Food, Drink & Dining Out Favourite Beer II

Lived in Perth during the high times of Little Creatures (still arguably my fave beer spot in Freo Aus wide) and their beers have definitely changed. The Pale Ale is a long way from what it once was and I struggle to even drink the Pilsner now. The IPA, Bright Ale and their seasonal stouts are still pretty good though.

Check out Pirate Life's beers if you haven't already. One of the co-founders used to work at Little Creatures, and both of them did stints at Brewdog. They're both Perth boys but they established their brewery in Adelaide for logistical reasons. They are churning out some of the greatest beer in the country now, absolutely world class hoppy ales.

Yeah from the few I have had they have been brilliant. Are they bottling yet? Seemed to be sticking to the canned variety for a while now (could be wronga).
Dainton Family Brewing is one of my faves from the small-medium guys at present.

Went to Red Hill on the weekend and was a bit let down to be honest. Was good, but I expected more.

Popped into Mornington Peninsula brewery on the way home, and they deliver as always. Shattered I missed out on the first 3 of their #tinnage range - going to try my best to track them down.

Really enjoying the weekend drives to try new beers lately!

Went to Red Hill on the weekend and was a bit let down to be honest. Was good, but I expected more.

Popped into Mornington Peninsula brewery on the way home, and they deliver as always. Shattered I missed out on the first 3 of their #tinnage range - going to try my best to track them down.

Really enjoying the weekend drives to try new beers lately!

Had all 3 of the tinnage range. Why So Cereal? was brilliant.

Yeah from the few I have had they have been brilliant. Are they bottling yet? Seemed to be sticking to the canned variety for a while now (could be wronga).
Dainton Family Brewing is one of my faves from the small-medium guys at present.

I don't think they have any intentions of bottling. The whole reason they set up in Adelaide (other than the fairly open market here) was because they wanted to keep freight costs down. Part of this strategy involved packaging all of their beer in cans, as cans are a shitload lighter, therefore cheaper to move. Also, cans have an internal membrane now so you don't get that "canny" taste from them, and they are quicker to cool down. Basically, they are a superior package to bottles. I love the cans. PL spent $250k on their canning line, it's a much bigger investment than a bottling line. Don't hold your breath for PL beer in bottles, it ain't gonna happen any time soon.

+1 cans superior

This is the one I want most. I found one store selling a 4 pack but postage alone is $15.

Have since had the Dogs Bullocks and Russel Brown.

Went to my favourite beer shop in Adelaide today and they had Rust Bucket, Why So Cereal? and Dog's Bollocks in stock. Had the Dog's Bollocks this arvo, so smooth!

Drinking Big Shed/Dr's Orders collab "Dr Shedlove 2016" right now. It's a Belgian imperial yam & taro stout. It is f-ing amazing. Ridiculously good. I had Stone's imperial stout on tap at Brewdog in London on Friday and this beats it hands down. Seriously impressive.

Any love for Kosciuszko Pale Ale? Only discovered it recently in a pub on a trip to Wodonga, and again later at the Savoy in Melbourne. It's probably everywhere in Victoria for all I know. Can only find it at Dan Murphy's where I live in Queensland. $23 for a six pack up here, but if anything I'd say it's better out of a stubbie than on tap.

Had it once before at Friday drinks. It's decent enough without being remarkable.

A pallet space, is a pallet space. Weight has no bearing.

Pallets do have a maximum weight. A Carlton Draught style stubbie will be stacked 7 high by 10 and a Carlton Dry or a 330ml stubbie will be stacked 6 high by 13.
Cans will be stacked 12 high by at least 12 or 13. It's plenty more beer on the pallet.
It's the reason the Coopers pale ale stubby changed shape. An extra 8 slabs a pallet is a heap of space saved with the amount of product that they would move

Pallets do have a maximum weight. A Carlton Draught style stubbie will be stacked 7 high by 10 and a Carlton Dry or a 330ml stubbie will be stacked 6 high by 13.
Cans will be stacked 12 high by at least 12 or 13. It's plenty more beer on the pallet.
It's the reason the Coopers pale ale stubby changed shape. An extra 8 slabs a pallet is a heap of space saved with the amount of product that they would move
When you price the logistics side of it, a pallet space, is a pallet space.

Weight has no bearing on the cost.

True. What I was saying was that the good chaps at Pirate Life would only be doing cans due to the numbers they can move compared to stubbies in the same amount of space
I also read an article on either The Shout or Brews News that they do it to support off-premise trade as they see that's where the future of drinking is due to lock-out laws etc etc etc

The lads know their market.

It's refreshing.

Beers that are better out of a can/bottle than off tap?

DrVanNostrand just mentioned Kosciuszko Pale Ale and I'd like to put up Hawkers IPA as a nomination for that as well. Would say very few beers fall into this category and I wonder whether it's not the actual beer itself but how it gets from keg to glass where the issues arise.

A mate had a carton of Little Creatures Pale Ale on the weekend and this is the new label (just a short term 15 year anniversary thing). Is it just me or does it make it look like some Aldi brand cheap beer?

574e59787d3df_little_creatures_1bksmb9-1bksmbo.jpg

One of my jobs is in grog retail and our "production education specialist", ie, professional alcohol drinker, that travels the area to do tastings, professes, in his words, that the can is a far superior vessel.

A mate had a carton of Little Creatures Pale Ale on the weekend and this is the new label (just a short term 15 year anniversary thing). Is it just me or does it make it look like some Aldi brand cheap beer?

574e59787d3df_little_creatures_1bksmb9-1bksmbo.jpg

Looks crap, but not Aldi level of crap.