Analysis Father Son and Academy players bidding system

Well the AFL have agreed on a multicultural and indigenous academy for the other 14 teams they just have to announce when they will allow it. Once that happens and goes well they will expand it I guess.

From the article Ford linked on page 4

The new academies, based upon the successful football factories in the northern markets first pioneered by the Sydney Swans, form a major part of Gillon McLachlan's master plan to restructure the game at grass roots and lower levels of the competition.

The AFL Commission was to be briefed on the multicultural academy plan this week with a view to a formal proposal in December. It is understood some $30 million could be made available to the 10 Victorian clubs to roll out the project by 2017 as a result of the Bill Kelty-chaired national review into the game.
Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...ung-talent-20151027-gkk0vd.html#ixzz3saVcUehW

If Bill Kelty wants this and recommends it, then the AFL will get it up. Now the article doesnt say anything about funding for the WA and SA clubs but if we get $1mil for the multicultural arm because we already have the set up the indigenous arm, then we could really crank this up. The trouble is you dont know how long the $30 mil is for eg is for 4 or 5 years and how much is for building facilities, how much for development officers salaries and how much for other components of these academies.

*PAF

10k Posts Port Adelaide - Nathan Krakouer Player Sponsor 2015 Port Adelaide - Brendon AhChee Player Sponsor 2014 Port Adelaide - Jarrad Redden Player Sponsor 2014 Port Adelaide - Matthew Broadbent Player Sponsor 2013 Port Adelaide - Foundation Sponsor Port Adelaide - Captains Club 2012 Sponsor Port Adelaide - John Butcher 2012 Player Sponsor
Feb 17, 2005
Port Adelaide
Excise my ignorence but what in the world is a multicultural academy supposed to mean?

A special pathway for kids of an ethnic background/migrants to make their way into the AFL system over and above default means?

Sudanese, Syrian, Cambodian, Indonesian, Lebanese, and other refugee type gets pushed thru and gets elite coaching.

We need Nigerian and west African genetics for pace and Sudanese and other Africans for height and leaping skills.

*PAF

10k Posts Port Adelaide - Nathan Krakouer Player Sponsor 2015 Port Adelaide - Brendon AhChee Player Sponsor 2014 Port Adelaide - Jarrad Redden Player Sponsor 2014 Port Adelaide - Matthew Broadbent Player Sponsor 2013 Port Adelaide - Foundation Sponsor Port Adelaide - Captains Club 2012 Sponsor Port Adelaide - John Butcher 2012 Player Sponsor
Feb 17, 2005
Port Adelaide
Sudanese, Syrian, Cambodian, Indonesian, Lebanese, and other refugee type gets pushed thru and gets elite coaching.

We need Nigerian and west African genetics for pace and Sudanese and other Africans for height and leaping skills.

A special pathway for kids of an ethnic background/migrants to make their way into the AFL system over and above default means?

I take it there will be a criteria that says not born in this country or parents not born here.

That multicultural word does get overused.

I take it there will be a criteria that says not born in this country or parents not born here.

That multicultural word does get overused.

There's a billion Sudanese kids living around the corner and when they have a kick of their favoured roundball they already look as if they could play for the Joeys. This is yet another hearts and minds initiative by the AFL that doubles as a community service and all that goes with it etc.

Oct 8, 2004
Port Adelaide
Liverpool
Would love to see an indigenous and multicultural Port academy to promote those youngsters who may not feel comfortable in the usual SANFL development squad setup.

Portia

#DrewBlood
30k Posts 10k Posts TheBrownDog Port Adelaide - Jesse Palmer Player Sponsor 2017 Podcaster Port Adelaide - Riley Bonner Player Sponsor 2016 Port Adelaide - Brendon AhChee Player Sponsor 2014 Port Adelaide - Jarrad Redden Player Sponsor 2014 Port Adelaide - Matthew Broadbent Player Sponsor 2013 Port Adelaide - Captains Club 2012 Sponsor Port Adelaide - John Butcher 2012 Player Sponsor
Oct 7, 2001
Fragile bastion of liberalism
Port Adelaide
Muckbuckle Dolmens
From the article Ford linked on page 4

The new academies, based upon the successful football factories in the northern markets first pioneered by the Sydney Swans, form a major part of Gillon McLachlan's master plan to restructure the game at grass roots and lower levels of the competition.

