Favourite Eagle, Ever

• Thread starter Thread starter KO_KO

Llane Spaanderman...

Well favourite name anyway. Does Greg Clark turn in to Spaanderman when he takes off his glasses?

It was close race though, as we've also recently had:

Mascoulis (RIP), Papertalk, Strijk, Cockie, Weedon and Dick

Our recruiters were surely taking the piss with some of these? Or perhaps they were on the piss?

A little disappointed I didn't get to hear Dennis calling a game with many of them in the team.

Perhaps bodes well for Cuningham (with one 'n')? And certainly for all the hyphens in the 2016 draft.

Interesting to see a few Tony Evans nominations. He was a bit before my time, what made him so popular? He seems like a relatively unmemorable player apart from a few handy GFs
unremarkable is probably a good description, during the home and away but watch out in big games and finals. He is out of page 1 of the swannies book of footballing. Would stand under a freight train (I know, so unlike a Claremont player, right?) for his team. Turned the 92 GF for us.

The original is still the favourite for me. GLEN JAKOVICH.

As a kid I wore the number 27 proudly and always wanted to play Centre Half Back but was never big enough to play it regularly. Tears were shed when he retired

wilson-no9-620.jpg

This ugly campaigner! :thumbsu:

unremarkable is probably a good description, during the home and away but watch out in big games and finals. He is out of page 1 of the swannies book of footballing. Would stand under a freight train (I know, so unlike a Claremont player, right?) for his team. Turned the 92 GF for us.

Yep. Pound-for-pound, probably the toughest player we've ever had. Weighed less than his footy shorts but threw himself into contests with complete disregard for his own safety. Retired at 28 because the body shut up shop.

Watch the 92 GF closely and I have him only just behind Matera in terms of influence on that game.

Yep. Pound-for-pound, probably the toughest player we've ever had. Weighed less than his footy shorts but threw himself into contests with complete disregard for his own safety. Retired at 28 because the body shut up shop.

Watch the 92 GF closely and I have him only just behind Matera in terms of influence on that game.

.... and, if you watch the replay even more closely you will see that there were at least two incidents where he just dodged errant elbows or swinging arms as the Handbaggers tried on the "tough" stuff. Ablett had already taken Pyke out and the Cats players were then concentrating on taking out Evans, Matera and Kemp in blatant unlawful attempts. When Karl Langdon and Wilson attempted retaliation Ross Glendinning, who was commentating, was aghast saying that the Eagles should stop head hunting and play football. He made no comment on the filth that was being handed out by Ablett and a couple of the ginger haired Cats players.

Interesting to see a few Tony Evans nominations. He was a bit before my time, what made him so popular? He seems like a relatively unmemorable player apart from a few handy GFs
I was only 6 during the '92 GF, but I knew straight away that he was my favourite player there and then. I guess players who kick goals in big games will have that effect, but he and Matera were my faves.

Probably also the fact that he faded pretty quickly due to injury meant we never had to see him degenerate too much, like we have with some players over the past few years.

Ablett had already taken Pyke out
Just watched the replay of that. Super dirty - would get 2 weeks for that nowadays. Commentator at the time just says "copping one on the chin there was Pyke"...

Happened right in front of us ...... I had to physically restrain my mate from jumping the fence! The commentary was pathetic. Ablett deliberately whacked him, with an elbow, knocked Pyke out, forcing him from the field and the commentators including two West Australians (one an ex-Eagles Captain pictured left) say bugger all! Pathetic...

Except when he requested a trade to the Demons in 96.
It was '97. I was a high-school kid at the time and totally hit a wall of apathy for those few days, which felt like weeks. I remember jumping out of bed with excitement when the news came through that he decided to stay.

Like many of us, Matera sparked my addiction to the Eagles in the 90's, Cousins maintained it in the naughties ;), and this decade it's still an evolving choice - Shuey since he stopped using "the move" is climbing along with Sheppard after his 2015...but when I dream of big moments, it's Naitanui dominating in the ruck and taking screamers while resting forward. Game changer.

Kemp, Woosha, Waterman and McKenna from the good old era.
These days I like Kennedy, Naita, Waters (ret) and Glass(ret) ( by the end of his career I reckon Duggan will be up there)