PieGirl#2

The Pies of course!!
Well I think mine would have to be Matty Armstrong!! He was such a sweety, I would sit up on his lap at the Fitzroy Club Hotel after all the games and he would buy me soft drinks (as I was only about 11 at the time) and packets of chips all night long!! Then me and my sister and our cousins and a few of the players (well lets just put it this way, there were HEAPS of us) would head on around to the bottle shop and play footy in the drive, then after we had enough of that we would go back insaide and sing karaoke, get signatures and pictures for the rest of the night untill we finally headed home very late into the night... those were the great days of footy!!

------------------
~*~ Go Chippa ~*~
~*~ Go Lonie ~*~
~*~ Go Brodie ~*~
~*~ Go Didak ~*~

I like your memories and also thought Matty Armstrong was a great footballer.
I had a few favourites over the years back in the late eighties it was Gary Pert, before The Flying Doctor Darren Wheildon came along he was a character and was my favourite footballer until he left.
I still remember the day down at waverley in ROund 13 1994 when the Doc was pushed in the back quite obviously by a hawks player right in front of the umpire and boy did he go off.
He through his mouthguard at the umpire and the ump actually didnt stand there he ran away from him (smart umpire)!!!
It made my day and also winning was the icing on the cake.
Jarrod Molloy i admired in our last couple of seasons as he was playing for the jumper through and through and had talent as well!!

Yeah, Doc was a legend, and it feels great for me to be bale to watch Jarrod play for my team once again, and I am just so glad I was young when The Roys folder because I was able to put my heart into another club...Not many people understand that I don't think it is a sin to support another club other than Brisbane, I mean don't get me wrong I cried my eyes out and was heart broken when The Roys finished but as I said I was only young and Fitzroy gave me many great memories and I hope to add alot more to that by supporting Collingwood.....

Cheers

------------------
~*~ Go Chippa ~*~
~*~ Go Lonie ~*~
~*~ Go Brodie ~*~
~*~ Go Didak ~*~

Ah Piegirl, don't listen to anyone like that. It certainly isn't a sin not to follow the Brisbane Lions. People's hearts have led them to different clubs, or no club at all. Mine took me to the Brisbane Lions, but that's just me.
smile.gif
As long as we still remember the mighty Roys, it doesn't matter.

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

At the Albion Charles, it was a good atmosphere because the players were (generally) pretty happy to have a chat to anyone, give time to folks young and old.

Marty Warry used to bag me for not mentioning enough about the reserves in the newsletter, John Barker used to ask me to sing the Mullarvey song (which I'd duly refuse to do) and Chris Johnson was possibly the most accessible of the lot.

Along with Scott Clayton, Matty Armstrong was one of the first blokes I got an autograph off, and its still sitting here on a Mob newsletter somewhere on file.

Even the staff, I've got a couple od great photos, one of Mindy McConnell, and another of Warfah and Nananana reading the netters, the latter is matching flannelette shirts.

The environment was much more personal than most other clubs, if not all.

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

Yeah your right again Mobbenfuhrer, a lot of the players would be there for lunch during the week (did the $5 per meal charge have much ado with it and?) and they would talk to all and sundry Rombo was always there Jarrod, Zannotts, Pikey ('cause he didn't have anywhere else to go).
When Bernie was coach he encouraged players to actually play pool with the punters, Fitzroy kept the "Peoples Club" thing going after the VFL scrapped thwe afetr matches with other clubs Richmond and the Roys were the last ones to actually get together.
We always had access to Tim Watson, the Daniher Bros when Essendon played us.
The social commerarderie is big thing missing in most peoples lives that only Fitzroy had, everyone new everyone. I used to bedesignated to travel to far flung fields Traralgon, Ballarat, Bendigo and Geelong with some players to continue the supporter involvement Barker, Mellington and Johnson were always willing to assist.
You can take Fitzroy out of the AFL but not from our memories.
(sorry to go on)

Since I've been following the Roys I'd have to pick Paul Roos. I'd also agree with Jarrod Molloy. I also like to read about the heroes of old such as Haydn Bunton and Wilfred Smallhorn. Those must have been fantastic days.

As far as following another AFL team is concerned then I could never support another team with as much enthusiasm as Fitzroy. If I was pushed then I'd say Brisbane but it will never be the same as the Roys.

UK Roy - I must admit, at times my devotion to the Brisbane Lions has wavered, mostly when I get back to thinking of Fitzroy......so yeah, I see your point.
smile.gif
It's never going to be the same, but I just can't live without a team, and I have grown pretty fond of the Brissy players, but yeah, it'll never be the same.

As for players, I have to agree with Jarrod Molloy, I think he's just great.
smile.gif
Paul Roos, and my fave of all time, Alastair Lynch.
biggrin.gif
LYNCHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!! Hmmmmmmmm might be time to post this I think
tongue.gif
lol

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

We liked the players who were playing above themselves - not super skilled or athletic but just loved the in-and-under, die-for the-jumper guys. Have to include David 'Master of the Barrel' McMahon, Ross Thornton, the Harris boys ( in fact anyone from our zone ), Jim Wynd, John Blakey, Michael Gale ( always had the wood on Winmar ) etc.

