introduction in the latest episode of The Advertiser’s local history podcast Heaps Good History.

“I was staying in this hotel, kind of wide-eyed, didn’t know what I was doing. So I gave him a call and he said ‘don’t worry, in the morning, I’ll come and I’ll find you and we’ll sort you out’ and so this man showed up, double parked his Mercedes, he was wearing an Akubra, he had a big open shirt showing his chest hair and whatnot and he clasped my hand in a big handshake and said ‘G’day mate, how you going?’” “What was interesting with Roddie Wood was that he kind of reflected the Australia of his father, the Australia of the people who influenced him. He listened to Slim Dusty, he had Henry Lawson on his bookshelf — so it’s an Australia which was kind of more visible a while ago.”

Stubbs found few characters as colourful as Roddie when he finally got to New Australia, which by now had been split into two main settlements, Nueva Australia and Nueva Londres, and which was announced only by a sign: “Bien Viendios Nueva Australia”. Welcome, to New Australia. “It’s this amazing story but there’s no acknowledgment of the fact that curious Australians might want to come and have a look,” Stubbs says, adding that most of the residents were Australian in name only.

“You look at the names in South America and they’re very distinctly Latin American. When you get to New Australia, New London, Cosme, they’re the Murrays, the Caseys, the McCreens, the Woods, which are very different. You start to see these smatterings as well of blonde kids with freckles and blue eyes and lighter skin.”

2018.12.14 (Live the Creed)
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
LIVE THE CREED, PORT!

https://farwestfooty.blogspot.com/2018/12/live-creed-port.html
thecreed.jpg

I know I should have written last week, but I am suffering from Footy Holiday Blues. If there is nothing good about which to write, should I write at all? I don’t know. Here, it follows an effort to tell you all how I am feeling about our club at this moment.

2018.12.18 (Improving the Showdown)
May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
NEW POST: Adding Spice to the Showdown: visitors' stands
https://farwestfooty.blogspot.com/2018/12/adding-spice-to-showdown-visitors.html

1978 - RS - Internacional 2 x 2 Grêmio (Torcidas).jpg

My hometown of Porto Alegre is a two-club city just like Adelaide. I got the meaning of the Showdown really fast. I already knew the basic recipe; I only needed to grasp the local seasoning. I have learned from my experience in watching derbies in the stadium that a substantial presence of visiting barrackers causes a tremendous effect in the game’s atmosphere. The Showdown should have that.

Sep 3, 2002
Port Adelaide
In theory it's nice, but both clubs have fixed seats everywhere. The clubs would need to have those 'visitor' bays set that for Showdowns those seats would be replaced by a seat elsewhere. I can imagine the Beryl's over their knitting having fits that they had to move for 'Port scum'.

It'd also need to take into account the split of Stadium members supporting each club. There are more of those who have said Adelaide is their main club, so they'd need to open up more visitor tickets for Port fans at Adelaide Showdowns then vice versa. There still be the worst ones, who rock up in Port gear and Port lanyards (Port members, not Adelaide oval ones) then come Port showdowns are wearing Crows gears. I'd take 3 normal Crows fans over those nuff-nuff's.

There are too many obstacles (most of which would be thrown up by Adelaide and the SMA) to work, but I like the idea.

May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
In theory it's nice, but both clubs have fixed seats everywhere. The clubs would need to have those 'visitor' bays set that for Showdowns those seats would be replaced by a seat elsewhere. I can imagine the Beryl's over their knitting having fits that they had to move for 'Port scum'.

It'd also need to take into account the split of Stadium members supporting each club. There are more of those who have said Adelaide is their main club, so they'd need to open up more visitor tickets for Port fans at Adelaide Showdowns then vice versa. There still be the worst ones, who rock up in Port gear and Port lanyards (Port members, not Adelaide oval ones) then come Port showdowns are wearing Crows gears. I'd take 3 normal Crows fans over those nuff-nuff's.

There are too many obstacles (most of which would be thrown up by Adelaide and the SMA) to work, but I like the idea.

I've had some great banter with crows supporters over the years.. 95% of the time it's been good innocent s**t between me and them... I wouldnt want to lose that..

dirty2, I don't want you to lose it either; although it might happen as unintended consequence. It would diminish the odds of having a Crows' barracker next to you, but it is not forbidding it.

I don't think that "it'd also need to take into account the split of Stadium members supporting each club," as Andre has said. Everything else would remain equal. The whole point is that some sections "would work like the rest of the stadium, but with an inverted host." In a Port's home Showdown, those sections would function as if it were a Crows' home Showdown. In a Crows' home Showdown, it would be th other way around.

So, Beryl wouldn't have "to move for 'Port scum'." She would have her ticket guaranteed for the away Showdown instead.