-The last quarter of the 1984 GF, with Baker's goal being the cream on the cake
-The 2000 season
-Zaka's ANZAC day goal
-Every win I've seen over the years
-Alan Ezard's mark over Justin Madden at Waverley
-The comeback wins over North Melbourne
-The comeback over Adelaide
-Longy 1993 GF goal

I could go on and on but then that just goes to show what a great club this is.

Hooker's goal was great in the moment and for the following week. Although it and that whole season has lost a bit of its shine after that cheeky appeal.

Those comeback wins over Adelaide and Freo away were both fun. Bit of a shame that Monfries never quite graduated to a midfield position after that Crows game.

Ricky Dyson slotting that goal from 45 out on the boundary in the wet on Anzac Day.

Wallis popping a dislocated finger back in, GF 2000 - slow motion ch 7 replay. The beads of sweat, and the pure animal satisfaction on his face as it popped in. (Didn't hurt that the supremely hot italian lady staying at our house hugged me in horror at that moment - schwing:flushed:)

Hooker, 2015. * that meant a lot, particularly at the time.

Timmy, Escort cup, hurdle a few blues why don't ya and goal... Early, early footy memory.

Quite a few contenders from this year, strangely enough: Parish goal V Melbourne, Tippa (complete works), Long seniors reaction when junior announces his first call_up.

Wallis popping a dislocated finger back in, GF 2000 - slow motion ch 7 replay. The beads of sweat, and the pure animal satisfaction on his face as it popped in. (Didn't hurt that the supremely hot italian lady staying at our house hugged me in horror at that moment - schwing:flushed:)

Hooker, 2015. **** that meant a lot, particularly at the time.

Timmy, Escort cup, hurdle a few blues why don't ya and goal... Early, early footy memory.

Quite a few contenders from this year, strangely enough: Parish goal V Melbourne, Tippa (complete works), Long seniors reaction when junior announces his first call_up.

I reckon the ESS PR division has really clicked into gear of late, we used to have the bomber magazine as our only - albiet stage managed- inside source, then bomber tv..

but now we have a constant stream (pun) of inside moments and happenings on social media, stuff inside the team meetings, players first game call ups, personal reactions to things, just all these things that we were never privvy to that show you the human side to the players and the club.

I wonder if its been a concerted thing by the club to get away from it being a corportate untouchable machine to it now being compartmentilzed into a large living organisim of living humans - a more accessable place that we can all be a pasrt of post saga ?

Don't wonder - it is a very deliberate action by the club to be more engaged with its fan base.

One of the major learnings from the internal review was that the club had become aloof and distant.

I might be older than most of you on here, but you just can't beat the 84 GF.
The background was one of complete frustration. We had been a good young side through the late 70's under Barry Davis, and couldn't win a final. We went out first week of the finals about 5 yrs in a row. Then when Sheedy came, we had that incredible run in '81 (13 games straight) and went out first week again. Finally in '83, we won a final, and had a triumphant run through September, beating Collingwood by 100+ pts at Waverley in the prelim, only to get done by a record margin in the GF to Hawthorn.
In 84, we looked like we might finally be able to win it, lost only about 3 games for the year, but lost to Hawthorn by about 10pts in the qualifying final, then won by a lot in the prelim. Come the GF we outplayed them for the first 3 quarters but couldn't kick a goal to save ourselves - it was about 5 goals 15 at 3/4 time. It seemed like we were good enough but just couldn't get it done when we needed to.
And then that last quarter.
God up in heaven smiled down and decided the time had come. #!*k you Hawthorn, this mob has earnt it.
I was at home watching on TV, and taping it on a fancy new Beta VCR (I had the pause on from 3/4 time and missed the first 2 goals of the last qtr on the tape). As we ran over them, I just couldn't believe it, the joy was just overwhelming. All the years of frustration, and pessimism borne of promise snuffed out, was replaced by an exhilaration only those who have gone through the hard times would know.
Some great times since, but that still will live forever in my memory.

My one and only interstate trip was Ess V Freo where Hurley kicked 6 and we came from no where to win it. Such a good night.

Zaka's Anzac Goal.

There was a game at the dome against the Dees where we kicked the last four to win it. From memory Lucas kicked the last one in the goal square to put us in front.

A couple of Carlton wins of late have been amazing. The one where Waite kicked 6 or 7 and then Carlisle went forward in the second half.

I reckon the ESS PR division has really clicked into gear of late, we used to have the bomber magazine as our only - albiet stage managed- inside source, then bomber tv..

but now we have a constant stream (pun) of inside moments and happenings on social media, stuff inside the team meetings, players first game call ups, personal reactions to things, just all these things that we were never privvy to that show you the human side to the players and the club.

I think a lot of it happens organically (or semi-organically), and deals in narratives which are beyond the style-sheet of marketing departments - however plugged in. Idiosyncratic "Moonsian" stories drawing on memories, perspectives and associations which are often fairly unique to the individual involved. This space is a great example: we take bits of other people's stories and expressions - you staying over at Windy Hill, Jade having a ChrisMew:), WEEVZ cooking up trade scenarios - and this becomes part of a loose collective memory. So there's that - but having more of a direct line-in to the club has been pretty good as well I guess.

I agree they've done a much better job with the comms post-2013. Grew to really like the BackIn emails; not sure I like the 'part of our comeback story' tag line, personally. Better if that is more implicit IMO.

I think a lot of it happens organically (or semi-organically), and deals in narratives which are beyond the style-sheet of marketing departments - however plugged in. Idiosyncratic "Moonsian" stories drawing on memories, perspectives and associations which are often fairly unique to the individual involved. This space is a great example: we take bits of other people's stories and expressions - you staying over at Windy Hill, Jade having a ChrisMew:), WEEVZ cooking up trade scenarios - and this becomes part of a loose collective memory. So there's that - but having more of a direct line-in to the club has been pretty good as well I guess.

I agree they've done a much better job with the comms post-2013. Grew to really like the BackIn emails; not sure I like the 'part of our comeback story' tag line, personally. Better if that is more implicit IMO.

Yeh the comeback series has worn thin... Ready for the preseason hat pics

It's turned into 5-second teasers more than actual highlights that make you excited about the future for the moment. Hopefully when the preseason picks up it'll be more behind the scenes snippets.

Round 16 2001, the big comeback game against norf.

I was there up the top of the old Ponsford stand with the old man, early in the second quarter and we are getting pumped by 70 odd points, when a seagull flying above us drops an almighty s**t that ricochets off the peak of my old man's cap and lands fair and square in the middle of his beer. I piss myself laughing, my old man cracks the shits and heads to the bar for a replacement, and the Dons go on to record one of the greatest comeback victories in history.

Good times

- Leon Bakers blind turn
- Simon Madden trying to fight in same game
- Timmy's sealer in 93 against the Crows (I defy you to find footage of human being looking more rooted than he did after kicking it)
- Sheedy's jacket wave
- Longy's deft touches and taps
- Mercuri's first half v. Swans in '99 QF (footy as art)
- Hird running to the fence for a cuddle against WCE
- Fletch giving Garlett a start and running him down from behind at 64 years of age
- Hooker ...what's he bloody doing down there? He's kicking bloody goals!
- Essendon v. Hawthorn, round 1 2017 at the MCG

Ive seen some memorable wins, but i dont think i ever smiled and laughed as hard then i think it was 2011 when we had the Essendon chant going in the same way Collingwood had in all of 2010.