Awe and reverence for Flea and Bernie Quinlan - our very own superstars

lioness22 comforted:
Ah Piegirl, don't listen to anyone like that. It certainly isn't a sin not to follow the Brisbane Lions.

I reckon it should be a sin to follow Collingwood though!
tongue.gif

Seriously, in answer to the original question, my fave was Micky Conlan; with honourable mentions to Garry Wilson, Bernie Quinlan, Dougie Barwick and Gary Pert.

------------------
Olmy knows best

[This message has been edited by Mr Ripper (edited 23 March 2001).]

Hey PieGirl!!! I never knew you were a Fitzroy supporter! That's great to hear!

As far as I'm concerned, it's ok if you don't support BL.

You know though, you can definitely still support the Roys! Well, the Fitzroy Redz that is. You might want to check them out sometime!

Thanks for the story about Matty Armstrong! I enjoyed reading it!

Originally posted by OldLion:
We liked the players who were playing above themselves - not super skilled or athletic but just loved the in-and-under, die-for the-jumper guys.

I'll quote Fred Hughson (Fitzroy 1938 - 1947) "The spirit of the team was the thing. They would not accept defeat and everyone of them would have bled for Fitzroy. It was a beautiful feeling to go out on the field with them."

That's what Fitzroy is all about, our refusal to accept defeat. That's why we are still here.

Can't help but feel that Jonathon Brown would have gone good in a Roys jumper.

Can't say that I had 'one' favourite player - I loved them all!

John Barker was one of my favourites in the last few years. I miss him running around in a Roys jumper.

Thanks Olmy
smile.gif
!

Yeah we used to have some bloddy great times down there, did you ever go? If not I'll tell ya right now, you missed out on some fantastic entertainment.

Becca

------------------
~*~ Go Chippa ~*~
~*~ Go Lonie ~*~
~*~ Go Brodie ~*~
~*~ Go Didak ~*~

Jimmy Wynd..........great lad, great player.

I also would have to say I support Brisbane if pushed, but really don't care one way or another. Felt no pain over their loss in the Ansett Cup Final, if that had of been the Roys well................

When I was a little kid collecting footy cards, Kevin Murray was THE premier Fitzroy card, even though he was ANCIENT. Later it was Gary Wilson, then Bernie Quinlan and Mick Conlan. In the later years I couldn't go past big Manson. They said he couldn't kick, but one day at the Western Oval against North Melbourne he threaded one from 50 metres out on the boundary line. My wife had the hots for Mark Zanotti (the Wild Man, as Rex called him). I liked the Doc too.

Originally posted by Saint Roy:
When I was a little kid collecting footy cards, Kevin Murray was THE premier Fitzroy card, even though he was ANCIENT. Later it was Gary Wilson, then Bernie Quinlan and Mick Conlan. In the later years I couldn't go past big Manson. They said he couldn't kick, but one day at the Western Oval against North Melbourne he threaded one from 50 metres out on the boundary line. My wife had the hots for Mark Zanotti (the Wild Man, as Rex called him). I liked the Doc too.

I remember that Manson goal, he kicked it to the railway line end, wasn't it a torp? Is Darryl White a James Manson cover band?

Mark Zanotti was referred to by Rex as the Wild Man From Zambezi, wasn't he?

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

For what it's worth, my all time favorite Fitzroy players were:
Mick Conlan
Bernie Quinlan
Paul Roos
Matt Rendall
Brett Stephens
Matt Armstrong
Gary Pert
Richard Osborne
Alastair Lynch
Lee Murnane

Cheers,
FitzroyRamone

Hallowed be thy Roy
Yes, Rex Hunt called Mark Zanotti the "Wild Man from the Zambezi". My wife is from Africa, that's probably why I related to his phrase.
As for Frank Bizotto: I'm sorry to say this, but I reckon he was one of the worst players to ever don our colors. I think he's still running around in the Diamond Valley League where he belongs.

talk to all and sundry Rombo was always there Jarrod, Zannotts, Pikey ('cause he didn't have anywhere else to go).

that was an awesome post!!! hahaha

ya gotta hand it to Pikey..a legend..hahaha

i gotta say im RAPT the prodigal son has returned...didnt he put the contents of the social club ashtrays in ron barassi's suit jacket at a training night while at melbourne...turning up pissed at the kangas
family day in the morning was pretty good too...now thats what i call a genuine guy!!

HAIL the master!!!

heres hoping he wins the brownlow to shut them all up!!

zannots was a legend too...awesome player

other faves of mine have to go to mickey conlan, gary wilson, leon harris, and of course noel muggavin for having one of the must stoopid names in the clubs history..lol

------------------
Fitzroy James Dio II

As for players, I have to agree with Jarrod Molloy, I think he's just great.
smile.gif
Paul Roos, and my fave of all time, Alastair Lynch.
biggrin.gif
LYNCHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!! Hmmmmmmmm might be time to post this I think
tongue.gif
lol

----

i remember thirty something women at princess park commenting on Alistair Lynch having the best legs in the afl when i was younger

always thought that was kinda funny actually..

------------------
Fitzroy James Dio II