choppy

Mar 20, 2001
Not the Gold Coast
Shinboners
Well its over:D, Choppy has gone. I see their are a number of threads dedicated to his passing, but given I am talking about myself I should have this little indulgence.

Suffice to say I think the deal that North got for him was excellent. I look at it this way.

Bell got us pick 6(Smith), 8(Motlop) and Sinclair.

Choppy got us Stevens (pick 5 in 98), Brown (pick 5 in 99) and pick 15. Taking Cochrane out of the equation which given he played 1/2 a qtr of decent football in 10 years is fair enough.

I rate Bell a far better player than Choppy so I think we have done reasonably well.

Some people have bagged young Stevo which i consider a little harsh. He was rated enough to be taken at pick 5 and given a new environment and the support of Stevo and Arch he could really blossom.

Brown, 20 year old key defender who was chased by a number of Victorian clubs to return last year. Will be very very good.

In closing farewell you brutal, nasty, explosive, vindicative, lazy, fat arsed Rooboy.

Originally posted by choppy

In closing farewell you brutal, nasty, explosive, vindicative, lazy, fat arsed Rooboy.
onya choppy!!
i'm gutted to see byron go.
he has been my favourite player in recent years. his evasive skills when he was down back were as delightful to watch as some of his shirt fronts.
we'll definintely miss him in the team next year. we are starting to look very light on for goal scoring match winners.

Originally posted by Yianni
There will probably be a lot more pressure on Leigh Harding now to be that goalsneak that we need.

I'm sure he will be up to it!

I don't really think so - Harvey and Grant can help out. Hopefully Shannon Motlop can drift forwad, there's his brother, and of course, King loves a goal too.

Well its over:D, Choppy has gone. I see their are a number of threads dedicated to his passing, but given I am talking about myself I should have this little indulgence.

Suffice to say I think the deal that North got for him was excellent. I look at it this way.

Bell got us pick 6(Smith), 8(Motlop) and Sinclair.

Choppy got us Stevens (pick 5 in 98), Brown (pick 5 in 99) and pick 15. Taking Cochrane out of the equation which given he played 1/2 a qtr of decent football in 10 years is fair enough.

I rate Bell a far better player than Choppy so I think we have done reasonably well.

Some people have bagged young Stevo which i consider a little harsh. He was rated enough to be taken at pick 5 and given a new environment and the support of Stevo and Arch he could really blossom.

Brown, 20 year old key defender who was chased by a number of Victorian clubs to return last year. Will be very very good.

Well said choppy.I agree with everything you've said. When I heard that Byron was leaving I was wondering how you'd take it and in typical pugnacious fashion I see!

Originally posted by Shinboners

I don't really think so - Harvey and Grant can help out. Hopefully Shannon Motlop can drift forwad, there's his brother, and of course, King loves a goal too.

Also a chance for D.Motlop to step up to the plate. Was never likely to get a chance up forward while Pickett was there, as it's a bit of a risk playing two flashy & lairy types at the same time. Hopefully it's the spur the young fella needs.

PS - Choppy (the BF poster), does this indicate a name change for your goodself? You've put the mozz on a great player who has now packed his bags and left, how about naming yourself Beaker or Handbags to get the ball rolling for October 2003? :D

i think byron deserves a big thank you and we have all enjoyed him play and the bumps.

but to live apart from your family and miss the birth of a child is a big sacrifice for any one.

good luck for the future byron watch those bumps on us rooboys mate were basically related.

of course for those who cant remember this was my nick before changing it to

mighty mick as choppy was already using the choppy nick and avatar:D

Originally posted by Rooboy 96
So Choppy is a change of name in order or should we remember the hit on Krummel forever... through you...

Cheers...

Yes the name is a difficult one, I almost retired him last night but couldn't be stuffed re registering.

I have thought of a couple of corkers to reregister under and the the thought of starting afresh with a new identity appeals but we'll see what happens.:D

Originally posted by Darky
how about naming yourself Beaker or Handbags to get the ball rolling for October 2003? :D

These two are allright, I mean who would we hang **** on, now that Cochers has gone. We need someone to follow in the footsteps of Reynolds, Houlihans, Hewitts they enable us all to say if only I had a bit of luck I to could have made it.

Apologies to Rooboy96, but there's always Brady Rawlings. Hell, I reckon that Choppy (um, the BigFooty one....not that dirty sniper who plays for Port) has more muscle on him that Rawlings - adds even more to the "if only" dream.

Personally, 1 word = Gutted!!!

Loved the way this bloke played and even when he was putting in a shocker he only needed 5 seconds to turn the game (or an opposition player) on it's arse!!

Best of luck Chopster!

Cheers

Gonzo

Will miss him heaps.:( :( :(

Just loved the way he chased down an opponent or ran hard with the ball to kick a flashy gaol - and then celebrate with the supporters. ;) :(

Goodluck Choppy - but not against North.

Farewell chopster - it is over