The AFL Commission was to be briefed on the multicultural academy plan this week with a view to a formal proposal in December. It is understood some $30 million could be made available to the 10 Victorian clubs to roll out the project by 2017 as a result of the Bill Kelty-chaired national review into the game.
Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...ung-talent-20151027-gkk0vd.html#ixzz3saVcUehW

If Bill Kelty wants this and recommends it, then the AFL will get it up. Now the article doesnt say anything about funding for the WA and SA clubs but if we get $1mil for the multicultural arm because we already have the set up the indigenous arm, then we could really crank this up. The trouble is you dont know how long the $30 mil is for eg is for 4 or 5 years and how much is for building facilities, how much for development officers salaries and how much for other components of these academies.
From the same article:

The AFL proposal could see all the Victorian clubs aligned to TAC teams within five years.

That is the opposite of what we need to happen. Picking up SA aboriginal players at the expense of every Vic club having a formal alignment with a TAC Cup team.

From the same article:....
That is the opposite of what we need to happen. Picking up SA aboriginal players at the expense of every Vic club having a formal alignment with a Md 5wTAC Cup team.
If the 14 non northern state teams all get equivalent academies in 5 years time then thats ok. Thats been our long term aim since working on the fully reunifed model with the indigineous academy being the first step. At the moment we have a 2 year lead in running a serious academy over the other 13 clubs. The AFL wasnt going to give us a heads start and thats why they talk about 5 years time with experience running the multi cultural and indigenous program first.

Kenny has seen the future and reckons clubs should run academies not leagues, ie no different to what the big Euro soccer clubs do.

AFL clubs — not State leagues — best for running academies, says Power coach Ken Hinkley
PORT Adelaide coach Ken Hinkley is endorsing AFL clubs — and not State leagues alone — stay involved in pre-draft development of teenage talent in the now contentious player academies. As Collingwood president Eddie McGuire starts a fury on the NSW academy zones allocated to Sydney and Greater Western Sydney — in particular the Riverina area aligned to the Giants — Hinkley does not want other academies across the AFL to be caught in the fallout.

Hinkley last week embraced the Port Adelaide indigenous academy — which toured Melbourne last week — by having the group join his Power players in singing the club song after the AFL win against Richmond at the MCG on Saturday night. “My view on academies is simple: If you are working with the boys from a young age and you have identified the talent at a young age, you should be entitled to some (recruiting) opportunity for the work you have put in,” Hinkley said on Friday. “What we don’t want is to have someone turn up for a year in an academy and be eligible (for automatic upgrade to an AFL club outside the national draft). “We have an indigenous academy. There are boys we have identified at 13 or 14, even as young as 12. You work with them for three, four years, then I think it is reasonable and fair that you should get opportunity (to recruit) those players.”............
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...y/news-story/74327a5d16d8fe0ee7ca4faf815fd641

Vagabond0

Sep 21, 2014
Port Adelaide
Personally all AFL clubs should be allowed to have a junior academy.

Whatever kids they bring in would almost be a dead certainty to a school scholarship as well as you'd expect all the elite kids in the AFL academies.

SANFL clubs will lose it as it would undermine their zones, however the flip side is at least the kids they get left with for their development sides would be less likely to get drafted and therefore more likely to meet their own needs and play SANFL.

Did enjoy Kyle Chalmers interview at 3/4 time "I've committed to swimming for the next 5 years, plenty of time for footy after that." What an absolute mountain of a kid he is.
He has signed a 6 year contract either with Speedo or Adidas. They dont do too many long term deals like that. That shows what they think of his abilities.

Jan 16, 2009
Heaps good
Port Adelaide
Port Magpies, Bulls & Cricket Aus
He has signed a 6 year contract either with Speedo or Adidas. They dont do too many long term deals like that. That shows what they think of his abilities.
Premiership gold medal double has a nice ring to it.

Did enjoy Kyle Chalmers interview at 3/4 time "I've committed to swimming for the next 5 years, plenty of time for footy after that." What an absolute mountain of a kid he is.

Cat B rookie!!

After the 2024 Olympics and he has won 3 to 6 gold medals.

I was talking to Matthew Richardson at the GDV. Kyle works with Richo now that he is spending time at the club in the lead up to Rio, but Richo surpervised his work exlerience stint at the club 12 months ago.. Richo said that when he was out on the oval for the interview and looked up the crowd in the Riverbank stand he said to him in a nice naive young kid way - wow how good would it to play footy in front of a crowd like this. Richo reminded him that in 3 montbs time he was going to compete in a sporting event lot bigger than yesterday's game..

Looks like the bidding system will be getting a good work out this year compared to the first year in 2015.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-10-31/adelaide-nominates-ben-jarman-as-potential-fatherson-recruit

Full list of 2016 father-son and academy nominations
Ben Jarman (son of Darren, 121 games for Adelaide)

Brisbane Lions
Jacob Allison (Aspley Hornets)
Nate Dennis (University of Qld)
William Fletcher (Sherwood)
Jack Rolls (Morningside)
Declan Watson (Aspley Hornets)

Callum Brown (son of Gavin, 254 games for Collngwood)
Josh Daicos (son of Peter, 250 games for Collingwood)

Sam Simpson (son of Sean, 114 games for Geelong)

Gold Coast
Jack Bowes (Surfers Paradise)
Daniel Charlesworth (Surfers Paradise)
Jesse Esam (Broadbeach)
Nicholas Kempe (Mackay Eastern Swans)
Curtis Marsden (Palm Beach Currumbin)
Brad Scheer (Palm Beach Currumbin)
Max Spencer (Palm Beach Currumbin)
Shawn Watson (Cairns Saints)
Josh Williams (Hermit Park).

Greater Western Sydney
Isaac Cumming (North Broken Hill)
Sam Fisher (Canberra Demons)
Ryan Garthwaite (Lavington Panthers)
Harrison Macreadie (Henty)
Kobe Mutch (Mildura)
Harry Perryman (Collingullie)
William Setterfield (Albury)
Zach Sproule (Albury)
Lachlan Tiziani (Albury)

Sydney Swans
Darcy Baron-Hay (North Shore Bombers)
Jake Brown (St George Dragons)
Ryan Hebron (North Shore Bombers)
Callum McFadden (South Coast Thunder)
Ned Reinhard (UNSW Bulldogs)
Matthew Wilson (North Sydney)

Jake Waterman (son of Chris, 177 games for West Coast)

simmo_bc

Port Adelaide - Riley Bonner Player Sponsor 2016
Feb 7, 2010
Port Adelaide
Leeds United, Portland Trailblazers
Looks like the bidding system will be getting a good work out this year compared to the first year in 2015.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-10-31/adelaide-nominates-ben-jarman-as-potential-fatherson-recruit

Full list of 2016 father-son and academy nominations
Ben Jarman (son of Darren, 121 games for Adelaide)

Brisbane Lions
Jacob Allison (Aspley Hornets)
Nate Dennis (University of Qld)
William Fletcher (Sherwood)
Jack Rolls (Morningside)
Declan Watson (Aspley Hornets)

Callum Brown (son of Gavin, 254 games for Collngwood)
Josh Daicos (son of Peter, 250 games for Collingwood)

Sam Simpson (son of Sean, 114 games for Geelong)

Gold Coast
Jack Bowes (Surfers Paradise)
Daniel Charlesworth (Surfers Paradise)
Jesse Esam (Broadbeach)
Nicholas Kempe (Mackay Eastern Swans)
Curtis Marsden (Palm Beach Currumbin)
Brad Scheer (Palm Beach Currumbin)
Max Spencer (Palm Beach Currumbin)
Shawn Watson (Cairns Saints)
Josh Williams (Hermit Park).

Greater Western Sydney
Isaac Cumming (North Broken Hill)
Sam Fisher (Canberra Demons)
Ryan Garthwaite (Lavington Panthers)
Harrison Macreadie (Henty)
Kobe Mutch (Mildura)
Harry Perryman (Collingullie)
William Setterfield (Albury)
Zach Sproule (Albury)
Lachlan Tiziani (Albury)

Sydney Swans
Darcy Baron-Hay (North Shore Bombers)
Jake Brown (St George Dragons)
Ryan Hebron (North Shore Bombers)
Callum McFadden (South Coast Thunder)
Ned Reinhard (UNSW Bulldogs)
Matthew Wilson (North Sydney)

Jake Waterman (son of Chris, 177 games for West Coast)

I look forward to seeing what the young Daicos can deliver, there will be big expectations from Collingwood fans.

Gavin Brown's son Callum is the spitting image of his old man, and I reckon he will be under almost as big expectations.

Portmanteau

Behaviourz2Outcomz
10k Posts A Star Wars Fan Port Adelaide - Foundation Sponsor
Jul 15, 2002
Port Adelaide
Fox Sports FC
Look forward to the commentators getting confused when Darcy Baron-Hay and Darcy Byrne-Jones play in the same match.

Maybe the media should badger these players into dropping one half of their surnames as they did with Jasper.

Aug 30, 2004
Kaurna Land
Port Adelaide
Vikings, Canadiens, Sharks
Maybe the media should badger these players into dropping one half of their surnames as they did with Jasper.
Was Jasper badgered?

I recall at the time he said he dropped the "McMillan" part of his name to make it simpler but given he had only just been drafted I don't recall any mention of media badgering.

Magus

10k Posts Bring Back the Bars
Dec 31, 2013
Port Adelaide
Dallas Mavericks
Look forward to the commentators getting confused when Darcy Baron-Hay and Darcy Byrne-Jones play in the same match.

I can imagine BT saying something along the lines of "Just call 1800-DBH!"